(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

talking about school, a fren of mine who is teacher was telling me that school fees for sec and primary can actually no need to pay. cos govt suppose to ensure that all children are educated to sec level mah. So school practically can do nothing if students refuse to pay school fees. hahaha..

My meimei, she's kicking and throwing balls now.. She's really quite fast right? And she's dancing to music.. When she hears a familiar music (ie Mickey Mouse Clubhouse or Pocoyo or the likes of these), she will raise her hands and bend and straighten her knees to go with the music..
And when she hears Twinkle Twinkle little star, she will open and close her fingers - to do the twinkle twinkle action..

Starfruit,
SAP schools have special programmes, they take Higher Mandarin Mother Tongue. Several subjects may be taught in the mother tongue as well.

The cut off to get in a SAP depends on individual schools but think minimally 250 or maybe even higher now.

The SAP schools list:
Anglican High School
Catholic High School
CHIJ Saint Nicholas Girls' School
Chung Cheng High School (Main)
Maris Stella High School
Nan Chiau High School (from Jan 2012 onwards)
Nan Hua High School

These 4 should be under IP schools.
Dunman High School
Hwa Chong Institution
Nanyang Girls' High School
River Valley High School

SQ: Pls lah... Do you think if you had that 3 more marks, that it would change anything?
Which is how I feel sometimes.. That our (erm.. our kids' ) future is planned already. But this doesn't mean we don't strive to become better lah..
I'm contradicting myself..

AAA,
those you mentioned are in the through-train route programme mah. RGS also ... So not under the SAP school list.

AAA,
through-train route won't be sitting for O levels. They will go to affiliated JCs and do their A levels straight.

AAA,
yes, that is called the Integrated Programme.

List of schools offering Integrated Programme:
Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)
Dunman High School
Hwa Chong Institution
Nanyang Girls' High School
National Junior College
NUS High School of Mathematics and Science
Raffles Girls' School (Secondary)
Raffles Institution
River Valley High School
Temasek Junior College
Victoria Junior College

Hmmm ... seems like Nanyang Girls, HJI, Dunman High and River Valley have integrated programme too. So maybe they shouldnt be in the SAP school list as well.

Read this:

From 2012, seven new schools will offer the Integrated Programme, bringing the total to 18.

A new junior college will be built in 2017, to serve students from three of the schools.

The seven schools are Victoria School, Cedar Girls' Secondary, Methodist Girls' School, St Joseph's Institution, Catholic High School, CHIJ St Nicholas Girls' School and the Singapore Chinese Girls' School.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1078485/1/.html

I wonder if they will do away with O Levels eventually. Maybe many many years later. :D

Aaa
Sometimes I Thk it won't change thgs
Then I find it so silly tt I get stressed by pri sch registrations when there r more thgs in life to worry abt

But sometimes I wonder if the 3 points would change my destiny cos it would mean a different set o frens I hv n grow up with n mix with
So I really dunno
That's life!

i just back from lab. and totally blur of those school names.
i knew a few JC where my frens were from, other than that i am not v sure what and where they are.
can't they just go to the nearest JC? innova JC near me woh, then kids can have more time sleeping mah.

AAA, so 275 is genius? my god, no wonder my neighbour showed me that kind of look!!
i was still thinking this siling, v v near to my house, but seems like nothing leh. cause many M****, another race. they said
principle is In****, very good they said.

SQ, so u were 3 points short to enter SAP school, SAP school really good meh?
so your results quite good leh.

i remember our primary school, we have similar exam too. we call it UPSR. we dun have these point system, but we only have ABCD.
good leh.. i think ABCD better than point system. we dont need to have ranking, just AAAAAAAA then considered v top liao.

my brother got all 7 Cs... considered PASSED. his results were terrible de. haha!

RR: victoria JC has intergrated programme too ( 6 years, no O level straight to A Level).. i went to the school once and wha the students all, damn smart leh.
I understand this is call IP right?!

