(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Joelle: I do wor.. When the maids are keeping their stuff when I m around.. Usually my place is a mayhem until after the children retire to bed and the maids have time to pack up.. And I always keep my own things cos I want to know where they are when I want to find them.. Ayden is worse than Anna... He doesn t even want to bring down his own school bag from the car when we reach home! :p

Star, SQ: I ve threaten to throw away and it works.. But I m not there everytime they play mah.. And when I m not there to threaten, they ll forget to keep.. :p

Another thing... Can I check if your kids indicate they want to poo halfway through meals?? All my 3 kids are like this! For Ayden,, this can be during both lunch and dinner! Should I care?

No one can tell me abt ayden s speech problems.. I think I shd go join another thread with kids his age.. They shd know cos can compare and benchmark..

AAA
seth does!!! poo in the middle of food!! i hate it but i can't stop him right? alamak!!! bad habit! sometimes i tell him to wait but he will not have appetite for food if he's tummy's churning...so rather he go n poo then come back n eat lo. for the toys, i've read of someone who 'throws' all the stray toys in a bag and returns them one by one when the kids behave well as 'rewards'. in this way, she limits the toys being played cos her 'collection' can be really huge! oso the kids learn that good behaviour allows them to get back their fav toys... so they learn to keep toys n behave that way.

Keeping away toys nvr happen in my hse. I gotto nag n shout at the boys especially Darius who is more bochap to my instructions. Hubby does a better job than me in this area. He would sit down wif the boys and guide them to keep the toys one by one. Maybe boys bond better wif dad when instructions are given.

AAA & Joelle, to me it's a bad habit to poo halfway tru mealtimes. Bian does this occasionally n I had to warn or even "force" him to REN till we hv eaten. Somehow related to table manners so impt to teach them early. Just like my mum alys remind us nvr chg seats when everyone is already eating hafway...like v rude lah. I was taught this way so make sure he oso follows tru. Worse part i find is confirm n guarantee i dun hv appetite or mood to contd wif my meals.

AAA,
You can check with Autum and Yvonne on Ayden's speech since EV and Sam also around the same age.

My kids used to poo halfway thru meals too! Especially dinner. So irritating but like what Joelle said, can't stop them mah. Anyway they stopped doing that after some time.

Mummies in the West
There is a Hong Kong Xin Wang Cafe at West Coast Plaza
Opened til 2 am
Nw we hv a place To hang out at night
Can go last min too!

AaA,
K can't even sit still during meal times. She will want to go water, pEe or poo !
I like YE best. She tells me can't get up until she finishes her food !!!
. Been telling K that her gd frend's said so !!

EJ almost everyday will poo halfway thru dinner! It has been like that for the longest time n it's like clock works. 730pm! Should I be concerned?

AAA
Ya, what's wrong with Ayden's speech?

Mich,
Ha not say not keen la but also no time to play mj. I feel that eversince got kids, it's quite hard to settle down n play in peace.

AAA,
Oh I scroll up to read what u post about Ayden mispronouncing. Hmm I m no doctor but it sounds to me he could have hearing problem? He mis-hear what is the sound n pronounce it as what he thought he heard? But then again u said he could do the correct sounds? Maybe he is just bring mischevious?

EV speaks ok, no mispronounciations.

Bbmar,
I can't force EJ to ren because he will panic n keep saying his poo poo is going to come out. So we will let him go toilet.

AAA
why dun chk w PD? no harm gg to a speech therapist for evaluation. i'll be anxious too, if he's diff fr Anna & Ariel

Poo halfway through meal times: Looks like this is quite common hor? How come like that? So strange..

BBMar: Ayden mispronounces his words quite a bit.. For eg, he'll say "tummy bear" instead of "gummy bear", "o-tay" instead of "okay", there are so many more examples, but I can't think of any right now.. The old saying is he has a "short tongue", and this seems to run in my hubby's family cos my niece and nephews were like that when they were younger. So I wasn't as concerned when he was younger until now..

SQ, Kaexin: Yup, they can't get up until they've finished their meals, except when they want to poo lah.. How to say no? What if they just do it on the spot??

Joelle: I find the keeping toys away help.. Ok, I shall do that.. But I doubt they will miss their toys at all.. :p

Autum: I've observed this mispronounciation is more common in boys than girls. I did suspect it could be due to his hearing, but then I ruled this out cos he can hear us when we call him even though it's softly. It could be a habit cos, yes, he could pronounce the sounds of the individual alphabets...

