(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

5137335.jpg

Still blurry hor? I'll post in FB and email you gals.

QQ,
I think Leia & Clyde didn't take solo pixs.

AAA: Anna goes for which level of class?? Apparently ashlyn was suppose to go into children who is born in 2006 and literally learning to read liao.. teacher got tell me is no play jst basically learning to read.. so I hesitated

Edde: I will soon, accordingly to Adrian.. hahaha.. bt I thnk I will join the school ones.. bigger class than one on one.. hw mch is ur charge??

QQ,
haha, ok, can.

I like Tiff & Seth's smiles. That's why I put the 2 of them side by side.
I saw one pix from the other half of the group pix, Tiff & Seth like talking in their own sweet world. So cute.

leftbraini,

thanks. so there are a few books with systematic reading.

1. Peter n Jane
2. Bob books
3. High frequency words (popular store)
4. Robin

QQ: If they re cheap, we can buy lah.. But maybe no need the whole series.. I think 10 books shd be mote than enough.. Cos we shd give the child some variety mah..

Leftbraini: I ll go check out BOB books next time at popular..

Kelly: Erm.. They don t designate class by age wor.. But Anna is the only 07 child, there re 06 and 05 children in her class.. You go check if it is the ICR preliminary class.
Yah lah, I think there s no playing, but the learning is in a fun way.. Isn t it good if there s really no " free play" time?

QQ, RR: The pics are very nice!! Didn t know so few families wor.. I thot there are more! Haha..

Tiff and Seth is an official couple now!
better ask the parents..

Mummies I just pull out my molar. So sim tia. I kept my molar n took a pic too. Haha but think it's a bit disgusting to post on FB. Think I will bring home to show my kids the effect of not having good dental habits

AAA: i can't remember which class they assess her to be also..the specific name.. how long has anna been thre???

RR; tt pic so cute!

RR/QQ/AA: reading has varied purposes.. and actually my view la.. whatever purposes.. it doesn't matter.. as long as the kids see you reading.. it is a good start.. but of course. ideal is they read in both langs lah..

Autum: yeap.. i also lucky.. ellie does the reading! ops!.. but hor.. teng is picking up tagalog accented english.. and miser keeps picking on this fact and laugh at it.. :S
my mum tries to read to teng chinese.. but lagi worse.. she reads la3ba1.. as la1ba1 (trumpet).. haiz.. can faint

Kelley: didnt have a chance to talk to you..
left early coz teng has yamaha music school.. do ya think ashlyn picked up the accented english from LW? hmm. why do you want to sswitch Ashlyn over to ICR ah?

Teng is FINALLY starting to ICR this friday. been pre-empting him that he has to go inside alone and read.. and Teacher Sarah (the teacher who tested him..)will be with him.. he took a fancy in that teacher.. but unfortunately the teacher taking him is another techer he has not met.. oh well.. we see how..

AA: yes the graphics are bland to minimise the distraction. but a but too bland. i prefer to use the graphics to entice..heh.. :p

Kelley,
I think at ICR, the teaching of reading is more lively. Many kids enjoy it. The teachers are not local, more creative bah.
Esther's teacher like to make funny sounds, we keep hearing laughter from the classrooms.

QQ : We are all here to share to get the kiddos on track ...

there are a few books with systematic reading.

1. Peter n Jane
2. Bob books
3. High frequency words (popular store) - IS THIS THE CHINESE SET? IF YES, MY GAL IS READING & ENJOY THE COLORFUL PICS
4. Robin

Kelly: She just started 2 weeks ago.. She's still having fun..

Astro: It's a thin line between enticing and distracting them.. This series is not meant for all types of kids..

Autum: You pulled out your molar or your wisdom tooth? Why not do root canal?

QQ ah..
the high frequency books (popular) are not readers. they are assessment books... which happen to be more structured.. and include a guide with flashcards..

AA: yeap.. it is a matter of preference .. for the parents actually...

the parties look fun!

autum
when i extract my teeth(for braces), bel and sam was there... they were staring at how the dentist struggling to pull it out! wahahahha... and so much blood at the gauze. :s they keep wanting to touch somemore... faint!

aaa,
i m using kenwood mixer too... both my mixer was pass down... erm.. but i feel don have to buy those professional mixer... unless u are going to bake veri often... if not, it will just sit there and wait till u have mood den use it. hahahha!

i m so lazy to bake after the cny period... more like i m scare liao... hahahaaha....

i m so free in office now...

Yvonne,
free then come in and talk here.

Astro,
oh ... you went for Teng's yamaha class after the party? Thought you went for a church wedding?

AAA,
Molar. Can't save already. Drag since preg with EJ! Long story cos need to extract wisd first then can do anything to the molar. By then preg, and procrastinate etc. And guess what I now need to extract the other side wisd n then do something to the other side molar cos it's giving me problems too. History repeats itself!!

QQ: if wanna buy, get from malaysian distributors lah. so much cheaper. let us know again. i also hold from getting in sg incase u going ahead with the purchase there.

aaa,
i think is good... many of my aunts also comment kenwood is a "old good" brand...

yes, i sleep alot better now.. and i can wake up 6am and stay awake and slowly feel tired till 10pm and go to slp...

autum,
ya lor... must go under the knife ,... and they end up found the veins is veri near... easily will break and will affect my taste or smell... something like tt... thank god everything went well...

rr,
wahahha... ok... den i will also come in and bo liao everyday... i have been snacking... from bread, cereal, choc to sweets! i think i wont slim down at the rate i m eating now...

