(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

star
actually not so much they love to read, but they love to have me n mike to read for them. M can read on his own 90% liao. Jo will "rmbr" the storyline n "read on own" at times.

i'm not involved in the north section of new highway. tender will start next yr, i think. my current pjt will take me to mid 2013. may be involved in the south section. the south section is in planning, but will b a vv vv difficult pjt compared to my current one (that's fr reading the newspaper).

star
dust mites lor.. nt sure wat else is on the bed.

yu zhu 玉竹 - white herb, looks like bark.
http://cn.made-in-china.com/showroom/jmzfcn/product-detaileqMxHDldZJhk/%E7%8E%89%E7%AB%B9%E7%89%87.html
bai he 百合- lily bulb - 润肺
http://www.ytwed.com/TuPu/tupu_23009.html
lian zi 莲子 - lotus seeds

QQ, CO also likes tian, vain pot, i bought her to haircut. She told stylist, she wants shoulder length...refused to tie her hair now.

She also wants to play at home...messed around. She likes to draw and cut paper. Poor trees...

Starfruit,
Yuzhu is soft and light colour. The one that looks like short bark is dangshen which I think you cannot take.

Pax is right, Dong cong cao would be very good to bu if can coax Rae to drink.

rr/pax/star
i also hate dcc taste
yucks!
luckily YE drinks
hee

star
sometimes i try dcc with wolfberries
it is less yucky

pax
what is the proportion of those dried herbs in your chix soup?

SQ,
I love dcc! :p but everytime my mum makes for them will only leave abit for me, so sad. Actually I like all herbal stuffs. :D

SQ: compared to many other herbs, dcc has a very mild taste, how come u don t like?

QQ: I think all landed houses needs more maintenance than condos. Sigh.. That s why I told hubby we ll move into a condo next time when we re older, just pay maintenance fees and it s hassle free. Like our house, for the less than 2 yrs we re here, we ve painted it twice! And it needs another fresh coat of paint again.. :p the things we need to do is endless, sometimes we just close our eyes.

Pax: Yah, my Philly maid tells me the bugs we saw on the bamboo plants are quite common, that she s seen them on her plants back home too. And she also said these don t bite people normally. I dunno lah. Think the obes I saw in my bathroom is another species.

Star: the one herb preggies mustn t take is tian qi! Must remember. There are others which I don t know of.

Dcc: one other alternative for the fei4 is yu2 nan2. Not too ex. Can buy a big pack for 1k plus.. Can cook many times..

aa/SQ: it is not that teng needs so many classes.. more like i dunno which to give up coz he gets into the swing of things liao and i dunno what to do with him if he doesnt go for class.. haha. :p like today.. he is not well so never go little gym. he asks all day long.. unhappy not to be able to go :S

SO i decided to make sure of the time.. and i then decided to pressure Miser to start his chinese lessons on teng.. i think i need to teach him how to do lesson plans.. and have clear teaching objectives!! he told me after teaching teng one word.. 'wah. i canont be teacher leh. not easy'.. my reply.. 'now then u know...'.. hahah good chance to suan him!

anyway.. teng is not as bad as i thoght..
Miser gave him flashcards.. taught him 4 words.. '
人,天,大,上,.. aft going through 2 round of 'teach and read'.. u jumble up the cards.. he can pick up the corresponding words.. then i told miser to teach him how to write.. not too bad!

now i think of it.. chinese is easier to teach to read at this age.. coz memory.. it is a matter of more exposure...but english .. at least in the start is difficult coz got letter sounds and phonics.. and sometimes there are exceptions.. i am v lazy to teach phonics.. coz i can't do phonics myself! hahaha.. think the letter and word factory dvd are going to be v useful liao.. coz from there i realised teng has learn how to articulate letter sounds.. (i think GUG/PT was also useful in a sense...)
and also going to enrol teng in 'i can read'... hopefully the little pedagogical knowledge i have on teaching english can come in useful.... hopefully i can suceed in scaling them down to teaching such skills and by that i am assuming pedagogical knowledge is replicable in this context too..

