(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

"Compulsory Education
Under the Compulsory Education Act, Singapore citizens born after 1 January 1996 and residing in Singapore are required to attend national primary schools regularly. Thus, a child born between 2 January 2004 and 1 January 2005 has to be registered at the 2010 Primary One Registration Exercise for admission to Primary One in January 2011."

what this doesn't say is.. if teng has a choice to be enrolled in 2014.
aiya. think i wld email the compuslory education dept for a response! :S

Astro: Erm... You did not commit any crime! Cos Pre schooling is not compulsory.. But yes, Teng shd be in K 1 this year. Or he ll join P1 without having gone to K2.

AA: if this is the case.. tomorrow i am going to speak to the Principal.. (i hope i will be able to sound that i am not pointing fault.. but need an urgent case to transfer to K1?).. haiz.. what am i going to tell teng?

'sorry teng. ur mama doesn't know how to count.. so. i wun blame u if u fail ur counting 1 - 10 test..'.. haiz!

kaexin: with the usual astro drama.. can even hit 2 pages in one day!

mejo/RR/AA: i can't believe what a wu long i am!IF there isn't a choice and teng has to be in 2013! .. *shake head in dispair!*

Astro: The lang is stronger now. It is "has to be registered" vs "may be registered"..

The 2014 enrollment will include children born between 2 Jan 07 and 1 Jan 08. 1 Jan 07 is categorically included in the 2013 registration.

Astro: Wha! Luckily you found out now.. Its not too late.. Tell Teng he's a smart boy that's why the teachers want him to join a new class.

AA: ya. the lang is stronger now :S
darn.. tomorrow def i need to go to the P.. how cld they be not aware?! *stunned*.. damn..

then i just send an email to the complusory education dept.. and if they dun reply me. i go and call up direct

QQ: think u might see teng at PT for the 'enrichment' class liao :S

yvonne: u bet.. i am stumped beyond words.. if there is no choice.. then i am the greatest sotong man!and to think i thought i was still ..'ahead'.. wah liew eh. what a joke! astro.. as always!

i think kaexin meant the link i posted instead..

astro
heh! u steady leh!! actually i thot i knew 1 jan kids gotta join the earlier cohort for sure... until u 'convinced' me otherwise! i thot u really knew ur stuff when u mentioned b4 that teng has a choice!! alamak!! =S

but i still think teng will have no prob adapting to k1 now... he's better than u make him out to be la... plus he is definitely more mature than many kids his age. dun worry abt it..

astro, u dun have a choice?
alamak.. dun stress ah.
it is still EARLY to find out.... what if u find out only when he was about to go p1? then u kana police case liao? haha!
relax, and stay cool.

jan thread got 1 jan baby?

YY,
don't worry, think you can still opt for 2014 cohort but have to write in.

"With the implementation of the Compulsory Education Act, children born between 2 Jan and 1 Jan (both dates inclusive) have to be registered for admission to Primary One. If you wish to defer your child’s entry into Primary One, you would have to write in to the Compulsory Education Unit using the prescribed deferment form available from

http://www.moe.gov.sg/ce/"

YY,
but of cos if LV can put him in K1 now, then it's kind of making the decision for you liao. You don't have to consider, just go ahead for the 2013 cohort.

astro: dun stress lah, at least u find out now, still have time to rectify this mistake. Hey actually i did wonder how come u never let Teng join PN a yr earlier too :p. Is there a hotline u can call at MOE to find out?

Astro ya same sentiment as Joelle. Anyway i guess it is not too late. Dun worry. I believe those whoare born on 31 Dec 2006 is not any way advance than Teng rite? So dun panic.

