(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

bb,
i also wan... count mi in ok... lol... i sound so sua ku... but jumper gym is nearer...

joelle,
dumex veri sweet... today i spill some on the table... ants come and drink... faint... and bel don wan to drink... haiz...

i also have to go slp liao... just finish the leftover beehoon... i feel so pig now...

yvonne
u have every right to pig...

re: milk
M's on fresh / UHT milk since 2 yr old, he's one of the bigger size kids amg the Feb/Mar05 babies..

Good morning girls!

My baby still a bit feverish from her pneumococcal jab *sigh* Weekend burnt!

Astro,
Just saw your last night's posting - I'm not suaning your sis, so no offence ok?
Maybe I didn't have enough sleep - a bit frank (and hence not so diplomatic).
I thought the way you described your sis was a bit harsh too, but then, she's your sis lah

Mejo,
Yeah, I kept asking organiser if she put in wrong address (I gave her address twice), but she insisted she wrote address correctly. There's even return address on registered article so there's no way it can get lost.
She also promised to give me the registered article number for tracking by last night, but I waited till midnight and there were no SMS/email.
I may be jumping to conclusion, but I don't think she is being honest with me somewhere....

Joelle, Mejo,
Re. right-brain development, yep, I've also read that it does not work if the kid is stressed.
I'm not doing Shichida in the hope that my kid will score top marks, but more to help and give her a headstart if I can, like a gift to her.
And if she does not enjoy the class, then I will take her out of it, but I think it's worth giving it a try for now.
I myself have tried some Tony Buzan techniques when I was in school, but hmm... also not much effect.

I know someone who enrolling her 2yr old dd too, and she bluntly said it's so her dd will be smart and score well in school, which I disagree.
I also think being brought up with good values is more important.
Plus results does not equal intelligence, although this is emphasized in the Singapore education system.
Some kids may be more inclined towards the arts etc, but nto score well in academic subjects.

Anyway, I'll see how the class goes. If the activities are interesting, I'm wondering if I can start some informal weekday playgroup with activities similar to SM... but need to find like-minded mommies who are open to the idea and will take the commitment to join and form the playgroup

Wah the topic on right-brain training continues through the nite..

Astro: I enjoy the "debate" we have purely cos we have different views. I benefit from reading abt your views, and I'm sure you do with mine too. And I think other mummies also read our views. So let's keep it going. Haha..
I may or may not agree with the business model run by the school. I never really thought abt it. I evaluate the school from a consumer's point of view - ie can it meet my needs?
Oh yah, you didn't answer my question from last night. What do you think they're trying to hide by not offering trial lessons? For my second question, I need to rephrase to "Do you think they can achieve it just by not offering trial lessons?" Let me have your answers.. Then we continue the debate. Hehe..

Joelle: There is a difference between studying and learning. Lots of us think that studying = stress. But learning = fun. Babies our age love to learn. The stress comes from the parents when they want to see immediate results. If we just let the kids be and exposed them to different learning channels for the sake of learning, then this shd be enjoyable and stress-free. Right?

Huskie: Like-minded.

huskie: yes. i took offence yesterday and maybe even til now. You are right to say that it is because she is my sister hence i jumped when i saw u post that. My sister is very close to me an we can laugher and suan one another in matters like that but coming from a third party , I'm afraid it would not be as welcome. I believe it would be the case should i start critising ur or for the matter any of the mummies' family members here unless of course, they do not mind in the first place and is angry with them (?).. for sure u will get upset if i say the same words abt ur siblings , u, ur hb or even ur girl.. which is very unfair..

i am qouting my sis as an example.. not to suan her but to highlight that having a good memory but not able to apply it does not work either.. and it is due to the fact that i read ALL the testimonials and found that almost all of them are very 'disturbing; one girl said she canclose her eyes and recite a page she has just read.. the other (edde siad) enjoyed doing worksheet.. and the fact that Shichida chose to highlight those claims is also very disturbing.. in that kind of environment, it can be very stressful and for a 'wrong' reason.. hence i chose to be the devil adovacate to highlight it. i culd just shut up and say nothing but that's astro for u.. someone who is not afraid to voice out in an attempt to protect others and make them think twice to reevaulate a situation.. maybe in this case.. my attempts are not necessary.. and not welcomed..

being frank has nothing wrong.. i am frank also.. but if the frankness can hurt and doesn't help or improve any situations. then sometimes maybe it is better not to offer it at all..

ok.. tat's my two cents worth..

bbmouse: i am running late for kinder.. as to what u have said. if i feel like it.. i will continue else i will choose not to.. because the way i see. this is getting a tad too personal and nothing fruitful will come out of this 'debate'.. and it might just escalate into a battle of words.. which honestly is no pt..

