(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

autum: huskie posted before.. but i forgot liao. hence i requested her to post again

my mum didn;t take care of me.. it was my grandma who took care of me since young.. and whatever my mum knew about taking care of teng.. i taught her.. so u get my pt..ellie, not too sure but i know she wun mess things up too badly lah..

if u can pay my mum eough money to let her cover a few sessions of manjong..i think she wun mind leh! ha!

edde,
Eh, I just realised what I wrote about teachers having to be admitted to Woodbridge is quite insensitive... SO SORRY!
What I really wanna say is that teachers get burnt out very quickly and need to see shrinks, and so it's good you realise this and decided to call it quits.

Actually I envy you teachers... even if you quit, can still give tuition and earn pretty decent money... and when your kids need to go to school, you can volunteer at the schools. Me, give tuition can only earn peanuts!

Astro,
Yeah, the walking to and fro between parents (called "football" by Dr. Miriam Stoppard) is used to encourage and build confidence for kids to walk by themselves!

And you're right, babies will know when they're ready to move on. My baby was so upset when I let go of one of her hands, prob cos she wasn't ready yet. She'd immediately sit herself on the floor and bawl each time I do it. Finally I stopped doing it, and one day, she just let go of one of my hands and never took both my hands again. And I encourage her by showing her my hand "No hand" on the one she's not holding... liek a "No more" action. And she'll imitate with that free hand too
So I try to make her "mutli-task" by walking and moving her hand in that action.

Here're the details on GUG:
1. Gifted Babes
- Age 8 to 18mths
- 1.5hr sessions
- 2 or 3 times per week
- Fees $280/mth for 2x a week
- Fees $396/mth for 3x a week

2. Gifted Tots
- 1.5 to 2.5yrs
- 2hr sessions
- 2 or 3 times per week
- Fees $296/mth for 2x a week
- Fees $420/mth for 3x a week

* Each term is 12 weeks, if I'm not wrong.

Gynae: I saw Dr. Eunice Chua too
She is such a nice nice lady, but unfortunately my first pregnancy also didn't work out... I terminated at 10th week. Hubby and I went to see her twice a week to scan for improvements, and finally heartbeat stopped. Hubby really cannot bear to step into that hospital again, that's why I ended up with another gynae near my home. Once I was buying my bike opp. TMC, hopped over to TMC to withdraw money from ATM... aiyoh, cried cos of all the sad memories!

starfruit, yup. 30 mins for the photo shoot.

astro, hope you feeling better.

pink, must be esp careful if it's the lower back or spine. or maybe go to a physiotherapist. they can see what's wrong plus do massage if needed.

re: girl or boy for next kid
domie has one line on thigh (supp to be boy), 2 zengs (so i also dunno what that means) and looks like girl (supp to be girl) so in the end, becomes square one again.

SQ, i've kinda stopped using the baby detergent. only used it on and off cuz still got one gigantic bottle to finish.

edde, i really admire you all teachers. if your heart is really not in it, then move on with the decision you've made. actually do you still wanna teach some years down the road? does your sch allow you to take NPL? i heard MOE allows teachers to take up to 3 yrs NPL.

Astro,
PD told me before that teething will bring on low grade fever... low grade to PDs means about 37.4 or 37.5.
Anything above 38 is normally considered high, so your GP is right this time... it's probably not teething... could be just a viral fever.

astro, you're not a bad mummy for wanting a break lah. dun be so hard on yourself. write down instructions for ellie and then tell your mum again. at least when i forgets, there's the other as backup.

hey edde, don't feel so bad... you're not alone. I am usually tired, drained from a whole day of work at sch. not to mention disappointment. my colleagues and i were jsut talking abt our students. we can take a whole night to plan for a lesson and the next day, we just need one student to take the worksheet that we've so diligently designed and scribble rubbish on it! but sometimes i try to tell myself it's actually one out of the many who do appreciate us. and we often get so worked up over that silly one that we forgot about the rest. SO look on the bright side!
heee...i told my colleagues before...so long as we can touch one student's life a year, it's good enough. I have to admit that there are just some students whom I can never reach out to. hopefully other teachers or pple in his/her life will be able touch him/her in ways that I can't. Jia You!!!

Sigh... it's really hard life for us. this morning I was just thinking abt all the enrichment classes that were discussed on the forum...then it came upon me that i m paid to educate other people's children and i've to pay others to educate my own! it does seem ridiculous to me. some nights when hubby n i were really tired out, i simply just wished that Ethan would sleep quickly so i could get on with my work. was I depriving ethan of his time with me then? very bad mummy right?

Star and mejo, i told my mum so many times to use mandarin with him...but she's just so EL pro. haaa...