AAA, yesterday we were talking about drinking from cup rite. Last nite Clyde surprised me by telling me he wants to drink from the cup while we were watching tv. So i put his milk into two cup cos the cup are quite small for 270ml milk. Then i told him i will buy him a big cup next time. Guess what is his reply. He said then it will be too heavy for him to hold. *faint* wah feel so happy that he volunteer to drink from cup.

astro: i think u need to assess with LV in terms of ciriculum, how much does it differs between N and K1. Cos i understand that they do a lot more academic work in K1 as compared to N. If required, need to see how to transit him to K1. If not, may be disastrous! (of cos i may be exagerating here)

Astro,
I think Teng can blend in the K1 class, just give him maybe 1 or 2 mths he can catch up. If you feel not enough, then you enrol him for enrichment classes like Berries, Tien xia, Hua lang, I can read, British council etc. There are so many enrichment centre near you.

Germaine: Wow! He can read your mind!
Good start. He's still drinking a lot of milk hor? No wonder his cup is too small. Both Anna and Ayden drink 120ml 2 times a day only. Ayden sometimes have another 120ml but rarely so..

Astro: You must be quite angry, and rightly so. But tell yourself what's done is done. Look forward. At least you find out now. And on the good side, if you have no choice, then you won't have to go back and forth thinking over this issue anymore.

Ok now let me tell you all a funny thing meimei did this morning.. Ayden was quietly eating biscuits. Ariel walked over to him, snatched a piece of biscuit from his plate, walked back a few steps, turned around at him, bent herself forward a little, pulled a face at him and went "yaya yeye ta ttadadata"... ! As if saying "you cannot catch me.." Hahahah!!!

Super funny!

astro: add on to Huignee's suggestion. best if if LV can assist to transit him, cos they know they syllabus best! anyway a least u caught this at the start of this yr.. so technically he should have enuff time to catch up.

Kaexin, this P1 talk is generating buzz in our thread, its finally moving at super speed once again.

Astro: Hey, don't worry too much over the transition. Like I say, it's still early to find out. Children their age has a super-scale learning capacity. Don't underestimate him. Stay positive yourself so you can encourage him on.

AAA: our kids are so cute.. rae also very sweet yesterday, she was drinkin her milk on sofa and daddy was sitting next to her. Then daddy left to go to the kitchen, i was sitting on a seperate chair away from her. She asked me to join her on the saofa. I said "its ok, daddy will come back and i don;t want to take his seat", she frown, and then she said to me "I love you mummy" and proceed to pat on the sofa indicating for me to go over. Aiyo, how can i refuse to sit with her when she already say "I love mummy!"..hahah
For my case, its super sweet.. heheh

Astro
U make me laugh leh! Wahaha :p sorry ah, just find you so cute n funny. Keke. Actually I m quite sure Teng will be allowed to join 2014 cohort. Just a matter of sorting out administratively.

Hey another thought came to my mind. It may be better for u if Teng join 2013 because our 2007 kids are born in Golden Pig year so getting into P1 may be a lot more competitive in 2014! So if join 2013, u no need do PV and higher chance of getting into the school u want?

Astro,
But i think you can teach Teng english and miser can teach Teng chinese. But dun know miser have time or not.
Heehee, then also u go popular and grade the assessment books for K1 and K2.
Talk to his teacher and see how. Also try to call moe to check.

Star: Yah, they're super duper cute! This meimei is esp so cos she's so young, and you'll think she isn't capable of pulling out such a trick on her elder brother! Haha!!

The things they do..

Another thing my meimei did.. She saw that anna was about to sit down on a chair, but anna was focused on looking in front at the tv, meimei pulled the chair away and anna fell while sitting down. Then meimei laughed!

See! I think she's a monster in the making..

Aaa
Ur meimei is so funny
U shd record tem Down!
Hey post her latest pics leh

Astro
Dun underestimate Teng
He wil catch up de

Aiyo Huingee/Germ
Nw k1 also hv assess bks n wksheets?!
*faint*

SQ,
Haha, nursery also have. But i hor, buy liao also didn't ask Esther to do. Haven't get P1 yet cos i not yet get popular card. Must keep her occupy or else now keep calling me say she miss me and want me to be at home.
Dylan very cute, since last sunday i gave him book to trace A, B, C and yesterday he did many pages himself. Also called me to tell me he did till letter H. Cos his sch taught him and every friday will pass the worksheet he did at sch to let parents go thru with them.
But Dylan still can't hold pencil properly, need more practise.

star,
No need feel guilty lah. I only let Dylan trace the letters cos his kindy start liao. His kindy quite on one, i like the idea of seeing his worksheet everyweek.