Yvonne,
my work is "seasonal" de. I'll either be vv free or vv busy. :p

I'm hungry too, can't wait to go for lunch. So Nick drives you out for lunch everyday?

HN: Ask you something on ICR.. Esther joined at which year and which level? I know's she's now at P1 and doing the ICR advance.. Am trying to understand the diff levels..

Nice collage RR!!

Last sun I brought anthea along to see me donate blood.. She was so curious and asked me so many qns!!! It's a very gd opportunity for 机会教育.. Then Andrea saw my bandaged arm and I told her coz I carried her too much dats why my arm is painful.. And she din dare to ask me to carry that day! Hahahhahaa...

Yvonne, is your boss around? so far what are the duties her delegated to you?

autum, aiyo what happened? how come need to extract molar? decay?

rr,
ya.. he drives mi to work lunch and home... but 28 feb he going to reservist liao... so i will be alone for a week...

star,
boss not in yet... so far i have onli done compiling, replying emails and follow up and sourcing some suppliers for the projects...

AAA,
Esther joined in Mar last year, when she just start her K2 at ICR stage. It's a one year program, finishing soon.
I heard at those Prelimary stage, can jump stage if the teacher find them advance or else they will get bored in the class. Esther have frens have to stop temp as she is ready for the advance stage at N2 or K1 but she cannot write well. Hence temp stop and then continue.

Yvonne,
Try to snack on fruits, then will not put on weight that much.

rr,
at the tuas amenities... the food not nice one la... either too salty or TOO much rice... but becos alot of workers go there to eat... they need alot of rice... i was shock to see a mountain of rice on my plate... and the "liao" also alot!

today going jurong point for lunch...

huingee,
idea hor... no wonder i see so many office gals buying fruits...

RR/Yvonne: like that i also want to be a PA leh.. PA to miser.. :p i asked him before if he wants to hire me as his PA.. he first rolled his eyeballs at me.. then aft that said..' which reason u want to hear? the nicer one or..?'

i said ' both..'

then he said 'ok.. the nicer reason is.. i cannot afford ur pay' .. (then i felt good)

then he continued.. 'the actual reason is i wld have to un-do the mess u 'arranged for me'...

ARGH!

RR: i didnt go to the church wedding. coz miser had to go off early for his work and then i have to bring teng to yamaha..
actually. i was tempted to skip yamaha..:p coz i thought teng.. erm. i was having fun.. then miser said.. 'u cannot like that.. cannot skip class due to fun'...haha.. :p now u konw. with a hb like miser.. he will make sure that the classes i sign up for teng.. teng goes for class.. so he is the disciplinarian in this sense.. i am not. i am quite like u.. i like fun.. miser is the focused and disciplined one. not me.. haha

AA/Huingee: i took a look at the PRS book.. about three quarters of it.. teng already knew.. so. it is really elementary.. the assistant told me typically 6 - 9 mths the kids goes to ICR..
but my colleague told me.. 9 mths is considered long liao.. most kids is 6 mths.. but her younger son had problems.. older son didn't.. so for 2nd son. my colleague actually questioned the teacher who did the placement test.. so now.. they give her boy special attention coz in a way.. they 'held him back'.. in PRS.. then too bad for ICR.. coz my colleague has a certificate in teaching english as a second langauge.. and knwos a gret deal in phonics.. so they had to take her a bit more seriously :p

HN: If she joined at the ICR stage and it's a one year programme, this means she's going to start at the ICR advance stage soon? Or has she just started?

HN: Haha.. I pre-empted this.. When we went for the assessment, I asked the centre if I want to stop the child temporarily, for how long I can stop for without being removed from the programme.. They said 6mths..

Astro: What is the PRS stage? Is this the ICR preliminary or a stage before it? I think there's a change in naming.. Quite confusing.. Yah the lessons are quite simple, I don't think anna has learnt "new" things in class for the last 2 weeks.. She's enjoying her lessons nonetheless..

AAA,
This ICR advance stage is inside the ICR stage one year program. The ICR stage is from book 1 to book 5 (6mths program), ICR advance stage is book 6 plus another small book. This ICR advance stage forcus more on compre and grammar.
The ICR stage is only read words, spelling and compre.

AA/Germaine: PRS is the Preliminary Reading skills which teng is on in I Can Read. It is the prepartoratory level just below ICR.

AA: anna is at the same level. I was initially confused i thought it is the ICR preliminary.. but if u compare the their website withthe course brochure.. there is actually no ICR preliminary in SG leh.. i asked and doubled checked.. the assistant said yes.. it is the PRS.. so i am not sure if there is an ICR preliminary to begin with in SG.

i think it is goodthat anna is enjoying what she already knew.. rather than to be tensed and need to keep up.. in a way poor teng is a bit like that in LV K1 now.. although of corse.. this is my perception. the child doesn't have any stress.. yet.. good in a sense.. he can tell me he wants to 'draw' letter a.. :S.. so to him.. it is still all 'fun'.. gd lah.