(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

huskie: ehh.. 'real' faciliatators.. what u mean? got fake ones ah? :p.. i am a faciliatator with RP (newbie lah. just joined 3 months ago).. haven't gone thru the certification in faciliatation.. so "half bucket water" only :p..before that was a teacher.. then quit.. stayed at home when preg with teng and went 'insane' being SAHM for another year.. hence applied for RP.. and dunno why they so silly take me in also.. ha! anyway.. in RP, it is supposed to be pure faciliation.. and my departement tries to practice that.. coz we are a dept created for that.. other schools/centres have more content knowledge and expertise which is 'difficult' to teach using the problem based learning approach..no secret there.. in RP itself. it is a hot topic amongst faciliatators too.. coz it involves a total pardigm shift to believe that PBL can work with subjects with heavy content like engineering for examples.. hence maybe there's where this 'faciliatated teaching' term comes from.. but there's an inherent conflict in the term 'faciliated teaching'.. faciliation and teaching (as in old school teaching) totally opp.. can possibly exist together.. unless we talking abt a mix here..

hmm.. u speak a lot of educational jargon.. and ur hb wants u to read effect on detrimental praise..? ok.. come out out, before u stayed at home.. u were an educator or sort?

wah. gymboree and kinder.. ? ok.. short short one.. by keywords

kindermusik: good for imaingation, music recognition, social interaction and movement and play.... good and creative.. thematic approach so everything ties in neatly.. and not any-o-how.. has greater impact with good instructers like Shauna..

gymoboree: also has music class akin to kindermusik's .. but personally i didn't even look at tit.. i prefer kindermusik's cirriculum more..
their play class.. encourages gross motor development..again similar elements with that of kinder.. but i dun find the instructors as good.. and a bit anyohow..the trial class that some mums attended last time.. was a bit horrible and messy. coz too many bbs and the instructor cannot control the class.. and i feel.. if ur bb is those who will eagerly explore the environment.. dun have to send the bb to the play class. waste of money. not cheap.. just send to play with themselves in regular Gymboree playgym sessions.. can liao..

astro...
the gifted babes...are 2-3 times weekly playgrp that needs a care giver to be ard during the session. Unless your MIl can be there...you MIL can speak english? Coz therez normally abt two teachers to a grp of 12 babes. The caregiver muz still reinforce what is taught during lessons. Last time when i did the once a week(end) playgrp...got this mummy who has two kids..she would take one...in the other playgrp..and her maid would take the other in my playgrp..

but if you want to be there..and do it only on weekends....its the parents and babes session. That is 160 for 8 sessions. ONce a week...but on weekend. And you need to be ard. Can get dad to be the one who brings teng in also. Also need to have good instructors to have better impact. Focus more one phonics...but its good. The teacher at cc says son's pronunciation..better than his peers.

did you get to see more new pics of the scandal? Actually the girls...quite poor thing hor. Now one cannot get married. One separated. One image totally lost. Actually..what they did in bed...is up to them. Like a super decent girl..can also be real hot stuff in bed. The one who is perverted..is that edison...

huskie: i just finished bathing my jiang xiao di.. he's whining. just now bumped head tillnow a bit sot sot liao... now walk also whine. wants to be carried..else cry cry cry.. haiz.. anyway

hmmm..lose out? not necessarily. coz enrichment 'schools' ,ideally, should encourage play. coz play is the best way to learn.. actually.. there are so many enrichment classes.. all pretending to be learning thru play.. but actually preparing the bbs way ahead for the syllabus.. wha biang.. sian leh these kind. like that i might as well stay at home teach teng myself.. waste of money go this kind.. and they erode the joy of learning before it naturally gets eroded.. think ellie, my maid, who is singing to teng now.. does a better job..

i dun really agree that bbs who miss out on enrichment classes loses out because of the fast pace in schools.. fast in what aspects? academic?.. results? grades?.. and that would mean at the expense of social/character devt? hmmm. .there should be a joy in learning.. which somehow, and unfortunately, gets eroded in schools.. majoority.. unless of course u meet my ex colleague who is an inspiration when she teaches :p.

