(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Nana,
oh, you meant this year you didn't let her attend any lah. I thought your ccc don't have any. can't be mah cos should be the same as RR's ccc de.
The music class seems good from feedbacks of the other parents. Reyden likes that. I also put him in the character building class.

Nana: You re making me blush.. *blush*

QQ: Thanks.. Luckily you have these nice pics. Cos mine CMI.. Can u email them to me pls?

Drawing: Anna also has drawing lessons in her school.. Started only this year.. The school outsourced to kinderart. But I may stop next term and let her try something else.. Haven t decided..

RR: I ll never forget the reason Reyden likes the music class... Wahaha!!!

AAA: she not normal leh.. don’t lke to queue.. always wana push pple aside..i remember she push reyden I thnk.. than kena from me.. she sound more English accent than American to me..but now adays mst see her mood.. she even learned to call me “mum” from the tv.. when she always call mummy.. plan to send her there.. not yet though.. hhmmm.. ok..i go hunt one book n try.. cos she only remembering.. not reading herself

QQ: than bring tian join fox modeling contest!!! Coming up soon..

Nanabear: hello!.. nice meeting u… aiyo.. where got stylo… I mst buy u coffee too! Hahah

CK: hello!!!! sorry didn't talk to u.. cos i very shy..

Kelley,
You shy?? :p

Nana,
Oh, it's different music class then. Their ccc de is Beyond Music Notes or something like that.

Star: Meimei is with aunty playing inside the play area.. Or maybe she's sleeping? Not sure.. I'm afraid if I put meimei at the table, she will mess up the cupcakes! :p I was already taking a risk with ayden..

Kelly: Anna is the same. I think our girls don't know how to sit properly yet.. To them, it's no big deal to show off the panties mah.. Yah, yah.. You go try read one book to Ashlyn.. Point to her word for word.. Soon, she'll be able to catch the words and read too..

QQ: Can I invite you to take pics for my kids? I think you're better than the professionals leh..

SQ, anthea enjoys it, and esp so when we praise her hahhahahaha!

RR, cannot skip the lesson last min leh.. coz i din expect the party to go on until that late so din postpone her lesson.. so boh bian has to go..

Edde,
ya, I understand. I'm saying if it's me, I'll be too "hong sim" to bring them go, will probably call and give some excuse to cancel. :p

rr: yes i shy to pple i dont talk to often or nt well...

aaa: i did bt nt peter n jane than in the end she kinda memorize hw i read.. finish readin i ask which is my... she cant point out

edde: ask u hor anthea lesson at teacher house rite?? u bot her a piano???

AAA
kenwood is a good brand to start off with. i m using a kenwood chef passed down fr my mil! abt 30 yrs liao i think! and apparently it works better than kitchenaid. :D if u go to tott, they have those commercial brands of mixers. quite good also i believe.

AAA, sure or not? My skills cmi la. My hands always shake de. My tactic is take many, snap more, then will have a few good ones, I nd u photos tomorrow, cause they are at my office.

Edde, anthea having piano lessons? Good le. I dun like tian to go dancing actually but she likes it, then I know I should not stop her from dancing, sigh,

Kelley, I feel that in order for them to be able to read, should intro words in systematic way,
However, if we just read any books, all kinds of books, it is fine too. Just that we cannot expect them to b able to read simple story first because they do not know the words mah. But hor, once they kai1 qiao4 then will give us a surprise.
By reading systematically can enable us to track what they know then proceed.
U get what I mean?

kelley, yup lesson at tr's house.. she practises at home on a casio keyboard.. not suppose to lah.. but better than nothing coz at least she gets to practise her note reading.. dun intend to buy a piano until she is confirmed going to continue at a later stage.. now is more like play for fun to cultivate interest kind :p

QQ, anthea loves to dance too! she enjoys her dance class during her enrichment lesson.. she loves dancing more than piano! ya if tian loves dancing, just let her continue bah.. most impt thing is for kids to hv fun

Autum, not systematic also neves mind, kids will slowly organize and be systematic de, I feel la.
So say if u just read and read, any book. Mybe he is unable to read a book out loud completely at early stage, but once they reach a certain age, say k2, then everything will b in line le.
Actually, should be age 8 according to research,

So systematic way is to have a system to intro words to them and able to check or track their progress nia,

Edde, sounds good her lessons. I think keyboard is good enough at this stage,

WOAH! it has been a while since we hit 3 archive pages in a day!

AAA
philip cake mixer is a simple one to start. get 1 w stand for better control.

Autum
i agree w QQ. i nvr teach M to read. now he can very much read 90% of the book on his own. they will learn along the way. the most impt is to cultivate their reading habit and interest. best is to lead by example and read with them. start w short simple books! easier for the kids and u. u will enjoy the bonding too.. long stories will bore the kids. colourful picture books w bigger text will be gd too.

edde
at least got keyboard to practise. Jo is starting to play better and can recog notes. me vv happy. she also vv happy w lots of encouagement and praise.

Pax,
i m lucky cos i could outsource reading to my maid(s). :pP When Hazel was here, she read to them everyday. Now my current maid will read to them sometimes.. and from there, they like to read. and of course i have alot of books at home too. It's just that I don't conscientiously read to or read with them. I just provide the books and let the maid/s read to them :pPP

And i didn't buy those Peter & Jane or Robin books. I just any-old-how books or story books passed down by friends or relatives.

Terrible mummy right! Haha.

