(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Bbmar
I also hvnt gone to tt commonwealth stall for ages
Dun dare to think o it
I used to play badminton w frens weekly b4 we had kids, then sometimes wil Go ter for dinner aft games
The gd old days

Anyone here doesn't hv a microwave oven at home?
How do u al heat up food like pizza?

I want to throw away my microwave
Altho working but v dirty
I can't imagine the germs lurking in it

Hb says got to buy a new one
I m trying Nt to cos I dun like clutter

Can I survive without one?

SQ,
you are so early ... Without an oven (baking or microwave) then how you heat up stuffs? Unless you want to steam your pizza or eat cold pizza. *siam :p

morning mummies..

SQ: for my microwave, i use it for the following:
1) heat up my bakebeans/sardines (cos lazy to cook over the stove)
2) heat up food from the fridge (esp bah zhang, i will run the bah zhang over running water and put in microwave for 2 mins)
3) Sometimes if i only need to cook rice for rae, i will use microwave, and its done in 10mins. cos qty too little to cook in a rice cooker. and i am alwasy burn my rice if i cook over the stove.
MV is good for generally heating up of stuff which is my primarily use, but for heating up of pizza, nuggets, sotong ball etc, i will use the oven, cos MV cannot achieve the crispiness from an oven.
I stack my oven on top of my microwave to save space lah.
If u dun need dun buy a new one lor. anyway theya re very cheap now and come in small compact sizes.

Rr
Hv u tried ice cold beer with pizza?
It's apparently v nice but I dun hv e guts to bite into cold dough

Star
Stack will make it v hot wor
I dun dare stack

SQ: won;t lah, my MV emits no heat at all, i leave a spacing in between the the 2 device so air can circulate. the hot one is the oven which is on top. so far so good for mine.

Star
How to cook rice in microwave?
Wat's the ratio o rice to water?
N how long to cook?
I shd do tt for meimei
Cos super troublesome n waste I gas to steam jus two tablespoon over the stove!

SQ: i buy the microwavable rice cooker pot(get the one with the ceramic bowl(If its full plastic only, rice is not nice and not soft). usually i will soak the rice in the water for 10mins. ration is 1.5 to double the water for your usual rice cooker.. cos its very fast and they need a lot of water to make it soft. it takes 10 mins only and its done.

SQ, yah lah how to heat up food without microwave oven? I even used mine to defrost meat. Out of curiosity, the germs will be kill by the induction during cooking rite? No?

I have a fren even used microwave to steam bao. First time for me to hear that lah. abit ku ku.

Star
I grew up w the microwave
When it was 1st introduced, a sharp microwave costs $1.8k
V exp 20 yrs ago esp when everyone was worried abt radioactivity
So I m used to e convenience

But I feel like clearing my hse o clutter Nw thus dun feel like buying
Wil jus use e Stove until I Buay tahan then buy

Star
Tks!
Wil keep tt in mind if I buy another microwave

Germ
Actually microwave v useful de
My mum likes to use it to heat up water For Coffee
I know ter r emails circulating ard abt explosions etc but it has served us well

germaine, i one of those ppl who use microwave to steam bao too. not just bao, as mentioned, i steam my bah zhang also.
The method is, i will take the cold bao from the fridge, run it under running tap water to wet the whole bao, put in a microwaveable contianer, cover it partially and put in for 2 mins (no need to add any additional water at this pt). the water on the bao will steam it through and its soft, fast and easy too.

SQ: u need to clena it everytime after u cook, then it will not be so dirty lor.
if its cluttering and u r not using, discard lah. and u can always buy a smaller more compact one if u need.

morn! Wad a wet morn. Hate it man...

bian woke up and din fuss at all.happy me and happy boy!waited for the sch bus wif him before i left for work.

SQ, how abt getting steam oven instead?? much better than using MV. my hb dun like MV so he agreed to get the steam oven. but we still hv a small toaster + my baking oven. all hv their own purpose wor.

SQ; actually if your Mv can get to its current state that means its being utilised leh. u sure u can do w/o one? the way u mentioned the plus pts of a MV, seems like u use it a lot too.

SQ, my fren's method is a bit different. She will just put a cup of water and the bao in the microwave and heat up. hahaha.. have not tried it myself thou.

i stack my MV and my toaster to save space. maybe to achieve the crispy taste, you can heat up ur pizza in mv and after that toast in in toaster (if u have one).

SQ, not asking u to buy 2. ask urself wad u really need. we got the steam oven cos hb loves steamed veg...more healthy. Then i needed to toast bread so got a small toaster fr my mum. The baking oven was the last item i got....

since u like to heat up food..then consider steam oven lah.

germaine, this is wad i did in office!! so tat the bao wont be so hard like a stone!! wif the water placing below somehow the same way we steam over the stove.