so my pt.. i dun think will lose out. it enhances.. but the bb does not lose out on anything if theynever attend also. coz there are many things.. more meaningful. than ABCs. in the bb's first 3 years of life . my hubby, Miser, is a good example. he spends his kiddy years chasing butterflies, killing grasshoppers, runnin amok in his malaysian kampong. but now has a masters.. no enrichement class per say.. Mother Nature taught him whatever he needs to know at that age.. and he still incessantly curious.. and irritating.. everything also ask "why?"..haiz...

i think bored when they learn the same way.. the same thing can be taught in many different ways.. like ABC ah , thru drama, thru music, thry play, thrumake belief.. all these. i think it is the routine (route learning?) which make sthe bb bored leh..and maybe the bb can be taught to help others to learn.. but given cognitive maturity not there yet.. a bit hard.. but it is compassion.. to go along with the 'slower' ones.. and not be too ego to focus on self only. that's what we want bbs to learn also lah.. at RP, got outstanding indiiduals. but these chaps dunno how to share and help one.. sad.. must tell them to shut their trap a little to let others have a voice.. or ask them explicitly tohelp.. they no iniatiative one.. ya. iniative.. also vry impt.. i cannot stand students/adults with no iniative.. teng bette rnot be like that. else he chiam liao! :p

and there is this age old issue of stress.. they keep saying students and kids these days very stressed. coz so many classes to go for at a young age..though i dun really feel it is that stresseful.. but there is definitely less resiliance in kids these days lah.. so thinking of toughening my whiny boy a little.. and that can only happen thru play.. and falls.. dun think how sitting in comfort listeing to adult preaching can toughen him and teach resiliance leh..hmmmm

audrey: haiz. i read that just now too.. hmm. i thinking.. still thinking.. MIL? passed away liao.. u mean my mom ah?
.. she cannot speak it in english lah.. ellie can a bit.. but cannot be too chim.. think mos tlikely weekends liao..

last night i searched the pictures till a bit sot sot liao.. all taken offone.. anyway. after the first few photos on the website u posted.. i very gross-ed out liao.. no offennce to anyone here. but i feel the way the ladies perform oral sex on edison. very gross. .. i cannot take it leh. .eeee..

ya.. i dun understand whe he needs to take those clips.. what he is trying to prove here? and i dun really think he is as handsome and hot as many pple say he is.. :p

talking about enrichment, i think i dun plan to send tian to any at the moment. no $$ also no time. i agree with huskies that if so called children who knows more than others when put in a group, the one with more knowledge will feel bored if the circulating information is already what he knows. however, if we intorduce a more complex and interactive play between these children, they can still learn via various aspects unless the gap is really too far.

my hb's cousin has a genius boy who is only 3-4 year old. he always criticise ppl (especially children) cause he knows this n that, but others dunno. he finds others including adults are so stupid cause cannot do simple calculation or cannot name all the names of snakes. he knows more than 80 types of snakes by names and features. his maths already in billion trillion or pico range which i am also not very sure how many 0 sometimes, amazing. then he feels very bored in kindergarten. this case is a bit extreme la.

Irin happy celebrating RR birthday today u must be really busy.. enjoy!

wah, the scandal news i heard from hb, i did not know that it is so serious. i guess i need to start reading newspapers a bit. out liao.

tian is oi oi, going to bring her to anchor point later after her lunch.

me busy since morning..hubby at work, bring monster to mkt, came up gave her milk, multi task, laundry, wash fish, cook porridge, put her to zz...then i faster bath.. then BOSS CALLED ME! aiyo i oredi panting liao from all the chores at home..till now i duno wat happen *stress* cos she says will call me back ..aiyo must be sthing happen to my ad la

re: scandal seems no pics to see, i got bored cos like wat astro says, all taken out. but i feel edison quite handsome le..but i agree he is STUPIG :p

