(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Edde,
how come so sudden? thot you were planning only later. u mean by giving her a letter ?

sorry, whole afternnon, din read, then 1st thing i saw is your post

the students are of coz not repentant. i went lunch with some of my sec 3 students just now. then one of them told me her senior in sec 4 just complained to her abt me, said i kanasai. kaoz.. enough man. i dun think kids like this are worth spending my time and effort on. enough. i WILL and MUST make sure my kids dun grow up to be like them.

michelle, i smsed her. i cried when lunching with my students just now as one of them told me wat her senior said. my tears just dropped. in my mind i have only one tot, "they are unworthy of my time and effort" i feel so sad for myself. even now my tears just cant stop flowing.

edde: *pat pat*
..would be good.. if u pack up.. and return home now.. if u can.. coz u need a break from school now..to cool down

Edde: You're very emotional over this. Good to take a break from it. I think being a teacher, sometimes you need to be emotionally detached.

*GUG Trial Class*

They have confirmed the classes on 9 March & 16 March from 1:30pm-3pm @ united square.

Please take note of the below -

1) Bring extra clothing for bb
2) Bring some light snacks for bb during break time
3) Bring extra Jacket just in case its cold over there
4) Barefooted for bb, no socks require.

bbmouse: as rational as teachers should be at time. it is inevitable that we feel and be involved or even tangled up with students' feelings.. most of the time.. it is very draining.. coz effort by teachers not really matched by level of students' appreciation at time.. .. and there is this affective part in teaching and learning.. with feelings involved.. agree with u that cannot be too bothered with the students' feelings/evaluations.. but inevitably will be affected..

edde needs to cool down.. and then she will be fine, right Edde?

bbgal,
how big a portion is your lunch anyway?
i was like you, so ended having dunno how many in a day. but i am a small eater which crave for varities

Michelle: It's a portion that I will normally finish if I'm not pregnant. Yah, I have many meals a day, sometimes it's just a piece of kaya and butter toast. I have no appetite to eat much. I'm eating like a mouse.

Astro: I know it's easier said than done certainly. I do realise one thing. Comparing with teachers in pri schools, the lecturers in the varsities seem quite emotionless right? What's the reason for this?

Astro: Teng has boy features leh. You wanna try wearing a hairclip on Teng? Then maybe he'll look more girly.
That's whay I wear on Anna so she can look more girl.

thx for giving such a gd ans to bbmouse, yes this is exactly how i feel, though its hard for me to pen it with my pte ltd angmo. there are many a time i flared up, i cried, i cool down, and i was ok. but this time, i dun think so. i am very tired. very very drained. physically, mentally and most imptly emotionally. it is even harder now as a mother coz i dun see why i am there to teach other pple's children and i leave mine with a babysitter. i really dun see why. if the students are worthy, still not so bad. but its otherwise.

its hard. unless i can request not to teach that graduating class. coz now i hate them, they hate me. but its impossible. coz the sch wants me back specifically for the grad classes. so i hv to quit.

i cant teach emotionally detached. i am not that type of teacher. else i wont shed a drop of tears for them. i am not suitable for this job.

bbmouse: coz of the student audience.. expected more mature.. less room to 'shape' or even dare to 'change' them.. just purely knowledge sharing.. unlike sec/pri when character development is as equally impt.. when u attempt to try to change anyone. there is a personal reaction.. and thus this is more evident and teachers are more 'emotional' at the 'lower' levels.. coz of the affective part (feelings) is more so in the pri/sec setting than tertiary..
so lecturers at Us.. are 'emotionless'.. coz assumption is all 'grown -ups' liao.

bbmouse: at kiddy palace.. sometimes. i see those wide pink brim hat (dunno what u call them).. and i will put it on teng. and he is so pretty.. haha! :p

aiya. i want girl leh.. :p

bbmouse,
what a suggestion for astro!

edde,
see if you feel the same way about quitting tomr. after another pillow talk with your hubby

astro, michelle, bbmouse,
i took the least of the worst. 930am. ya, i told them their timing sucks
even before i'm a customer, i already feedback to them

edde,
if you really leave the school, you can still teach somewhere else with your graduating classes experience right?

if so, then dun worry too much. go with your heart. of course with hubby's support

SQ: ha. u are here.. not girlish enough ah? ..ok tonight. i find one more. :p

i think i might just take that slot also leh. which day?