star/ck: QQ already showed u the link to MPM.. that one not so critical. coz i looked at K1 maths..this book i bought from popular which has a detailed breakdown.. the first 4 units.. teng could do like 3-4 activities out of 7 activities already.. so just really need to focus him on writing. his strokes = terrible..:S

so in a nutshell.. i and miser cannot be lazy liao. given we made the decision to push him up to K1.. he starts going wed...

huingee: thank you

QQ: reading chinese story books to them is just one thing.. like reading english story books. kids these age have the ability to memorise the story lines.. and they take the visual cues from the pictures.. but they are not reading per se..they also make up their own stories at this age.. like teng that day. the big bad wolf he told me the name of the wolf is 'Jack'.. as in in Jack and bean stalk!.. ha.. amusing.. :p
writign even lesser.. so must do some activities with them.. i am going to teach Miser how plan lessons liao!!!.. haha.. finally something i can TEACH him to do.. whahahaha. *ego booster*

Astro,
Actually you can teach english and miser can teach chinese. Then maths is either one of you. No worries, only the start of K1.
1st of all must prepare him. Tell him he needs to go to the big kids class as he is a big kid too.

SQ: how did the LNT go for YH?
wanna go GUG class for both YHs together on sat afternoons.. after 3pm but before 5pm?
want to start YH on GUG liao. i was told the US brnach long waiting list liao.. only slot left is thursday 4pm..

huingee: ya.. i can also teach maths.. K1- K2 levels.. hahahah :p.. i realised teng can tell me given two numbers .. which is bigger/smaller.. so now thinking which of those.. can skip.. but this number bond is quite confusing.. hmm.. confusing because i dunno what its purpose is.. and if the relationship between numbers.. can apply to mutiplication or division or not. most likely it is supposed to work that way..
prep him liao. but think need more prep.. coz he still associates himself to the N2.. takes time i guess.

ops.. sala. i think number bonds are specifically for subtraction and addition nia..from a very quick research on the web.. but of course.. we know multiplication is the 'short cut' for addition..

this website with its related urls are v useful.. i think..
http://home-ed.info/maths/number_bonds.html
http://home-ed.info/maths/maths_toddlers.htm

read the second link on using legos/duplo in teaching maths in a play settings.. time to put that to good use! haha

ladies: i am reading on number bonds.. so pardon me for spamming.. i read these.. and i burst out laughing and continued laughing for a good 2 minutes when i read the very last line.. i tried explaning to miser why i am laughing.. but i can't do it coherently. hahaha.. really ridiculous to me..this image of teng struggling amonst this (300) apples avalanche just keeps coming to my mind!!! hahahaa.. *can die laughing*

"Familiarity with number bonds
So let's assume that your child is confident about the numbers that add up to ten (eg 9+1, 8+2 etc). He doesn't have to be able to do this in his head, necessarily - it's fine to use fingers, or cuisinaire rods, or lego pieces. Some children think in concrete ways, and there's really no reason why they shouldn't have something they can see to aid their memories or understanding. With home education, you can take mathematical understanding at your child's pace, after all.

But eventually he will probably want either to add some numbers for which he hasn't learned the number bonds. If he knows that 3+6 = 9, what can he do with 300+600? Or 33+66? Some chldren seem naturally to 'get' this kind of leap into higher numbers. To others, even the thought of three hundred apples is overwhelming, and they have no idea how to handle larger numbers

Astro
Ya I 1 2 send meimei for GUG
But Nw she's in LNt cos o logistics reasons

I wonder abt the quality o teachers at GUG Nw
Rem it was quite bad for a while

Aaa
Forgot to ans u:
I dun like the taste o soups
Any soupsthe ONI drink I like is plain water
It's my cure-all for everythg

Astro
Dun talk abt the kids
Even I find 300 apples overwhelming
Haha
Poor kids

SQ: how did yh react to LNT?
my yh for that three trials.. quite ok. but he keeps climbing onto the table to take a closer look.. something i am not used ..coz we know teng never did that...hahahah :p
i was the one who was v bored. coz nothing to do one.. always flashcards and songs.. eeks..

actually i do want to explore Julia Gabriel.. but past experience with this .. at least with customer svs.. is horrible..

how long wld u want to keep yh on LNT?

ya.. i laughed till i cannot make it.. the writer has such a sense of humour!
coz.. adults ALWAYS teach maths with apples !!!