QQ: ur hb's counsin's son. is what i termed' educated brat'.. see? so far all 'accomplishments'.. if u say that is one in the first place. is about how much he knows.. an dhor.. how valuable is that anyway.. do we ever counts in trillioins andmillions? how useful is it he know so many names and snakes..and can't communicate to someone who dunno.. no communication here also. so in short.. all his knowledge is 'useless'.. and his social and compassion. def very lacking here.. if he can criticise and look down on pple at this age.. and that would mean .. he is at the right age to be at kindergarten or so.. but hor. i think the kindergarten kids are better in charcter than him ah.. very arrogant thi sboy.. cannot be like that when grow up else horrible liao..

belle: haiz. ur boss also super on. keep working nonstop kind ah?..

ok feeding teng now.. later going to GXGX.. ha.. teng ispushing his walker.. super cute :p

astro, i agree la. this boy is arrogant. i have yet to see him in person. he lacks of emotional and social skills. he might not enjoy his childhood, but at the moment, he enjoys talking to adults according to my mil. her mum is a SAHM, flashing him flashcards everyday since few months. so my mil asked me not to flash. now, i still haven't flash. haha!
blur, maybe its not something urgent bah.. wait for her call then. u coming later or not? bring your botak monster. i wanna see her

wow QQ
that genius boy is really genius! do u thikn genius is born or trained?

hmm astro
agree wif u, i wont be sending leia for enrichment course unless there's trial and proven that she enjoys it, otherwise i will just send her for playgroup to have fun. not very particular about the curriculum :p

i dun believe they will have huge problem catching up if they dont paricipate in enrichment classes prior to schooling. I was enrolled in kindergarten much later than other kids but i managed to catch up later. mayeb it was much easier in my era:p

my colleague sends his dotter to shinchida..wanted to stop bcos its expensive but surprisingly his dotter loves the course, even bring the flashcard to daddy to 'play' with her. he said it depends on individual, some may like it some may not. initially a lot of distractions in the class but slowly it will get better

wau piang my MIL kept boiling water & disrupt me again, want to add hot water into Leia's cereal, she boils again...then flask 1/3 full,she add in to boil again. told her i dun need so much hot water she still insists. forget it, im going to get back my thermo flask from maid.

please refer to my gathering/class details in facebook ok? thanks
GUG 130pm United Square

So much talk abt enrichment class..

Hmm.. I don't believe that having a set of good academic results is a guarantee of a good job with high salary. And having both the above do not guarantee happiness.

I would like my children to grow up and go through life with self-confidence and having a positive attitude, with adequate social skills and a generous and compassionate heart. Most important of all, I want them to be happy.

The Shichida xiao tian cai boy? Not surprisingly, he's way ahead in his class in school. When asked if he's bored, he said something like he teaches others in class. So in this manner, he's also enjoying himself.

I think no matter which school, playgroup, courses (eg piano arts aZnd craft, dancing etc) etc we choose, most important is the child is enjoying himself/herself. As long as he/she is, the learning will take care of itself.

bbmouse,
Mine too, think most important is the child is enjoying himself/herself in the activities or enrichment course. Then they will explore and interest to learn more. Like the flashing of the cards if they don't like we have to stop.
But as a parent we try to explore and find good programs that they will enjoy and benefit from it.

the others i think are enjoying themselves at the gathering.

Huingee: Yah, think they're at the gathering. I'm at home on bed rest. Gynae just extended it by another week because I'm still getting brown sticky discharge. I'm going to tell my boss that I will want to take the following week off as well. That'll bring me to 8th week, hopefully bbmouse has stabilised by then.

