(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

RR: Oh I didn't get the English and Math sets. I only got the chinese ones.. Phew! Hahah!! Now we're sharing on what materials we didn't get. Wahahahha!!!
I must say we're become more selective, which is good..

RR: what RR have are blissful memories of joy leh.. eventually those are the things which they go away remembering.. see? tomorrow night they go watch chin gay right? tomrrow teng goes little gym :p

SQ: yeap.. and i am pretty sure that i can get to that level liao.. soon soon.. when i have my #3 :p and u lazy? oh god.. u dun have a helper at home.. and u take care of ur kids all by urself... u forgotten about that? :p

AA: ha.. i do sometimes find myself telling my frens on the other thread.. 'chill.. dun ahve to worry so much .. so early ....' :p

Astro,
I'm sure Teng will go away remembering little gym too!

That's the problem. I can't sit still for long. The only time I sit still at home is infront of the TV or comp. I think that's the case for RR too - TV or eating time. hahaha!!!

aiyo after seeing all these discussion on books etc , i also SUDDENLY rem i have those books or big flash cards bought. urmm i forgot if its from QQ.. but i rem autum trpt to my place its so damm heavy! urm i tried reading to chloe this afternoon.. i find it boring :p cos no pics for her to see. n those cards are in no. sequence.. chloe is more preoccupied with arranging them in sequence! :pPP

RR
the BP link u gave... i went to see look, i think the books are quite interesting, i hvnt really look at them closely..may order some math activity books n maybe the chinese reading book cos got pics, she might be keen.

mummies just now i was watching channel 8 chinese language competition.. i was so engrosssed when sudd i felt a sharp pain n screamed v loud. Wah this chloe bit me on my arm! she left her teeth mark n extreme pain on me. well i m in pain n que her why she did that. she refused to apologise at first but after she finally did, i asked her to exp why she did that. she couldnt come out w the reason sigh.. i think she was just playing w/o thinking of the consequences! getting bitten for no reason waliew!

astro
urr i come i cant see teng in the smile box link?? i rewind 2x le.. from the way u describe haha i can really picture how charming he is when he is in deep concentration

Astro: Hey you remind me of something...
How when I was younger and older people give me advice on life, I'll just listen out of respect for them, without really paying attention to what they're saying.
And how as life progresses on, I come to appreciate those advice given by well-hearted older people.
And as life continues to progress, how I've become one of those older people giving advice to some younger ones, knowing very well some will not be listening to me. :p

Hahahha!!

RR: i think he loves all his teachers there.. and yes. little gym has a special place in his heart.. it is one of those places which torture him all day long.. one of those filled with dread.. but now. he goes in happily.. and runs around.. all the teachers know him (of course they do!) hahaha.. today i just anyhow bring him to a makeup class.. last time.. cannot wor.. now.. heck care. and he goes in anyway.. teng has grown! hahaha. miser is surprised. whahahah.. :p

i am a crouch potato.. i love to SIT.. :p

belle.. behind.. one of the smaller photos.. in the page that say 'always learning and playing together as a class'.. the boy below.. his first and only photo in K1 setting :S

i was also watching that chinese one.. then i was like.. huh.. RI didn't win? :pPP

AA:exactly! .. ha.. and u go 'it's ok.. in future u will know'. and the cycle goes on.. hahahahaha

and oh ya. i think yh got potential to be like RR leh. he can walk around the house all day long one.. dosen't sit! he was up at 2pm.. but kept walking and running and walking and mama-ing all the time till we went out at 4pm plus! wah.. :p

Astro,
that's another point - Teng enjoys the classes. I think Reyden will hate all these structured classes, that's why I don't put him in any.

The best example I could remember was the JG trial we went with some other mummies last time. He went to sit at a reading corner, inside the box for books. The rest of the time, he was doing his own stuff.
When I put him in the S&D class in school, he climbed over the gate and escaped from the class.

He only likes the music class now. But when I asked why he likes it, he said cos the teacher is pretty. faint.

RR: wow! climbed over the gate! steady! if teng can climb over the gate. i would be like 'wow! how did u all make him do that?! pls do it to show me again!!' :p

but hey.. u got to give it to him wor.. he knows how to appreciate beauty.. teacher pretty hur? :p

Belle,
those are the books they are talking about. They are discussing about the Chinese and English ones. But QQ said it's cheaper to get from Popular (with Popular card) than the BP so maybe you go check out at Popular.