Autum, i heard the spologies over the radio while driving too. poor guy. that service man who did his computer muz have sold the info to the media. so evil of him!

hey astro, how's kindermusik? i actually signed up for a trial on the 29 feb. is teng enjoying the class?

i sent an email to GUG to inquiry abt their programmes liao
also ask if there is any possible bp price if we all form a complete class.. but i think highly unlikely.. haha..no harm asking lah..

Astro,
ya, now i remember reading that u are brought up by your grandma.. but still i think u can have confidence in your mum and maid la. What about other siblings? I mean, u have other siblings whom u can leave Teng with?

Huskie,
The Gifted Babes for GUG, that means I must commit to twice a week? err, but I can only do at most one weekend day class.. that means i can't enrol liao ah?

Moogen,
hiya.. all these funny old wives tales abt whether get girl or boy.. all buay zun one la.

Astro,
actually i wanted to post this 2 days back when u were asking abt giving antibiotics to Teng.. whether baby so young can take antibiotics.. EJ had taken antibiotics once (given by PD) when he was around 8mths old i think. The antibiotics is Augmentin. Of course we wouldn't want to give antibiotics to our babies if we can but that time PD says no choice must give and we trust this PD..

So anyway, i just want to say it won't really harm them la.. so since Teng already take liao.. then don't feel so bad ok.

huskie! thanks!
.. same as me lah. She mentioned.. one in three women has 'miscarriages leh'.. apparently VERY common.. hmm. i still chose to see DR Chua.. coz she was quite nice and sensitive in the way she handle the termination.. and ya. i was slightly affected at my loss.. cried a fair bit in private. but maybe because it was still early. 9 weeks.. so not really that badly affected not to go back to her again.. and i figured that.. it is best to see someone whom is female and someone who knows my case history. when i stepped into her clinic to confirm pregnancy of teng.. she exclaimed, "it is so good to see u again!'.. haha. i was like.. 'sure or not? so happy to see me ah?".heehee.. i didn't say that lah. but i think she is nice lah..

i got Dr Stoppard's books also leh. but i long long time no read it liao.. :p.. heheee.. hey! what were u working as before becoming SAHM huh?

viv: teacher also huh? :p which level and what subjects?.. and are u sure we are paid THAT highly? :p:p

I think Teng likes kindermusik .. even if he doesn't lke it and is entertaining me.. i also happy.. which teacher u got for kindermusik trial? quite impt the teaceher..

hey! u went for GUG trial or not ah? ..

Autumn,
The Gifted Babes is a Weekday Pre-nursery program... sorry, I sort of forgot lots of you girls are FTWMs... cos this SAHM was looking at weekday ones!

For weekend & enrichemnt programs, it's called Parent and Babe:
1. Parent & Babe
- 8 to 18 mths
- Sat/Sun
- Duration 1.5hrs
- Time: 930am, 1130am, 2pm or 4pm
- Price $168/mth

2. Parent & Tot
- 1.5 to 3 yrs
- Duration 1.5hrs
- Time for Sat: 1130am or 2pm
- Time for Sun: 930am or 11:30am
- Price $168/mth

Wrong info on terms earlier... it's not 12-week term... here's correct info on terms:
** 6 terms in a year
** Each term usually 8-week duration
** Fee payments are to be made for the WHOLE term and paid in full before start of each term

moogen: thanks for the concern..haiz. i am devlopking a cough liao. teng passed to me liao. ops! haiz. ehh. ya. i will just go. else i will yell at him more! :p

huskie: his fever went up to 38.5/.6,, and lips very red.. and legs also quite reddish.. wah. seldom he has such high fever..hmmm...

Astro,
More likely it's viral... plus if it's teething, teng wouldn't have cough right?
Chinese calls it heaty, but the western docs calls it viral

For the miscarriage, I guess I was very badly affected cos I never thought it would happen to me... plsu I announced to all my friends *sigh* then each time one of them asks me how's the pregnancy going, I would burst into tears again!
Hubby also cannot tahan Dr. Chua's waiting time ;)

I was doing marketing comms before I became a SAHM

OK, time for this moo-moo cow to get milked for baby's night feed... if I don't come in again, good night to you girls and chat tomorrow!

autum: i guess i have to trust both of them.. i only have one sister.. she's yet married.. dun have have children. and teng cries all the time when see her. coz not very familiar with her.. so u say leh? :p

hmm. understand that antibodtics must be given if there is really case to. but puzzled/pissed that the GP SO FAST give liao. haiz in ,,never meet the criterions of peristent high fever of 39 degree celsius yet mah.. like any how like that.. maybe that's the reason why he no biz kind. andpple sayhe lousy doc.. anyway. just hope that teng recovers fast lah..

huskie: GUG Gifted bbs leh.. costs and timings.. u have these info?

astro, haaa...that's y loh...we are NOT. if do hourly calculation, teachers are super lowly paid! sianz.... me teach EL and Lit sec 1,3 and 4.
how you get out of service huh? tell me leh... this yr is hell for me!

huskie: u gives an impression of very knowledgeable leh.. u read a lot?
.. what were u working as ah before SAHM? can tell?

hmm read somewhere on some website. that too much saliva production. can actually cause cough.. that time when his first teeth appeared. no fever. but also runny nose and cough.. but i guess hard to be absolute.. coz after all all similar signs..