Audrey: The gifted babes need to have someone around? They allow maids right? Is there a min time frame one has to sign up for or we can "roll-over" every month? By the way, there's no grant for this, is there?

bbmouse,
Then you must take care and don't move too much. Ya, hopefully by the 8 week bb will be more stable. Preg is like this one, just have to rest. So now hb will bring Anna to the shicida class? Last time when bring my girl to class, very tiring as she always want to move around. Have to hold or carry her.

bbmouse restwell

most mummies enjoying at GXGX gathering

i think our children will be more on how to surive then getting gd
grades coz by then degree 2 common

Angleo:

i dun think its extra charge.. anyway their cakes are not that expensive as compared to the other bakers. I guess even with the extra charge it should be still less than $100. u looking for a pooh cake? hey r u from the feb thread or april thread?

Hey mummies... i ordered my cake today.. from Pine Gardens.. its a 2 tier cake with a 1 on the upper tier. Its one of PG's classic cake design..my cake is a 3kg, premium flavour cake, comes up to $125 for the whole cake. I will post pic when the cake is done.. so exciting.

starfruit,
my boy born on 29th March

EDD 6April, hence me consider april thread ba.

wow! even cupcakes hv Pooh's face lei

yes, i agreed eCreative cakes price are resonable, erm...will get more ideas from this thread

coz till now, din yet book any venue yet. no plan no idea

Star: My hubby just ordered the cake from Bengawan Solo. 3kg for $120. However, there's still time to get the cupcakes. Where are they from? I'm thinking to bring cupcakes to Anna's shichida class next sat to celebrate. If I can't get pooh cupcakes, will get the cupcakes from starbucks. There're only 5 other children and I think all cannot eat cakes yet. So the parents and the teacher can have the cake.

You went for the gathering? How's it?

hi mummies no one back yet huh..i got super chauffeur 'svc' today lor...BUT I DUN ENJOY THE GATHERING AT ALL!!!

Dad offered to send me & chloe to meet mums & babes, i reach abt 1.20pm n told him i need min 1 hr...but he began to sms me (while i m busy keeping Chloe happy) n said 2pm ok?? wah! where got so fast?! my dad super gan cheong, cos i supp to go a family frn's dotters hse nearby..then i msg back 2.30pm, my food arrived late, chloe abit cranky, aiya i lost all mood. NO chance to have decent conversation with any mummies too walau.. then take pic also need to rush off. (hope the pics dun show my black face)

When in the car, i @%@%!!@!#! non stop. I vowed never to get a free ride from my dad anymore for any gatherings..stress only. Ya know wat he said? why his frn's dotter cook i still need to eat? of cos i need to eat cos i am hungry la! he is lidat, super gancheong when it comes to goin this this frn's place..aiya sorry to whine here but i really dun enjoy today
i fussed so much in the car till i teared. Then hv to psycho myself to smile cos goin to frns place mah..eyes cannot be red wat..then ya know wat..chloe dun wanna sit in pram again, i tried to pacify her, at the same time adjusted the pram to sitting position while Chloe is crying..BUT when i look at her crying face, something is wrong. I accidentally 'giap' her finger while adjusting the pram, wahhh she cry very chum lor...my hair was in a mess, my mood just totally GONE...arrhgg.

Belle: Oh no.. Poor Chloe. Is her finger ok now? I also don't like to be chased. Tell your dad next time no need any ride from him lor.

bb mouse she is ok, crawling ard my frns hse till she dun wanna zzz..but i checked her fingers got abit of mark ley..haiz..i m so careless.. i think i know my dad knows i m pissed. cos i so angry got in the car dun wanna say anything, it's him who started n said 'why frn cook for u, u still wanna eat' walau! dats when i open fire lor. i complained to hubby, hubby said, he always lidat u duno meh? but i didnt expect him to chase me lidat! he dun like to wait for pp type, he super punctual, u know with babies HOW TO BE PUNCTUAL? haiz..