SQ, i hv toked to my hubby liao. he said he will support my decision.

astro, can i appt u to be my spokesman? u bingo 101%. this whole shit arose just becoz i punished them to "educate" them something on values.

edde,
when i was much younger and immature, i wanted to quit immediately. so much so that i was willing to pay them to let me go! haha... those were the days. the intense feeling when you just feel like you wanna get out and not waste your life there!

things do get better though. believe me. think of how happy you would be to give anthea a hug later

edde
i feel that secondary school level kids are the worst to teach. they are at the rebellious stage and kids nowadays, sadly, are too pampered to appreciate efforts which teachers are putting in for them. have u ever thought of trying primary school level? smaller kids are so adorable :p

astro
u wont believe this is leia at newborn stage, really boy lor...
1259015.jpg

SQ, at least u grown up. i am still immature tho not young anymore. haha... dats why my hubby always said luckily i am not in the pte sector, else i wld hv been dead long ago.

its not an impulsive decision actually. i hv been deliberating. i only need something to ignite it and off i will go. this is it.

pink, i hv no patience for kids, if i teach pri sch, i might kill them. i wonder why i become a teacher in the first place.

Wah edde, very jin4 bao4 leh. Are u going to be a SAHM or continue teaching? I guess it is not easy to teach secondary sch esp Normal Tech (not that i discriminate) student. To me, their heart is not in studying and is not interested in studies. I have a fren who is a mom of two and is also teaching. She has been teaching the normal tech student since day 1. She has even been threatened by student before. But she see it very kai. She dun give a damn to their nonsense. I guess her heart is died liao. To her is just day to day thing no need to be some emotional. Edde, I guess u get upset cos u have expectation on your students. U want them to be good. That's why u get emotional and upset. This may be a good thing as it show passion in ur work. But treat things lightly dun 大悲大喜. No good for health. Just treat each day as a 平常心。世事无绝对。凡是看开一点。 人生短短几十年,何必如此激动。 *word of wisdom of the aries* *wink at Pinkpink who made bad comment on Aries yesterday*

pink: ya man! how did u transfer that boy into princess Leia ah?! *gasp in awe*

edde: i have been there, done that..
so i know how u feel, best
.. hmmm. cool down.. dun let a class of 'rotten tomatoes' get to u.. still got some fresh and nice ones to munch on. but they need some discovery to find !

i left for a different reason though.. and i sort of regreted it.. coz i realise i dun have the direct influence anymore.. worse.. now at poly. i see the quatlity here.. wah. i feel like cursing the sec teachers how come like that one.. just like how we curse primary school tech.. heehee. no offense to anyone.. coz i know the pri school teachers curse the nursery and the nursery curse the parents! ops.. SO .. we are the ones at fault! :p

ok seriously.. remember what i told u.. not to give up on ur teaching ideals.. coz there are bound to be some rascals.. who at that pt in time, can't appreciate what u are doing.. but they are also humans who will eventually grow up.. they WILL realise the teachers who nag/scolds/threathens.. are the ones who really care.. it is just a matter of time.. and the fact is. .pink is very right. teaching sec is not easy. in fact it is the most challenging phase. the students are not sure what they want.. totally confsed but so yaya.. even in poly also. jialat..

i refuse to give up on my teaching ideals. even thought i appear 'so different from other faci (faciliatators)'.. i had a brat who left my class , and made scarcastic remarks as he left.. on my FIRST day of faci-ing.. ! and for the subsequent two.. he never stayed more than 1 hour each.. (he had to attend coz happened to have a test that day.).. i tried. he didn't give me time to prove my worth..it is his loss not mine..

think of it this way.. it is THEIR loss.. not ur loss.. but it will be ur loss when the better 'tomatoes' can't acknowledge and appriciate ur good work IN FUTURE..

cool down first.. relax.. u are a great teacher.. dun doubt urself.. and anthea will be proud to have an inspiring mummy teacher
).. seriously

edde - Just something to share with you. I didnt come from good sec school...lots of bad tomatoes. But there are teachers who didnt gave up on us. In fact, they always encourage us (though, we always gave them hell in class.) As I looked back today...and yes..most of the bad tomatoes (not all, of cse) turned out so successful...graduate, got scholarship, and a few small businessman. Without all theses teachers...I cant imagine. Maybe, now they wont appreciate you...but in the years to come...you will be remembered and someone will just walk up to tell you.. "Thanks so much!" Just a few cent's worth. But, finally..the decision is still with you and will support you.

Pinkpink - thks for organising GUG. Your back ok or not?

