(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Germaine,
the outcome I wanted was to go to school in peace, not like now. I just called the school to watch over him today. In case he decides to "leave home". :S

to handle reyden, really cannot use 常理 coz it wont apply on him! headache man.. a 天才儿童 parent must be more 天才 than him to 驯服 him! i am sure u must hv tried all methods we all know :S

RR, by reading wad u posted, Reyden has a strong character. And agreed wif edde, the harder u tried the more he wanna go against u.

These days i will threaten bian that i wont wait for sch bus wif him if he still wanna slp. Then he wakes up willingly. else i guess drama every morn too!

RR, i oso cried the other day when i scolded bian for being v rude. feeling so devastated. And bian just reacted normally not understanding tat he has upset mummy.

Edde,
I just know I'm going crazy with this boy liao.

No 常理, so I need to sweet talk him everyday???

Pax,
I was crying as I typed the earlier posts. So drained on a Monday morning ...

SQ,
he missed his nap yesterday, slept around 9+ last night, not very late leh.

BBmar,
no threats will work for him ...
If I give him sweets or choco every morning, that might work. But I can't be giving him those every morning mah.

BBmar,
yes, yes and the worst thing was Reyes was crying so pitifully beside me too! She gets very scared whenever she sees me cry.
BUT this Reyden just stared at us emotion-less.

*pat*pat* i feel really u should have just on ur patience and keep telling him that where his short/ brief, shoes cos he is sleepy cos he slept late. .... basically just nag at him.

pax, actually it is opp for mine case. Clyde may be stubborn but he will listen. Gwyen is totally opposite. She is someone who dun succumb to threats. so i use the soft approach to her until hb felt that i am spoiling her. i will always use the excuse that 她还小.

RR, u r rgt tat we r not be doing the right thing by offering those favors to them. They wil take for granted de. Same thing happened to Darius too. The other day i punished bian for being notti at inlaws pl so i forced him to stand outside of the gate. Then silly darius started crying...and called 'dada' 'dada'(his way of addressing bian as gor gor). Aiyo see le v touching cos their brotherly bonding is tat close-knitted.

So why Reyes cried partly she is upset tat u are angry and punishing gorgor.

RR, hugs hugs. Don't cry already lah. If it makes you feel better, we've also experienced the same thing with Domie. That's when I remembered what a friend said abt him before. She feels he's those 吃软不吃硬 and I think she's right. Reyden sounds like that too.

Domie doesn't want to go school most morning and we realised that threatening him takes up too much of our time and effort plus get angry start to the day so hb just plays with him to get him to get up. Like tickle him etc till he's happy and awake. Don't know whether it'll work with Reyden.

Maybe tonight when you see him, don't scold him anymore. Find the time and place where both of you can be alone and tell him how you feel and ask him what he was thinking and feeling.

There was this time I got so mad that I went on a "rampage". After I calm down, I decided to apologise to him for losing my temper because the issue wasn't deserving of that. I asked him to forgive me and he did. Then he suddenly said, "Mummy I tell you something. When you scold me, I feel very sad." =( Then we made up and I took the chance to explain to him why I felt that way.

Would it work for you?

Germaine,
huh? I don't get you. He didn't have to look for his clothes and shoes ah.
Usually I'll leave their uniforms on the bed and they change on their own. I already gave in this morning and wanted to change for him liao but he was still screaming and crying as I put on his shirt.

RR: Is he liddat everyday or just this morning? It's a cool morning so I think he wants to sleep in.
With him, I think best not use the hard approach. You said Kent did that before and gave up right? Got to use soft approach all the way. No choice got to ren3 in our hearts not to boil and over-boil. It doesn't matter if they win, cos ultimately, we want to impart good things, and to handle the situation most efficiently right?
I'm telling myself this with A&A too.. Most of the time I'll use the soft method. Works with Ayden all the time *touch wood*, Anna will sometimes wayang wayang more, and up til a certain limit, I'll tell her you better stop or we'll just stay at home..

Moogen,
yes, your situation sounds so alike. I did "disturb" him this morning with tickles, kisses, it works on some days but he woke up crying today! That's why I got angry.

I feel regretful after each time I flare up at him cos like you, I know it doesn't work for him. I will apologise to him, talk and make up too. But sometimes I just couldn't control myself well enough in the mornings. Which is why I'm feeling so lousy now too. I almost wanted to go up and give him a tight hug just now when he waved bye bye to me.

