(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

HN: Thank you! You cleared up my confusion! So ICR and ICR advance together is a one-year course.. A-ha!

Astro: Thank you too. You clearned up my confusion too!
Anna is also saying she wants to draw her name, didi's name etc etc.. Even with new words, she will ask me to draw them for her.. It's really not writing to them, but fun drawing..
But I saw the ICR preliminary in the brochure wor.. Did I see wrongly?

Huingee: I asked to see the workbooks of PRS.. the lady showed me one book. and i went only one book?.. then i asked to see the book for ICR.. she showed me 7 books.. i went 'wah!' at the big contrast :p

AA: ya.. hence i asked.. i was like teng is two levels below ICR.. she said no.. he is at PRS.. and PRS is the level below ICR.. so i got to take her word for it.. hence i remembered posting dunno why got this ICR preliminary one earlier..

Astro,
Heehee, everyweek will have homework and spelling for ICR stage. Esther used 3 nights to finish her compre when hb did with her and 3 nights for preparing her spelling of 20 words.
If I do the compre with her, will be one night. :p
Cos i no patience, ended up provide her the answer. Whereas my hb is like your miser, has lots of patience.
He also very unhappy that i let Esther skip her ballet class to attend my niece birthday party.

HN, Astro: Are the workbooks "textbooks"? Am asking cos Anna's teacher is not following the workbook in class.. She only gives homework in the book.. And this is why I can't gauge her progress, cos I don't know what they do in class.. :p Besides the workbook, there's this folder with the teacher's stamping in the bag.. She gets 6 "Very Good" stamps for the first lesson, and 5 "Excellent" stamps for the second lesson.. And I have no idea what they are for.. :p
I'll ask the teacher this week. Last week I was busy buying the presents for the party, so didn't get to meet the teacher when I went to pick her up..

Huingee:. ha.. ya.. dunno what homework icr will throw me.. haha. haha.. but hey. u know with homework.. i can be 'patient'.. coz i wun give teng the answer one.. i will 'grill' it out of him.. hahaha.. aiyoh. i make myself sound scary.. hahah..

Astro: I believe PRS is the old name for ICR preliminary.. The recept did tell me they have just changed the names..

The homework ah.. Coloring only lah.. Fun stuff..
I think the serious work starts at the ICR level..

AA: i know for PRS they do on the book itself. so in a way.. they are considered workbook..
for the class. they dun follow it linearly.. in a way.. they do a bit of customisation accordinglyto kids' ability.. which is why. some kids got to ICR in 6 mths.. and they dun finish up the whole book.. which is good in a way..
but of course we acan always do for reinforcement

haha.. the stars.. meaningless to adults. a BIG deal for the kids.. then when they get older.. the stars morph into sweets or whatever.. but it still carries the same significance.. hahaha..

AA: oh.. receipt said so? gd.. now we are clear! haha..

Astro: Anna doesn't know what the stamps are.. She asked me.. That's when I took a closer look at the folder.. It's easy to understanf id you just give good, but it gets complicated when you tier the good, very good, excellent, maybe highly excellent? and vary the number of stamps u give each time.. This creates confusion mah.. Anyway, they should just give sweets..

astro: abt $200+ to $300+ per term loh.. actuali i lke.. cos they reali teach them hw to speak.. but i thnk ashlyn ok liao la.. so stop loh.. in LW, they go by age group, ash is also not in her age group but 2006...

Kelley: i see. then transfer this amt of fees to ICR. ha. u can bring her for placement test first..

AA: yeap.. that's why in assessment, we must make sure what distinguishes good from very good must be very explicit.. we call this rubrics.. but at the kids level.. ha. they are just happy to get stars.. as many as possible.. :p

highly excellent? wah liew. hahahaha :p:p

sweet? wah.. siao liao.like that.. parents would complain.. --> tooth decay. but my ah teng would love ICR classes wor then! hahah :p

Kelly: What do they do at LW? Speech and Drama?

Astro: Anna gets sweets from her school teachers! Since last year (ie 2+ yrs old only :p).. At first I thot she got them from her friends only (she gets from them too), but actually the teachers give them sweets as rewards/encouragement!
I come to understand and therefore accept this is the best form of reward to them at this age. NY seldom gives stars wor.. Either that or anna doesn't get stars.. :p

Just back from lunch and Awfully Chocolate. Super full now ...

Yvonnne,
ya, with Nick around, you won't have to eat at the canteens. Can go further for lunch.

AA: haha.. yeap.. from that pov.. yeap.. 'what is considered as moivating is defined in the receiver's context.. not the giver'

wah.. P6 so stressed?

Came back from lunch too but still hungry cos I could only swallow few spoons of fish rice-porridge
. Then 2 weeks time going to operate on my other wisd.

Hopefully when this is all over, I can finally eat! Come to think of it, my constant toothaches could be a contributing factor to my weight loss!