Astro: Of coure you can choose to take up this debate or not. We both got to be mature enough to see that there is nothing personal in this, it's just for fun. We are simply airing our different views. I really would like to know what you think they're hiding. Maybe I've been too blinded to see this.
GO for your class and come back and we "play".

jyun
bien look big boy liao... our toddlers(haha not use to the word..) has yet to meet up ah

some pics to spam on vanda birthday trip...

Fion: How old is Vanda? Vanda: Vanda is 1 years old
1275463.jpg

Vanda: What is this big tissue that i am eating?
1275464.jpg

Fion: Last Year this time mummy is in Glene awaiting to be 'potong' up 2 see U
1275465.jpg

Vanda: Can I eat my strawberry w/o washing?
1275466.jpg

Vanda: I am connfuse which cake i shld choose.
1275467.jpg

Vanda: Can i skip my milk and drink this instead?
1275468.jpg

mash
i mainly give vanda milk + cereal or those instant porridge. when we outside eatingm she wld eat w us almost anything we eat.

u see e tissue prata? she also eat a bit of adult food like rice, deer meat, pork, mkfc mash potato.. she wants 2 eat everything we eat.

pink
1st time i see ur hb pic. leia looks like female version to daddy..

Autum, Mejo: I got my Dora and Diego aquadoodle set. It's amazing to see the little car follow the track I draw. Hahaha.. Anna doesn't appreciate it yet. She keeps wanting to move the car on her own.

aiyo...
no time to read but last night so active ah.

i got the cake from my fren's mum. a bit dissappointed la cause the "1" word is a bit distorted. haha!! but looking at the bright side, its still a celebration. Its a VERY special "1" which cannot be found elsewhere. haha! i felt a bit sad inside my heart, but i still want to make tian happie. will tell her this story infuture. I will make sure that i get a NICE "2" for her next time. or NICE "18" or "21". its mama's promise.
later after celerbation then i post photos.
she is still oi oi now.

star, tian's nap haywire cause mil adjusted to her preference. when she is gone, i will try to adjust back bah. see how. if not, just let her be.
her nap time is from 11-12noon, then 3-4.30pm.
sleep at 9pm, wake up at either 7 or 7.30am.

Mummies! I am VERY HAPPY..

EJ's party went very well yesterday. Started at 4pm, ended at 1030pm.. but some relatives were still in my house playing mahjong till 1am.. but ok la, EJ slept a little later at 1130pm (usual bedtime 11pm). I feel very lucky and happy cos everything turned out well.

1. Weather - was raining till 3+pm.. at first i thot cham liao cos my party is outdoor at the poolside. But it stopped raining just before party starts.. guests start eating before 5pm.. and because the weather was cool (from the rain), they could all sit at the wooden benches and tables surrounding the pool area to eat.. so even tho the function room is small, not everyone needs to squeeze inside.. Yeah!

2. Buffett - the food was simply DELICIOUS! Delihub (Neo Garden), I would give 2 thumbs up! My guests were all very impressed with the quality of the food.. The chicken curry was really good. Mutton rendang was good.. and i chose bur-bur cha-cha as dessert, which was also marvellous. I had leftover food but because about 10 guests last min didn't turn up.. but it's ok.. cos I would very much rather have excess food then not enough food. I catered for 55 pple (expecting 60+) but abt 50 pple turned up. Yeah!

3. PG Cake - my cake was GOOD! the Lychee Martini is really nice. Starfruit, maybe because i have never eaten it before, so i felt it was very nice. The Triple Choc is also nice. I actually let EJ eat the Lychee Martini one.. hahah.. but just gave him a bit to taste and he likes it. My cake was just about enough for 50 pple. Had a few slices left over which was tau-pau by my cousin. Yeah!

4. Decoration & Loot Bags - i had a friend to help me put up the banners, streamers and ballons. Cos the function room was small, so there wasn't really that much to decorate.. I didn't have any helium balloons.. but overall effect is still nice (simple and cozy). Hmm, my 20 loot bags for kids were not enough! The kids were all happy with the bubbles.. haha.. all playing around the pool.. hope i don't get complained by other residents (cos not supposed to step near pool area with shoes etc.. some were washing their hands in the pool). Yeah!

