(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Found one set of old P & J sets(book 1 to 4) given to me by sil but i already got 1 set. Will be passing to QQ, let her tell you the verdict after teaching Tian.

So funny.. we are having accidental rosti today! Last week I saw the san-cai-yi-tang, so thought of try to fry potato shreds today. then somehow, the whole thing came out salah.. so became a fried potato pancake.. which looks like rosti! ahahaha :p

Ladies: I posted yesterday the ladybird series many many words wor. And I took book 12 c . Conclusion . I think some sec students also have probes reading that -- series c

huingee, ah jay on the way looking for u. i am still in office. raining la. sian!

now i am stress, tomorrow then i try and see if tian likes the books.
I bought dr sseuss, tian said the picture very funny and scary, she dun really like.

leftbraini, added u liao

Autum, u like?
i also like the books series...
i showed tian one last night, she read a bit, then told me why the pictures so funny de??
i think she thinks it is silly /scary rather than funny.

QQ,
I like Dr Seuss precisely because it is silly/scary and no-head-no-tail. :p I like this kind of books that let the child think/see what he/she like to think/see. In a way, I feel it opens up a bit of creativity. Of course, maybe it's me who reads too much into this la. But that also explains why I won't buy P&J. I can't be structured. Chaam.. am I indirectly or directly encouraging my kids to be NOT structured?

QQ:p for Dr seuss, not all the books kids like. But i like. Rae like the one "Mr Bown can Moo" The book is very funny and i enjoy reading to rae and loves to hear it too. rae's copy was a gift from Kaexin

Autum, hi5 on dr seuss but i still buy P&J leh :p

Here goes.. Completely from the first book I took last time.. Set 6 is the smallest number I could find at this popular.. Do these look like beginnners' books?

P&J Set 6a, and 6b
5144453.jpg
5144454.jpg

P&J Set 12a and 12b
5144455.jpg
5144456.jpg

Autum, Pax: I took pics on my iphone on the latterns to show you.. But I don't know how to upload them directly from the phone camera, until now that I just uploaded all the pics... For your reference, for next year..

5144471.jpg
5144472.jpg

QQ: I don't see other LB books there which are not P&J. I will visit another popular.. For stories, I like Usborne.. And for beginners' readers, I find Robin nice.. They have the Sam and Anna and Ben and Kate series.. Quite cute.. The supplier is for LB books only right?

Astro: Anna's teacher is a bit sick. I find she's not her normal standard. First, she did not stamp on anna's folder, when I asked, she said she thought she did! :p Then I asked anna what she learnt today in class, anna couldn't tell me! She's usually able to tell me what they do in school/class.. I wonder why... :p

Aaa
That why I ask QQ can only order first half of each series
Book 6 onwards is story form very chim to our kid

But it will be very mafan for QQ

if u have the patient u can order and keep till they r older
One of my friend's daughter very good in phonics she can read such book quite early.

Mummies can u pls help me to anaylse this..

For eg
I tell anthea to form the word CAT. She can do it by the phonics C-A-T.

However when I do it the other way round, i form the word already then tell her to pronounce HAT/MAT/BAT.. She can't do it!

Why eh? She can't seem to catch what I want her to do.. Vomit blood..

Ecmom: So confirmed this is the correct series.. Yah, too chim ler.. But the time they can read so chim, they may not be interested in these stories anymore..

Edde: Take it slowly.. May take another lesson or so before she catches on.. Blending the sounds together is not the same as reading the letters separately.. Actually I find it difficult too. But I cheat cos we already know how to read the word mah, so I'll sound the letters separately and then just say out the word..

AAA,
should be this sries
I ask 2 popular stuff
they told me this is the only P&J book

when I ask them
their reply make me feel like I'M so kun du :p

haha ya they might be bored with it liao :p

AAA,

Among my 7 same age close friends who are married, including myself, 3 of us have 1 child. 1 of them with one child is stopping at 1. 1 is pregnant. 1 has tried for more than a year but no results, 1 is divorced and 2 are not trying yet. All 7 are degree graduates and above. So 3 out of 7 has 1 child each. My sis who is getting married end of the end is not going to have any children. So from my perspective, yar, birthrate falling.

Edde: coz Althea doesn't know the 'at' blend . Teng was at that stage. Now I think he slowly picking it up .. U got I start with 'at' first. Then u vary the first letter. Read what I posted to autumn this morning..

AAA, yes, that was what i ended up doing, pronouncing the words for her :S

astro, yes i was using yr method.. but i din start with "AT".. i started with changing the first letter coz i tot "AT" is easy(??) :p .. guess i am too eager to see results and expect her to get it instantly wahhahhahaa so it will take a while for them to understand the concept eh? oops! 真是欲速则不达! :p guess i hv to be persistent.. and keep on reinforcing..

HG, ya man.. i hv zero patience with kids.. i controlled myself not to flare up on her.. now u know why i cant teach in pri sch.. i will probably kill the students!!! but nevertheless i will try to teach her on my own first.. if still cant,then gotta outsource le...

Edde, u need to go back to two letter words.
Same as tian, she also needs to go back because her papa anyhow play with her, now all p d b confused,
Those without p d b, she is ok.

Huingee,
I saw the books, I think quite ok le, then sil said he read those books before. My fil really steady le, last time already using these books. But they did not go through systematic sequence la, These books look not that bored though, except the first two levels.

Ecmom, the supplier said can order book by book also,
We want to see how complex is our order then decided,
And let say if really got missing titles or wat, then we all have to be flexible lor. I scare too complex and I check wrongly. Of course I will try m v best to check goods la.