Astro,
yh does sound like RR. You can forget about sitting down with him. :p I thought all kids are like that, no? What does Teng do when he's not moving around at home?

RR: Teng.. he sits on the sofa.. meddles with his books or things around him.. or that he lies on the sofa... see? that's why i say teng is ME! hahahahah

and not all kids are like that.. def not teng!
my mother and i are like.. 'doesn't he get tired walking around? i am tired just looking at him (YH) walking all day long'!!

Astro,
not those big gates, baby gate lah! They used those in their ccc classrooms.
I was so paiseh when the teacher told me, like I sent a monkey to school ...

RR: u make it sound so effortless that Reyden got over the gate.. teng can't even do that! hahahha ..:p

but it is amusing leh.. :p
i wld be laughing than paiseh.. seriously.. then i would like.. what speech and drama? so drama till it send the kid the other way instead? :p

Hahaha!! Teng is so like you and RR are so like me! :p

Teng and yh don't look alike hor? Teng is still as smiley, yh has a cool look.

I'm vv paiseh cos he did more drama things in that class. He threw her notes/worksheets all over the floor, used up all her stickers when she wasn't looking & etc ... I think he must have dislike the teacher. I pulled him out after 1 term.

RR: nope. Teng is not smiley :p and yh is the smiley one!! surprised?! :p
today yh was giggling non-stop at the restuarant.. so charming. coz he keeps laughing out loud.. teng was just.. eating and quite grouchy :p

yh has a cheeky look than cool.. maybe another photo would do his character justice.. wait :p

astro
ha! first time i see bao & teng resemblance le. wat is bao doin with his hands? he seems to be doin some actions.

RR
orrh so at popular cheaper? okie wll go check out tks!

i m making glutinous rice w maid, punggol no nice bfast, v sian, so teaching maid to make so i can hv them for bfast tom!

RR: hmm.. other than the eyes.. the two boys have the same 'face'.. yh has miser's eyes.. teng has mine.. end up they seemed different.. but when they close their eyes.. they are like twins :p

i like how Reyden used up pple's stickers when noone is looking..... that kind of .. .' i cannot take it liao but u are just so cute' kind of boy! :p

ok. this is yh.. cheeky

5104051.jpg

Yh's photo, u better keep it astro. Cause it is so funny.
My ah wil is like u n teng, lazy to move. Haha.

RR, did we buy Chinese workbook before? I totally forgot about it le. I remember the flash cards though.

SQ, I started this fire in me to teach tins things this year, did u realize? Cause my fren's kids are in p1 now, they are so stress and inspired me to do something so that I won't b like them??? I dunno how true, just do it when I have time.
I am pretty lazy though, today I sleep almost one whole day. Ah wil has been torturing me at night, rather mid night, v terrible.

Blur, bite u?? Ouch. Haha.

RR, I must say they are fun! And they dun have social prob cause they have playmate at all time unless u separate them. And they are ao advanced, cycle so fast some more . Tian still dare not cycle now. Haha.

RR: i can't help it.. that the boy is a phoney in front of the camera :pP
hahahahhaah...

belle: also dunno.. he looks effeminate in that photo with that gesture :p

QQ: that day i saw ah will.. i was like 'wow! he looks familiar!' :p darn cute leh.. just like teng when young.. shucks.. dun poke me.. but he is v v sumo! :p

yh cheeky lor.. was thinking maybe bring him to the buffet. but if he goes.. ellie has to go.. wah. steep.. :p then too late liao. he gives me pattern nia :S

Reyden is so funny! can't stop laughing..

ok.. all the talk abt reading, phonics, classes.. i wonder wat i'm doing. i leave all the learning to the teachers in CCC. no flashcard, no writing. jus bedtime story every nite. nw M can read, do math, write, spelling, 听写. i wonder if i'm being too lax abt his academic knowledge. even w Jo, she will amaze us w her new knowledge, like drawing a smily face, recognising numbers and letters, writing some numbers, some letters....

By the way, jay has been praising me these few days, or rather I guided him to praise me because I did tech tian a bit la. Haha..
He was impressed. S now he is v hardworking, helping me cut papers for the phonics cards.