SQ: Xin wang cafe, there's one here and hubby and I have gone there a few times. The food is so-so only lah.. The very suay thing is there's no carpark here, and everytime (think we were there 3 times) we were there, the TP came along and hubby had to go move the car somewhere else. :p :p

Pax: I saw from the thread it could be abt $2 per book.. No direct, going via vpost UK.. I've placed orders on the second batch this afternoon..
Yah, I will check with the PD next time we bring him to see one and get a referral to a specialist.. These few days I've been correcting him a lot and we've noticed an improvement.. And his teachers in school are saying he's quite talkative now.. So it relives my fears somewhat.. I was beginning to think he could be mildly autistic! :p
He is v different from Anna and Ariel, but then, he's a boy, so I don't have a benchmark..

AA: boys are not that fast

11 march outing:
hey i put my name down tenatively.. but not sure and might be no-show if coz my mum also has her 'gals' night out' that day :S

is this the most updated list?

11th Mar - 7pm?
Part 1 - Dinner
Part 2 - Drinks after dinner

- AAA
- QQ
- Ash
- Mich?
- RR (part 2)
- BBmarch
- Pax - TBC
- Pink
- star (part 2)
- Mejo
- SQ (part 2 - TBC)
- Autum (part 2 - TBC)
- Astro (Part 2 - TBC)

btw.. where is part 2? :p

miser brought yh to dr ong coz yh has been ill for some weeks. off and on fever.. then been crying at nights :S.. then yesterday pus from ear.. i thought he has ear infection (and was relieved to find a cause for his crying).. but Dr ong said not ear infection.. and said could be water from shower coz yh likes to hold the shower head and rinse himself.. and i am like.. huh? aiya.. the boy is still crying.. another zombified night.. :S anyone has this experience.. yellowish fluid continously coming out for the ear? and it is a lot leh..

AA: autistic kids can also be talkative.. i am NOT saying Ayden is autistic.. just correcting a common misunderstanding of autistic kids

Aaa
I make sure she is fed b4 I leave the hse
Tt's y timing Nt fixed
Aft tt if she cries it's cos o bad habit so I jus let her b
I m beginning to get more hard hearted cos she is v jialat o/w n I dun want to indulge her
So I jus get Hb to pat n I let her cry

Astro: Erm.. If he's autistic, his teachers would have brought it to my attention or at least highlight this risk to me right?
Actually, I've noticed this again in one of my nephews. When he was younger, I kept wondering if he could be autistic, cos he's very quiet, likes to keep to himself, doesn't really play with the elder cousins. He keeps his head down when he notices you're looking at him and likes to hide behind his dad. This boy is perfectly normal now. He is as talkative and inquisitive as any other child.
A few of the traits above I've seen displayed in Ayden now or when he's younger too!

AAA,
Reyden has this problem of "mispronunciation" too. He'll say "kai4" instead of 太, "qi1" instead of "qing1" & etc ... Usually it's those v similar 音 ones and you won't be able to spot the mistake unless we listen carefully. And he'll only mispronounce when he's excited or singing. If we ask him to say the words only, he'll get it right. I was thinking it could be a hearing problem but he went for hearing tests before and results came out fine. I guess it's not too big a concern bah.

RR: Reyden is a mild case if you only notice when you listen carefully.. We have to listen carefully to what Ayden says to get what he's saying wor.. And sometimes, he can repeat himself again and again, and we're still unable to understand him, but in order to move on, we'll just go "ok".. We are so terrible.. :p
But I think this is quite common in boys..

Re: Xin Wang
What do you all eat there? I love the bo1 luo2 bao1, porridge, stirfry French beans and the papaya milk noodles leh! Don't order anything with pork chop or chicken chop, always overcooked and curry not nice too.

SQ: again yh didnt have chance to interact with yh.. :S
anyway. i haven't got down to CIO yh also.. he also quite jialat.. if this is indeed an ear infection. i need to CIO his pacifer usage liao. sian..

AA: :S he was prescibed antiobiotics ear drops.. dr ong said itis not middle ear infection more so that infection of the ear canal.. i wasn't there.. and miser.. haiz. can't trust him to get a clear diagonsis.. :S i need to observe him for a one or two days.. she said if not cleared or pus/yellowish fluid still discharging.. to bring him back :S

not true that autistic kids talk to themselves.. coz for any kid to be considered autistic.. they must have this triad of impairment (social, linguistics and inability to play imaginatively).. all autistic kids are impaired in different ways.. some more impaired in the triad than others .. so every case is a unique case..

most autistic kids suffer impairment in speech.. but some.. like i say.. dun.. there is a unique group called the asperger's syndrome.. this group of autistic kids have average to typically above average iq level.. their linguistic ability is delayed but not impaired because eventually they catch up..

when u said they 'talk to themselves'.. it is more of an social impairment.. when their brains cannot figure out social cues.. so they talk excessively and cut pple's speech (without the intention to be rude).. or they display the inability to 'joint-attend' or acknowledge other pple's presence.. in short.. can't recognise social cues again..

autistic kids are classified as verbal or non-verbals.. non-verbal, can't speak at all. (serious linguistic impaired).. verbal can. but again the level of impairment varies from child to child..