'boy/girl.. one apple plus one apple gives u how many apples?'..

whahahaha. die laughing :p

SQ: did u have the metallic taste in ur mouth when u preggy? i remembered i cannot drink plain water when i had the taste.. and it actually made me quite miserable..
given that i am not exactly very on on plain water.. and it can make me so chiam.. i think for u .. would have been worse?

Astro
Told u Teng is smart. Sure can catch up.

SQ
2 to 3 strips yu zhu, abt 6pcs longan, baihe, red dates each. A handful of gouqizi (to ur liking). For 2 adults n 2 children. Brew w half chicken n abt 6 bowls of soup. Usually i use 2 drumstix n 4 chk wings.

Arigato pax!
I wil try for YE
Wahaha
Cos I always make for her n meimei
Nvr For myself

Astro
Yes! Nw tt y mentioned
Preg was gross cos every food and drink doesn't taste right!!!
So glad it was ovr n I dun 1 2 suffer again!

LNt is a difficult question
I was so lazy to type on my iPhone
(Nw still is)

Here it goes:

We will keep YE in LNT as long s she is happy n interested
Then since meimei wil b waiting for Jiejie, might s well let her attend since tey finally hv a class o the same timing
Else we wil b in NTuc a/w
N in my brother's words 'do u 1 her to memorize the prices o fruits n vegs every wk?!'

Then sat evening is YE's Kindermusik
Tey dun hv a OT at the same time for meimei's age, so we go shopg ONI
But this wil b YE's last term
Cos she has been ter for so long she finished every single syllabus n tey hv no more classes for her!
So we wil b free for sat aftn classes in April
But I hv the prob o cranky kids if tey dun nap!
So duno if I dare to put them in classes also, ESP my meimei

Sundays r out for us cos Hb works sometimes n I can't send tem to classes

Astro
Mimei is def Nt attentive in class
She wil scream for items b4 the teacher Finish explaining
Then she also climb up n down like monkey on the table
She is absolutely Nt int in flash cards n doesn't listen
She likes the singing n activity parts ONI
Which makes me More inclined to put her in Kindermusik n GUG/Julia Gabriel

Astro, teng can make it de. I think u can start lesson and he will b very steady.
I teaching tian to write a bit of chi. Today, vomit blood.
Story reading is much better. Just expose her to more words and one day she kai1 qiao4 then can learn v fast.

Sq, we also I interested to send will to gug next time. See how. If my new job allows,
Otherwise this will can attend cheap playgroup nearby cause he is not as choosy and tian.

Ck, co also hiao2 la. Cannot stand them le. But star is right, it is more fun to dress up and play at home mah. Reading and writi g no fun de.

Pax, I also hope if I dun teach tian, she also can write n read well. Then I save time and effort.

Astro: I showed Anna those 4 chi characters. She read the first 3 correctly, and the final one she read as xia4. :p

Pax, Astro: Agree the children are "reading" from memory. Anna could read the hungry little caterpillar to Ariel! Haha!!

