(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Yvonne: next time play such games with me ah. i like playing these kind of games.. hahaa

mejo: WAH!!! ok.. i should really go and tell miser abt it.. hahaa.. ur plants are so cool!!! ya. i read that it needs some shade. not easy .. given singapore so hot..
ehh. dun need.. i dun have green fingers.. grow what die what :p

alamak.. in US dollars ah..wow. ok.. i am SERIOUSLY impressed :p:p

star,
my catus also died... my mom also said i m hopeless... even catus also die, she said i cant have pets... cos pets have to feed and clean everyday...

YY,

My sundew very ugly and half dead. Dun dare to take picture of it. Already killed one other sundew.

Yvonne,

Hee hee, they do look rather disgusting. Some are quite phallic looking right? Not very ex, some are sold commonly even in pasar malam. Less than $20 can buy. Of cuz, also got very ex ones that costs hundreds of dollars. Mine are below $20 kind I think. They will grow one stalk then have many babies coming out from the bottom or side. You can also cut the main stalk, put it in water to root and voila, you have another plant. I got two stalks growing long long, you want? I have the babies also but they are still too small to remove. (those are called basals.)

astro,
ai yo, those game not selling liao la... so outdated already... even the game set , i also don think outside selling... but den hor, nowdays those games tt children play, quite voilent also lei... the blood just splash out like tt from the human when being shoot... i don dare to play... later i die of heart attack...

star: yalor.. like u. i grow wat die what :p

yvonne: in cwp last time. got pple selling air plants. i was so tempted to buy. but then i stopped myself.. coz i know sure dieone.. :p let the exotic plant expert explain to u what is air plants.. :p

mejo: why are u obbessed with airplants? :p and i noticed u said the pitcher plant is 'killed'// how come not died? who kill th epitcher plant? haha. can we consider this as a murder case? :p
wah cool leh. ur hobby.. seriously. so educational.. ! wah.. i raise hand also.. like star, i want to bring teng to ur house!!! actually i want to see the real pitcher plants myself lah :p

mejo,
oh, so must grow in water like lillies? but i see at botanic garden, they can grow freely on the grass and near the trees... or i forget liao... cos the last time i went was pri 4...

Mejo: i have question.. since u have all these plants that "eats" insects.. does it mean ur place has less insects as a result??

Yes yes what is an airplant?

This thrad really fast and furious.. the subject change so suddenly.

Astro: i think cos we are not into these plants so never notice at pasr malam.. think next time i go pasar malam must open eyes big big and look.

Star: haha.. i was abt to ask that question. :p like that mejo's house confirm less dengue threat :p..
no leh. but i feel the pasar malam plants very boring.. i didn't knwo they got such interesting plants! ya. i will also PURPOSELY go into that section .. just to see the pitcher plants :p

yalor.. suddenly now into plants liao.. all thanks to ur weird looking orchid! :p:p:p

Come come. Can see many different plants at my place.

Airplant can grow without pot or soil. They used their leaves to absorb nutrients and water.

Carnivorous plants eat insects but they also attract insects so I dun think my place has less insects as a result. In any case, I dun have that many carnivorous plants.

My airplants

The one on the left is $56 one.
1251249.jpg

1251250.jpg

1251251.jpg

But photos are deceiving, real plants not as interesting one hor. Someone ever describe them as bunches of grass. :/

YY, starfruit,

Not every pasar malam have pitcher plants wor. So dun beat me up if you can't find. They said pitcher plants are good fengshui plants last year cuz chinese name for pitcher plants is pig cage. This year dunno what plant is good, haha. Got plants called rat traps? LOL.

mejo: i prefer the last one leh. the $56 one.. not as pretty :p

ya.. if all green.. nothing special leh.. must have some colours to look nice :p

yahor.. to eat insects.. these plants must attract them first.. ya.. make sense..makes sense.. so all in all ur house eco system lah :p
i got another fren. veyr into marine tanks.. all his fish .... stylo ah! .. he also machiam like have the great barrier reef in his tank leh!!:p another life lesson condensed inside there

hey. that time the lady told me.. airplant can be grown indoor in the office leh. coz they can depend on the flourocent light one.. true?

mejo,
wah!!! this one is veri beautiful!!! so just spray water? can put indoor? nice lei... i can get some and put in my new home in future...