So the read it muself series,
Level 1-6 books
Level 2-6 books
Level3-2 books
Level 4-2 books
Total of 16 books.
FYI, thanks ash for the info,

Huignee: Thx, I do not have any music background thus can't teach.
She is taking piano lesson in trc hse.
The video is her homework given by her trc.

Re: P&J
I saw 1a-c &amp; 2a-c/ box - <$30 fm popular Yday nite.
1a-c : a is short, simple b - extend to 2-3 sentences &amp;
c : more like a workbook of wat r learnt in a&amp;b
I am q surprised that 2a, the paragraph is lengthened to like 5-6 sentences ...
QQ: Can check with ur supplier is it ok if I buy the P&amp;J but
not the whole sets ? Tx

Star,
If u are thinking if enroling Rae at The ballet &amp; music company, popular member get free assessment plus $20 waiver of $20 registration fee + free polo T

leftbraini,
i checked with him yesterday, he said ok woh. very very to my surprise.
i think they also sell loose titles as in, they take order from schools de.
but initially i tot they oni sell in sets because he asked me HOW MANY SETS?

and hor, they are giving me this discount , same as for those who order from them via their schools. not for retail.maybe he tot i am calling from a school leh. i did not explain much.

updates for last night.

i think ash is cake overdosed!

me and astro reached home quite late after the short intro course. So when i reached home, i told my sil to buy tian a bicycle... (mission 1 done)
then told my cousin to buy lego blocks (mission 2 done)
and haha!!!!!! hopefully can promote tian's mathematics learning.

then i read P n J books before bedtime.

QQ: tks v much to joelle &amp; astro, those are my 1st cakes y'day. got A to sing n blow candle w me when reach home

your action so fast.
i wan to ask hb to play the finger game w him whenever possible. keke!!

QQ: rae received a bicycle for her bday this yr too.. delivered to our plc tues from BIL/SILs/MIL.. hahah she cycling all over the house these few days. we need to make a date to go cycling!

Kaexin, thanks for the info.

mummies, i need help. Where can i go to to pump helium balloons. I have balloons,just need a shop with helium tank. Anyway knows if there is a party shop with helium tank either in AMK, Serangoon, nex mall etc.

QQ/star: i was also thinking of a cycling gathering during our workshop last nite!
west coast park is nice. east coast mite be a bit too 'crowded' for our kids

Lady bird read it yourself series.
I have level 2 series. Better go to see the books yourself. As our kids grow older, they might be more interested to read other books.
Hence I think no need to get all the levels.

AAA: anna has a very sweet smile and yes ayden does look a bit like a girl in that pic.. hahah they do look alike as kids when they grow up, look so differnt! and anna's hair is so long too!

star, the workshop intro is v short only, just introduction to some montessori materials and joelle also can refabricate those at home after looking at them. haha!

yes, cycling date? i am keen.
wait first because tian cannot cycle yet, i think.. i am not sure...

ash, i cmi for the finger game. nomatter how i do it , i just cannot.
i remember last time the 武侠小说,郭靖can write one circle with one hand, while one square with another hand, but i cannot de.
so this guo jing is a bit dumb dumb and v focus type, those smart one cannot do it la cause we think too much, our minds always cannot focus.. *consolation*

RR, should be.
i wanna buy bicycle, and lego long time ago. no action cause jay dun agree to buy bicycle . he said no space to keep at home.
then oni yesterday the instructor mentioned that cycling and swimming, and blocks (including lego), and also piano can help to open up their links between left-right brain, maybe able to help them in maths concepts in future.
so i oni remember that i wanna buy lego and bicycle....
good excuse.

RR: basically is activities that can work both left &amp; right limbs at the same time. so this helps to stimulate both sides of our brains

QQ: hahah u mean Tian has not cycle before. PT dun have open air area of bicycle? tricycle?
the one rae got has 2 additional wheels behind.. i think she has become a speed monoster.. so fast!!
She also has lego blocks but somehow she is still not kai qiao for maths.. maybe i need to push her to swimming!! but then i love to swim and maths sucks big time!!! hahaha

RR: RR can cycle well too right?? hahah i must bring rae to cycle with them too. can reyden cycle on 2 wheels yet?"

starfruit: u can try the shop at serangoon central.. they mite hv.. if not a april mummy loh.. cos she doing ballooons stuff de..

wanted to ask u all hor.. something personal, do u all experience lke when after sex, all the sperm flowing out, then lke tt got any left to swim in?? sorry for silly question

AAA: i tried the scholastic dora phonic reading books with ash last nite.. totaly not interested in words only pics.. i guess tt is why p&amp;j book pics so boring.. hahaha my thnking

Bicycle: I wanna buy bicycles too.. May I know where is the recommendation to get the bicycles? We shd get those with removable support wheels right?

Star: But no mum in the right mind will dress up her 2 dotters in those sets of CNY clothes mah.. If both are girls, both will be wearing dresses or both will be wearing a top + pants ler.. Right?
This mum who made this comment has genuinely mistaken him to be a girl, cos she told me her 2 dotters were like this when they were young.. Jiejie will ask to wear princess clothes and tie up her hair, while the meimei will want to keep short hair, ask for pants and shirts in simple colors, and will always tuck her hands into the pockets when posing for photos, like a boy.. And her younger dotter (the one who looks and behaves like a boy when young) by her side had to tell her, "mum, but he (ie Ayden) is really a boy!" Wahahaha...