belle: ya.. sometimes these people make things worse. jiang xiao di rejecting everything from the time he got back.. whined and cried.. haiz.. all because miser said dun carry him put him down onto the stroller to sleep.. i wasn't confident, coz i ALWAYS woke him up in the middle of such 'transit'.. and he can't get back to sleep one.. followed his instructions anyway.. and did u see jiang xiang di back to sleep? no right?
.. haiz. so he fuss and fuss lor.. and i HATE it when he fussed liao.. coz i no patience one.. dun say during gatherings/classes.. haiz.. very sian..

frn = ?.. yalor.. very sian leh.. sometimes take rides from others have to depend on them one lah.. and while bb crying even more sian.. to manage alone. very frustrating one.. dun be too upset.. tomorrow's another day.. i trying to tell myself that.. haiz...

ok.. let me be a little bit lame to try to cheer both of us up.. i noticed hor.. chloe has a very perky butt! :p hahahaha.. :p

the feeling of being rushed ...it's so uncomfortable, initially i didnt wanna go cos hubby not goin, chloe can be hyperactive one. in the car she crawling n climbing everywhere i hvnt reach destination oredi super tired from 'catching' her ley..i think if hubby dun go i also dun go gathering liao..unless chloe can walk cos keep carry her my left side back start to pain liao cos i ever sprain before a few yrs back.

belle: u WUN want to meet miser's father at all! he not just dun like to wait for pple type, he is always very tactless, way too early for apt and leave way too early also. i seriously dunno why he is in such a rush at times.. miser and his sisters say he is always like that.. and then he rush his own biz. he will still come and nag and nag and nag.. abt we 'late'.. alamak.. who was the one who was TOO early?!

astro...

u funi girl la..yes dear u succeeded..u just MADE ME LAUGH...perky butt? oh no..how come i didnt notice that :p till i undress her..u can see Chloe got 'breasts' liao wahahaha.

Jiang xiao di exactly the same as in the pic le..aiyo that pair of mesmerizing eyes..i didnt hv chance to play with him! gRrrr...yaya..'transit' chloe same, from inside car to outside car also can wake type. FRUSTRATING is the word...

frn = friend.

and miser these days always say he dun want to go to any gatherings..not just with march trhead pple but for any gatherings.. seems like the only gatherings which are LEGITIMATE and not a WASTE OF TIME.. are gatherings with his family.. wah biang.. super pissed as i think of this now.. .. before went for GXGX had a small tiff with him somemore.. so sian..

astro

yaya 'late' & 'early' hanor i wasnt LATE!!! my dad complained n said i told him i neede ONE HOUR..but i only reach 1+pm ley..half hr oredi msg me, i kinda raised my voice at my dad n said: I M HANDLING A FUSSY BB, U EXPECT ME TO CHECK MY HP?!!! *bang head*

my dad always fetches passengers to airport..has to be punctual, but I AM HIS DAUGHTER LEH! his grand dotter needs to interact with her frns ley...such short time expect me to do wat? on the way rush, morn cook rush, at venue bb fuss, wah! i cannot take it n open fire at my dad just now lor..

bbmouses

at the HEAT of the moment i angry lor..i felt bad for open fire at my dad la..afterall he meant well to send me there, but he dun understand my situation. I took pics but all pics of bbs who never say cheese to me :p

belle: ur girl got *Ahem* figure leh. plus her exotic looks.. and that expression on her face.. "naughty little damsel in distress all the time" but yet fiesty and hyper. wah. next time.. boys at her mercy liao.. !

aiya. today .. he keep want to walk. but he keep tripping and then hit his head. morning already once.. at the cafe another time.. i think he hit his head till sot sot liao.. dun play with him lah. keep whining him today.. so sian.. i keep having to pacify him.till i super fed up.. and the stupid cafe. the service and food selection cannot make it leh.. the drinks wah biang.. an di wonder.. disney cafe.. target audience = ... kids right? only 7 high chairs?.. and the staff ah? haiz.. i wanted cold water.. u know what they gave me? thay gave me warm water.. plus a cup of ice! and said they dun sertve ice water. only warm water.. hence the cup of ice to add to the warm water to cool it.. wah biang.. i dunno what to say.. arghh.. my blood was boiling all the time i was at the cafe.. i got no mood to say anything at all.. haiz..

bbmouse: like belle. me wasn't n the best of mood leh. i dunno if miser took good photos.. chances are he didnt.. and i hope other mums.. when u post ur photos.. DUN put astro in.. as usual lah. cut her face off.. ok??