YY,
my aunt ask me to use those eggs box to show K wat combination = 10.
ie: 8 + 2 =10
7 + 3 = 10
5 + 5 = 10
this will help, you might want to try this.

am reading some websites now on pre-school, toddler milestones in general.. suddenly have this strange mixed feeling of 'not so secure but still slightly positive' in me.. haha... i am not sure if u ladies understand what i am saying.. in other words. i am uncertain how teng can fare.. some things i read.. teng can do already.. and i go 'yes!'.. some cannot.. i go into a pensive mood.. for a while..
an article on Academic Pediatricians's website.. in particular send me thinking.. am i right in sending teng to kindergarten one year younger?..
the following paragraph suggests yes.. but then say for the first 3 or 4 years. there had been some evidence that the youngest tend to fall behind. but aft that they catch up... but if they remain the oldest.. they might have adolescene problems.. i dunno which is the lesser evil..

i can only try my best and pray..

"Some parents consider purposefully delaying their child's entrance into kindergarten. They believe that their child may gain some advantage and be more likely to succeed in academics, athletics, or social settings if she is older than average for her grade. Delaying school entry in order to obtain some advantage is not necessarily a winning strategy. Although there is some evidence that being among the youngest in a class may cause some academic problems, most of these seem to disappear by the third or fourth grade. On the other hand, there is evidence that children who are old for their grade are at significantly greater risk of behavior problems when they reach adoles­cence.

"

SQ: Paiseh.. It's not yu nan, it's hua1 jiao1.

QQ: I think it's easier to recognise chinese words than english ones, altho when it comes to writing, it's the other way round.

pax:
i am a bit more relieved liao.. coz i merely suggested to miser.. 'shall we go and buy some lego and teach teng some multiplication ...(then i rattle off the possible ways from the website...)'.. he straight away ..'yes'..
woo-hoo! then we came back with a 600 pieces plus! coz miser $50 plus dollars :p:p
hahahha. but i regret now. coz i forgot i got a mini vaccum cleaner at home at this age... chiam.. :S .. miser then say.. 'go and get the bigger one lor (duplo)'.. wah. so generous. better buy.. :p

i tried getting teng to mimic and copy one set of legos bricks i did..(which needs to be identical in all aspects, size, colour, orientation)... he was able to until like 8 pieces.. then he lost focus liao. quite good.. read this off from a website. but can't recall which one. just thought wanted to try with teng..

SQ: ur brother hor! hahaha.. but hey .. if YH can memorise the prices.. she's gifted! seriously.. i doubt ur brother can memorise the prices wor.. u shd use that as a retort..

wah. kindermusik no more syllabus for ye.. hmmm. consider starting her on an instrument? since she loves music..

ya.. i can only conclude.. our two kids share many similiarities except in gender.. both the older ones are much easier to handle then the energetic and boisterous 2nd ones!!

just to share.. just now i went ot buy myself a gong cha while the rest of the two kids to carrefour to buy yogurt.. i was told by ellie then YH went up to the auntie who was cooking something.. and shouted mama! mama!mama!.. the auntie told yh was so endearing and wanted to carry him.. then yh protested and screamed mama!.. i was amused.. now i think of it.. hahaha. yh was asking the auntie where i was?! .. hahah.. teng at the same age.. would just stick to miser and wont venture anywhere! hahah.

Sq, so i analyse ur situation.. it seems like.. having a class might be better than having no class on sat aft? coz seems like it is already in YE's routine.. not yet for yh.. so if ye suddenly dun have a class to attend.. will she make u go berserk staying at home? or keep going out shopping, again? :p:p

i tried going to JG website.. the more i read their classes i sigh.. all weekeday classes.. i can't lah. unless i quit.. maybe.. since i have the intention liao? :S..
but perfect for u!

GUG has a long waiting list.. but i think i would call up and ask.. i do want to start YH on some speech. teng, whom i consider as not v fast, was faster in linguistic than yh! yh is 'saved' coz he is fearless, curious.. and always on the go nia.. :S
but this chap is observent.. shows once, he gets it the next time.. better than teng.. hehe..
ops. i am comparig too much.. betwen the two boys.. i shan't do that .. i try :p

so if i managed to get a slot for GUG on sat aft. i let u know.. and then i spy for u.. when they have vacanices.. i sms u immediately.. i choped slots for u first.. hahahah . i darn kiasi.. :p

kaexin: what a great idea! yeap.. shd try that.. i read 'maths is in everyday life'.. i wasn't convinced.. maybe i shd.. hahaha ..

