(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

AAA,
I love to read fm young, also grew up with books fm EnidBlyton, love the enchanted tree series too. Then on Nancy drew , the famous 5, hardy boys. Really had book shelves of book when I was growing up!! Too bad when my parents moved, they donated them.

This is one habit tat I hope it's instill on K ! She is showing signs of it too

Pax,
Nice lantern
I was thinking of doing one then realized my Angboa packs ain't that nice.

Haiz, its been raining nonstop. Wish I don't needtogo to work ;(

Kaexin,
I hope it stops raining soon ... Counting down to long holiday. :D

RR refused to wake up this morning. They woke up to pee, went back to bed. I shouted for them to get changed, they changed and went back to sleep again! Slept till the very late min before I want to leave the house. :S

QQ, haha ur crew very fast leh. Still lamintated them. Mine done without any lamintate. ahhaha... yah until IX. hahaaa...

Astro like u say lor cut and paste. But i type lah... cos feel a bit truncated when i cut and psate them.

morning.. wha so astro has got us alle xcited over buying reading material for our kids.. hehehe.

hb was at SIL over the weekend, apparently my BIL did a fair bit of research and found a special set of books to tech my nephew chinese. i think i wanna go get the set, cos in my house, think only MIL can teach her. and i want to buy some chinese reading books for rae as well.

Rae skipped school today again, cos the rain was really too heavy!! jialat man. i hope she gets to go to school tomorrow cos its CNY celebration and she gets to wear her special CNY clothes.

AAA, what is this osborne book? got link from mejo ?
cause i usually check out msia distributor, then ask my fren to call (she is too free at home la). haha! then she will tell me got discount or not.
then when i go back i go visit the distributor direct, see how.
i told jay abuot this 70s looking book, he said tian probably wont like it. but we are not sure abuot ah will. haha!
i told jay SQ said Osborne more atas looking, jay said usually tian likes atas one. haha!!

Star, what is this chinese series books u talking about? i am v v interested.
i bought a set from "red dragon, hon2 qing1 ting2", and tian ok with them. she is reading the first few books. we jsut read a bit on daily basis. she sees the pictures more than the words i would say.

giolyn, shall I send u my file? formatted and u just type inside the next level and send to me next time? *collaboration*. thanks!
i use only smaller size one, one A4 got 9 pieces like that.

Peter and Jane book:
Clyde borrowed from his school libracy a 3b of the P&J book. Pretty long book i would say. maybe the 3b book is too advance for him so he dun seem to be interested. Maybe check out whether the dictionary carry this book. Borrow and see whether our kids like or not lor.

star, i din go dance class with tian yesterday cause busy doing spring cleaning and packing.
jay said rae din go so i guess she could be still unwell or u might be unwell. take care.
jay said the tap dance trial class is on 12 march, but he din make payment yet. so next sunday we go make payment bah, ok?

giolyn, hee... just kacau u just now. i sent le.

kaexin, i dun love reading, so was it my mum's fault? cause i rememebred i love reading books when i was v v young. i have only 7 books then, a gift from my auntie. we have alibrary nearby so my mum ask us to go every week. but hor, i still dun love reading, except the 7 books.
so now thought library is just across the road, i still beleive that buy books for them is a good investment. i only get to love those 7 books and i can read every single word in the book.
so tian will have many books, i think. however, i need to be organised a bit now. there is no book shelve and they are everywhere. jialat la.

CNY celebration: What a bai3 wu1 long2! I thot the celebration was today. At abt 9:30, I looked at the timetable and realized celebration will start at 10:30 instead of the normal school time at 12. So I rushed them to finish their food, bathed and changed. Drove them to school but it was too quiet and empty for a celebration. Found out the celebration is tom..
Drove them home and changed out of the CNY costumes.. :p Anna said today is mummy s funny day.. : p hahaha!!!!

QQ: I dunno what books are good or not. Didn t do any research at all. This distributor was mentioned here a few times so I asked, cos a few mums said ladybird graphics are not nice mah. You better rely on someone who has done some research on what books to buy. Hehe.. Then we buy bulk.

