(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

AA: ya.. like textbooks..:S
and it is too repetitive.. till erm. almost like rote learning..
ok. i need to clam shut. coz i dun want to be perceived i am running down the value of LB..

there isn't anything as a 'bad' book in this world..

Astro: Should there be a difference how a child learns how to read? Whether from memory like in the case with Chinese words, or from knowing phonics? Hmm..
Anna interpreted the igloo as ice and jack in the box as clown. Ayden said the igloo wsd turtle! Haha.. Talk abt being funny...

AA: fundementally.. there is a difference for these two languages..

chinese words.. we associate and we learn by memory..

english.. phonics.. which works on the principles of rules (but there is a huge discussion on how 'un-ruley' english can be.. haha)

so for english.. they need to develop the additional ability to decode and to recognise new words (coz english has phonemes which is the smaller units in a word) which makes it possible to do so..

so u see.. there lies the challenge of teaching english now..

which also suggests that our kids are at the prime age for learning chinese!

that igloo is sooo cmi.. the jack in the box lagi worse.. i asked the teacher.. can't jack in the box be replaced by the word 'jelly' ??

ayden is cute.. creative.. ya. it looks like a turtle!

the other picture that teng did not get ok for. is 'queen'. coz he saw the crown. he said it as king! then i was like.,, 'who is the wife of the king?'.. teng immediately replied 'queen' haha teacher let it passed :p

orh. this one.. must intervene a bit.. haha. coz sometimes the child might be blur.. and might not do the test well not coz of poor understanding..

coz teng was like. for the letter sounds.. he got confused and started saying the names of the letters.. i got to tell the teacher.. 'can we do it again? the boy is a bit confused..'.. :p

but when asked to sound.. teng can sound the 'q'... which i dunno wor! ops.. :p

SQ, hahhaa nothing to contirbute here leh.. i am one of the laziest if not the laziest mummy ard :p

AAA, SQ mentioned it in her post 24782

then miser pointed out something interesting in the test which i didnt realise..and taht could affect the validty of the instrument..
the vocabulary page.. all from a - z.. :p
so a child who has a strong sense of the alphabet has a slight advantage to sound out the next beginning letter.. which indicates that he can sound.. but of course. mght not get the word ...

Astro: haha.. I don t think Anna knows the pics shown are of words in alphabetical order. The last pic, she kept saying it s good. Haha... Can t fault her on that.. :p
I don t want her to lose her ability to remember and recognize things/ words. But I m not sure how it came by, and so dunno how to keep it. Sigh..

can' think of another better noun for igloo,, given that it should contain the beginning 'ee' sound.. icecream is not correct.. hmm..

and oh .. for those who are interested in a deeper read..
the difference between phonetic and phonemic,
<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Phonetic or Phonemic ?
Submitted on 12 August, 2009 - 21:51
Phonetic or Phonemic ? C. Collingridge's question is a very frequent one in ELT ... and one that deserves the clearest answer possible.

Phonetics is concerned with the study of human beings' capacity to produce, transmit and interpret speech sounds. As such, it attempts to represent all speech sounds that human beings have the capacity to produce with their speech organs and so does not focus on the sounds of any particular language.

Phonetics attempts to describe how we use our speech organs (i.e. articulators) in order to articulate sounds in terms of: a) the points in the vocal tract where they are articulated (e.g. bilabial sounds v. alveolar sounds), and b) the manners in which sounds are produced (e.g. plosives v. nasals).

Phoneticians use various different symbols in order to represent speech sounds visually (i.e. transcribe). Since they aim to make the most accurate and faithful transcription possible, they work with phonetic symbols. Professionally speaking, in Anglo-American traditions, phonetic transcriptions are made using square brackets to signal that the most accurate representation of what was actually articulated is being attempted.

For instance, if we made a phonetic transcription of the word 'water' as it tends to be pronounced in many regions of North America, the phonetic symbol corresponding to this English phoneme: /t/ would actually be: [ɾ].

Phonology, on the other hand, is concerned with the study of the sound system of specific languages. This is, the restricted set of sounds (i.e. phonemes) which a sociocultural group of people in contact with one another sanction and consider as meaningful when they engage in communication with each another in the spoken medium in order to create, negotiate, interpret and achieve their intended meanings. And so, we have areas of study such as Spanish Phonology, English Phonology, Russian Phonology and such like.

