(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Huskie: That's a very apt observation. I never see it that way! But you're right - a lot of the right brain stuff aims to improve the speed in doing things - speed reading, photographic memory (in a way, this is increasing the speed you remember things), math, etc.

The other aspects perhaps not speed-related will be multiple language, perfect pitch and healing.

ok, the figurines on the other side of the cake
1275212.jpg

star: jelly. ok.. :p.. why i keep saying cookies?.. hmmm..

huskie: but having good memory means u are better? my sis has fantastic memory leh. but prob is she can't apply what she remembers appropriately.. take her o levels for example.. she damm stylo.. photographic memory.. asked me to test her. so i obliged.. 'how does a waterfall form?'... she went eh.... then asked me to give her the first word .. i gave her 'the'.. and she rambled on and on .. i took the textbook and doublecheck.. down to the last fullstop and commas.. even quesiton mark!!! symbol by symbol.. but so what? she hasn't understood..
and IF u go read the shichida website' testimonials.. u might realise.. that whatever they say they are good in doing// or the children can deliver.. are quite ambigious.. and may i add.. not really relevent.. to the real world..a lot of it.. still thru rote learning. thats my take..

ok i shut up abt shichida.. NOW.. :p

Mash: act u can feed in the car? no? or u guys can stop somewhere for a short break while u feed him ur cereal. This way, J need not skip so many solid meals.

pax,
jay oso like bread..at times, he machiam not enuf to tong til his lunch. so he will aim for my breakfast..then i offered him some..i pinch very very tiny pc...haha...dun think he taste so dissolve very fast...i try to limit to a quarter of 1pc bread ..at most, half...
the last time forgot to ask dr ong ok to gv abit of bread anot..not on daily basis though...

starfruit,
The cake is still pretty, considering you spent so much effort designing it!
Where did you get the cute HK tablecloth from?

bbmouse,
I also read about the healing part, and I believe in that for sure

Yes, it sounds a bit new age, but I think the subconscious is very powerful.
I listen to those deep relaxation CDs and I always whisper to my baby when she is in the awake-sleepy mode.

Astro,
I agree that the Shichida webbie is crap, but to me, there is no harm trying since I do believe in the different aspects of Shichida's teachings, and they're the only school that provides this sort of training for kids

As for your sis, it's just a shame that she's got a photographic memory but not so good analytically.

Huskie: I do that to Anna in her sleep too. But not regular. I just tell her that mummy and daddy loves her and she loves mummy and daddy.
You will hear of this during the PEC talk.

And maybe she will tell the story abt the orange experiment they conducted.

star,
i cant feed in the car coz jay refuse to sit in the car seat...i nid to jaga him with both hands since this fellow is moving everything!! have to keep him entertain inorder not to distract my hb who's nagivating and his pal who is driving...
his meals kinda clash with the travelling time on the road..unless we find somewhere indoor, it's quite diff to stay outdoor coz there was a Cyclone at North Western of Australia, so the weather was cold and windy though it's suppose to be summer and temp should have been 37degree

it's our 1st trip and guess i really didnt do a good job on jay's meal

OK, mommies, I'm also going to turn in for the night... after waiting in vain for my Registered Article receipt to be scanned and sent to me

bbmouse: well.. to each his own.. it is just like i wun be able to convince u that some GPs are good.. and i tend to graviatate to what star just mentioned.. that they are doing all these to make it exclusive.. i have nothing against the shichida method.. it is an age old method. let me just say that i have something against the marketing method.. dun like it.. too high handed liao..

Huskie: first.. see ur two lines.. contradictory..

"if they have trials, then parents may walk out wondering if it works. And like bbmouse mention, they probably do not need trials to recruit students cos there is such a high demand for their classes."