Star, SQ, YY

I joined K1 late because of poor health and maybe because of my mom, dunno why exactly. In any case, that time we have workbook and everything! We learn to write English and Chinese characters. In fact, the level is higher than P1. By the time I reached P1, I felt bored cuz i've already learnt everything. It is strange that we seem to think stuffs are hard nowsaday but I remember it being as tough if not tougher last time. Though I agree that the Maths is crazy now but language wise, about the same. One Kindergarten P said to me, "we have no workbooks or worksheets in school because sooner or later, you will buy them anyway." !!!! Haha.

mejo, yah i agree. I feel sch no need to provide workbook and worksheet. Sch should just teach. so text book is impt. The rest let parents decide wat to buy and anything dunno how to do, will ask teacher from there. So parents got no excuse to say wat they teach in sch is not enough and teachers will constantly get in touch with wat the assessment book is providing. Else we always find the sch in their own la la land.

astro, what i can think of maybe teng might thank u, or his wife might because she dun need to wait for many years for teng to graduate (if she is same age as teng or older).
u get what i mean? got some advantage. haha!

go lunch first.

Mejo: Other than Maths, even the languages are more difficult now. Previously, we were exposed to Hanyu Pinyin at a much later age. Now, I believe they start teaching in P1! Also, we start by learning the simple 人, 头, 口, 手 etc in P1. Now, this is what they teach in pre-nursery!
For English, we did compres, compos and cloze passages in P3, 4 or 5? Can't remember, now they have to do it at P1! And thing is, it is assumed the children already possess the skills to do these when they start at P1. :p
So altho it is still the same language being taught, the level of difficulty has increased.

autum/ladies: i can't imagine this is happening to ME! i mean i pride myself on being aware and such.. and this MOE can pull this fast one on me ..:S how utterly embarrasing!!!! argh

i have this reply:
Dear Madam

We refer to your email below.

As your child is born on 1 Jan 2007, he will be due for Primary One in 2013.

--------------

but RR managed to bring out the deferrment issue. i read the document.. can defer but must write in lah.. so still.. back to 'sq 1'..

i just forwarded the email to miser.. we see how he reacts..

ok.. one pt at a time.. let me answer the posts.. wah.. SO interesting hor? :S

Kaexin: today might just be the day when it will be two pages into the archive in one day.. :S

AAA,

人, 头, 口, 手 in pre-nursery? YT's kindy don't teach any writing or even reading at pre-nursery level. I dunno about pre-nursery but I think I did learn those words at K1, not P1. My K1 and K2 workbook is more chim than P1 workbook. Last time i study at PAP kindy.

Mejo aaa
The gals are learning all this in n1... There is more diffcult ones like 鞋子,葡萄 ,太阳 ect... Lucky there is big pic to refer, if not some I don Noe how to read la! But they are not able to read or write these words yet... The teachers told mi the kids must be able to write n recognize their own Chinese name at k1... Imagine bel n sam writing 鐘嫣嬣 鐘欣潼 ... I will die first... Cos I don even remember how to write... Always need to use Hp to search the words...

Aaa,

Yr mei mei really up to mischief wor... Haha think she learn fr her siblings, possible? Else Hw to get attention fr u leh?

Astro,

Hehe, teng got choice lah, up to u n miser only.

RR,

Guess we r e few mummies who r poly wor... I studied in poly but I played real hard too, I rem I waa always e one to start planning for outing program aft e last paper! Haha got motivation to study mah else sian...

Mist: My meimei was not trying to get my attention when she did those things.. She did it out of playfulness (and mischief :p). She loves to play with jiejie and korkor.. But she is able to turn the table around to disturb and kacau them instead..

And she gets loads of my attention, she doesn't need to try..

AAA: ur mei mei is very clever leh and very playful too.. hahaha is she the most jovial one amongst your three?? hey will u go for #4?

Today i was thinking if i will go for #3.. sigh.