QQ/AA: great! haha.. we can't afford to be lazy anymore!

QQ: i read.. so that i have a rough guage of things that teng can work towards to.. then i wun be hitting in the dark..
as for a choice or not.. by wed when teng start K1. i 'wun have a choice' anymore

but boy is sick.. darn.. haiz..

Haha Astro
Las time when YE started GUG, tey also hv a long waitlist
Then the list got shorter n shorter
Either cos The quality gets worse
Or tey hv more classes
Or parents get less On s the kids get older!
Haha

Astro
Actually it's nice to go for classes in e am
Then pm go for a walk in the park or gardens
Also canlearn thgs wan
I dun 1 tem to ONI learning classroom Settings
But their daddy is so lazy tt I m scared we wil land up in the shopping centers again!!

Astro, my ah wil is diff to ah tian. Tian s response much faster and can communicate better. Ah will is happy go lucky type. Everyday also smile smile and complain complain when not happie.

AAA,
Hua jiao as in "花胶" (fish maw)? That is for warming of the stomach. Bu for those with gastric or stomach problem. It helps in blood circulation and good for skin too, collagen.
I think effect not the same as dcc bah.

yy,
my aunt was asking me to try this out as she is after all a prof in math. will take her words for it that it does help K in her maths! it seems the trainees teacher nowadays are using more creative ways of taching maths as compared to our time. forgotten to tell you u might want to use ping pong to illustrate the numbers.

CK,
hope your mom is not too unsettled by her condition. be there for her and help her go thru it together.
earlier i had a call from my dad, who is worried abt my new job and whether i am coping. then he told he juz recovered from flu. lost his voice and was on the antibiotics too. suddenly felt so bad that i am not there for him. i cooked some kekwa tea too. too bad, my dad so far away, otherwise, wld have love to brg him some.

star,
hope Rae is feeling beta today. after we got home, gave K milk and panadol. made her sleep at 9+ then i chk at 10, she is ok. woke up at 8am this morning, all ready to play. and after her afternoon nap, sign her up for ballet too!

dman. i lost my post..

Astro
it's a gd start for Teng w lego. reading ur observations of Teng, u made the right decision to push him to K1. he's smart. he'll pick up a lot fr school. i dun think u need to worry or stress him too much. 顺其自然. let him learn at his pace.

the only thing i think u need him to work on is FINE motor skills. do this w him. put into a bowl, some beans of different colours (red, green, yellow). green is the smallest, yellow is the biggest. ask him to separate the beans into the 3 small bowls. he will need to work his forefinger and thumb. these 2 fingers r the most impt for writing. i find that girls tend to prefer activities that work their fine motor skills. i think that's partly the reason why most girls learn to hold a pencil the proper way earlier and write. this is fr my observation at Semipi music class of the boys and girls n my obs of M & Jo. at the same age, Jo starts writing earlier. M only picked up after he joined Jo at CCC N2.

other activities u can do is sorting out lego pieces and threading cards. u can do ur own thread cards. this will b gd for YH later. print some colour pictures and paste on a cardstock or vanguard. cut out the shapes and punch holes all round. get those shoelaces and teach Teng to thread them thru the holes in any pattern. this activity help them to focus and work on finger skills.

btw Lego is gd for developing a child - math, creativity, colours etc etc. it's a good investment that can be passed down to generations. i hv my old set fr 30yrs ago! M & Jo r playing w them nw.

Astro
one more thing. to help Teng learn to hold a pencil correctly, either buy triangular pencils (i hv one but Jo hates it) or pencil grips that can be slotted over a normal pencil. those pencil grips shld preferably be triangular shaped. can find at popular.

QQ: oh. iforgot to add.. PT is good.. trust me.. tian's in good hands

i didn't choose it for no apparaent reason. i actually analysed their curriculum :p when i went the first time.. i asked to see it!
and i like the systematic and detailness i saw ..

and hor. i find they do more creative stuff with Teng than LV :S.. teng last time got concert.. this LV needs to wait till K2 then have.. sian..