GUG does something similiar.. and they allow trials.. true. having windows can be distracting..but GUG 's windows also pathetically small lor. just a slit lor.. and regarding people work in and out if they feel that no good.. i think end of the day.. all mature parents here.. if really absolute confidence that ur style can work.. bottom line.. share.. dun hide. alamak. i think i know why i appear so close minded to bbmouse on shichida .. I am skeptical.. coz how to teach bbs to share or what they call "from the heart".. if from the very start ur managing philosphy is so.'exclusive?'.. a bit fake right?

star,
ya loh...i wori on the carbo loh..coz dr ong said jay very 'special' mah..haha...that's y i oso not very adverturer on his food

was told that he nid to avoid root veg...he havent taken pumpkin for very long le...

i know this is late compare to other babies...but i just want to share JAY IS CRAWLING!! hahaha...

and i so busy making sure the dogs dun go kiss him..haizz...

think he's oso trying to learn to walk at the same time...aiyo, so tam sim...want to learn so many things at one go...

huskie: wah. dun suan my sis that way pls.. she doesn't have the analytical power.. so what leh? she;s a kind person. hardworking.. that's most impt..

AStro: I alway believe there are honourable exceptions. Though I haven't come across any yet.

I don't think no trial means they have something to hide leh. What do you think they're trying to hide? And how long can they hide it for?
And they are not exclusive cos they take in every child - even the brain damaged ones.

Agree with you. You are too skeptical.

Star
the cake is nice! im looking forward to mine, it better be nice, never spent so much on cakes.

came back from wedding dinner, didnt eat much bcos of hyper leia. put her in hi chair she struggle, kept looking for things to entertain her but she threw on the floor after a while, kept having to pick them up.

after that, she saw another bb at another table, came down, walk over and ka chiao him, point at his nose, his mouth, his eyes and squeeze into the other table..after that kept pushing her own pram, headache. put her in her pram she cried.. i told my hubby i cannot bend anymore.

or ya and the other bb's mum thought leia is older, asked her 14th month old boy to call Leia Jie Jie? then another uncle asked whether she's about 20mths? hah? funny leh.

pax
both m and j look so much like each other, but M growing to be more like daddy while J looks like u..

bbmouse: cool it.. take it objectively.. like the way i respect ur views and thinking on shichida.. and i never in anyway question ur belief on it. i am questioning THEM.. not u.. so pls also allow me to voice my thoughts and opinions.. on this open forum..

i am skeptical.. for i am an educator.. and i dun believe that there's nothing we can't learn TOGETHER.. no need for all these price differientiation. and marketing gimmicks..

pink: leia is very inqusitive abt everything.. i find.. i laugh at the vivid way u describe what was mentioned at the wedding.. second/third paragraph..

Huskie,

Hmm, I bought Eric Carle books from the same organiser also. Sometimes she just like ren jian zhen fa but she did reply eventually and I did manage to collect all my books although it were months later than expected. Registered mail cannot get lost, maybe she did a boo boo.

Pinkpink,

I also feel that Leia very mature lei, her actions and looks. Nowsaday they like to point at things hor. YT also pointing here and there. Sometimes I dunno whether she is pointing to ask me about that thing that she is pointing to (cuz she make the astonished "eh?") or she is doing it for fun. YT also very hard to sit still for long outside but one good thing is she quite tam jiak for "adult's food" so we can just feed her bits of rice and she can happily munch munch for a long time and since her meal time is exactly the same as ours, I'll just feed her in the restaurant. But of cuz, wedding dinner is a bit too late lar. Only bought her to one wedding dinner once, my BIL's wedding. Then never liao. I will only go on my own or with hb only for any wedding dinner else she scream in the middle of it, I'll be embarrassed!

Yvonne,

Wah!!! Bel can say xie xie already! So polite. So cute!

astro
she's just too notti.

for shichida course, i will consider if there is a trial, otherwise its too ex for me to commit. i think the P is targeting at the more financially capable parents and it has to be good if so many sent their kids for it.

pink: leia is inqusitive.. that is a virtue!!
.. pls continue to encourage that.. before it 'naturally ' get erodes away

ya.. that's why i say i find it high handed. but that's business world..
shichida is an age old method of education for me.. worthy of respect..i am just against the marketing and management method..

mejo
ya man i was embarrassed, she yelled twice.
recently when she wants me to carry her, she stamp her feet, kept pulling my hand and yell..i have to give in.

