QQ: sorry. i knocked out aft my medication :S
which blog are you talking about?
the ICR website or the mother's blog entry?
wrt to Miser teaching the other subjects.. hmm.. put it this way . it is because there isn't so much to catch up with wrt to this area.
I checked Nursery 2 and even K1 standard.. apart from sight words and the writing.. the concepts (Sentence formation in chinese and rote count to 10, plus write the corresponding word out etc) are not new to teng.. suprising he gets a lot of it already before he went to LV. in K1, they teach ordinal numbers. (1st, 2nd, 3rd... ) etc,, he already knows. the concept of more and less.. he knows.. and such..
it is english which requires a lot of catch up.. just imagine this. there are 26 letters to practice writing for individually.. then of course recognise and SPELL all the sight words leh.. :S.. sentence formation and verbal english and vocabulary.. he no issue yet.. i think coz i speak english to him.. so does ellie so he is off to a pretty good start..
but to get the child to decode for themselves and to read without any hand holding from adults at all.. i am not confident to teach.. and if we think about it this way... we read to them for exposure.. but in doing that we cultivate an dependence(Which is of course inevitable).. ultimately, they need to do it by themselves.. with minimum inference from the adults.. that ought to be the goal we work towards to...i relised it is impt to let the kid do for themselves first.. for all the years in teaching.. coz do too fast for them .. they are not learning.. so that's why u see some of those sight read activity books. they will say quite explicitly. the child should be shown the cards.. wait for three seconds. if the hcild cannot.. then read.. not read immediately for them coz they will merely regurgitate.. and in teng's case.. he does it quite openly 'no! u read ir for me!'..:S
so in a way. it is different from the flashcard concepts we do when they were toddlers...
yes ur house very conventient. u konw miser and i almost wanted to et a unit.. i think in ur block too! but the house was very old and i almost slipped.. :S hence didn't buy..
huingee: ha.. lucky you, poor esther
no lah.. it is good that ur hb is concerned about esther.. come miser.. hmm..he doesn't believe in pushing the child too much.. i tell u.. i can cough blood.. but he wun help one. uless i ASK FOR IT!
AA: i dun think that is the same link.. coz that link is from tarimand.. the other one.. is from the writer's blog..
SQ: i second ur thoughts. important to keep a social life.. i want to join too! can i?
been thinking abt it for the longest time. but my social circle.. all haven't married yet :S
QQ: the books look appetising?
and yes. the reason why i am so KS.. and doing so much of these catch up is to prepare teng to join a class of 5 years old! :S
aft the assessment by ICR. i am convinced teng is not slow.. in fact pretty fast for his age, conginitively.. (gross motor is another issue).. but still there's no denial that these kids are one year older than teng.. the youngest in his class is born in oct.. :S
i was having second thoughts. i felt like i am hurrying teng to grow up.. i could write it to defer.. actually, i was thinking to myself, what's the big deal of deferring?
Teng can have an easier life.. coz he is already there with 07 batch.. i dun have to be so sian.. everyone all happier..
I told miser i am overwhelmed liao.. and if he could to be more proactive.. he paused and gave his reply... 'u were already aware of all these when u decided right? so why are u bringing all these up now?'.... i could only look at him.. and realise.. i need to be responsible for my decision ... *sigh*
Huingee: thank you for all the recommendations. indeed helpful! i have also discussed with some of colleagues who have school going kids.. they have quite interesting perspectives too coz they judge based on their pedagogical knowledge.. and sometimes.. come up with quite interesting conclusion! ha.. like the case of kumon which i posted earlier on...
erm.. just a thought from the english teacher
.. grammar all these needs to be learned in context.. avoid drilling coz it makes no sense... so for all the prospective classes which you are signing Esther up for.. do take a look at their curriculum and see if they emphasise more on the daily/lively use of english to teach grammar.. if they feature drills.. my recommendation is. dun choose that..
I have a fren who send her boy to mind champ.. but for P3.. i look at the book.. erm.. a lot of drills..
hey.. let's go for the phonics class together?! whahaha
lorna whiston is very different from ICR.. they emphsised in drama. .and from there, the kids pick up the essentials in english lang.. i was also considering LW too.. but i looked at my time line realistically.. and ealised teng needs a programme which teaches the rules first.. then when he is secure.. i let him have free play and explore! i wld consider LW after ICR
is esther a child who lives up to challenges? coz hor.. if yes.. chances are she might take the level of difficulty as a challenge? I am actually trying to cultivate that sense of challenge in teng.. erm.. he is still not there yet..
star: i like the approach u are taking wrt to introducing Rae to reading.
sometimes.. the interest is very important for it makes it easier to pick up the skills.. and i think.. that is exactly what u are doing with Rae.. so nice!
(i thank i have a sedentary boy now..
already now. he is jumping all over .. it is like he is going thru a metamorphosis! :S he asks me questions non-stop.. everything under the sky.. and he takes like 50% more time to complete his writing..:S i wonder how come the teachers can tell me he shows good focus in CC and they no issue with him and confident he will catch up.. i think teng act one lah.. in school..chey)
QQ: aiya. no wonder search high and low cannot find the readers!..
Mejo: erm.. can u bring one or two and i meet you up in school to take alook ah?
re lady bird series..
i think i am not venturing into that. i was trying to assess the style of the author.. (and not be swayed by the poor quality illustrations)... it is really.. erm.. mundane?.
while the illustrations shouldn't be too oustdantind to distract the child.. but with such a bland story line.. it needs a lot of workon the graphics.. also we need to konw the child. his preferences.. most of the kids are drawn to the illustrations.. but of course there are some kids who are prefectly fine wit the illustraions of LB.. so i think impt to bring ur kids there.. and see which kind of books they are showing to u.. and work from there on.. i am happy teng is showing me lots of books from mr men.. hahah.. i think he recognises them all liao!
I think i am sticking to robin.. so many classics there!.. and maybe when teng can read by himself.. he is free to choose any books.. maybe he will take one from lady birds?
this usborne.. very very elusive.. teasing me in fact.. hahah