(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

star: i like ur red wine vinegar and roasted peppers/egg plant suggestions! but yes super loads of work.. just roasting and removing the skin of the veg is sian :S

aa/rr: yep.. by and large i realise i am a savoury person. the only sugary vice i have is really bbt :p

AA: i think teng got influenced by the food pyramid he learned in school recently.. he nvr used to be like that..
he keeps telling me the whole day long that i must eat the right food.. the food in the food pyramid and that will make me strong.. then whole day ask me 'pasta wll give u carbohydrate right?.. potatoes will give u carbohydrates right?'
i think he gets a thrill in pronuncing carbohydrate.. like the way he enjoyes pronouncing photosynthesis.. ha.. keeps repeating..

then on sunday i tested to test him if he konws anything else apart from carbohydates..
so i asked him:

what layer is above carbohydates?
he replied meat and alternatives.. :S
ok so he skipped veg and fruits.. nvm.
then i asked what layer is above meat and alternatives? i was expecting him to say sugar and such..

guess what he replied me??

he said: chicken and alternatives ..:S
i was flabbergasted.. i probed on. 'next level?'

he went'hmmm fish and alternatives'..
then 'beef and alternatives'...

wah liew eh.. :S
FAIL!!!

AAA yes sun dried tomatoes one of my fav i add to pasta or eat on its own but i find the sun dried tomatoes here are so expensive. I am so hungry now with all ur salad talk. the salad cream really nice?? N yes add lots of croutons. u can cut up a day old bread butter than rub some garlic on it n toast n u have garlic croutons!!

Irin i love the pic of ur salad cos it has prawns!!!

Astro,
the red veg I had wasn't rocket leaves but forgot the name le.

Same here! I don't fancy sweet stuffs except bbt. :S

Astro buy ready made roasted peppers CS sells jasons too if not roast urself yes lots of work. I use to fry or roast batches of slice egg plant add olive oil + lemon juice n keep sealed in the fridge. Will take n add them to my salad or other dishes. IIove egg plants ! Esp roasted ones.

Star: Yah lor.. So ex here in Sing.. And how I wish they can give me just the tomatoes without the weight of the olive oil.. :p Haha.. I find our tastebuds quite similar leh..

Star, RR: Thanks for the tips on croutons.. Will get maid to bake some for keeps..

All the talk makes my mouth itchy again. I'm having grapes now. I wonder if I'll overdose on fruits and veg or not. :S

Astro, i oso hates Rocket Leaves. The western version of dang or! but i like dang or when i go for steamboat!!

Modestos has tis ham pizza scattered wif al the rocket leaves. i c liao machiam eating grass! hahaha!!

AAA yeah similar hor hahaha i llet know if i manage to hunt down cheap n good sun dried tomatoes. N i think i will go buy a bottle of blue cheese dressing tomorrow!!

Wha we are all getting excited over salad!! All RR's fault!!
And i tot we have a no food talk rule after 10pm? Or maybe salad not counted???

AAA i share another unhealthy salad habit of mine.. Add crispy bacons on the salad!! Whaaaa...

AAA,
people say too much of anything is no good mah. So I'm sure "overdose" on something will have some adverse effects. haha!

AAA, the food pyramid is like a chart to tell u wad kinds of food u need to get certain nutrients.

RR, u r so healthy eating salads all these while.

Starfruit,
oops ... *salad is healthy, salad is healthy*

I never thought one would get cravings for salads last time. :p

Bacon bits!! I love that on potato salad!! I got a recipe for nice potato salad. :D

RR u need to slice the egg plant then rub salt on the slices n leave it for 5-10 mins the salt will draw out the bitter juices from the egg plant. Wash clean after that pat dry u drizzle with oil n j can bake quite fast n they turn real sofg n mushy n adsorb the oil. They tastd better when fried but more messy lah. If u want can blend them to paste w/o skin n smear on toasted baugette n eat its super yummy. Very mediteranian style lah.

RR: ya. urs is not that bad. the rocket one.. omg :S

AA: i think they were going through the food pyramid in their science classes.. they learned quite a fair bit from there. the other day teng was telling me how tsunamis were formed. he knew the total number of casualities to date.. i dunno!
the food pyramid is
http://www.food-faq.net/food-pyramid.html
def not just meat and carbo. that one is teng's food pyramid :p
oh. no term report yet.. hmm. teng started later than anna.. dunno what that is leh. all i know is many sticker and chops. haha!

star/rr: yummy roasted egg plants!
i recalled i went that spices cafe.. and i suaned miser coz he keeps taking the tamago sushi to eat.. 'brign u here u keep eating egg sushi??'.. then he suaned me back 'u are worse.. eat roasted veg?'..:p

BBmar,
it's not healthy cos by right shouldn't be eating heavy food after a certain timing le else cannot digest. These salads are my supper ... :S

RR pls share recipe for potato salad!! I love them too!!! N with bacons!! Yumz. We need to add the salad recipe to our 100 dish list!!

star: u preggy. cannot take blue cheese leh..

