(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

star: for teng. it was because of his recurrent blocked nose.. the ear, throat and nose canal all linked up..for teng, the ear drum didn't pop.. but i was told it might and actually it might be better for them coz no more pressure and no more pain. but will have temporary loss of hearing till the ear drum mends again..
it might not be amoxicilin.. i cannot remember that antibiotics.maybe also starts with 'a'...

Rae's case is quite mild. judging from the fever lah. teng's one peaked as high as 40.5!!.. and it ding-dong from there.. and god knows how long we stay at KKH for the fever to subside.. and poor boy got forced fed.. panadol and bufen round the clock.. and the stupid antibiotics.. that's why i am quite determined to find a cure to his sensitive nose.. or rather.. at least know me what can trigger it!?! :S

astro: temporary loss of hearing sounds bad leh. will have long term effect a not.
ya the throat, nose and ear canal all linked thus liquid will backflow by accident, have to becareful.
i was prescribed the suppository, doc say its better and can bring fever down faster. but so damn diff to insert in out kids now. cos they struggle so much more.

huingee/Germaine: yes. it is bad.. he speaks with a 'slur'.. nto clear.. and his nose sounds blocked all the time. he is generally v healthy.. if anything. it is the phelgm built-up from his runny nose (nose flare up again lor).. and he snores in his sleep.. lagi worse.. Dr Ong suspects swollen tonsils.. but will check with the ENT specialist.. yeap.. quite sian..

star:no long term effect.. hence only temporary loss.. i was told his by the PDs lah.. anyway.. post checkup.. teng still had some hearing loss.. now ok liao..

star
didnt know lying down drinking milk can cause ear infection, chloe is still drinking fr milk bottle n i NEVER monitor how she drinks!

RR
repunzal nice le.. u dun like? :p

looking fwd to wkend i m on leave tom & thur yay!!

star, dont feel bad cause all of us dunno that the milk will go into ear de. we really learn a lot here.
still learning. and next time use a higher pillow for her to lie down instead. or sit at sofa??

astro, teng's ENT is so bad? so from chinese doctor's perspective, he cannot drink cold drinks otherwise easier to trigger the sensitive ENT woh.

by the way, we went ultrasound, got new development. now really need to wait for our surgeon to advise le. nobody can advise better.

apparently, the scan results showed NO HERNIa at all, and NO HOLEs, so hernia probably not easy to happen too (but surgeon din say this, i say one). so what's next? yes there is a hydrocele there (one side nia) but we dunno if an op is required.

Ash: The SL grab bag is here. You have CP? I can't remember cos my file is in the pc which is in hospital.. :p
THe cost is $24.56. This year's grab bag is better than last years.

QQ: Very strange wor. Who's the dr who suspected he's got hernia in the first place? Then you all feel the swelling is getting bigger right? So what's the "thing" that's getting bigger? Got to wait for the full report.

Astro: You're scaring me. Ayden has poor sleep quality too. He doesn't snore, but can wake up a few times a night. And his diction is not clear too. Up til recently, we had difficulty understanding what he says. We still do actually, but it's so much better now. People tell me that girls are faster at speech, and I have convinced myself this must be the case with ayden. I didn't know a child's speech is related to the size of tonsils or even to ENT. Should I send him for a check?

AAA,

1. Our GP:
Hydrocele, he said monitor and might outgrow after 1yo, if not then surgery. One side big and one side probably a little bit hydrocele, but getting smaller.

2. PD:
hydrocele + hernia, could be both sides hernia, surgery is a must (Hm...)

3. PD surgeon at glenE:
Hydrocele, 1 side (same as GP)
refer ultrasound scan to reconfirm if hernia is there.
ultrasound - No hernia, hydrocele 1 side, it is encysted hydrocele

so now waiting for surgeon to advise if op is required.
i have a feeling that he will ask us to wait till 1yo or 18 months, then surgery is needed.
however, it is quite big, so he might ask us to op immed too.

AAA,
i think that our GP is quite zai3 in this sense, maybe he is a guy, that's y.
PD is a lady woh. so jay said more careful for ladies, and will ask us to go for further check.

we feels the swelling gets bigger (me and maid), but jay said not. so men are really differnt bah. oni women gancheong and our eyes played tricks on us?
and when he cries, yes that part (bulging part, triangular part above the pte part) gets bigger and and more bulging.
today ah will shh shh during scan. haha!

QQ: but its alwasy better to be safe than sorry cos hernia and hydrocele may be linked in some cases.
anyway good that there i sno hernia, so no need surgery for this. and yes wait for surgeon. i also have a feeling he may ask u to wait. cos also good that no op is required.

QQ: the problem is.. i dunno what's the trigger! coz i thought FM.. then put him on soy.. same.. thought air.. then buy hudimifier.. also the same we clean his mattress with anti dunno what.. also like that?.. cold water. v seldom drink. also like that.. that's the frustrating part..