Alamak! Suppose to pack but I doze off with kids after medication last night. Tomorrow morning mover coming. Sweating now!!!

Bbmarch
She attempting well
Guess it coz yest mainly play la
Hope she don't chut pattern after lesson resume
Haha
But she keep asking where is her ex-tr and classmate
She said she love them

Thanks autum

Aaa,
Haha hope I still have the energy to cheong expo

Kelley,
Juz a ordinary sofa
Maybe coz we change the leather colour, original is white but we change to grey so they need to fabricate the while sofa overseas
Guess they ship by sea ba so got to wait so long.

Sq,
I have a microwave oven at home but it white elephant
We usually use pan to heat up frozen food like pizza and nugget

Starfruit,
Tomorrow then we move
Today moving those light one outself

Bb-march,
We used to handwash kids clothing
after we bought new WM we throw all in
separate kids and adult
But floor mat is strictly no in WM

ecmon, but u still hv a maid to do the housechores rgt?

ok throw qns to those without maid - do u all handwashed all clothings or throw everything into the WM??

BB: i throw everything in WM, seperate dare and light load. kids clothes wash with adults too. The only exception is rae's school pinafore, which we handwash.

AAA/SQ/BB, where is this chick wings place at commonwealth, pls share address.

Ecmom
How to heat up pizza in pan?
I mean u can't turn it around like flipping fish rite?
Then e ingredients on top wil b thoroughly heated?
I mus learn this skill
Then no need worry abt microwave le

Ecmon & Star, tks for your sharing.

ok y i ask this qns abt handwashing clothes...cos my nails are getting more brittle these daz . i hv a tendency to handwash some of the clothes eg; t-shirts(b it the kids’, hb’s or mine). I bought nail cream and even lately the sally hansen’s nailgrowth dun seems to improve the condition.

Few daz back, I was in the toilet and wanted to turn on the tap…end up my right thumb hit the tap and my nail chipped off! It was very painful but no bleeding. Sigh.it’s the 2nd time it chipped off…the 1st time it chipped off, it bleed lor.

One of my fren asked me to put on rubber gloves when doing housechores like washing clothes, cleaning the stove…etc. As long as my hands are in contact wif detergents must put on gloves. I find it a hassle and dun quite like the feeling of putting on the gloves. Then hb nagged at me to use the gloves cos i keep complaining to him abt my brittle nails. Now i see my nails(esp on my right hand), I v gek sim…all short short wan.

BBmar,
we dump everything into the washing machine but wash the kids and adults separately. The only time we handwash is if the clothes are dirtied by food and need to wash immediately.

Bbmarch,
I handwash kid's clothing myself without maid time
I also hand washwash some of my own clothing
Now got maid can't depend on them
Don't ask them to hand wash
MW still cleaner

SQ,
We do flip the pizza but have to be careful
Use a big round plate
Press/cover the pizza and turn the whole pan
then slowly push the pizza back to pan from the round plate
(u got what I means?)
It won't drop all ingredite
Maybe one or two juz put it back when flip back

And we don't put oil
Juz heat up the pan and
Put the pizza in
Must use slow fire if it it will chao ta

Sound so chim

SQ,
Get oven toaster! Cheap n small. I don't own a Microwave cos I don't like. Survived on oven toaster all these while. Anyway pizza can eat cold. I do that.

Everything else is steam or panfry to reheat food. Actually why must reheat food? For your lunch?

Actualy YE has a toaster oven for her glue art
Use x3
Feel like recycling for food but scared!
Yet so stupid sitting ter taking up space
We bought it new for us
Haiz

Autum, SQ
you don't get those frozen pizzas from supermarkets, right? Those how to eat cold? :p

I never own a microwave before too, been using my baking oven for all stuffs. If normal reheating will use steaming method.

SQ, some clothing material cannot WM washed le. sigh...so 矛盾

just called mil. SIL admitted hos last ngt due to severe headache. MIL steady steady jaga all her 3 boys alone. can die if its me! dats y realli peifu my sil too..can jaga all 3 without maid.

SQ/bbmarch/AAA/Ash:
Last time during paktor times, me and hb always went to eat the mee hoon and chix wings. Heehee, then follow by cheng teng.
Now we seldom go there. Heehee, also it's place the place I first met my hb.

star: yep, this is the place.

huingee: wah! this pl got special memories for u. u 1st met ur hb here? thru friends or like strangers bump into each other then yi jian zhong qing?