(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Wah... U all score veri well in everything... My biggest worry is this pri n sec sch thing... I will leave it to fate ba.. Can't think much.. Cos mi myself not veri clever... I also don noe Which sch to sent them to... I believe the start is important ... If wrong sch, wrong teacher n wrong friends, Jia lat... How clever also goes into the drain...

QQ,

tt's y I purposely give 1 Jan a miss for my #2... though I can opt for tt date to deliver.. Haha make it a convenient decision for rest of e time

Mist: i dunno if teng will be 'ahead' per se.. coz already as we all know.. teng is not the fastest kid on the block.. what i can't say is.. how he will turn out in future.. i like him to be comfortable.. and yes. giving up and worse.. getting turned off in the process..

QQ: yeap.. i get what u mean.. so who makes the choice? for him?,. me? or the irritating father who is clicking away on his shutter at me! wah. i pissed off with miser now.. here i am .. vexed over the issue.. he not gan cheong.. till i forced him to show me the 2km on the radar.. then he do.. got the cheek to go and ask me to recee those 2km then he select.. too much wor!.. *boiling*.. and v irritating the stupid shutter snapping!

v honestly.. are the march thread folks lucky not to have this 'problem'? :S

QQ,
last time no Innova. Think it only came up in recent years.

Mist,
hi-5. I also chose to go to a poly cos I could only go to the last few JCs. Didn't want that. And it turned out the 3 yrs in poly were the best years of my schooling days. :D

yvonne: the view u have is.. the evironment is of utmost importance.. and yes. esp when we know how suceptible they are to peer pressure..

mist: u reminded me.. though the waterbag broke on 1st jan.. by right , had i not intervened with the vaccum.. teng ought to be 2nd jan kid... is that a sign or something?? his EDD was actually on 3rd jan...

RR: i forgot to comment on the 'payback' time :p
hahaha.. cute leh.. u 'reap what u sow'.. hahaha.. kidding lah.. but good mah.. at the very least u know it is a matter of being selective.. and ur own good example goes to show that.. Reyden isn't worse off def! :p

RR'mist: poly education is good.. coz if u can go to Uni from poly.. u are v v SOLID.. coz it takes the top 3 percent from .. i can't remember.. combined or per poly to get to U.. so hor.. they are really v good.. creme de la creme.. this is supported by the industry feedback.. miser being one of them.. (still irritatingly clicking on the shutter though i have already snapped at him! )

Astro
Ya lor... Veri important.... And my Sis told mi to observe the primary kids goes to sch... If they are happily running to sch , den meaning they look forward to sch... If those dragging their feet and sad face, forget about it... I know wad she mean, cos I was dragging my legs to sch last time... I hate my pri sch... The teachers don give us attention...

Qq
I also won't do pv.... I don think there is a need la... Unless the sch is those famous sch ....

YY,
it was very bad ... I didn't get anywhere in my studies. I only had fun and nothing else in poly. :p I definitely hope Reyden won't be like me. haha!!

RR: but u know. in the end. it evens out.. u are not worse off in any sense.. may be a v remote feeling of 'if i had...'.. but i think the fun from ur post.. outweighed that faint 'if i had ...'...

YY,
oh, I never thought of the "if I had ..." or regret the path I chosen cos I would say I'm very contented/happy with what I have now. Things would definitely be different if I chose another path.

teng yesterday had little gym.. when he used to be hesitent.. and needed again to be dragged into class.. he jumped off my lap yesterday and dashed into the gym.. all alone with his teacher, all eager to start! no more sulking.. no more brooding. no more crying!
SO then u go.. i am hesitating again. coz if something like gross motor challenges teng eventually comes round to like it.. my son ain't that bad cognitively right?

sorry laides.. i need to 'write out' my thoughts..

Astro
U are not wrong to spy... Cos I helped my Sis to look out for students from those primary sch she wan to enroll her daughter... Ai ya, end up she enroll her in river valley... :s

yvonne: maybe coz my own experience.. tells me.. sometimes.. what we see is a facade.. those extra projects yada yada ---> all done by teachers... :S

aiya..
extracted from kiasu parents..
<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Choose schools where parents were ex-students, or where siblings are currently or have been studying in. Unless the school is too out of the way, this is the best choice that parents can make if they want a hassle and stress-free registration process.
<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

why didn't my mother line up earlier to let me go Pei Chun? then now. i dun have to think. go toa payoh lor.. no big deal! argh..
maybe i shd think of sending teng to tampines.. :p

wah. my primary school is now a SAP school? wah.. maybe i shd send teng then..then ask miser to move to the east! my sis also from poi ching.. hahah :p

SQ,
if i only have 50% of your determination and diligence. i wldnt be talking to you now :p

QQ,
i have been a gd student in primary school but when i was in sec school, i became such a lazy student and by the time SPM result was out. i was so in total REGRET!

astro, spy ??
oh yes, can i join?

jay had been spying tian at PT last time. and he kept questionig me how come i never spy there when i was having my maternity leave. i told him i wanna zzz la.
i think jay is quite gancheong about schooling de.
he did not enjoy his sec school at all because he was forced to leave his friends and study there. *another example of parents making choice for the kid*

as for me, actually my parents gave me a choice. i chose the path i wanted. so i did not blamethem or regret etc. i was lucky in this sense because my brother was the fail example and they said they dun want me to follow his path.

yvonne, yes i agree with u. friends are important too.. peers...
the nearest to u is fuchun pri. can walk there, so convenient.

yvonne,
RV is deft a gd school and they are also no need to worry when it cmes to Sec 1

your sis must have put a lot of thots in RV. also not ez to get in to RV.

kaexin, so bad??
my spm still ok, though not v fantastic, but i din really study la. i was so playful then.
no regrets again, because i did not use the results to enter U at all.

astro, root yourself in woodlands bah. go tampines for wat leh?

