(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

jmon: must tell my hb
but we will try only in 2 yrs time la.

enne: i want to see wat the doc is doing.

bbmouse: ya dun worry so much. after blood test then decide

Enne,
bu ming bai shen mer? cos male sperm swim faster and female sperm swim slower.. so by jumping, u try to slow down the male sperm.. so that the female sperm got chance to reach and fertilise the egg. If u want a boy, then u try to raise your legs to let all the sperm reach faster so that the male sperm will reach first anyway, to fertilise the egg. But of course all these is not proven la.. at the end of the day, it's still a 50-50 chance.

Jmon: Yes, it sure did work for you. I think a few mummies who want girls will be jumping liao lor..
Hahaha..

You're also highly efficient. You got preggie within 6mths isit?

enne,
ok, err... after both of u have done the 'action', u rest awhile then come out of bed, standing on floor then jump...lolzzzz

jmon,
you are really funny. Ok, I'll try jumping for my next cos I want another gal for my #3.

Autum/jmon,
I agree with men play a part too. One of my friend tried for 4 years unsuccessfully. Then she got preggie twice & both time were right after her hubby comes back from reservist. But sad to say, both pregnancies weren't successful.

Autum gave me a scientific explanation, JMON gave me a layman term explanation.

Autum-oh haha thx, I din know that ler... shi bai ler me.. haha.

JMON-thx for explaining to me in layman terms, can I ask JUMP how many times??? haha.

hmm.. jmon..interesting method... but i dun think jumping will slow down the sperm leh. I tot they swim damn fast, might even have fertalised before u started jumping. i think having intercourse at ovulation is still the best bet lah..buy an ovulation kit, when u can see that u r ovulating, do it immediately , chances of getting a boy higher, if u wan a ger, when ur ovulatrion stick starts to change adn show slight colour (which means that u will be ovulating soon within the next few days, u can start doing.. hope this helps.

Enne,
are u able to gauge when is your ovulation day? If u can, then it's even better. Cos female sperm swim slower, but they live longer. Male sperm swim fast but die fast too. So if u know your ovulation day, say the 15th of the month.. then u try to have sex a few days BEFORE your ovulation.. so that by the time the female sperm swim to your womb.. and you ovulate and release egg, the female sperm will be there waiting to fertilise the egg.

For those who want boys, works the other way round. U have sex on the day of your ovulation, so that the male sperm will reach the egg first.

Starfruit,
actually not true leh. i think it takes the sperm something like 2hrs to swim to the womb.. can't remember but i think i read it somewhere before.. which is why, some pple say that if u douch yourself immediately after sex, u may be able to prevent contraception.

But of course, there may still be a few sperms that can avoid the douching or just super-fast swimmers!

Angel,

ROFL... why did you think that the 'O' is nausea? Then all that toothpaste stuff... Hahaha... sounds really kinky when we look at your answer with that 'O' in mind.

Belle,

Oh yar, i wanted to comment on Chloe's apple cheeks. She looks really cute when she laugh like that! It started raining toward the end of our shoot and we din have the chance to take photos of waterplay. OH well, hopefully can bring her there one day ourselves and take pictures of her playing with water. The weather really no good for photo taking. Sigh. We din go botanical gardens! We actually went to Jacob Ballas Garden, a special garden for children! It is quite nice and there's not much people when we went probably due to the gloomy weather. But overall, quite fun! YT is so totally exhausted that she skipped her breakfast! And for the first time slept for more than an hour in her stroller!

autum.. if it takes 2 hrs to swim to the womb den if "do" on the day of ovulation for getting a boy.. would it "miss" the egg a not? cos maybe the egg come out liaoz.. den the male sperm "missed" the egg ?

Angel Angel
HAHHAHAAAA...dun pinch us, we dun have big arms for your to pinch! ouch ouch!

today's topic is about the Gender Method:p

i used the legs up method...kena girl leh..hmm..oh that day we were rushing out...maybe didnt lie down for long enuf...:p

Irin/Star
i went toyrus! was in a rush!
im looking for kitchen set with doors for leia to close open - there's 1 that costs $79.90 and another one that says 'electronic' at $99.90
expensive wo...

The female egg can survive up to 24hrs before it disintegrates. Male sperms can last up to 4 or 5 days. Female sperms are heavier, sturdier and swim slower, but it can last longer. Male sperms can swim faster, are more nimble, but they don't last as long.

With these characteristics, if you plan to have a girl, u can afford to *ahem* a couple of days before you ovulate, then the remaining female sperms will be there waiting for the egg to arrive. Male sperms may have died off by now.

If you plan to have a boy, then *ahem* on the day you ovulate. The sprinter male sperms will reach the egg faster than the female ones, and get to fertilise the egg first.

The trick is to pinpoint when a woman ovulates. An additional complication is some woman can have regular period without ovulating ie without the egg being released.

An ovulation kit helps. But you got to be diligent in the testing, cos you may just miss the signs before you ovulate and then get a negative result.

Nana,
the egg will survive for 24hrs.. so won't miss one la. Usually women who have difficulty conceiving is because their ovulation is not regular.. like say they may ovulate once every 2-3mths.. so it's very difficult to pinpoint when they ovulate. But if u are a regular-cycle person, then it should be quite ok.

But then of course, even for regular-cycle, u may not know exactly when u ovulate. So if u estimate the wrong day, then it's possible that the sperm may miss the egg. Thus, there are things like Ovulation Predictor Kits selling in the market.. to help u to measure your body temp to know when u ovulate.. like what Starfruit mentioned in her earlier post.