Astro - When did Teng started walking? Dylan still holds onto my both side. Wonder how to build up his confidence. Can share share?

edde...see open ....
student not easy to teach nowadays.. i do encounter some students can't scold de... nor take any stress .....
see what u mention i juz think back i used to say bad abt my teachers too.. but it over...
So be happy and smile at anthea

edde,
xiang4 qian2 kan4. since u have made your decision, then just move on. i don't think i can ever teach secondary school or primary school. don't think i will have that kind of energy and spirit. it's really not easy.

bbmouse,
at the tertiary level, we are indeed more detached.. and I like that.. because i don't want an emotionally draining job. I do talk to my students beyond lessons, but mostly kept to a minimal. If it's on academic matters or giving them ideas and information, i can talk for hours.. but I am not the type whom they will take to about their personal problems, BGR, family etc.. I m not the type of teacher where they will invite to BBQ during their holidays etc..

I think at the end of it, it's how you choose to see your job too. I don't talk to them on a personal level but it doesn't mean that I don't care about them. I do care that they attain the right knowledge and develop the right values.. but I won't preach. I do tell them things like, don't fight, be nice to each other, don't be rude, don't use vulagrities etc.. but other than that, I don't really ask them about their personal lives.

If they don't do work and don't hand up their work on time, they will get a fail grade. And that itself is enough to make anyone sit up. For those who don't care (if they are failing).. then I don't see why I should care. Maybe in that sense, I am not a good teacher. haha..

edde: first thing i read is that u tendered?? aiyo.. why why? dun let the student affect u so much lah. like wat tay mentioned they might appreciate u now but maybe after a few yrs, they will look back and appreciate what u have done for them. They are still young.. not mature lah.

Pink: my sprain is old injury lah..think its all the dancing and jumping around at kinder plus GUG that aggrevated my injury... pain pain and me no time to go to chinese sinseh yet.

bbmouse,
Thanks for sending. I haven't received it yet, but guess I will wait a while longer... probably got stuck in the server somewhere

edde,
Woah, what kind of students are there nowadays? I've never seen a teacher shed tears in my life before! But I guess times are different now. Heard from friends that there is a special dept in Woodbridge for teachers who get burnt out.
Since you've made the decision, don't dwell on it anymore... just look forward to being a SAHM for awhile!

Michelle,
Forgot to thank you for organising the GUG trials!

tay, star
i feel uncomfortable esp after yest's stupid massge from eu yang seng, i dun even consider that as tei da. my sprain is on the lower back but my middle and upper part of my spine is feeling uncomfortable, tight feeling. i think it will affect other part of the vein...i need a sinseh, but the thought of going there to suffer..im scared

mummies happy 15 yuan xiao
pink go 4 acuputure if still pain den better go 4 xray
u have to c what the pain is on if on bone issue massage can help if blood circulation go 4 zhenjiu

hmm..ok i think i go zhen jiu now...1 near my place...

i used to sprain my upper back..near the neck area - once after i flip my head up after shower...kekeke since then, this area to very prone to sprain. someone recommend me to this sensei at honglim, damn scary..we back face each other, he carried me up, twist her twist there...i want to die man...but cured...when i went another time, he used light up some candles, put inside round glass containers and place them on my back, rub and run until i feel as if my skin is coming off...wau faint

pink: wah..sound so PAINFUL! my colleague.. has very tensed shoulders.. so she very REGULARY go for massage and this round glass containers you mentioned.. to loosen her tensed muscles.. each time she goes .. she has to bear with the pain.. then take another 2 weeks to recover.. once recovered.. go again!! i asked her so fun ah? she said she had no choice! :p

wah. now on SCV.. gor special feature.. on this edison again.. as in news kind.. .. he is apologising.. and he is withdrawing from the HK entertainment circle liao..

Astro,
I heard it on the radio on my drive home.. he spoke very well in English (cos he canadian).. he sounded very serious and solemn.. he apologised to all the ladies, their families.. and he apologised to his father and mother.. and he apologised to the people of Hong Kong.. wau..

Actually hor, I really pity him (and the ladies leh).. it's just because they are celebrities that's why so big hoo-ha.. but whatever people do behind their bedroom doors is their business what.. I am sure tons of people have sex everyday and many also take private pictures.. just that they suay.. cos they celebs so when the pics get exposed.. the attention is magnified.. quite poor thing actually..