AAA
If you don't mind second hand, I think Sally's mixer is a good buy. =D Kenwood is a reliable brand to get la. since u can afford. cos i feel if it were me and i was not contented w a handheld so end up i kept wanting to buy a table top one... until my mil gave me hers! :p

RR
nice collage! thanks!! hee... and yes...tiff and seth 'sot dio' that day!!! keep holding hands!!

Interest stirred by Keira's achievement in reading 44 pages after 1 week... haha!!

I dont know if I should post here. Can I gather our mini order here?

i just give the guy a call.
we shuold be able to get around 30% discount, depending on how many we order.

this is going to be ONE time order because we dun go back so often in future.

say Peter n Jane series,
series A - 12 books
Series B 12 books
Series C 12 books

Each book is RM RM7 after discount.
which is equivalent to around ~2.90-3.10 SGD (depending on exchange rate)

e.g.
1. QQ, P n J, series A (12 books), Series B (12 books) and series C (12 books) (EXAMPLE NIA) cause i dunno if i wanna buy just one set to try.
2. AAA ??
3. Star??
4. Kelley?
5. ??

we see if we can hit the order.

i think i better stop at 36 books x 5-6 sets beacuse unable to bring back also.

NOTE: can someone pls check the price at popular, is it cheapeR?

autum
i removed my molar a few years back too! and with it gone, it freed up the space for my wisdom tooth to grow. so i dun even need to remove my wisdom tooth now that it is fully grown! :p

Interest stirred by Keira's achievement in reading 44 pages after 1 week... haha!!

I dont know if I should post here. Can I gather our mini order here?

i just give the guy a call.

say Peter n Jane series,
series A - 12 books
Series B 12 books
Series C 12 books

e.g.
1. QQ, P n J, series A (12 books), Series B (12 books) and series C (12 books) (EXAMPLE NIA) cause i dunno if i wanna buy just one set to try.
2. AAA ??
3. Star??
4. Kelley Series A
5. ??

QQ: i will go with the full set if you dun mind.

2. AAA ??
3. Star - Full set of 36 books
4. Kelley Series A
5. ??

QQ, count me in! u shall decide what i shld order.. i am ok with any order.. big or small.. whichever is most convenient for u.. thx!

Post from QQ -

say Peter n Jane series,
series A - 12 books
Series B 12 books
Series C 12 books

e.g.
2. AAA ??
3. Star - full set of 36 bks
4. Kelley - Kelley Series A
5. edde (order qty decided by QQ)

Star, i dun mind full set la.
u made me wanna buy full set. just like an investment.
or maybe if we cannot bring back, i use the obiang train service to ship back la. v cheap de.

haha! edde, yes i forgot i need to decide for u.

edde, i will DECIDE for u.
roger.
ek hem.. haha!

eh, u know if it is cheaper to get from popular with a membership card?
if so then we dun need to do this le. haha!
i think it is cheaper ba. i think i checked before but i forgot how much le.

QQ; my thoughts on this.. get the full set cos if u dun buy full set, its very diff to get the full set at a later stage (if u decide u want then) cos popular and many plcs sells by individual books and u may end up running to many outlets just to find missing titles.

Post from QQ -

say Peter n Jane series,
series A - 12 books
Series B 12 books
Series C 12 books

e.g.
2. AAA ??
4. Kelley - Series A
5. Edde (order qty decided by QQ)
6. Irin - Series A

e.g.
1. QQ, full set of 36 bks
2. AAA ??
4. Kelley - Kelley Series A (12 bks)
5. edde , full set of 36 books
6. RR - series A (12 bks)
7. astro?? u want?
or who liao?
do we need a big truck?

lets stop here when filled up, ok?
arigato!

Star, i also think so. can use the KTM service, v cheap de.
like that we can have no limit liao.
wahahah!!!
see how ah... i think if hit min order, say around 150-200 books (that's what i told him), then we can confirm going ahead liao.
but i wonder if he has enough stocks for us then.

QQ: dun mind lah.. we are very easy on the arrangement. thanks again for organising.

Yes pls get full get, good investment and saves u the trouble from sourcing for the other titles next time.

ecmom.
ok... roger. thanks for checking.
wah.. u at popular now? our thread is v v happening.

i checked the delivery cost.
max 20kg per parcel, RM 30 for that.
so not too bad la.

can bring back some, then left over post back here. we all share the delivery then.

AAA, RM 7 is after discount. original price is RM9.90 he said. so it is about RM6.90 plus. RM7 easy to remember ma.

RR,
by calculator.
all 3 sets will be 36 bks.
will be a total of RM 250, around ~SGD108

wah!!! so exp sia.
better dun be white elephant.

RR, and as of now, no more limit.
cause can use postal service woh
i will be in msia for 1 week, can arrange the delivery before i come back to sin.

then u all collect from me after that.
sounds MEGA....