RR: And.. In fact, it is not a bad thing they actually feel we give in (or in our terminology, we lose out) to them.. Cos this will make them soften down towards us.. And they'll listen to us, instead of shutting down the moment we want to communicate with them..

AAA,
not every morning. It happens on those mornings that he's v tired.

Like I was telling bbmar, if going by soft approach, I'll need to give him sweets/choco every time he acts up in the morning. Those stuffs will make him very happy in the morning regardless tired or not.

RR: I know that dreadful feeling. almost feel like if oly we can re-play the whole scene again, we will handle it differently this time.. But let that feeling go, and start anew this evening when you go fetch them.. No handbook was given to us when we became parents, we trial and error along the way.. It's ok..

Irin.. more hugz... i dunno wat else to say...

Germ, u got to stop using 她还小 one day. Gwyen is big enuf to start understanding de... alwYs soft also no gd, she will climb all over u. Hvg said that, maybe u got more patience than me...

RR: GIving in doesn't mean giving him sweets every morning.. Some mornings you can say I'll give only when you come home from school, or if you finish dressing up in 5mins, I'll give you a sweet etc etc.. Make it into a reward instead of as a bribe..
It means not getting angry with him.. Tell him what he needs to do, but allow him some freedom to wayang here and there, and still get the job done..

Irin, try a reward chart? I m using it w M & Jo to get them to behave or complete tasks. Behaviour like no trouble during bedtime for Jo n no whining/ arguments for M.

rr, sorry i mean wear.
Pax, true lor. i keep telling hb cos she is in terrible 2. But she is one who dun succumb to hard method, no matter how i threaten or beat or scold. maybe cos of this, she is very lovey dovey with me.

Germaine,
oh, no wonder I was scratching head with your post, haha!

AAA,
true. I do find that he's more responsive when we are not angry. But I don't want him to think that we'll never get angry with him. So you all think it's alright to use soft approach all the way?

Pax,
reward chart? Then what do you give as rewards?

RR: for reward, can give him money ( afew cents or $1) to add to his piggy bank? also et to teach him principle of money saving?
ACtually i think its cos monday lah, a lot of our kids will throw tanturms one. hang in there.. *hugs*

Starfruit,
$$ ah? They've got no piggy banks yet. Hmmm ... think I should start that, something new.

Ya, usually Mondays are like that cos play too much over the weekends. I should have just kept my cool and everyone's happy. haiz ...

Irin, i seldom buy treats for M & Jo. A special sticker will make them happy. But i realise that it s task achievement that make them excited. They jus wan to make the mark n fill the chart w stars n hearts. Tonite i take photo of the completed chart for last wk n post here. The 1st time we had the charts for 2 of them, they didnt hit the required 20 stars for a prize. Last wk, they did n will get a prize fr me tdy.

This wk's chart, i changed the rewards slightly to motivate Jo. 5 stars get 1 special sticker. 20 stars get a prize.

RR: Use the soft but firm approach on him.. Tell him what is to be done, and encourage him (this can be nagging, coaxing, or with a stern looking face etc, but not in anger) to get the task done.
ANd re this morning.. I think you'll be surprised with Reyden.. This evening he may even apologise to you.. Think he didn't look back cos he's still digesting his feelings, or could be, he's still "waking up" from his sleep.. Don't worry too much..

SQ: Don't be too happy with girls.. I tell you.. I just witnessed a very shocking act!
I attended a birthday party of a girl 8 yrs old.. There were boys and girls from the class there. They were playing passing the box, and the forfeit is to do a performance. Upon hearing this, the girls all, without any warning, ran together to hide under the table! All the adults was caught aback. We didn't know what they were doing or why. And then we found out they were just bring coy (or pretending to be coy was the more appropriate description).. And this happened throughout the game.. When the box landed up with a girl, they'll all go hide. Super irritating!.. But the boys, on the other hand, were all very mature, gentlemanly and spontaneous, all very da4 fang1 and played the game, did the forfeit, and some even volunteered to perform on the girls' behalf..

End of story..

Pax,
stickers won't work cos they have free access to all the stickers. I think small stickers in exchange for a bigger "prize" might be exciting for them though.

I'll go do up the chart tonight. Tks!

I guess this is why the saying... With girls, they're the perfect angels until 15, then it goes downhill all the way from there. With boys, things are tough in the beginning, but once they reach 18, things are uphill all the way.. :p

Now with children maturing earlier, we can move forward the age and expect this to happen sooner I guess..