SQ: u can def continue volunteering with the school after the kids gets in. no need to stop then cos i am sure the school welcomes parents who are active with the school. Pls remember to join the Parent Support Group of that school if u can.

Actually Cedar girls is a good school too. anyone knows where they are now? they used to be behind bidadari cememtary along upper serangoon road.

Starfruit,
ya, VJC is in the list I posted.
IP = short-form for Integrated Programme lor.

Cedar Girls is at Cedar Ave, along Upper Aljunied Road. Can go in from Wan Tho Rd (directly opposite Potong Pasir MRT station). I think it's the same place as you mentioned. It had always been there, right?

aiyoh why the western mummy havent comment? hahah... joelle?
The nearest sch from my home is actually Lakeside but a lot of M***Y so my neighbour will send their kids to Shuqun cos they dun want to do PV. But the best schoool here is Rulang. According to a fren whose dotter was P6 last year, she was telling me 2/3 of her dotter classmates are PRC...*faint*

QQ
Aiyo got pple 1 2 go neighborhood JC?
I Tot 'all' 1 2 go to tos top few
Hee

At least during my time la
Travelled al e way to Bkt timah everyday
Nw looking back I wonder how I survived The journey n lack o sleep
But tos yrs o hard work really teach me the value o laboring for Wat we want
Tt is another value I find it challenging to inculcate into kids nowadays

Looks like I m the one who needs education once again

Mejo, i was also thinking of joining them a couple of yrs back. but gave up cos i know i won;t try for the schools under there. My dad was a Hokkien Hway Kwan member, now no longer.

SQ,
haha! Hey, your hb same age as my hb i think! Hmm, have they met before? they dunno each other hor? My hb from RI leh.

Aye, u from NJC?? or HCJC?

RR: I don t know why they get rid of O levels. If it s no good, why have it in the first place?

SQ: Hmm... I didn t know that s how you feel. Hey whatever it is, there s no way to tell. Your life is how it is now and it is good and you re special and loved so there s no need to look back.

Star: I m from VJ. But I m of those girls distracted by puberty and didn t pay attention to school work. :p. Don t ask me which year I graduated cos i won t answer any questions related to age. Haha!!
Re the strategic location, I know we are and that s why we are a trading hub. I didn t know we have such "friendly" neighbors lah. I think u know cos of your hubby s job?

SQ, u tell me RI or wat i have no idea de. so he is from RI? i see.
he must b v smart la. actually he is v smart de.
i oni know they can b v v smart, but nowadays the kids are quite dao1 i must say. i ever TEKAN a few of them because they showed disrespect to me as they tot i am a small fly.
out of 5 of them, 1 of them ok and able to show some politeness. haha!! so isn't it moral education is more important?
i just feelt hat they are not humble enough.

can i raise hand and volunteer releasing Miser's JC? .. he is from 'lousy JC'.. he was the top student though..his lang of english did him in.. so i must make sure even if teng and yh cannot count. they must know english well!!!
haha. dun mind me.. i need to stay awake. heng. making fun of my hb..

come to think of it lah.. when in Uni.. dun all things even out eventually.. and this i got to share. i have a HC student.. here in my class.. dun ask me where he is here when 'by right' he shdn't.. brains, yes. attitude. no-existnent.. at the rate he is going. his natural intellgience will deplete too.. 30% intelligence, 70% dilligence.. SO.. my conclusion.. chracter development by far the mst impt on my list.. neighbourhood schools produce talents too.. and it is the resilence who make them go far.. ok if teng and yh cannot score As.. can't get a degree also like that. character is of utmst importance. i rather he fails subjects then to be so entrenched in a 'i am good' metality and whole world knows them a living..

i from NYJC.. neighbourhood JC.. and neighbourhood (but now SAP) AMK sec.. haaa.. me is the classic case. of laziness.. which i must make sure my boys dun be in the same shoes :p i hope though miser will do the job for me.. hahaha......this forum is SCARY.. all from top JC ones.. why am i even here? all TITUTEO's fault.. :p

AA: to answer your question why PSLE is not out of 400 but out of 300.. they take weightage from each subject and combine them into total marks of 300..... and yes.. the weightage depends on 'demand'.. got it? ha!