Too many post to catch up..

Astro: Before you consider, are u sure you re given s choice to choose which year Teng joins? Or is it stated all jan1 bbs join the earlier year? Think I brought this up before, can t remember the answer.

AA: when i ask the LV teachers. they say they weren't sure of such a priviledge!

but let me qoute u something from the MOE webpage.. i think it is the P1 signup for 2011..

Age Requirement
Children born between 2 January 2004 and 1 January 2005 (both dates inclusive) may be registered for Primary One Classes in 2011.

QQ: let's find a day to go spying..
coz my primary school was there.. SAP somemore.. almost confirmed entrnace.. my sister also from there..

QQ,Astro: Let me point out the difference in Qq s bro case. Cos I was in a similar situation. Difference is, from form 5 to sec 1 he leaves behind all his friends who will do to form 6 together. For Teng s case, after K2, all the children go to a new school and start to make new friends in the pri school. So the diff is not as large. If Anna is a 1 Jan Bb, I would have let her join the earlier year ler.. The diff is only that she ll start the Pre nursery earlier one year earlier. Thereafter, she ll progress as part of the cohort that she belongs to until after K2, she joins P1. No difference. She s not leaving behind all her friends and singly go onto another class. Know what I mean?

Kaexin astro Rr
Rv is her pri sch mA.. So easy to go in... But my niece not in sg now... They still in hk la! Rv is in boon lay now... Too out of way too!

Eee, I don really like fuchun..

I might just register using grand parents house address n get sch at woodland pri or woodland ring... Or maybe Innova... Cos they will go there after sch... I join them dinner at inlaw house... No need to go student care...

AA: but now for teng.. he would have to leave N2.. to go join K1.. the new cohort.. so.. in a sense.. he is not 'together'.. aiya.. have i made amistake to enrol him 'late' in nursery instead? :S
shucks..

AAA,
Teng should refer to the "cut-off" date. The 2013 registration is from 2nd Jan 2006 to 1st Jan 2007.

YY,
oh ... ya. So Teng should be in the 2013? Can choose?

Astro
Don stress, since he is in n2 now, let him go with the flow... No point forcing him... U cant make him write n read just overnight... He will be more stress den u!

Astro: This means, if it remains the same at that time, that the registration will read "
Age Requirement
Children born between 2 January 2006 and 1 January 2007 (both dates inclusive) may be registered for Primary One Classes in 2013."

I think don't go too far for school. The poor kid will end up first one up on bus and last one down home. As for friends or not, I think it depends on character. i don't care where my friends have gone or chosen to go when I choose my school. I just go according to my own wishes. My mom didn't make any choices for me. My BIL wanted to stay with his friends and lamented every step of the way. But his results are good and his friends', not so good. Can't be extending his education along with them.

I think YT is quite similar to me in terms of social disconnectedness or is it really ineptness? Haha. I don't foresee that as a problem anyway and she being so stubborn and argumentative, i don't think i can control her much. In any case, i still feel that education and values at home are way more important than school. As an educator, I have seen too many cases where the kid end up 'bad' or have bad results due to family issues. Sometimes, above and beyond all things, it can just boil down to that. Having a loving family. A family that is supportive.

Now as for "self-directed" learning. i don't believe I've learn any other way! Okay, traditional teachers will be unhappy with me of course, but seriously, no thanks to the teachers. :/

wah liew eh.. what a wu long! then this miser can still laugh . i dunno if it is at me or what.. i dunno if can choose or not!
wah liew. banned LV.. they dunno?! what is this? :S

shucks. i am so going to lose sleep over it :S
miser says.. 'teng is borned at 1152pm leh.. that critical.. police will come and catch u if u dun enrol him in 2013?'..
wah.. i seriously dunno to laugh or to cry! :S

yvonne,
went to chk out the link you posted. according to it, these are the 3 BEst schools in PG. but their ranking are all the same, but PIL prefer Mee TOH as it more religious school ??

EDGEFIELD PRIMARY SCHOOL
GREENDALE PRIMARY SCHOOL
MEE TOH SCHOOL

really will get caught by police.. :S

False Information
Any parent found to have provided false information during the Primary One Registration Exercise will be referred to the Police for investigation. A child who is successfully registered in a school based on false information given will be transferred to another school with available vacancies after all eligible children have been registered

Astro: Unless there s a change in policy or a mistake on the MOE website, the teachers at LV ought to know such impt things ler. Esp since there is one such child! :p

Your miser has a sense of humor like the Aussies.

YY,

Haha, I think the false information refer to the address!

Anyway, pre-school education is not compulsory wor. Furthermore, I don't know about LV but YT's school hardly even teach writing for the K1 and K2. Oh well. So I bought her writing book and let her do self-directed learning lar. :p