And that is until they get married.. Then.. Another story..

With girls, we have them all the way.. They'll always have mummies' hearts.. With boys, once they get married, they become the wife's husband ler.. :p

I forgot to mention prizes for last week's achievements
M - smALL lego creator set
Jo - small mega blok hello kitty set

AAA,
faint ... so it's headaches from now all the way.

I just called my mum and told her about this morning. She commented "你的路还长咯!"

RR, it sounds exciting to me! Haha... I know the feeling - crappy but we can't change anything now so just give him an extra big hug tonight. It happens to the best of us. We use mostly soft approach till cannot take it then we will give him his warning. Now if when I spank him, it almost doesn't seem to affect him so I try not to do it.

We sound just like the kids! Need constant reminders (nagging) that we shouldn't let emotions get the better of us.

Thank mummies for all the advice and listening ears. It feels better to vent out and know that there are people who understand.

Irin, ask RR wat they wan n make that the prizes. Of cos, cannot b too exp, else we will b broke vv quickly. The tasks or behaviour u put down shld also b a mix of easy n difficult to achieve, so that they wont b discouraged. Better if u can discuss w them n agree on the behaviours n tasks. I email u le. Can u access hotmail fr ofc?

sometimes i wonder if bian is emotionally affected with all the punishment he gets. Will it leaves an impact? he noes he upset us but he refused to acknowledge. But when mil asked him, he will tell her wad happened...blah blah blah.

BBmar,
yes, yes, I wonder if Reyden gets affected badly too.
After the scolding, caning, he gets back to normal almost immediately, we don't know what he's thinking about.

Pax,
I can access with my phone. Let me go take a look later. Tks.

RR: *hugs*.. Reyden is pouting and reacting in anger i feel.. so he ignored u when u are crying behind and walked straight all the way..
not easy. but i dun think u shd feel too upset about wanting him to get up and go to school with minimum fuss. talk to him tonight when everyone is in a calmer mood? if need be.. and that is what that is making u feel bad.. u cld aplogise for losing your temper.. but not the act of wanting him to wake up from bed.. u get what i mean? think the two need to be seperated.. the handling can be improved. but ur intention is sound.

if u tell reyden. u are hurt that he ignores u when u are crying.. does it work on him? emotional manipulation? :p

AA: like that i look forward to when both boys turn 18.. teng showed some signs of fabulous 5 on HK trip.. wah i desperately looking forward to that and hope he doesn't regress!

today he whined and didn't want to go to school.. as usual nothing new. but he didn't whine much coz i already prep him that if he can reduce his crying and fuss and whining.. he gets his minnie mouse sticker from disneyland.. he cooperated but still ike want to cry like that :S
then reach school. he clined to me 'mama hug me before u go..' wah liew. can melt.. then his teacher asked him how his trip was. he was trying to reply him in between soft sobs.. this boy hor. what is so difficult for him to go to school? outside he can run around himself and get whackings from me even.. haiz. oh well..

Pax: i think teng is really like M leh.. teng can argue and whine non-stop. jialat
then yh.. a bit like Jo.. dun wnt means dun want. at least as of now.. hopefully he can mellow down when older to be more sensible like Jo.. else i dunno how to 'hook' him. sian.

but RR: i like how u can still see the humour in your concluding part on how reyden will plan something like posion u or kill u in the sleep :p:p

cheer up!

RR,
*Hugs*. Reyden is tough to handle. For me, sometimes after smacking my kids (EJ) n it still doesn't work, I will go and hug him. I know this is supposedly wrong n will send wrong signals to the kid but I still do that. For 2 reasons. One is to stop myself from smacking and losing it further. The 2nd reason is to calm the kid too n show that I still love him even after I smack.

I try not to do this often as I also worry about the confusing message. But in a way it works, as it calms everybody down. Yes, it will end up like we are giving in. But I tell myself that is after I have punished (smack) him already. It's not the same as straight away give in with a bribe in the morning. It's after smacking n tears. Anyway what works for me
may not work for u. Reyden is special

discipline discussion here. Mummies wanna asked whether does ur kids lie? i know clyde lies at times eg lied that he has lifted the toilet seat, lied that he has washed his hands after toilet. and i read somewhere that lying for kids is an escape route cos they know they are wrong. at times i will just close one eye but some times i will just dig out his deeds. how you all handle it when they tell lies?