I have done up the whole list of words, can aend u if u want, can use for one two years la. Haha.

Astro, scaffold free play, it is a v v important skill for teachers on free play. It is moremofnplay led by kids, but adults can provide resources, set up environment, etc etc to scFfold the play, to bring the play to the nextblevel, to further explore the developing skills /knowledge of the kid or kids.
It is v interesting de, but it is not easy to do a good scaffolding.

Let me think of an example later.

Astro,
this photo of yh is so cute! Cannot link the faces up cos Teng has lost the baby fats yh is having now so I don't think they look alike. You must post Teng's pixs at yh's age now then can see the similarity.

Belle,
wow ... glutinous rice. Reyes' favourite. I like too with lots of mushroom. Hmmm ... you make me feel like going to look for it tomorrow morning, haha!

QQ,
see, you also forgot about that! I think it's the left brain, right brain activity books, remember? Or not from you?

mummies where can i buy swim trucks for ethan? i think they hv special swim trucks for bb in case they poo? urr i m so suaku..

oh chloe's jeans kept dropping where can i find nice belt for her?

Pax,
good to know someone is with me. :p
I think the schools are doing a good job (I choose to believe that even if they don't), hahaha!

QQ,
Jay praises you ... You know what Kent did when I told him about the topic here these few days? He asked me to stop reading the forum. haha!!

RR, oh I remember le. It ws my fren's bp. I see I see. Tian likes the books though. I havenT used on her yet. Ya ya, we bought. Haha....

RR
Reyes knows how to enjoy glut rice? when i make, most are wallop by me n pete, stimes pass some to my sis . chloe never enjoy them le

yeah i like lots mushroom n hei bee.. shallots n spring onion is a must!

Belle,
she likes he ye fan, glutinous rice, lor mai gai & etc ... But I don't dare to let her eat too much cos hard to digest.

You mean swim diapers? I wantt to find belts for Reyden too, don't seem to see any kids' belts around.

RR, haha. I ONI spend like ten min a day, or less ma. So like that lsoncan, he was impressed. Most importantly he saw tian enjoying the games with me and kept asking for more. I m unable to fulfill tian s requests actually..

Astro, my ah wil is quite hopeless, I also see teng,s shadow in him, kakakaka, good or bad? But will has v bad temper wo. And he doesnt like to drink milk also.
Maybe when I was preg I see teng too much?? Hahahahaha.. Cannot stop laughing.

Re: Reyden escaping classes

Oh ya, I just remember this. I told my mum about it then she said I was like that last time too!! I didn't like the kindergarten I went to and there was one incident which I cried & went to hide in the toilet cubicle. Refused to come out till the teacher called and asked her to come pick me. She changed me to PAP after that. hahaha! I can't really recall that incident at all but she said I was in K1 then.

RR
urm wat is the diff betw swim trunks n swim diapers? my guess is that swim diapers are meant for bbs for swimming in case they poo ? so function same as swim trunks? i think i try see FOX hv or not.. or BLOOM B or kids dept .. duno where i can find child belt liao.

An example of adult scaffolding a child's free play.

For infants - it is more obvious.
When the child is able to stand, the next milestone is cruise with support and slowly remove the support, then etc etc.
Adult's role is to encourage, provided supporting materials, setup chairs, railings etc to enable the child to push himself to the next level.

For older kids, say kids in our group, they have free plays at all time.
Example. When reyden was playing with Reyes outdoor, they were cycling. Half way reyden stopped and said he saw a snail. Reyes stopped n join the fun, mama can go to them and talk about snail. It is science!!!
But how much can mama talk about snail??? Haha..
So what we can provide is let them draw snails if they like to draw, if not, take picture of the snail and just bring back, print out and keep. When they reach home, snail might come in the discussion between RR, then mama can bring the picture out, plus another book about snail.
They can make remarks on the picture, drawn or printed also nevermind.
From this lesson, they learn about snail, where they live,wat they eat, speed of moving, colours, etc.
Adults roles: provide camera, papers pens, remind them about the incident, and provide information to supplement their knowledge.

This example is aout knowledge. There are other eg about skills scaffolding,

Is it too confusing?
The main point is the free play must be initiated by the kids, kids interests etc. Adults ONI do support nia,