QQ: next sun got dancing? i tot school will close for CNY?
ok onz for the 12 march trial.

let me go find out from my BIL on the chinese books and i let u know. he started my newphew on it, he is in K1 tis year, so far he is quite receptive and he is recognising more chinese words now.

i love reading too.. i hope rae will also be the same. anyway i have not brought her to the library.. hahah we atas, she has her own library at home, stuff to the brim.. hahah, 3 shelves, i should take a pic of her books. anyway she loves her books and she has the patience to read as well so i guess its good. and i love reading to her too. maybe u all can organising story reading session at next gathering, i dun mind volunteering to read to the children (must include educational programmes at our outing now).

germaine, thanks, much appreciated

QQ, found an usborne link for u.
http://www.usborne.com/catalogue/catalogue.aspx?cat=1&area=yr&subcat=frl1

Kaexin: I read famous five and hardy boys too. But didn t quite like them still prefer Nancy drew. Until I discover hercule Poirot by agatha christie. She has a female character, can t remember the name but I don t like her..
I enjoy reading, no one instilled this habit in me. I just live reading. But I read fiction books, if only I have the same passion for non fiction books. Wah!! I think I ll be a very knowledgeable person liao.

ladybug/usborne/robin: eh, so finally which one is beta? i also dun like the illustration for ladybug

star: keen to know abt ur special set of chi books too

kaexin: how to instill a love for reading fr young?

AAA: after reading your post i called the school again to check and make sure CNY celebration is tomorrow...hahaha. i also scared i missed the date cos rae missed school for a week already. and since it was raining so heavily, MIL suggested letting her stay home today incase she catches a chill again.

re:usborne readers.. iszit me? i just cannot find it in popular..

Mejo: u said u saw them in popular? very elusive leh this reader series..

AA: i started reading non-fiction first.. then i got hooked on both.. i still remembered very vividly.. that i wld drag my sis to the library to borrow books.. whenver i saw a new nancy drew title.. i squealed in delight..

star: ya. recommend ur chinese reader leh..

Germaine: huh?

today i am on mc..:S autum, i no go school :S activated cover.. sian.. dunno how to return..
and this miser.. STILL tell me he late liao. asked me to send teng to school when i have a headache. running a slight fever and a sore throat.. damn.
so i yanked a screaming teng to school. (i slapped him today coz he was dragging on the floor again :S)feel a bit guilty now.. bt v sian this morning.. and stood in the freezing rain to get a freaking cab somemore.. then went queue in the clinic for almost 2 plus hours :S

re: ICR assessment
brought teng there yesterday. teng did well. i am proud of him. I was beaming corner to corner when he took the test..so he will be in the PRS (Preliminary REading skills), a level lower than the ICR level.

'Preliminary REading Skills - 4.5+
Covers all the prequisite skills needed to become a good reader, including phonemic awareness and phonics. including oral presentation skills.'

The programme reads for 4.5+. so it is age appropriate for teng then. there was another girl who was doing the assessment,sama built like teng. she doing the TCS, to get herself more familiar with the letter sounds.

back to the test, i thought it was quite ok.
So the teacher came in with few sheets of paper.. first page is vocubluary. .teng is hown 29 plus pictures.. intention to see if child can match picture to sounds.. teng got almost all correct. but there are a few dated ones.. like i for igloo?.. j for jack in the box.. and o for octopus.. (teng read this as starfish! :S)..
teacher said it is a matter of exposure for teng at this stage.. and she agrees that how many kids in SG would know igloo? :S

then went on to sound the letters.. A - Z.. so teng got to sound the letter sounds.. full marks..

read the letters.. full marks..

another segment.. teacher sound a letter sound.. teng given some letters.. and asked to circle the coresponding sounds.. teng got all but 2 correct.. the 'p' and the 'b'.. i think he sees them as reversed. but then teacher said ok again. coz common. and teng was v confident in doing the excercise..

move on to sight words. teng cannot get past first word .. so i guess that was the seperation of PRS and the ICR...

got classes but lousy timings. need to check back teng's class routine and see how.. coz weekend and weekday. difference = $61 !

oh.i realised all the teachers like foreigners..
so i was cheeky and asked the receptionist for the trainer's profile.. (if teng takes one of the class, i think it would be teacher kelly)..but this teacher's profile not ready. ha.
so i read others.. there was man who did the assessment for the girl aft teng.. wah he got double masters.. a registered nurse with dunno where.. and dunno what.. v chim credentials..
i skimmed through the rest.. all a basic degree.. and almost got the 'teaching english as second langague' cert.. plus of course their own in-house ICR training.. so seemed quite qualified..