yvonne
ghappy birthday to Bel! aiya past midnite liao

i hope tomorrow's party will turn out well.
just now a fren sms me and ask me where and wat time despite me sms-ing and emailing the invite to her, im very buai song wif this kind of insincerity..pple made the efforts to inform u via different mode, should be responsible to take note mah

eh... pardon my intervention on this rather 'sensitive topic' now... also pardon me for being naive... jmho here. cannot keep my mouth shut cos i really dun understand some things.

shichida or not?

erm... exclusivity, skepticism or what. just what is this big deal with training up the right brain? how many of us mummies were trained this way when we were young? how many of us turned out stupid? i know as a mummy, i would want my kid to be smart and clever and intelligent. err right..they are the same meaning... (dun need a right brain skill to tell me that!) i always thought right brain means creative and creativity means a chance to explore. my mum was not rich enough to send me to such schools, but she told be to take initiative. not to ask too much, but to explore and find my own answers. (think my mum must have been right brain trained!) i'm glad i didn't grow up a no brainer.

okie..think i sound bad..heh... but my question is, seriously, what is so great about creating a genius? one with photographic memories, who can do her alegebra ter-balik? sour grapes or not, i will seriously find it tough to bring up a gifted kid, having to 'nurture' him the 'special' way, though schools and experts. then risk the child not having an enjoyable childhood with fun and companions. maybe gifted kids have fun. but how about stress free? competition free? what happened to normal classes with normal paces?

and what happened to values and virtues? and other character building 'education'? so what if we have photographic memory but are not fast enough to think before we speak? hurting people in speech and words? so what if we are very smart and learned, but selfish and unwilling to share? refusing to teach others, refusing to share notes? so what if we can learn in a condusive environment but get distracted by a little bit of noise or light. would that not make us selfish and isolated from the surroundings? not to say.. how focused are we if such minute things can distract us so easily.

okie.. that's my take... may not be agreeable by all so please dun shoot me... i make love, not war! ;p

bbmouse,

Wah, then I too goot lat liao. I'm planning to print then cut and paste the self made cards and I wanted the fonts to be the same as GD mentioned something about consistency in the teaching materials. But my handwriting cannot make it wor...

pink,
i nv sms, i call them personally... lol... make sure my words get into their ears.. if nv come, nvm, but i already make my efford to call... if not, they sure say: opp, i nv received ur sms/email... lots of excuses... i will be more angry this way... lol...

astro
its the so-called 1 and only, so pple will still want to sign up despite the fee cum marketing strategy, personal choice lor, every parent wants the best for their kid. to me, a child can learn thru many different ways, we can only help them to a certain extent, after that, it really depends on themselves

pink/yvonne: insincerity irks me too.. i pride myself on being sincere.. and will try to teach teng that.. if will come. willcome..I will also be angry. can't read ah? must go on national broadcast?? must ask so many times?

astro,
ya... so jia lat one... some even worst... still dare to say i nv invite... i sms and remind million times... i think their hp drop in toilet bowl and flush to america!!!

pink/titu: well said
ok.. enough overdose of this for the night.think we need to move on to soemthing lighter?..

ehhh. pink.. no more birthday bash ah? i thought i missedit when i went hongkong leh..

pink:i really love leia's hair.. really.. she looks very good in that.. got character
dreamy look.. oh my! this girl.. will grow up.. man killer.. :p:p that first pic..damm sexy the way she pose..hahaha

yvonne:leia also look like pink leh. dunno how to say :p

i go slp liao... tml still have to wake up early... nitenite...

astro,
can i check with u, the book i borrowed from u last time, the contented little baby, not selling outside anymore? wad is the full title huh... i need to buy...

pink...haa..the first pic reminds me of kelley's facebook pic leh!! =p

yvonne: worse is those who say they will come.. but dun turn up....then say they forgot, n scold us for not reminding them! kaoz...like dat oso can... show's how 'sincere' they r...

yvonne
ya lor, when pple see me and leia, they say leia look like me, but once they see my hubby, im out of the picture..photccopy father and dotter

post some bel's birthday pix leh

1275300.jpg

the "photographer" not professional enough... so end up onli see half of the cake... lol... onli got this in my mobile... the rest in my fren's cam...