Phonology deals, broadly, with two major areas of analysis and study in reference to specific languages:

Segmental Phonology (i.e. the analysis and study of individual sounds: their articulation, parsing, etc.) ... and
Suprasegmental Phonology (i.e. the analysis and study of the communicative features which characterise natural uses of language in the spoken medium: a notion referred to as 'connected speech').

In phonological analyses, we only use a restricted number of the many various different symbols available in Phonetics in order to represent visually the sound system of a specific language. A phonological transcription aims to present a careful, idealised version of how a sound would be rendered, and so we'd work with phonemic symbols. Professionally speaking, in Anglo-American traditions, phonemic transcriptions are made using slanted brackets to signal that an ideal and careful version is being attempted (e.g. /w/ /ɔ:/ /t/ /ə/ /r/, etc.).

The chart shown on this site is thus: phonemic (as it only represents the 44 individual sounds of the British variety known as a: 'BBC accent' or 'RP accent').

Finally, why are phonetic and phonemic symbols necessary in the first place ? Well, it all stems from the lack of perfect, one-to-one correspendences between the spoken and written varieties of a given language.

From a theoretical perspective, the discrepancies which exist between the spoken and written varieties of a given language and the degree of cognitive and sociolinguistic effort required for their users to process these discrepancies, languages may be regarded as falling within one of two nraod groups: shallow v. deep languages.

Shallow languages (e.g. Spanish) are characterised by having convergent spoken and written varieties which match each other very closely, and so the depth of the cognitive or sociolinguistic processing required to match and relate written with spoken versions of such languages is not excessively demanding on their users and their communicative resources.

Deep languages (e.g. English), by contrast, have divergent spoken and written varieties which require much deeper cognitive and sociolinguistic types of processing on the part of their users in order to relate written with spoken versions of such languages. In other words, written forms of words in a deep language cannot be taken at face value for their spellings are not indicative of their pronunciations in the spoken medium.

When native users of a shallow language start learning French or English, for instance, they inevitably suffer from two associated conditions known as: 'language shock' and 'language stress'; especially when they first realise that it is not possible to pronounce words as they see them written and they pretty much have to learn the pronunciation of each individual word they encounter by heart ---at least until they go well beyond the threshold of intelligibility and begin to accept (and continue to discover more stable) phonological features and patterns of correspondence between written and spoken varieties of these deep languages.

The above is of pedagogical significance for Teachers of English in as much as carefully guided, explicit and systematic explorations of segmental phonology in English (and their associated phonemic symbols) will be instrumental in gradually enabling learners to become more and more confident, autonomous and independent users of the English language, for they will know how to pronounce words when they their phonemic transcriptions as they finally come to terms with the fact that English is a deep language.

Cheers !

Eduardo Valdes Garcia Torres, LTCL DipTESOL

Director

Institute for Applied Linguistics

Mexico
<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Edde: oh is it? Paiseh.. Hehe.. But I was not serious when I said that to u lah.

Astro: anyone who watches the leapfrog DVD and knows both caps and small letters will be able to do the test. Ayden is still recognizing the latter.

AA: hey. u went for the assessment already?
how did Anna fare? are u going to start her on ICR too?

ya. that thumb.. how do fault the kids from saying good?

teng was saying.. 'first finger'.. coz by yamaha. and mim. music playing.. that is the first finger.. :p
so i got to 'ok. u hold on..' then i speak to teng.. 'and show him.. what is the name of this finger? not the first finger?'.. then he said 'thumb'.. ha....

AA: i dun think so..
.. coz when it comes to blending. hmm. the kid must keep watching the word factory.. and know more than just merely the letter sounds...coz 'put them altogether...' (tune of leapfrog factory).. they are different liao! ha..

remember we used to have a discussion on shichida and its emphasis on photographic memory? maybe that's the reason why.. to keep the photographic memory which will otherwise deterioriate with age..
so good that anna's still on shicida..

hahhaha astro, u see me very the up!!!! i am one of those who cant teach own kids too coz i hv subzero patience..
the only thing i do now is reading chinese stories to them.. those short short 1 or 2-liner per page 10-page storybooks.. then i introduce those frequently appearing words to anthea.. words like 我、 去、上、下、一、你 etc.. we just started on this.. so not much shown effect yet... and while reading, i will test on her comprehension and listening skill by asking her qns on what i read.. maybe u can try this with teng

oh.. so english is considered a deep language. which is why they have so many exceptions to the rule.. no wonder when i learned french. it was ..easier :p coz it is not so deep.. hahahah

"Shallow languages (e.g. Spanish) are characterised by having convergent spoken and written varieties which match each other very closely, and so the depth of the cognitive or sociolinguistic processing required to match and relate written with spoken versions of such languages is not excessively demanding on their users and their communicative resources.