5. EJ - was quite well-behaved.. no major crying or cranky.. he was a bit tired during cut-cake (6pm) but then he didn't want to take his afternoon nap cos so many pple around.. but ok la, he wasn't cranky or overly stimulated.. he managed to have a nap at 8pm.. until abt 9pm.. then he could still see and play with my guests who left at 1030pm. Yeah!

Ok.. sorrie for my super-long post.. Just wanted to share my joy. Thanks for reading this if u made it thru the post!

Will post pics later.. all not taken by me.. hope that my friend is an ok-photographer!

Autum, good to hear that your party were PERFEct to your expecttation.
for me, i am ordering pizza for this afternoon. my bil and sil are late. still not here yet.

QQ,
don't be disappointed with your 1-cake ok.. actually i was also a bit disappointed with my cake. as in, i sort of regret i didn't order the 1-cake.. but ordered a 2-layer one. I think a 1-cake would have been more significant. But then cannot have the best of everything lor. Because i order 2-layer, so i can have 2-flavours.. and then overall the cake design looks nice.. so I am overall happy.

Hope you have a nice pizza party later! Cheers okie.

bbmouse,

How much is your set? I actually prefer that to Thomas the Train but it seems like thomas is cheaper.

Autumn,

Congrats on a wonderful party.

QQ,

It is okay lar. YT dun even have a cake. She only got a balloon. Next time she will complain to me, haha.

Mejo: The list price for this set is more ex than the Thomas one. I bought from ebay for usd20 incl domestic shipping. I wanted the seller to pack into a smaller box for me. So the package that arrives is really small. I think it's worth it.

Drugstore Spree Batch 1:

Finally got news that the items are on their way to Singapore. Will inform all of its arrival and cost. Thanks.

Hey Fion
where did u bring Vanda to? yeh the 1 sign is so cute :p

QQ
enjoy yourself today...
im not feeling excited yet...do u think i should bring hi chair to the venue?

does ur bb wake up crying sometimes? this leia does, and she will only stop after i carry her out of the bedroom.
this morning, she 'force' me to get up, so i brought her to play yard, but she refuse to let me put her down, and my back was hurting...daddy came out and told me to leave her there and just let her cry...i really bu ren xin.

and during bathtime, she refuse to stay in the tub, daddy finally blew up and press her down. think she was a little shocked, so he quickly wash her hair while she was stun and not struggling. when changing diaper, again he presses her down, and that gal helplessly let daddy wear diaper :p
he told me must start to discipline and let her know who's the boss and of cos he wont hurt her, i was a bit scared actually..he said as parents, tho we are frustrated but afterall still our kid wont hurt her, but if its a maid who's unrelated, hard to say..so better discipline her fast

pink
brot vanda to cameron highlands, a very long drive up. very tiring for me cos a lot of curvy route. but vanda has a good time sleep cos of the cold weather.

vanda use to wake up crying but now she wakes up playing w her toys. then hor she wld make funny noises 'singing song' to wake us up. i sleep w vanda on e bed while daddy sleeps on e floor.

but she has a terrible temper. if U grab away something form her hand or dun gv her want she want she wld yell n yell. some times she smack her ass ass telling her not all e time all e things she wans she can hv her way. then hor.. she wld cry cry and wan u hug hug her...as if scare u dun wan her. ironically who smacks her, she wants who hug.. as if asking for forgiviness

QQ
hv a great parety and post tian pics too

Pink: Can I check with you. The courier uncle you use. Is the charge of $7 flat for all locations? Would like to find out and offer as an alternative for the mummies who are in my spree. Let me know. Thanks.

I knock out just now.. had a 2-hr nap.. still tired from the party..

Mejo,
thanks.. when are u doing YT's party?

Blurbelle,
I remember reading that u were asking me where i buy my bubbles.. i bought from neighbourhood shops.. It's just nice size and i like them very much.. too bad that i didn't take photos of the bubbles. They come in very cute shapes and sizes and multi coloured with a pc of long string-loop attached so the kids can hang the bottle around their neck. I have got ice-cream cone, snoopy, ninja turtle, handphone, girl doll and cola bottles.. colours are in red, pink, green, blue etc.. cost only $1 per bottle. and because i bot 20 bottles, i asked for a discount so the shop charged me 90cts per bot! I bot it at Lor Lew Lian, but I have seen this at other neighbourhoods before so i m sure u can easily find.

Pink,
I agree with your hubby leh. Sometimes I just let EJ cry and cry.. until after a while, then i will pick him up. Cos i know those times are when he just wants attention or be 'naughty'.. so as long as u know Leia is not crying because she is in pain, or sick or hungry.. actually can just let her cry! I only go to EJ immediately when he was an infant.. that is different.. cos as infants, they cry when they need comfort and my own theory is if they cry and we don't care, they become insecure n then may develop colic cos eat too much wind.