Astro,
GUG costs and timings all above liao?
The first set (twice a week type) are weekday pre-nursery classes.
The second set at $168 are weekend enrichment classes.

autum, haha. not zun one lah... just for laughs. anyway it's always 50% chance.

astro, take all the vitamins you can find in the house and gulp them down. v sian to be sick on an overseas trip.

huskie: ya. SUPER long time. waiting for DR chua!.. ok. marketing comm. night night moo moo cow!

viv: just tender lor :p.. and get 'interrogated' by P and VP for almost 2 hours per person hor.. in their offices.. wah biang.. sian that time.. having to insist taht iwant to go. no matter what.. and i wun stay even if they praise me and acknolwdge how well i did.. i even told my VP who told me to reconsider and 'gave' me another 24 hours to reconsider my decision.. i just told her tha ttime.. very bluntly.. " i thought abt this for one month liao.. and 24 hours will not change my decision.. and if my hb can't even change my mind.. think u dun have to try lah..".. haha. very arrogant hor? :p:p she smiled and said "why are u so stubborn? just like the students.. dun listen one"... hahahaha

huskie: ehh. different right?
weekend classes, ya . it is parents and babe (for 8 mths to 1.5 years.. and parent and tot is for (1.5 to 2.5).. while gifted bbs is the WEEKDAY programme which u choose to go twice or trice a week right? the one which includes a mandarn segment?

huskie
after my 1st miscarriage, i realise that its common.

autum
i can only go once a week..either sat or sun.
but, im afraid to go alone, esp when it comes to carrying bb up and down...unless my hubby is willing to go wif me..unlikely

astro
go enjoy your trip! or go make another bb :p time to relax and you need to trust your mum and maid to take good care of Teng sooner or later.
When i went for my bangkok or Japan trip, i really kan kai and go..but missed leia a lot of cos.

whao....astro, you very brave leh. but i guess at that point you are really ready to let go. so envious. i can't let go...until i know exactly what i want or at least found another job. so what are you doing now? you are at RP right? now as i m chatting, i am also doing up the handbook for my school's students who are going to india.

astro
yah...i posted few times about it...the fertilised egg did not develop further..most likely poor egg quality of mine

nothing is impossible :p

pink,
You also? Sigh, so sad right?
I wonder why in our parents' or grandparents' time, it's not so common?
Is it cos it's taboo i.e. pple don't talk about it, or is it cos of our diets (more processed foods, more pollution, more GM foods, hormone-injected animals) that caused it?
I'm still searching for an answer, but don't think I'll ever find it!

Astro,
I'm not knowledgeable lah... just super kaypo and always asking why.... asked so much until my gynae told me not to surf net and ask so much... and my teachers almost asked me to shut up last time ;)

Yeah, sorry, for giving wrong info on GUG earlier, cos I was so intent on searching for weekday classes I forgot about you girls.
Yes, the weekday class includes Mandarin segment cos my friend's kid used to attend it.
Not sure if the weekend Parent and Babe one includes Mandarin though.
BUT there is another weekend class called "Bilingual Parent & Tot"... but for 1.5-3 yr old kids.

viv: all i wanted.. at that time. was to take a break. and make sure teng survives! (already preg with teng that time. first tri).. heeehee. i didn't know what i want.. neither did i find another job.. heehee. i just bummed around.. for 2 years!! hahaa.. ya. facilitator at RP now.. facilitating modules on cognitive and thinking processes
want join me?! whahahaha..

wah.. do handbbook ah?.. haha.. i also reading on my reserch.. haiz.. sian..

huskie: u quite like me.. haha.. Dr Eunice 'buay tahan' me on etime.. when i rattled on and on on my list of 'insecurities and qns".. she said "how about this..? as long as no spotting, no severe cramp.. (and somemore, forgot liao).. it is NORMAL".. whahaha. how can u beat me in that?! :p

ya. it's ok.. this GUG ah. all their programmes names so similar one! confusing if never read properly ah!

ehh. i thought u need to go and be 'milked'..? hee :p

Astro: the GUG weekend price is differnt... the one huskie posted is for weekday.