Starfruit,

My parents also wanted to go sentosa to see the flowers but hor, they said the queue super long, so they gave up. Think they go in the earlier part of the festival. Today last day liao right? Last year I also missed the one at sentosa and suntec due to pregnancy and moving house, sianz.

Mejo: airplant quite easy to maintain and take care hor?? do u need to water it? how do u feed it fertiliser since it absorbs thru its leaves and petals? sorry for my ignorant qs.. cos me really clueless on the subject of airplants.

mejo: no tomorrow last day.. u still can go.. there are ppl but the crowd was still ok, queues were not that long most of the time.. max only abt 5 ppl.. they just snap pic then move on liao. quite fast too.

YY, Yvonne,

Can grow indoor but must have sun. Spray water will do. Very easy plant. No pests. No need insecticides, no need to cut leaves, pick off caterpillars etc. Easy plant. BUT will bloom only once in a lifetime. HOWEVER, after blooming will have many babies, babies will grow and bloom again usually within a year.

YY,

The last plant hor... this photo is larger than life size hor. The plant that $56 must see the real one than can see it prettiness. I can't capture its colours properly. It is green fringed with light green/yellow. My MIL said very delicious looking.

yvonne: haha. i read ur post on this rat trap.. haha. i dunno got rat traps or not.. but i am very sure that there is something call... mouse trap!!! :p

Starfruit,

Aiyah, tomorrow how to go. YT got class until 3pm. Fertilizer just dissolve in the water and spray on the plant lor. Or another way is to soak the plant but that one dangerous cuz easy to soak until forget then plant will die. I ask my mom to dunk the plant. Just dunk in water, wave about, take out and hang it up again. Can hang in sunny windy spot and it will grow very well. Kitchen window is usually good place to grow it unless your kitchen got no sun totally.

mejo: now that u mentioned it.. i think it looks like aloe vera! whahahaha.. :p.. delicious looking.. whahaha..

wah.. when it blooms.. sure very exciting for u right?

mejo: this airplant very interesting leh.. u sure so easy to take care, i scared if i buy to try, the plant will die on me leh.. my kitchen ah...damn strong sun at 5pm.. suitable a not har??

starfruit,

Hee hee, I think you have forgotten. Last time I ever asked if you want to grow airplants. You can buy online from http://www.tillandsiabiotope.com/catalog/ or Far East Flora at Queensway and Thomson sometimes also have. My cheapest buy is $1 ionanthas. Not all are expensive. Most are affordable. You can also get from a guy who live in Pasir Ris. You want I can give you his contact tomorrow.

ehh. the GUG class is from 1.30 to 3 ah? no wonder so ex. :p ok.. ihopt teng can sleep till 230.. then can still wake up for the last half hour :p

starfruit: some shopping centre sells it.. last time got this airplant 'craze' leh. i saw some at CWP.. actually i saw these stalls whereever i go!

Mejo: u ask me before.. oh ya i think u did.. i remember i also told u that time that mi no green fingers, even catus die one me.. hehe.. but today different leh, after ur photos and description of the plants, u make this airplant look and sound so much more interesting.. and plus after the flower exhibition today, me getting more interested...hehehe
ok ok i go look at this site.

YY,

Yar lor, a lot of them suddenly all bloomed at the same time last dec when there is a cold weather spell.

Starfruit,

Quite easy to take care of. Some are not as easy but for sure, ionanthas are safe. Two types are good for singapore weather, ionanthas and strictas. They grow and bloom easily here. ionanthas look like the ones in my first pic. Strictas have similar flowers to second pic. Strong sun after 5 pm is okay. I put mine under direct strong sun from 7 am - 1 pm or even 5 pm when I got time to move them around to catch the sun. Some of my plants do get sunburnt but I think more sun makes them grow faster.

My rack of ionanthas. I hang them up on $2 bamboo rack from Daiso.