Now that he is old, i don't want to let EJ think that he cry only means he will get. Yea, altho most of the time we do give in.. but it shouldn't be like immediately.. u know what i mean.. and when changing diaper.. i dun care one.. just let him scream. or else how? I normally put him on my bed n i also sit on my bed, using my legs to press his arms and thighs down! a bit chor-lor but boh bian.. if outside, then need 2 persons.. one to hold his arms and legs, one to change!

I think u must really take care of your back. You already hurt it so u cannot keep carrying Leia n bending down.. please take care else when u get old next time, your back will hurt even more.. then how you going to have number 2 leh. Just let Leia cry a bit!

bbmouse
depends on location...for central area, i think its about $4-$5..Normanton is more west, so maybe he charges $7.

autum
point noted...i just have to harden my heart a bit :p

Autumn, my girl is on similac.

Mummies, the cheerios that u all discussing. I found frosted cheerios, multigrain at Cold Storage, Parkway Parade under cereal dept. Is this what you are looking for.

Autum,
happy for you & EJ that the party turned out well!
Looking forward to the pixs.

QQ/pinkpink,
hope both your parties turn out great today too!!

CK,
think it's the plain multigrain cheerios they are talking about, not the frosted ones.

I got mine last week from Cold Storage Jelita. Maybe can try there.

Autumn,

Party? No party for YT. Only whole family plus my BIL, SIL, parents, sis and her bf go to eat at Crystal Jade. Then at CJ just now, YT hong sim, dun want to eat her lunch. Then on the car come back sleep liao. Till now still haven't eaten. Oh, I think she is awake!

okie, EJ's party pix.. not that many cos a lot of shots were of people moving around.. just random shots..

The buffet with the Pooh scene-setter backdrop
1275821.jpg
1275822.jpg

EJ's cake
1275823.jpg
1275824.jpg

EJ wearing a long-sleeved shirt from Fox n ON jeans
1275825.jpg

A family shot. Too many pple so can't take close-up and I looked pregnant! many guests asked...
1275826.jpg
1275827.jpg

Pink: Sometimes I let Anna CIO as well. I think auntie has been too lenient to her, that's why I need to undo some damage and bad habits. Esp when she would need her to be around until she falls asleep for her afternoon naps. If auntie leaves the room, she will cry. So just now, I told auntie to leave the room, make sure she has enough water, and I will also leave the room. If she cries, I let her cry a while, then I go into the room and ask her why, and then tell her she's tired and wants to sleep. Then I'll leave the room again. This may repeat a couple of times, until she falls asleep herself.
I think I need to try a few times before she knows she will have to fall asleep on her own.

Star,
I saw your cake pics.. nice! yea, would have been nicer if the icing colour is more pink.. now it looks a bit like peach colour. But nevermind la, i m sure u had fun designing the cake! Ask u something, the figurines on your cake, you supplied them too? The Hello Kitty ones? I believed they supplied some right, like the balloons (cos my cake had that too).. so u bought your own figurine and still must pay $25 ah? I was charged $20 for the figurines/design.

Fion,
So nice that you could bring Vanda to Cameron for her birthday. Altho it's a tiring drive up, i m sure all of you enjoyed the trip. Can see that both of you are very happy in the photos. And I like the 1-finger photo.. so cute.

Irin,
in the end, i also didn't use the table-cloth. hiaz. cos my function room very small, no place to have a table.. so we did the cake cutting outside the function room. and there were only wooden table-benches. so can't put the table cloth over.. felt a bit wasted. I used the other decor but my silly friend didn't take much photos of the decor.. sigh..

Autum,
the cake's so nice.
Ok, you had me inspired to get that for Reyden's 2nd birthday. hehe.
You does look preggie in that pix, then how did you reply those who asked? EJ looked so handsome in that outfit. I think you had always dressed him so well or maybe he just look good in anything. hehe. My hubby says EJ looks like the typical cute baby with big eyes in advertisements. You should bring him for auditions if there's any.

Autum,
I forgot to take pixs of the whole decor too. Too busy taking pictures of the cakes, the bd boy/gal, the food & etc ... hehe.

bbmouse,
when i wore the dress out, hubby's first reaction was "why u wear this? u want pple to know u preg ah?" then i thot aiya, i already planned to wear this and dun want to change la.. so i just leave it.. didn't expect so many guests to immediately catch on.. haha.. maybe i am the silly one.. cos when i looked at myself in the mirror, i thot i didn't look preg leh.. but when i saw the photos.. i was like.. OH!