The weekend classes pricing is per month.. about $168/month i think.. 1 semester is 2 months (8 lesson). u need to pay registration fee and dunno what fee.. comes up to about $150.. total for the first payment abt $400plus to $500.

ok ok ... amended on the pricing of the GUG weekend class

Weekend:
Parent and Babe (8 to 18 mths)
Sat/Sun
$168/4 week monthly rate (need to pay for 2 months which is for 1 term) There are 6 terms in a yr, each term is a 8 week duration.
Plus u need to pay $50 (Reg + GST)
Plus deposit $100 (refundable)
I forgot how this deposit works.
U can stop temporary at any of the term before resuming but u need to inform them at the start of the term that u will be stopping.

huskie
perhaps our body is just not ready. or perhaps when the egg is fertilised, its just not strong enough to further develope, which means that it was a mistake to be formed in the first place. personally i feel that stress could be the main factor, causing our egg quality to drop.

pink: sometimes just not the right time lah. sometimes sperm might be the fastest but not the strongest etc.. many many facters..

hmm.. could be stress also.. but when i had teng.. i was even more stressed! :p

star: oh. .forgot. i just made a batch of starfruit to intro teng when he's well :p:p

ok seriously. . wah so ex ah! wahh siong.. dunno how to tell miser :p:p
u asked them the other time ah?

in comparison.. kinder's cheaper? :p.. ehh. actually guG also longer duration.. and they do more then just huff and puff.. heehee.. so cannot compare also. hmm. really thinking how to suggest to miser. else his BP will shoot skyward!

Astro: thats what i think i will only start GUG after i complete kinder.. don't have so miuch $$ to do 2 classes at one time.. think Rae cannot tahan all the stuimulation leh. so i am still thinking now..most prob will stop kinder for a term after this, let Rae rest a bot before i resume.

Just finished Rae's lunar celebration just now.. she didn;t go to bed till 10pm!!! wha..timing all haywired liao. today is the 2nd day she missed her late morning nap..think cos she woke up late today... thats why not sleep. wanna try and readjust back her timing tomorrow liao.

which item did Rae choose first?

heehee. teng first item is the hong bao! haha.. actually.. when we on the way to put the tray in front of him.. he grabbed the egg coz it was 'moving towards' him as miser put lay the tray in front of him! hahaha.. i said 'alamak, not counted'... he 're-chose'.. then become hongbao. then tried 3 more times for fun.. each time all different one! pen, calculator (miser say abacus too obsolete liao. haha. so become calculater he said!) and then pencil. not interested in book, scissors, ruler and toy leh him..
got some clips of that. but still lazy to upload. haha. teng was 'seriously' thinking what to choose leh.. haha :p

hey guys, thx for all yr comforting words and advice. now puffy eyes from all that crying..

viv, i am teaching 2 clases of sec 3E (the best and worst bands), 4E (middle band), 4NT (middle band) this yr and also remedial for 4E and 4NA. i wont say the teaching part is siong, but i already find it draining... like u said, everyday i reach home (i fly home as soon as i can!) i tried to do work, until i doze off. at nite aft anthea sleeps, it already 9pm, do little bit of work, its time for bed else tired the next morn. wkends are gone coz anthea is ard. how to do work like dat? i really cant imagine how other FTWM cope. i cant.

dats why i said i hv been deliberating on the decision to quit. watever happened today is just a catalyst.

Astro, Starfruit,
GUG needs the parent to carry the baby and swing and jump about is it? I never tried Kinder also.. so I don't know about these 2.. if need parent to carry and swing about then I definitely need my hubby there.. I can't carry EJ and swing leh..

Star,
So u will send Rae to GUG too? then what about her Kinder? Kinder is also a series of 8 lessons right? Hey, can I join you mummies for a trial? I remember reading that you (or someone else) posted that there are always other mummies who join your classes for trial?

hey autum
good job! i can never design something so nice! wat software did u use?

moogen
forgot to thank u for asking about my back..i went accupucture, hopefully better by tomorrow..
btw when u said u like small eye man, my hubby's face came to my mind immediately..kekkee...our hubbies have mi ren eyes..

wha.. u all do invite liao ah.. i very inspired.. maybe i should do 1 do.

Astro: i cannot decide leh.. maybe sun class
i let her pick the following (and she picked in this order):
1) Book (play cheap a bit, i used a small notebook)
2) Pen
3) Money
4) Calculator
5) Ruler

I only have 5 items cos i cannot remember what else i need to give her to pic.. i forgot all about the egg.

autum: like that u def need ur hb around. need to swing for both classes!

pink: miser's eyes just as tiny.. but i dun find them mi ren leh.. ehh.shh. dun tell him hor. i prefer big eyed man.. haha like SQ :p..
ehh. actually considered myself half man.. coz i can be more gentleman than a guy! hahaa.. so eh. next time u see me.. try not to be shy to look into my eyes ah! hahaahaa. sot liao. from too much research..

edde: got.. they got one music segment.. it is the later half..the one that got live keyboard one.. then swing and dance lor.. but no rhymes or instruments.. that one is really dance and swing.. i think.. got sing lah..