1251269.jpg

Yvonne,

I mean no need to pick off caterpillars. No pests de.

Everybody,

Wah, it is so late liao. Hurry up sleep, if not we'll be cranky for class. :p

Mejo: u gave me the answer ah.. hehe ok ok i go fill the form.. i was looking at the catalogue leh.. i remember liao.. u were asking a while back who is keen to buy these airplants hor.
Before i go, what do u think of the Beginner DIY Kit from teh site...suitable for me a not har?

ok ok i need to go zzz now too, if not, tomorrow.. my alrady dark eye rings will be even darker!!! nite everyone

hello mummies...
now dan got time to come online. Today's gathering was fun though short and the service quite lousy. SOn also cranky. Its nice putting a face to the mummies here.

astro....
NIce meeting you today. Teng is so cute lor. I really love his big round eyes. Today miser not miser wat. He paid for lunch right? I paid for mine leh. HUbby managed to siam.
I tink your hubby and my hubby the same lor. They look like very quiet...anti-social....but then hor..when we are alone...he will talk non-stop to me lor. Sometimes even getting jealous of the attention that i'm giving to small nag. Mayb next time...we should get the dads to all sit together and talk. Why are the men so shy wan har?

belle....
chloe is very sweet. Tink she loves balloons....coz when show her balloons...she would smile. I love her smile. The only other thing that makes her smile is YOU. Even if its from afar....

autum....
*bows* you very super leh. So many pages!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Did you buy the refill the last time?

fion....
nice meeting you and vanda. Didn't get much opportunity to chat up wif you.

michelle....
kaylyn needs the hairband...coz she look like a boy without it. She not like chloe...got nice eyes. Even if she's wearing pink. Keira has so much hair...still waiting for the day that kaylyn can put on clip like keira's clip.

QQ....
tink tian and kaylyn looks quite alike. ^5. She like to ^5 a lot hor. She's very sociable leh.

Huajing....
elisha looks very different from the last time i saw her. Getting prettier. I remember last time i saw her during the gymboree class....now look very girly liao. I love her shoes that you made for her.

Pinkpink.....
thanks for organising the gathering. It was nice miting you and princess leia. When i see her today...i remembered her two hairballs.

bbmouse....
maids can follow along also. The classes cannot roll over to another time. If you cannot make it...it means non-attendance will take it as you miss a class. Even if MC also...no use. Still will charge you for it. if go holiday...must be during the "semestral' holiday period. They will let you roll over lessons. Cannot remember the actual details. But muz tell them like 2-3 week before. Like during june/december holidays...dan can. Outside of that period. Considered as non-attendance. Tell them less then the 2-3 weeks...will mark it as non-attendance also. Muz fill form first. For this approved 'leave', they will charge you less per lesson that you miss on the next payment.

some maids are good...they will try to stimulate the baby. Some...will just let the baby sit there...and just help to move baby ard.

normally....(but this is for the parent-babe class i did the last time. Not sure abt the daily playgrp thingy..and if therez any changes now.)
the 1st 15 mins.....are playing of the toys. Its to allow the baby to get used to the place. But i always miss the 1st 15 mins...coz son dun like his toys to be removed when he is playing wif it. Then they will have songs and movement. sit down on mat and recognise name/name introduction. Introduction of zoophonic letter of the day. Introduce the activity that they will do later. Which is normally an activity related to the letter of the day. Like b-bubba bear-bubbles-will do bubble art. Wash up. Short break. Songs+movement. After that,...bye bye.

for the weekend classes...once a week. There are 26 alphabets. And 52 weeks. So they will do a-z for half year...dan start A on the 27th week. If that weekend is a holiday. Following week would jump to the next alphabet. Holiday..also no payback. Its considered as no-class= non-attendance.

okie...sorry for the lengthy post.

Mejo: You have green finger! I didn't know you are so into plants leh.
Where do you stay? How come got so much space for plants?

Audrey: Thanks for the details. What I meant was how long do we have to commit to the class? Is payment by term or by month? Like for Shichida, it's payment every term. Same as Shichida, no make up if the child is sick, if the family goes on holiday, or if that day happens to be a public holiday.