I hope people will stop being so critical and live and let live.. Give Edison Chen (and the ladies) a break!

tay: ehh. .to set the record right ah.. teng is coming 14 mths.. heehee. so he is considered a late walker..:p i think pax's Jo should be walking quite well liao.. think she's a better person to ask in terms of how to encourage Dylan to walk without support

ehh. ehh. PD got do something to encourage teng to move from both hands holding.. to one hand holding.. she just released one hand of mine when i 'walked' teng.. :p.. and it turns out.. he could walk with one hand one.. he held onto both for fun (security).. so i did that to him again.. at that gym.. when i told u. i 'let go' again of my one hand this time //maybe u can try that before getting dylan to completely walk without support? and if dylans is a very proficient crawler.. there is chances that he will walk slightly later.. like what huskie said

anyway teng cruised and walked with support for a relatively long time.. and he never crawl.. i did nothing.. ehh. actually i was quite 'fed up' he forever holding my hand (as in one hand, with his one hand)and could 'walk very fast'..so one day in gym.. i placed him standing, faced Miser,, and just give him a slight forward' push'.. and he actually walked unsupported for a few steps to his father before he eventually swayed and fell.. o over time.. he began to walk longer distance and with more confidence.. he is not very steady yet i feel. coz he tends to rush.. and to prevent him to fall and making a HUGE scene.. I tend to hold him most of the time.. i am not sitting in one corner and seeing him walk arond the ENTIRE house yet.. i wish for this day to come soon

i have a fren, and many mummies here said the same thing.. when the bb is confident, he will walk..

My PD said it is actually very rare for bbs to walk well unsupported at 1 year.. most still can't yet.. the normal range is between 12 - 14 mths.. so Dylan still has plenty of time

Huskie: ehh. can post again the GUG courses and costs? :p:p heehee.. PLEASE :p

SQ: u starting GUG immediately? hmm.. how long is one completed weekend mums and bbs course ah?.. i prefer to wait till kindermusik finish then go for GUG.. else i need to scheudle GUG on sat liao.. but i think it wld be so nice if YE and teng can be mates leh
.. teng can learn to be more confident and outgoing like YE!

and ladies: i just feel a bit insecure coz mum and ellie.. dunno can manage a few days or not.. think got to have more conidence in them.. haiz.. else i will never go for my break!!.. my mum, haiz.. miser told he rto stretch the last dosage of fever medicine.. so that he takes the last one at 10pm.. and can last all the way to 7am .. and not wake in the middle of the night.. she nodded her head when i asked 'understand?'..end up still forget!! haiz

Huskie: which partner of Dr Tseng did u see previously?.. i was all along with Dr Eunice Chua. U seen her or was with the other doc?.. teng is my second preg.. i got to terminate the first one coz heart beat just stopped at 9 weeks

Astro,
do u know how much is GUG? how does it work? as in pay for 1 semester for how many lessons?

Ya, i think u should have more confidence in your mum and maid.. afterall your mum brought you up right and your maid also got kids.. they will know what to do want la. whatever the case, it's just for a couple of days. How I wish I can also leave EJ behind and go for holiday! but cannot leh.. hiaz.. maybe i leave EJ with u for a few days! hahahaha..

huskie/Irin/Enne/Pink/Yvvone/QQ/Moogen/Huingee: thanks for the concern for teng.. hmm.. fever is almost gone.. or at least.. he appears more alert.. appetite not back. sleep slightly erratic.. can sleep half hour and wake up cryig.. haiz. but today is much better.. haiz. got dark eye ring sliao lor.. but at least he is recovering..

i really feel that this fever is brought on because of teething.. that GP told mymother is not becoz of teething.. but i looked at it. i thin kit is.. and haiz. started on antibotics got to finish. else by tomorrow night. if he can continues to be fever free.. no more medcine to force feed him liao.. haiz. anyway . my mum just told me this eveing.. she knows where is Dr Seow's clinic coz pple tell her that doc very good.. i was like.. 'why didn't u tell me earlier?!'.. haiz. another no more 'downstairs' GP for teng.. Dr Seow will be teng's 'default' GP when i no time to find Dr Tan or she's away..

sQ/Pink: i was moody because of teng lor.. yesterday night. haiz woke up twice.. 2am and 6 am.. cry and scream.. haiz. then dunno is hungry or cold or warm or what.. sian. i think the two of us very lazy liao. coz long time he woke in the middl eof the time.. half th etime wish he can stop fussing fast.. and get back to sleep. tat's why very frustrated.. I def was.. and Miser was too.. he scolded teng quite harshly to 'stop crying' leh. that;s was how sian last night was.. haiz..