QQ: i think most of RI students are very smart.. hahah actually my wish for rae to go St Nics.. i like that school and i think academically, they are strong too. but then.. no hope for primary. so will ask her to strive hard and go in by her own merit during PSLE>

^5 QQ's pt on moral education and the need for humility!
(everyday i am tekaning my HC student. he thinks i TINY fly.. till i whack him left right up down till he 'obeys'.... heck care his evaluation for me .. haha)

QQ
Yes
I rather hv a humble n polite kid in a neighborhood sch
Than a rude one who may b a top flyer

But I find that my tots r getting more n more out o tis world given the competitive envy we r growing up in

I duno how long it wld b b4 I succumb to social pressures n Thk my kids the wrong thgs

Wat a scary Tot

Which is y I find it even more difficult Nw tt they r growing up fast n into the character building yrs, beyond the tedious but simpler yrs of diaper changing

wld u all agree then in the top schools (since i never been in one. i can ask this question.. :p).. the students can play all day long and never really study and yet get good grades one.. right? :p

QQ
U r rite
I Thk my Hb I V V smart
Cos when I scold him, he wil keep quiet n let thgs be
N let me Thk I m rite instead o arguing back
Tt is Wat I call 'intelligence'!!

Astro
The smart kids can
I am never one o those

So while my frens play, I hv to be diligently studying
I already realize At a young age tt I m Nt one of those intelligent ones
But diligent yes

SQ: great! so that is what must go into YE and YH! .. the virtue of yi fen gen yun yi fen huo...

What i state about kids dun have to study yet do well is Miser's ONLY argument that i dun have to waste my time PV-ing for Teng (yh.. maybe. coz this boy more intelligent than his bro.. but we are careful not to let teng hear it coz we think he is sensitive and is aware of any comparison between him and yh.. we seen his expression change a few times when we comment yh is quick to pick things up...).. coz he doesn't have that apptitude and might be led astray by all the playing.. no realising he doesn't have the 30% but needs the 70% badly.. for teng..

frankly speaking i shiver upon the thot of the word character building when i read SQ post. I totally agree that our children are growing too fast and we are not fast enough to shape them. A little worying esp for Clyde cos he is a very lazy person to begin with. He loves to learn and loves to try new thing but when u ask him to do something. He simply refuse. sighh...

SQ u will hit me hard on my head when u read this.. I am one of those goondu who had the chance to enter a sap sch but chose a neighborhood sch just next to my blk!!! Wahahhaha n same as u I often think how diff my life wld be if I had chosen a diff path then...

SQ, QQ, astro u guys are on my fav topic of moral edu!!! Not to mention students from top schs.. I cldnt even stand students from the best class in my lousy neighborhood sch that I used to teach in... Their attitude is simply 不可一世! I despise them no matter how gd their grades are.

can i also comment from an educator's pov? when I (at least me) meet a humble and hardworking student but maybe not as bright.. my heart goes out to him.. and for him/her, i go the extra mile to make sure he/she knows. coz this is reciprocity.. but for the arrogant and smart alecks.. no way man.. i never tekan him .. gd enough :p

so that means character is VERY impt.. i need to groom teng into a teacher's pet.. i think he got that advantage liao.. haha :p

welcome welcome edde.. let's run the top but arrogant students down.. haha. see the educator's pov i just posted? i am SURE u agree with me :p

SO.. being the teacher's pet is the MOST conclusion i draw from today's conversation. because of all the benefits it will bring.. validated by experience.. hahahah. sot liao me, again. but nothing new :p

wah .... from what i see hor. My teacher's pet is always the monitor and who is always the most good looking one. *faint* My Clyde got no chance.