BBmarch: if miser sees that pizza.. i think he will go. 'eat bread and grass.. poor thing' :p

Home made salad still the best! u get to put lotsa of yummy gd stuffs n lotsa dressings!!! Slurps...making myself hungry.

nvr mind im nw waiting for hb to come hm wif chong pang nasi lemak.

Astro i love roasted veggie too!! Oh ya preggy cannot take blue cheese i forgot all abt it. Actuallh hm made mayo also cant cos it contain raw eggs!! Sigh.

Irin i love egg plants!! Diff to find nice ang mo style egg plant dishes here so i do my own. The malay do good sambal brinjal though.

3 potatoes
1 Tbs. wine vinegar or lemon juice
2 eggs, hard boiled
2 Tbs. olive oil
1/2 tsp. salt
1 small onion, chopped
Spring onions, cut
Bacon bits
Pinch of pepper

Scrub and boil potatoes with their skin.
Peel and cool.
Shell the eggs and separate the whites and yolks.
Mash the yolks in a basin and add the salt and pepper, vinegar, and oil.
Mix well and add the onion.
Slice the potatoes or cut in small cubes.
Add the chopped egg whites and pour over the salad.
Sprinkle bacon bits and spring onion over the salad.
Mix well.
Serve cold.

BBmar,
chong pang nasi lemak at this hour?? Wah, I would love that but my stomach won't be able to take it.

RR: ur potato sald no lemon.. ha.. i thought potato salad MUST have lemon kind.. ha. now i konw it is only a preference.. :p
ha. i got suaned by him. coz i really keep going to take teh roasted veg and ikeep saying it is nice. haha. :p

star: maybe A BIT can take :p the mayo i tink. blue cheese. hmm not pasturised. think need to avoid totally..

Aiyah, forgot about bacon bits!! I go make some changes to the recipe. Off hand couldn't recall all the ingredients. :p

Astro,
can use lemon or the wine vinegar, either one. Both will have the sourish taste.

Starfruit,
not the chinese style. You can find it together with the salad dressings at supermarkets.

CK, avocado shake is the same as avocado juice? the one i liked is @ AV... the stall v famous de..i like cos its v rich!

Alert, alert!!!
Bacon bits can be fattening. I have a friend who took bacon bits for a month, very frequently. And she put-on more than 5kg after that....

Alert alert!!

Autum, dunno how much she ate!! She said breakfast, dinner all have bacons. I couldn't believe it myself but she did balloon a lot la. My housemate last time... Cannot be wrong ma.

BB: special alert for u leh.. nasi lemak as supper.. hahaha this one super fattening!!

QQ/Irin: ya bacon is fattening cos its belly pork (wu hua rou) so much fat, but this is what makes it yummy.. add in moderation lah, dun eat so much.

I like bacon cook to crisp texture.. so delicious.
Having french toast for bfast now/.

QQ: i think your housemate, must be quite unhealthy in her other diet choices as well since she can add bacon to all her 3 meals!! hahaha. lucky u never get influence hor.. hahaha

Tt's y tey say eat salad Nt nec will lose weight de
Depends on Wat's inside BESIDES the vegetables

Astro
So healthy eat veg at buffets
I can't rem the last time I ate salads cos I was always attackg the desserts!

SQ,
I don't really stick to a brand. I'll just go to the supermarket and see which one looks nice and "appealing" at that moment. :p I forgot what's the brand I got. You can try French dressing, nice too.

I don't eat salad at buffets too, waste of space. haha!!

The french toast is soo not nice! lucky i have a soon kueh as back up!!

SQ: u want healtier dress, go for the vinegrette ones, or u can add olive oil and lemon juice!

RR; i think its the bacon bits on the potato salad that makes it soo yummy.

Sq/RR: i rat salads at buffet leh.. hahaha weird isit, esp if i see roasted vegs, sure attack!! and fruits too. i was at rose veranda at shangrilah, they have the salad with blue cheese dressing and i ate so much!!! actually not good to eat salad at buffet cos it makes u full (mentally only lah) but healhy so u dun end up eating so much.

SQ: since YE loves to eat veggie, u can do salads and eat together with her, add loads of cheery tomatoes for her lah.

actually one of my fav sald combi is the jap cucmber and tomatoes, just these 2 and no dressing!

RR: ur potato salad already sound yummy! :p

i like vinegrette too and those jap salad sauce. aiyo, so early i feel hungry liao!

astro: the smilebox is so nicely done. didnt know can put pics n videos at the same time. teng so cute too. was trying to hear wat he is saying. are those the LB books? i tot i saw a ger holding the gingerbreadman book

BBMar,
we have total different tastes. I won't add prickles, green chillis and olives for subway! The rest all I take. :p

bbmarch: for subway, i will ask for everything except olives! i juz tried vege patty last wk n its v nice!

edde: tks for recommending the coupon for subway. really wuhua! pls alert me if they hv again!

RR/BB, same as RR, BB, my taste totally opp from u, for subway, i only add the cucumber, lettuce and tomatoes, i really dun like olive, pickles and chillies!! hahaha

ash, no subway near my plc, so i didn;t but
and rae dun wat subway too, so we can forget about going there for a meal, unless i tabao home and eat myself!