Kaexin: wow.. prof in maths?! ha... then this one method better try.. (tomorrow egg cartons all out of stock liao..).. heh.

Pax:hmmm.. are u referring to the 'dynamic tripod grip'? i read about this sometimes back. coz ya.. one impt milestone they hit is mastering the dynamic tripod grip.. i seen a fren.. incidentally same DOB as u and miser.. he was still using the static tripod grip
http://www.getreadyforschool.com/preschool/pencil_grip.htm

then i read on and saw the recommended toys.. one of them is the lacing activity u recommended! ok. i go and do them soon :p cheaper than buynig the toys.. ha
i saw LV getting the nursery to do them. PT also got teng to do. i was like.. 'wah liew.. now still do threading? hand-eye coordination still???'.. now i know liao.. i see..
then i got play-doh, lego.. tomorrow going to get teng an upright easel! hahaha.. :p

googled preschool fine motor skill activites. here r some which r simpler that we can do w our kids.

-Rolling play dough into tiny balls using the palms of the hands facing each other and using only the finger tips.
-Cut out shapes from cardboard (circle, square, etc.) and let your child trace them.
-Using toothpicks to make designs in play dough.
-Give your preschooler pair of tweezers. Provide two bowls with small items. Challenge them to get all the items from one bowl to another using only the tweezers.
-Tearing newspaper into strips and then crumpling them into balls.
-Lacing and sewing activities such as stringing beads. (macaroni is a cheap alternative)
-Play with Legos, miniature cars, small blocks, action figures, and other small toys.
-Working puzzles
-Rolling small balls out of tissue paper, then gluing the balls onto construction paper to form pictures or designs.
-Scissor activities

some fr this website too..
http://www.education.com/reference/article/Ref_Ready_Fine_Motor/
this page said - •Scrunching up 1 sheet of newspaper in one hand. This is a super strength builder.

QQ: PT does the tweezer activity with teng last time.. teng's fav.. (look at pax's post , item 4)..wah.. i am so thankful i found PT.. hahaha. now i wonder.. had i leave teng there for a longer time.. maybe he would be much better :S

PAx: i have play dough.. tweezer and such. tearing newspaper, scissor.. all are teng's fav activities!!

tomorrow also can get some macoroni.. and paint them.. again. i saw this in PT before.. ha...

Astro
let me observe M & Jo. i think Jo is still on static tripod grip. i tried to correct her. nt sure if she got it.
at the church kindy that M used to attend, they spent a lot of time in N1, N2 doing fine motor skill activities. i was puzzled at first, but the teacher explained that these activities are impt for them to develop the finger and hand dexterity.
Jo loves to cut and tear paper! u shld try w Teng. i got her to tear shapes - triangle, square, rectangle. of cos, after that, she helped to pick up the scraps and pieces into the recycle bag.

astro
get Teng to help. buy a big tweezer. put out some paint in plastic egg cartons. get him use the tweezer to drop the macaroni pieces into the paint, then pick them up again using the tweezer and put them on a plastic sheet to try. shld be fun!

Pax: teng is using the dyamic tripod grip. but no strength one :S or too forceful.. sometimes he lean his body forward to see where to continue for line tracing. i think i need to do something about his posture or orientating his eyes to his hands.. i just turned a corner with a computer table to his work corner!

yep.. i was told the same thing by the LV teachers coz i commented that teng dun like to write yet.. the teacher said. it is ok. coz N2.. they start to spend more time usingthe pencil.. paint etc.. so build up for writing..

yeap. teng's fav too! last time we used to have so many paper scraps floating around :S till ellie came up with a 'brillant' idea to get teng to cut into a container.. hahaha.. :p

come to think of it.. i don't remember doing all these. i just learned and went to K! and adapted immediately.. i dun even have nursery!