Deep languages (e.g. English), by contrast, have divergent spoken and written varieties which require much deeper cognitive and sociolinguistic types of processing on the part of their users in order to relate written with spoken versions of such languages. In other words, written forms of words in a deep language cannot be taken at face value for their spellings are not indicative of their pronunciations in the spoken medium. "

edde: i see all very up one! we all bring in experiences to share, don't we? :p and give urself more credit, edde.. a long time chinese teacher here.. surely u have tons of pedagogical experience to boast about?! ok.. from now on. u join QQ in teaching chinese and be responsible for the kids' command of cheena on this thread.................... *arrow flies edde's way* :p

ya. but hor mr miser. is teaching to recognise character by character.. not by this reader style way.. i got to go and teach him.

hey u teach the AAs 1 to 10 in chinese lah.. write the numerals and write its corresponding word out in chinese.. kills two birds with one stone :p

hey.. LB got those testing comprehension activities? i never checked the end of the books.. Robin has.. and mejo said the usborne has also..

astro, i find teaching character by character very dry.. and i dun hv the patience to do that :p reader style (now i learnt a new term!) is more interesting to kids bah, and can kill many bird with 1 stone coz can test their compre and listening skill too... my no-basis logic lah :p

ya, her sch is teaching her the chinese characters of 1-10... dats why her best chinese word is 一!!! and i see her writing of 一 二 三.. kaoz.. macam drawing lines of no meaning! =.='''

edde: pls wor.. what no logic basis? all the readers are adopting this approach! :p

which is why hor.. LB is successful coz they are ver very focused with the sight words they introduced at the beginning of each story.. if do by the storystyles.. given that story lines varies.. so the sightwords recognition cannot control..

i chuckled to myself when i sw the Robin series. they have a page of new words.. then number of repetition of those words stated there! i was like 'wah.. so serious seah?' :p

hahah.. draw lines to no meaning.. :p
then u put a lego brick in front of Anthea.. then say this is '一'.. then two bricks, 二.. shd have more meaning liao :p

who knows.. come to the pt that Anthea can write the equation in chinese when shown visually!!
一 + 二 = 三!!! :p

that is why, edde, u have the experience to approach it from a pedagogical way..without knowing the approach. u already drew up a lesson plan for chinese learning for AAs liao! hahahah

teng said to me ' i want to draw 'a' '.. and he approached it from a drawing pt of view.. he said 'first u draw a circle. then a line'.. :S

Paiseh... My iphone batt flat.. And I just reached home..

Astro: Yah we went. This afternoon. Not sure if I'm starting. Not sure if it's too early.. But there's nothing such as being too early to reading right? So maybe I will with anna.. But not Ayden. This little boy still falls asleep 2 out of 5 days I drive him home from school. And that is like a 5-min drive and he's able to fall asleep within that short time! He's still adjusting to his timing..

Edde: Reader style is good. Where do you get the stories to read to her?

Astro: As opposed to igloo?? Come on! LF uses ink. The letter factory teaches all the sounds of the letters (using big caps). The word factory or word something teaches the blending..

astro, u make my anyhow style sounds so pro! and now then i know sight words = high freq words! all the while i hv been wondering what "sight word" is! wahhahaahha!!

AAA, i got them from NTUC!!!! and its $1/ bk!!! cheap and gd quality and interesting stories.. but i dun see them at NTUC anymore.. bought them long ago..

Edde,
RR's school also teaching them to write 1-10 in chinese now. Then they learnt this 十加一画is土,土加一画is王 and 王 is the teacher's surname. This teaching method so cute, they learn to write 3 words at one go.

AAA,
think every week or so, they will learn one such word. Then they will go more into each word like 十,土 &amp; 王.

Edde,
I thought it's so interesting too. They also told me tigers have a "wang" word on their foreheads. hahaha!!

AA: not everyone watches Leapfrog dvd mah..
yeap.. i learned a lot fro the blending dvd.. hahaha. so i told everyone in the household.. from now on.. when teng whines watch to watch dvd.. it is the blending dvd!

yes.. no early start to reading.. and given that anna has a looser schedule.. easier.. i think the more popular and subscribed two levels are the PRS and the ICR..