Huingee: who is esther's teacher?

Star: Yah.. And my maid also said she read the leaflet! :p I thot they have celebration today and then there's no more school until next Mon. And I was even planning to bring them to GGB tom! :p Good thing I haven't told them yet, otherwise they'll be demanding that tom. :p Crazy me.

Astro: Sounds like a simple assessment test. Nothing like what we read on the website. Why not you start to teach Teng yourself first? He doesn't sound like he needs to attend the class at this point.

Ash: Anna and Ayden has no school on Wed.

AA: because i dunno phonics.. so i can't teach teng effectively...

there are more leevls.. but teng didn't get past the sight words.. i peeped at some words.. i dun even know how to pronouce them.. so the whole test . teng only attempted like three pages out of dunno how many pages..

but inspite of that.. i am very proud of teng.. i kept praising him non-stop and teng just smiled sheepishly to himself when i do that.. either that.. or he looks very smug.. ha..

i can't imagine the thrill i will have when teng produces his first full marks! ok.. i mustn't let this get to me too much.. focus on learning.. not grades.. i will remind myself of that constantly.

Astro,
Esther is at the cck branch. Her teacher, Aldo is the most experience there, taught a few years there liao. Yes, their teachers are foreigners that's why more ex.
Many kids enjoy the lesson there as it's not boring. You can see the kids happily go in the class. There will be homework too.

See, Teng is ok. He's in the right stage. Heehee, good genes from mama and papa.
I took weekend timing cos really can't rush to the weekday timing. Have to decide fast for the timing cos v fast the timing will be taken up. Quite for Esther's time, haha only one slot left.
Haha, that's why that time when QQ was looking for house i told her her area is good. Cos the enrichment sch, ntuc and mrt is nearby. Just that it's more noisy.

Astro: Unless someone went to take up a course, I don't think anyone of us knows phonics fully. But we have the basics skills, and I feel that's enough to get them started and going at this age.

Astro: Should a P1 student be able to read the word obnoxious then? I think not too leh..

Hey the reason I'm saying you teach Teng first is cos I'm telling the same to my hubby. To him, outsourcing is the easiest way. But I feel there's no need, at least not now. And it also gives me something to do at home.. :p

AA: ha.. i am not confident.. and i feel overwhelmed.. hence i decide to 'delegate' this to ICR to help teng...

Esther: ya.. i see happy kids in the branch also..then i actually asked the teacher.. ' would you all be able to handle a kid who can be highly anxious upon seperation?'.. she replied v confidently 'of course'. ha! ok lor..
then i also asked the receptionist the same question.. she replied also. 'yes.. please leave ur child with us.. we will pacify him.. in fact.. it is recommended that parents drop and go'.. i feel v assured with athat.. the last i want is.. a centre who doesn't want parents to stay with kids.. but come and complain cannot handle the kids..:S

yes QQ's place is very prime area.. so many things there.. MPM, crestar etc...i told the receiptionist to put me on wait list for a few slots. i try to confirm with her today.. if i got strength to pick teng up later...

Astro: Those are similar reasons hubby says we should outsource. :p He doesn't want me to be overwhelmed, to get mad/angry with them, and ended up both parties (the kids + myself) don't enjoy the process. :p :p Although I would like to refute him, I can t help but feel he's right. :p :p Sigh!

AA: i remember looking at the age counter of that kid in the url. i think he is now 10 years old.. i can't remember when he took the test.. but if 10 years old.. p4.. should be able to read obnoxious?

i think the mother, who is a writer, is pissed off with the attitude of the assessor at that centre.. than the test per se. i think her blog is interesteing. i book marked it liao. 'P

ha.. i am not confident of doing that well. teaching teng at home...not with the current workload..

And oh... I found out for the celebration, anna's class is performing a dance. In fact, I think a number of classes are putting up a performance. And they perform for the school mates and teachers, no outsiders and parents.