AAA,
Dylan also don't pronounce words correct. We just try to correct him as he is learning to speak like adults. Hence sometimes it's accurate, I find it's ok as Esther had the problem before. She called herself Ether instead of Esther. I think give Ayden more time, he will speak more and more correctly.

AAA,
Maybe that's what we always hear the old folks say "chao4 ni1 dai1", you know? And it's more common in boys cos usually they are weaker in languages.

autum: yalor. i was like 'huh?' :S
she said.. if it is middle ear infection. he would be in great pain and having fever.. (i told miser .. he HAD fever and was crying thru out thenight.. not pain indication?) :S haiz. then she said if it is middle ear infection.. u press the area in front of the ear.. just beside the cheek bones. he will feel pain. but yh no leh.. .. aiyoh. confusing..

AA: yes. if the kid is autistic.. it is very obvious one.. one look u will know.. ayden looks normal.. if he can engage in imaginative play. he can't be considered as autistic liao
at least not clinically.. but miser likes to say 'autism is a spectrum'.. so ok. let's just say ayden is anti-social :p

SQ: she prescribed antibiotics ear drops.. if within these two days still discharge. bring him back to her.. :S

RR: teng says hello to the door when he wants to open the door.. he goes 'hi men2!'.. hahahaha..
not a big concern for teng. coz of his nasalised voice :S

Rr
I always eat their pork/chix chop n think their food not nice!
Haha
So Mayb one nite out I shall eat Bo lo bao with a drink?

Ok tis fri u al adjourn here aft dinner

Wahaha

Astro: So how does one diagnose a child who has borderline autism?
For the Aspergers cases, at what age will they display their "brilliance" in at least one other quality?

RR: Yah, that's what they say!
Same! I like the porridge, my hubby will go for the pork chop or something.. I've tried the bo luo bun too.

HN: Ok, I will give him more time, and be more goot lat in correcting his speech..

AAA,
Maybe you can try to enroll Ayden in speech and drama class to see does he improve or not if you are worry. Last time when Dylan was Ayden's age, we also don't know what he was talking about.

SQ: that day i go xin wang with miser. i ordered the bo lou bao.. a VERY thick slab of butter in the bun. haha.. i initally thought was cream!

HN: Really? You could not understand Dylan last time? Ok.. I want to enrol him. But he needs to be able to keep awake in the afternoons first.. He's been improving.. So by next term I hope..

Astro: Yah, he is not a social person at all.. Though I've seen him play with his classmates in school.. He doesn't "warm up" to people easily..
I got the part on imaginative play.. You mean as long as a child engages in imaginative play, he's not autistic? I thot autistic children play by themselves, and their "imaginative" friends wor..

AA: what i do know is.. they have an inventory .. the educational pyschologists do the assessment.. as they monitor the child 'at play'.. so the inventory lists items under the triad 1) social 2) linguistic 3) imaginative thouoghts/play
like any check lists.. after a certain level and after in consultation with teachers/parents.. a child is diagnosed as autistic.. but the test is quite stringent in the criterions.. and also not really called borderline autism.. more of high functioning autism.. (versus low functioning autism).. so the high functioning autism can be taught to live a normal life..early intervention.. so i supposed this is the so called 'border-line' case..
aspergers.. no specific age.. if it is in them.. it is in them. it is almost like when a boy is congitnivtely able and physically able to hold a pen. u realised he has a talent in drawing.. u get my drift? not all aspergers have the special talents.. ..
also autistic kids (not jsut aspergers) can have impressive ability. we call them the Savant.. like there was one. he took a helicopter trip over italy. and from memory. he drew the entire view of rome.. right down to each turn and alley!

some kids like to memorise maps. draw v techical drawings.. etc..

AA: no.. they cannot engage in imaginative play. ok. say a car.. u know our kids will pretend play and cook up stories on how the car will roll here and there.. an autistic kid will not.. they either line them all up (one sign of autistic behaviour before three -obsessive stacking or lining up of toys).. or they (from one clip i watched before) they just keep spinning the wheels with their figer.. for a long period of time.. v strange behaviour. i dunno how to desrcibe. u google. some clips on the web..

Astro: Savant and Aspergers are different? Yah, photographic memory, like the Justin Hoffman in Rainman, and the funny guy in another show, mosaic or something..

Let me so consult my church friend this Sunday.. She's a teacher in Minds..