Edde: ha.. pro huh? whhhahaha.. a lot of smoke here.. intellectual smoke.. the PSI index is very high liao.. hurhurhur.. :p

sight words differ very slightly from high frequency words.. coz theoretically sight words are words which u cannot decipher phonetically.. though there are some controversial sight words which can.. like balls.. cat.. pat.. etc..
so hor. i like to think of all of them merely as high frequency words.. easier lah.. else another 'artifical' line of divide.. :p

RR: cute! it is only for these three letters? :p
can;t be all their teachers' name so easy to write? my surname would take.. how many strokes liao wor.. whahah :p

coz that's the way we were taught to draw the tiger.. put a 'wang' word on top.. and magically ur doggie like kitty piggy is transformed into a tiger liao?!!!!
hahhahaah :p

Astro: Anna will start with PRS (I think) if I start her. I wonder what they do, and how long she has to be on the course before I see her reading from a book, and not pretending to read from memory! :p

AA: i asked leh. they said typically the student stays on PRS for 6 - 9 mths then the teacher will assess then move to ICR.. but of course we konw,,, they were diplomatically to put in the catchphrase' by abliity' in order not to raise the level of expectations too high.. :p
take a while.. i tink maybe K1 or K2..

ya. maths one quite.. random.. ok lah. better than watching 'ai'? :p *no offence to ai supporters!*

then i peeped at the criterions for the assessment.. quite negative one they write :S
the PRS criterions is 'poor vocab base, weak phonetical awareness.. etc'.. so negative!
then the kids all score full marks based on ur paper but can't sight read.. u say they hve poor vocab base? hmmmm

YY,
ya, ya!! That's how we draw tigers. :p
Of cos not all teachers' surnames! Just happened that teacher's surname is Wang. haha!

SQ,
I think the teacher pointed that out to them.

AAA,
you are so goot lat. My laziness is comparable to Edde's. wahaha!! I don't do much teaching with them. That's why I've been keeping quiet with the topics these 2 days, haha!

Astro: I asked how long, on average, do children stay on their programme (not just PRS). I think the answer is 12-18mths. I can't remember exactly.. And most start at K1, and by P1, they are ready to be on their own.

Astro: The first word I spotted was Obnoxious! Haha.. The last word under List A. And when Anna read the first word under list B as d-a-p, I was over the hill! She doesn't know that word, that's not a proper word so she couldn t have seen it before, but that was how it should be read, and she did.

RR: Haha.. I do that like once in a blue moon. And that depends on so many factors - her mood, my mood, Ayden's mood, etc etc.. I'll take out her worksheets from her school, and go through them. And RR, I'm not working leh, unlike you or Edde.

Edde: Are you still giving tuition?

RR: ha..but wang lao shi is certainly creative!

AA: the teacher didn't even proceed with the word lists.. when teng couldn't sound out 'the' in the first list! so i dunno about that.. ha..

AA: coz of the stripes on the tigers.. if u observed the ones on their forehead.. they are horinzontal.. giving the impression of wang.. and they also say, alongside the Lion, the tiger is the king of the jungle!

teng could sound out the letters individually. but he can't generalise the rule and applied to others yet.. like 'c-a-t',.. k -eh-t..
that kind.. so when the teacher sounds the 't-h-e' for him to get him going.. he looks at the teacher and shook his head. as if telling her.. 'i can read letter by letter. but not that way..' then the teacher took it from him and ended the test...
oh well.. good lah. then he learns if proper from there..

Astro: Oh is it?? I didn't know the stripes on tigers' foreheads are horizontal! Haha.. I learn something today.. Hahah.. Hahaha..
The teacher didn't go through all the words in list A.. Anna couldn't read most of them. I saw obnoxious and secretly smiled to myself.. Haha.. So they do the same test for pri school kids too? Hmm.. I guess so, since this test is to assess the status of the child's reading ability.

AA: shd be. .and ought to be. else they can't have that as the placement test for their centre which offers differing levels of programme..

and hor. aiyoh. teng read horse as zebra! the teacher said. 'oh. very good.. this is a zebra'.. then she pointed to the zebra.. in the paper. i was like 'why so kind?'.. ha.. turns out. coz teng was looking a black and white copy of the paper. not coloured.. so he took the horse as the zebra..

Astro: Anna kept shrugging her shoulders.. But when we were about to give up, she would read one word from memory, so the teacher went on.. And after "dap" as in "de-air-pe", we stopped. Cos the next word was totally garbage, it was not a word that has any meaning, but one one would be able to pronounce using phonics.

Anna first interpreted the boy pic as child, then the teacher asked what child, then she said a boy. Ayden read the nurse as mama.. :p With ayden, we stopped very early on..