mejo: oh. i meant stress as in stressful childhood. i dun fancy the thought of being 'stressed' to train my right brain in order for me to be stress free in future. and i m not exactly a result-oriented person i suppose. cos i see people who had photographic memories mugging at exams too. somehow, they feel they know, yet they can 'do better'. these ppl are stressed to do better cos they are already 'smarter' in a sense. but school grades aside, ultimately they arrive at the working world and it is survival of the fittest, not necessarily the smartest. and i am also very aware of the phrase, xiao3 shi2 liao2 liao3, da4 wei4 bi3 jia1.
as for character, i m a firm believer that a person's character is built in the first 4 years of life. anything built up after that is jus 'stuck on', can be 'modified'. can change for the good, or for bad. good behaviour when young will DEFINITELY grow into good behaviour in adulthood. that is why it is impossible to mould characters of sec sch kids... u can try to influence them but at the slightest peer pressure, they may change again. character is not built with 'extra time'. it is built by the journey. mugging hard, doing our best for exams though we don't have a good memory is character building too.