But for most women, if u can gauge when u ovulate.. then just roughly within that few days, u have sex bah. Anyway, all these planning hor, it's still 50-50 chance la.. cos u never know if a female sperm may suddenly swim faster or maybe the male sperm (from the man) is naturally weaker thus can't survive well? I mean, anything is possible lor..

For me, i don't purposely plan for boy or girl.. plan for the pregnancy yes.. but not for the gender (cos too difficult to plan liao).

so damm pissed.. i am attending a IT course.. and i am an audio learner.. and this presenter.. first is not local.. still ok.. he slurs his words and murmur!!!! how to follow!?!!! so smal the actual font size on the website.. wah biang. i am pissed.. yucks.. errrrr,,,

bbmouse.. is it true?? if no egg release.. den no "red" to come mah.. right? --- > The trick is to pinpoint when a woman ovulates. An additional complication is some woman can have regular period without ovulating ie without the egg being released.

Autum.. i see..

autum
for those with irregular mense like myself, look out for transparent discharge similar to egg white. when u see that, it means u are ovulating. i remember clearly on the day after we tried for leia, i saw a lot of transparent sticky discharge, so i believe she was made 1 day before i ovulate.
ok last 2 days i saw the discharge again, was telling myself, if i try, maybe can get boy. but, not ready...nevermind

re gender:

legs up/legs down.it helps in conceiving def.. but i dun really feel it is helpful for preferred gender.. i think the ovluation kit is the best kit.. if really preferr one gender over the other..

talking abt this. i actually feel that it is easily to get a boy.. then girl.. coz first .. Y sperms swims faster.. and couples trying to TTC.. most tend to try on the actual day of ovulation.. so hit boys chances even higher.. and this is why they say.. couples who have constant intercourse.. tend to hit girls.. coz female sperms all there waiting.. and living for the egg.. while the Y sperms 'no chance' or would have already die before.. the egg is realeased.. stats also said more boys than girls.. and if u look from the pt of natural selection.. it makes sense

Y sperms more gungho.. X sperms more preservering.. heehee. :p

Pink,
yup.. even regular-cycle women will see this same white sticky discharge to know u are ovulating.. so I think u are right.. as in, u had sex just before u ovulated (for Leia).. so that's why u had a girl.

nana: the reddness is the lining of the womb. not the egg.. menstural is a cycle.. as long as there is no pregnancy detected (no implantant of fertilised egg).. the lining is shed hence we get the menses.. so it is possible that can have no egg.. but still have menses.. coz no pregenency detected..

ya lah Autum
regular-cycle women can rely on more methods - regular O-day as well as discharge, pple like me can only rely on the later.
i also tried taking temperature every morning, if u see a dip in the temperature, quickly do it!

Enne,
*faint* i didnt count how many times i jumped leh :p

starfruit,
well, like i say lor, i din eat any thing so as to have girl, dont mention abt using the Ovulation kit. i dont even know how to count my O day :p

Nana: It's true. I copy and paste the below para from Wikipedia.

Anovulation
Apparently normal menstrual flow can occur without ovulation preceding it (anovulatory cycle - "an-" meaning "absence of" +ovulation). In some women, follicular development may start but not be completed; nevertheless, estrogens will form and will stimulate the uterine lining. Anovulatory flow resulting from a very thick endometrium caused by prolonged, continued high estrogen levels is called estrogen breakthrough bleeding. Anovulatory bleeding triggered by a sudden drop in estrogen levels is called estrogen withdrawal bleeding.[20]

Anovulatory bleeding may occur on a regular basis, but more commonly happens with irregular frequency. Anovulatory flow commonly occurs prior to menopause (premenopause) or in women with polycystic ovary syndrome.

Infrequent or irregular ovulation is called oligoovulation.

Pink,
whahaahahah... i saw your O-day and then u quickly explain what is O-day.. so funny!

Astro,
hmm, i have not thought of it that way (as natural selection).. u have given me a new perspective today!

YY,
agree on the easier to get boys than girls. I read before that having 'once-in-a-blue-moon' intercourse (based on the same theory you had) & having intercourse under stress will get boy. Statistics had shown that Singaporeans oly do it once a week & most people are under alot of stress. So easier to get than gals?
The ratio for boys to gals in my office is like 3:1 so everybody was telling my boss how stressful they are. haha!

yes what bbmouse say is very true, u can be having ur regular menses but not ovulating at all (meaning, no eggs was release despite the menses). So if no ovulation,no matter how many time u have intercouse, will not get preggy one. I think age plays an impt role, thats why our yvonne so fertile, can get preggy so fast.

Autum,
I felt it's difficult to plan for gender too. So difficult even to just monitor ovulation period, do 'it' & get preggie, not to mention taking note of the different days, different methods to get the right gender.

Irin: which is why.. i really feel. u released two eggs at two different time.. to get Reyden and reyes.. who are fraternal twins.. and boy -girl twins! u stylo!! :p

YY,
aiyah, I meant based on what you said about "couples who have constant intercourse.. tend to hit girls" lah.

actually the trick is not have constant intercourse, we all already know that constant intercourse will decrease the qty and quality of the sperm.

Star: Not yet. I also dunno when to do it. Maybe I let her go do it on her own when she's bigger lah. I also went to do it myself.

irin: me blur.. so u agreeing or proposing alternatives? so it is seldom intercourse -> boy.. or seldom intercourse -> girl?? haiz.. can't blame me.. i seeing stars from the trainng.. which has finally ended!!!

baby girl: since we are on the TTC topic, any idea if drugstore.com sells ovulation strips?? maybe should order some and keep.. hehehe