QQ
tian tian has grown le..she look very si wen esp her eyes & ying tao xiao zui

pink
Leia very cute with her jealous face haha..

Fion
Vanda actually very quiet hor..she is busy biting her delicious menu wahhahah so cute.

Michelle
1st time see Keira aiyo she so adorable..when she cries her tear drop big big one.

Huajing
See elisha's cheek i wanna PINCH her le...HAHA..her hair clip so 3d today cute!

autum
u look good, dun hv chance to chat with u haiz..frankly i hvnt notice only today i notice EJ resembles you alot!

Audry
your princess Kaylen look so sweet in the 'ai xin' hairband done by mummy...tks for helping me entertain chloe le..u r really good!

Astro
in the end where teng go? daddy br. him for walk rite? i didnt see him in his pram le..woke up liao go bio chicks outside restn???? the way he whine haha..cute le..eyes big big it's the ctr of attraction!

astro
agree the svc sucks le.. i m struggling with chloe n the order taking is soOo long. End up didnt bring my food aiyooo... i ordered chicken she said is lamb. Ask her to check she said its chicken. But i do hv to say i like the decor of the restn only..other than that...*SHOWS THUMBS DOWN* BU ZHI DE

i was just telling my dad on the way that the way chloe behaves..no guys wanna date her next x. She is a tom boy. cos my dad says chloe's nose is flat as mummies...i just added..THEN GO NOSE ENHANCEMENT next x LOR...GONG GONG PAY :p

wha.. gathering sounds fun... i am sorry i missed it. I went to sentosa with hubby,, baby and MIL. we went to see the floral exhibition. Tomorrow last day... hubby say weather too hot.. but i had fun... the flowers were really nice, its Rae's first time at Sentosa, took pics too... would love to take more..but u need to queue t take pics at many of the floral arrangements on display. Will try and post some pics up later.

Hey i wanna see pics of the gathering leh.. anyone can post???

Star: I wanna see the flowers pics too.

I whole day nua at home. Hubby wants to go watch movie and to bring us out, told him I'm on bed rest leh. I really have no mood to go out at all. My friend has helped me buy the party favours, so now I really don't have to go out anymore.

belle: tian hor.. she hand fed teng one of the teddy puffs leh..she put the biscuit near teng's mouth. and teng just opened his mouth and ate it leh.. very sycronised movement ah.. wah. token of love.. teng cannot run away from tian liao! :p

i think huajing got sponsership from disney cafe to let elisha wear minnie clip ah?

yalor.. audrey very nice.. heeehee. audrey.. u look at ur 'twin' bro.. cannot make it , right? haiz..

alamak.. i dun like the way teng wines.. i dun like he whining at all!!! which is the centre of attraction.. his loud crying, or loud whining or big eyes?.. aiya. sometimes i see him fuss.. i very sian.. feel like giving him a slap.. and shout at him.. "hello! u boy or girl?! girl also dun fuss as much as u leh!!!!".. arghh

Baby Girl: hang on, let me trace back where i found the pic.. i close the bowser window lah.. hang on har.. might take a while.
hey Bangawan solo cake also not that cheap hor.. i expected their 3kg cake to be less than $100 leh.

belle: Rae also dunno wanna sit on her stroller.. always wants to be carried.. like today also, kept stretching out her arms at my MIL wanted to bao bao.. cos she knows i will not give in to her so she look for Nai Nai. I asked my MIL to ignore her. i quickly push the stroller and ask her to look at the flower display, once she distracted, she ok liao.