Guess this meets the criteria of boosting the children's confidence and as they enjoy the practises, but without troubling the parents like in a year-end concert. Hehe..

hahha astro, my SIL is a primary school teacher, shetold me she can't teach her own son (my nephew) thats why they outsource too.. hahaha

star: bingo! hahaha
QQ said something simliar too earlier. she said her early childhood education cert 'cannot work' on tian.. :p coz QQ said she's impatient :p:p

I guess cos they are our kids, we tend to push them harder and get more agitated easily. So outsourcing is a better option.

Germaine, Star: Yah. Totally agree. That's exactly what the mum of the blog wrote. I echo her and have no clue how someone can home school their children. ???!!!??? I feel like I'm the weirdo for not having patience with them. THen I found out I belong to the majority group of parents who cannot teach their own children. Hahah..

Astro, u very de unfair woh. cause u outsource english then u ask miser to teach chinese, math and sci? poor miser. do you think he will outsource it too.??
so i am so happie to hear that teng is on the track. so, u worried for nothing last week!!!!! haha!!
and this usborne, or osborne, i think hor i also never see at popular. haha! maybe all sold out liao?

Ash, the celebration should b tomorrow because wed not many kids will attend school le. i think la. anyway, tian will miss her celebration ebcause it is tomorrow! we are leaving tomorrow am, v v early.

Astro, what is the blog about this ICR? i am interested.
yes, huingee mentioned that my house location is convenient, she assured me that got this school , centers, many choices. so it is really good leh. got cinema also, but i din go watch a single show since i moved here.

QQ,
Haha, last time u have no helper mah. Now have helper can see can catch those 10pm show or not.

Astro,
Yes, the blogger kid is in primary school.
ICR is good for kids to learn to read. It's their special unique system. I intend to let Esther finish her ICR level and then stop.
Now Esther said her primary school spelling is very easy. Cos her ICR spelling is very difficult last time. I have frens stop ICR midway cos it's too stress for the kid and mummy. As the homework is not easy for ICR level, spelling is 20 words. Then their comprehension very difficult. Last time i scolded Esther for the compre till hb cannot take it. In the end he took over compre and i took spelling for Esther. Haha, that made me happier but more difficult for Esther. Haha, one compre had to do few nights then finish as hb made her repeat to read and explain the whole paragraph if there is mistake.

QQ: can trouble u to help buy fish oil? 2 btls? kam siah. do u continue to eat after birth? if cz, still can eat? not sure how many btls to stock up. so far, i only finish 1 btl cos tend to forget in beginning

QQ; wha so fast go back ah, so today is your last day of the work week. enjoy your stay. When u coming back? or will be extending your leave?

ash, i am a lazy mummy, i oni eat once in a while. haha!!
u see, if i eat every day, one month can finish one bottle, 30 capsules mah.
i help u buy unless the pharmacy no stock liao. just buy 3 bottles first la.

star, yes. i take leave till next tue but we will b back here on saturday to avoid jam. my mum is not around this cny after day 2 cause she is going turkey. we have nothing much to do except visits.

huingee, movies? next time la. night time i prefer to sleep le. haha!!
wah this ICR is so stressful.

QQ,
It's stressful loh, that's why will have result. Now Esther is at the advance stage, more of the grammar stuff. But the teacher said after the kid gone thru this will find the P1 easy.
Same lah, sometimes hb also asked me want to watch me. I told him i prefer to stay at home watch tv and sleep.
There was once he brought me dou1 feng1 at night. In the end, I felt asleep.

QQ: the link is the same as the one you printed out the sight words.

HN: re icr, how long is the entire course? From pri 1 to 6? How do u know when to stop? There s a branch at bt plaza, going there to find out. Haha.. And how old is Esther now?

QQ; hey u never answer me leh, no dancing class this coming sun right? do u know?

Ash/QQ: i have been trying to take my fisj oil diligently, till now, still have not finish my bottle of 30 capsules.

star, this coming sunday no dancing class meh? got right? i dun know woh.
i check and let u know alter.

AAA, my mum is v v happening de, and she is like touring the whole world asl ong as got ppl jio her. so far she has been going out, short or long trips. soemtimes she follows the cheap bus to singapore to casinos, but then she never call me and kacau me cause she said time is not enough la.

huingee, i rather nuah at home and sleep also. dou1 feng1? i think i also can fall asleep