Star: I don't sleep late cos Anna will make a lot of noise once she wakes up. She's taking her morning nap now, think I'll pop back to bed.

Today is going to be full of activities for Rae. Enjoy and hopefully see you tonight!

Good morning girls!

Michelle,
Yes, I'm interested in GUG trial class, but need to know which day cos baby still attending TLG's Sat afternoon class now.

edde,
Hee, I'm not an educator... my hubby says I'm too aggressive, will intimidate my students! My hubby is the educator

As for "real facilitating" and "facilitated teaching", hubby explained that real facilitating means the facilitator does not need to know anything about the subject at all, whereas in facilitated teaching, the facilitator has some knowledge of the subject and can clarify any of the students doubts.

Thanks for the review on Kindermusik and Gymboree. Feel like trying Kindermusik now!

Astro,
Wow, you and your hubby play in the orhcestra?! Very impressed!
I also want my baby to develop a love for music... my sis plays the organ, but I have no musical talents at all!

mejo,
Your airplants are beautiful!
I also love plants, but never have any luck growing them. My mint, basil and sage all wilted, maybe cos there is no direct sunlight in my flat... only heat from the greenhouse effect of the glass windows.
I also bought an airplant before, but died cos my cats ate it up

bbmouse,
I agree some maids are good. I see some maids teaching the babies counting in Spanish and Tagalog in addition to English... but some maids just constantly talk over their handphone.

morning everyone..

morning huskie

alamak.. ur post.. directed to wrong person. it was astro who asked u abt facilitating and if u are a teacehr and stuff lah, not edde.. :p

ya.. facilitation.. content not as impt.. but good to know a bit.. else students totally haywired cannot also :p

i used to be a band member.. then when jc and uni changed to chinese orchestra.. and that's where i met Miser.. coz i was doing my bachelors.. he was doing his masters.. people play music.. we flirted! hahahah

anyway. going off.. for kindermusik.. at 11.. see u around

PS: grow mint, basil and sage ah? like that dun need to go supermarket to buy herbs for cooking liao lor.. hahaha :p

gd morning! i missed the gathering y'day! very much wanted to go but A didnt want to eat & sleep b4 heading out. then hb come back fr lunch say want to go boss's place to bai4 nian3. must make sure i can make it to e b'day bash. how's response to the bash liao ah?

Hello mummies...

So sad that didnt make it to GXGX. Dylan was sick. So happy that he is better today...get to go for GUG. Yeh :p

see those mummies that are going later.

good morning mummies...

seems like i can never catch up with the archives... seems like you all had fun at the gathering... really hope to b able to join in next time...

bbmouse....
oh..hehe...sorry arh...just scan thru the archive..din read your question properly. Its up to you how long you wana stay with them. Payment by terms. But for the playgrp, tink have to ask the mummies later when they are back from GUG. Can't recall the details. Weekends parent-babes runs at 8 week per term. 160 or 168 per term = 8 lessons.

hey good Sunday afternoon :p
goin to sentosa later (haiz i have a headache le) but hubby said wanna go n bring MIL wor...pop panadol n see how la.

astro
aiyo exactly lor..drowsy pill made me go to dreamland n i miss the match! hubby told me Man U won 4-0 haha.. *neh neh neh poo poo* makes silly face at astro.

wah didnt know teng so 'ben shi' in dream land can traffic control wor..haha..maybe he dreaming he is directing traffic la wahah.

mash
sigh...so many mummies told me bb hv to pay, i sian liao..maybe not goin liao la.. hanor bb share seat with us very 'tong ku' cos i cant stand rooted to my seat n not moving, dun mention my butt cant rest properly lor.

michell
i like joyrides too crusing away n bioing all the nice bunglws in exclusive areas :p when younger days, went with bf on his scrambler in mid night le! very fun! hehe.

blur,
ya loh..pay $ but they will be sitting on us!
imagine i have to tong 13kg for few hours leh...now i just hope that he will sleep loh..at least not that tong ku