SQ, Autum,

Sorry for the delay. I've been sitting on the gymboree box and then when i finally move my butt and wanted to get it sorted, hb got hospitalised. :/

Anyways, got it all packed for collection. Will email you detailed bill. One of my cousin bought less than her gymbucks so there are some extra to go around and I try to distribute according to final amount purchased but I din bother to go by percentage so don't try to guess how I distribute, haha.

Autum: 11.64
SQ: 31.16

Autum
u r nt terrible lah.. i know how tiring it is, after a long day, still hv to read w the kids, even though tired.
if u hv books, no need to buy lah..
i love books. i love to buy books too! :p

Mejo,
No problem. Will see how I can get from u. Either I pick up from your place or when I go RP on 8th March.

Pax,
Actually I like to buy books too. But I buy story books that I think are not age-appropriate for the Kids. Haha. I buy what I like and what I think they will like. Honestly it didn't cross my mind to buy those specific type of books that can help our kids to read. I didn't even know such books exist. Until I read here. :p

pax,

Hmm, my sis suspect theirs are imitations but they worked nevertheless. I think quite safe to buy off US sites rather than China sites? They buy from some china sites.

QQ: does tt mean its best to always read a kind of book? Lke peter n jane??

Edde: noted.. cos Adrian tt day say want the ash to learn piano.. I was lke.. no piano.. so we walked pass n saw.. this electronic board for $400+!!! Omg!

Pax: I always find those big n little words book to read.. hope I see some surprise soon!

RR; i email you liao hor.. receive??

Kelley, not 100% true. If the child is not interested in peter n Jane, read le also no impact. Unless u make it v v interesting during reading,

However, if they are interested in that series of books, it will b effective as in got the systematic learning. Then u will know what they have learnt so far, etc etc etc.
U will b able to reinforce the words because u also learn together with them.

Kelley,
I love to read, borrow n buy books!! Last time I Remb each weekend my aunt n her husb will Brg us out n each time I got to bring back a new book or books fm the library.

And now Keira loves to do this as well.
can't wait until she can really read other books

then peter and jane 12 books for $42 is it cheaper than bookshop??

kaexin: i love to read only when i was bigger.. not a fan when i was young.. no one read to me

Kelley, not sure if it I'd cheaper. I still hesitating is I should buy from the Msia distributor. 30% cheaper.
The graphic not v nice le.

Morning Mummies,

Finally done reading your 3pg archives!
I enjoy seeing your pixs in TOTT.
Hmm the baking of cookies is FUN.

<font color="0000ff">Happy Birthday to all the kiddos here &amp; wonderful job, mummies!</font>

QQ: One of my frd recommends "Bob" book?
I was telling her, I worry my gal will not be keen with the dull grahic content...

I am in the midst of arranging to go take a look at her library :p

QQ i didn;t know u have so strong feeling about sending tian to dancing class. share with me your thoughts on this leh. why you dun like Tian to dance har.

Kaexin, des wants rae to do akido!!! hahaha

Actually i also love to read and my parents didn;t nurture or exactly teach me to read, guess i picked up along the way.

Star,
cause i see her everyday also dancing, with those poses, a bit hiao2 la. then i am worried that she will be spending her time dancing and dancing, and hiao2 hiao2... . haha!!
but i know i want her to b happie, nurture her interests, so i give her a chance.
once day if she tells me dun like ballet or dance, i will just stop, grabing the excuse immediately.

I am not a reading person since young. i am more into sports, but i am not exactly super sporty type. sigh! i am just a lazy bum, eat and sleep.

Reading: We re back at this topic.
I had the question whether it makes a difference how the child picks up reading skills, my answer is it should t matter as long as the child picks it up!
Just do whatever we can..

Joelle: You think the one S is letting go is ok for me to start?

Pax: Thanks.. How much is the price of a mixer out there? Was at the Phillips carnival sale, saw mixers but didn t go to the booth.. It was the only empty booth there..

Kelly: I m referring to p&amp;j books.. Reason being it is highly repetitive, with very few words per page.. As for memorizing the story, such is the power of their memory at this age. They catch on very fast. Anna can "read" (ie recite) the very hungry little caterpillar since quite some time back, becos we keep reading her the story.. I take this as a good sign that they re committing to memory, cos it means they re keen to be able to read, that they pretend they can! So we need to do our part and give them opportunities to learn.. You re sending her to LW or ICR?

AAA: ash is at LW speech n drama, dropping her out, going to put her in ICR sometime later.. bt i scared the sudden change in fun environment to boring reaading will bore her.. haha

P and J books: I m beginning to suspect why the graphics is so bland.. Reason could be so that the child is not distracted by the pics, and will focus more on the words instead...

I'm done with the collage but file is too big to post here. If I re-size, it'll become blurry. Can someone tell me how to do it?

Kelley I feel that now is a gd time to start piano coz their attention span is longer and can absorb better.. Anthea only started picking up recently as compared to 1yr ago when we started her.. Dunno if it's also becoz our lessons are more reg now compared to last time when we kept missing lessons :p go for it and see if Ashlyn is interested!

QQ Let's eat laze and sleep tog!!! I nv like reading... There was once during an interview a principal asked me what bks I usually read.. I dunno how to answer him!! Wahahhahaha he must be thinking this tr damn jia lat.. And of coz I din get in aft that :p

QQ, Edde,
hi-5! I don't like to read too. :p The only books I read are probably chinese novels and magazines. hehe.

RR, i oni read magazines. somsetimes i just check out the advertisement nia.
i read for purpose....
i dun like to read newspapers too. i can read the titles though.
haha!!
besides eat and sleep, i like to talk too.

AAA, wah if your theory stands, then maybe P &amp; J is more sellable now.

leftbraini, what is BOB book? *eager to learn new things*