So, does EJ still look like your nephew in this photo?

Irin,
those guests who asked, i admitted lor.. cos no point lying la.. but for some, i just smiled.. so the smart ones should know that that means a Yes.. hee..

my photos were a bit disappointing la.. but i dun blame my friend la cos she not photog mah.. i just passed the cam to her and asked her to take.. I didn't have time to take any photos with the camera myself cos i busy walking around lor. but ok la.. at least got some photos can liao.

Autum: I had Neo garden too. Thumbs up for their curry and also the pork ribs. Damn solid. We finished all the chicken, and I even want to ta-bau the curry cos it tastes so good. I dip my bread into the curry.

I will order from them again. But next time round, I will order more instead of less. Cos we didn't have enuf food. I had to order 4 large pizzas and 200 satays last min. Good thing the food arrived quite fast.

Autum-handsome EJ! I think he got ur genes hor, look like u ler. hehe.

Irin-if I din rem wrongly... Happy Birthday to Reyes & Reyden, wish them grow up jian jian kang kang!

Tks Enne. Ya, it's their birthday today. Wanted to bring them swimming but it had been raining for the whole day. Hopefully it doesn't rain tomorrow & Tues. Will go get a mini cake later to have a mini celebration.

How did you celebrate Legolas' birthday yesterday?

Irin-I brought him to Science Centre, thot of going Zoo initially but din coz seems rainy weather. I think he had fun although he don't understand the 'scientific' reason behind. hehehe. Yeah now still raining hor, earlier on 'tai yang yu' somemore.

Any other BBs bday today? If got, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TOO!

It's going to be their birthday officially in another 8-10 mins' time. I was being 'cut up' at this time last year. hahaha!!

leaving for party at 6pm

bbmouse
wow u are not bad, quite a stern mummy, i must really put this into practise.

autum
EJ looks really handsome! u have backdrop somemore...mine just balloons and some hanging mobiles...plus a small banner...forgot to buy the separate letters for LEIA..hiaz

ok..gossip a bit before i leave..my MIL bought a baby doll for Leia..hahha with a milk bottle and pacifier...when i wanted to hold a ful mth buffet for leia, she said pple will give toys, no use..kekeke...anyway i told my guests not to get me toys, my house no space.

and last nite she came back with a set of very white and nice teeth...and found out that besides the teeth implant, now she is 'beautifying' her existing teeth!!! wow, we thought she needs the cash to do the implant for eating purpose so sponser her..now????????? i just kept quiet

HUkie: i did not design the cake lah... just instruction on the shade of pink i wanted, where to place the figurines, candles etc. The cake design is from PG, as u can see, its the same as the one Autum got. Thats why i say i siao lor, wrote a doc to tell them how to arrange my cakefigurines!!!

Autum: yeah, i supplied the figurines exp for the ballons.. told them i wanted the balloons cos they charged me $20 for the design fee.. they say the $20 is complusory, so must charge even when i amproviding the figurine. Its a light pink, but dunno why my pics looks peachy.. must be the lighting in the room.

Baby Girl: my cake adn Autum's is teh same lah, only diff is the colour and cream pumping on it. I hace flowers, EJ has candies.. i did not want the candies..wanted cream flowers on the sides.

Irin: ya her party really pink,even the disposable plates and utensils were all pink!! i post some deco pics up later for u to see..hehe

Star: I went back to look at your cake again. It is indeed the same cake. Couldn't see the "1" as clearly from the pics you posted. Nice leh, this design. I like.

How much is the cake all in?

Pink: The method is working with Anna. I told auntie to leave the room once she's been settled down. She didn't really cry for her late afternoon nap just now. Just made some noise and fuss about.
I really didn't expect to be the disciplinarian between my hubby and I. Since I've already started playing this role, I will continue in it. He shall be the good cop.

Baby Girl: retired.. haha u are very cute lah. BUt its nice to still occassionally see baby girl coming in here too. Oh saw SQ at kinder today, she brought YE for a make up class... forgot to ask her why she never come in lately.

SQ: YE sooo cute today with the piggie suit... i have come photos, post here for u to see later.

Autum/Edde: my gf who came for the party was saying that PG's Black Forest also famous one.. supposely their berries in the Black forest is dunno import from which country etc etc... maybe i buy go buy a slice the next time to try.

I just had 2 slices of cake.. wha overnight cake taste so much better..hehehe