AA: nope. diferent things. so cannot linked them tgether.. Ayden is perhaps having poor sleep coz of bad sleep association.. the child's development of speech is not related to tonsils size.. it is just in the case of teng.. coz his nose keeps blocking.. and he speaks with a 'slur'.. diction not clear and a blocked nose sound.. hence PD thought might be swollen tonsils which keeps getting irritated by the mucous.. Teng sleeps well.. but snores ... so think no correlation here for ayden and teng...

huingee: yeap..PD said might have operation.. but must leave it to the ENT specialist to ascertain.. sometimes needs med only.. sometimes operation :S.
dunno if operated on will keep the blocked nose away.. coz it is because of the blocked nose which causes the tonsils to swell..i asked Dr Ong. she explains tonsils size can slur the speech in teng's case.. but even that ... but correcting the tonsils doesn't eradicate the sensitive nose issue.. though it might clear the speech..... so unless.. remove the nose?! :S
sensistive nose is sooo ma fun.. i ever heard one GP commented 'sensitive nose ah?.. tricky..'

and Yh.. no sensitive nose.. fit as a fiddle! haiz..

Ash, Star,

Not that we don't like the odysessy but touran engine is actually better. AND it is a 1.6L 7-seater so can save on road tax. Yar, definitely odysessy is a nicer looking and roomier car but touran seem like the engine is really more powerful. Difficult to move the odysessy sometimes but that is according to hb since I've never drove it.

AAA,

Our car is less than 2 years old. The japan cars are getting so expensive that you can actually earn from selling an old car! It is a crazy situation actually.

YY,

Sensitive nose is really a tricky issue. My nephew has it and only recently, he stopped having problems with it after moving to Singapore from Norway for a long period of time. I've a student who still have sensitive nose issues and have runny nose nearly every single day... Supplementation may help though. I've seen a guy's ecezma become better simply through supplementation and diet change. He said cannot eat fried, panfried, steamed etc. food. He only eat boiled food. He got the supplements from USANA. He wasn't giving me a sale pitch actually but I noticed that his palm which is raw and bleeding a week ago is nearly fully healed so I asked him about it. Every doctor will say diet doesn't affect but anecdotal evidence seem to suggest otherwise. Will doing a patch test help to isolate potential allergens?

Astro,

Know Wat u mean. Xavier also sensitive nose, hope it won't worsen. No. 2 Xander also sensitive nose. Sigh! Dr say sensitive nose is hereditary, but both me m hubby ok... I also dun know.

Mejo,
I love touran, but too bad nowadays juz way too exp to change car. We will most likely drive the full 10days.

Qq,
Wait for the ultrasound results.

Rr,
Am not the one late, waited for big pig to b ready

Belle,
Ya, it got nicer as the show progressed. ;) Reyes loves the show (think cos princessy). Reyden wasn't quite into it but still can get his attention lah. He got excited by the Kungfu Panda 2 poster outside the cinema though. Think showing around CNY period, should be going for that.

Mich,
Hehe ... :p
Did K sleep in the car? My 2 pigs didn't and they are playing with their Lego now. I think can send them to bed at 8.

Starfruit,
didnt know ear infection could be due to milk-drinking position too. New thing we learnt today. Rae will turn to her sides when drinking milk?

QQ,
Good that hernia is being ruled out. At least 1 thing lesser to worry about. Or perhaps don't need operation afterall.

QQ, good that things seems to be clearer. now you're just waiting for the final diagnosis from the specialist right?

Astro, I don't know if vit C would help because it did for my friend but then, teng's prob seemed more serious.

RR/Mich, was Rupunzel scary? Thinking of bringing Domie to watch the show but heard of some kids who thought it was scary, esp at the end.

Star/Ash, anyone of you was thinking of buying maternity jeans? I hiao and went to order one online and can barely squeeze into it. Didn't take into consideration my thunder thighs. =p

Moogen,
Some parts with the "monsters" and baddies were kind of scary to Reyes. And towards the end when there's a old witch. Other than those, quite ok bah.

RR,
K slept and juz woke up 10mins ago. Ws was saying you driving so fast so that RR can go back n sleep. did u u a TP at TPE ??? ws was driving directly behind him and he wave ws to change to 2nd lane :p

QQ
gd to read that u got a PD Surgeon to assess immediately n it seems that it's nt serious...
that time when we found out abt M, Dr Ong asked Janice to arrange for appt immediately at NUH. i din think too much bcos i managed to get an appt the following Monday (i think i saw Dr Ong on Thu or Fri).

kaexin
hw's ur job search? or u taking a break 1st?

Astro
Teng's condition that bad? c wat ENT specialist say. u gg KKH or NUH?

pax, yalor. Dr ong made it sound so serious plus our imagination, linked with many other things then it became urgent liao
anyway good that the surgeon assessed and we will wait for the scan results.
if it is not hernia, then there is no hurry to go for op(my feel) because hernia can b v complex and eventually might lead to more serious conditions if not treated early. there is a percentage that intestines might get strangulated and intestine's cells died.

star: according to Dr Ong, no long term effect

Mejo:yep. i know. i have bad excema when younger.. my hands were literally dripping .. PUS.. :S.. so i know it is very bad.. both boys got ezcema.. but not that bad.. teng's nose is tricky one..
i wanted to go to a pediatrian who specialises in allergies and immunology first.. but just cant find time.. but i think patch test would be ordered when teng sees the ENT doc.. it is only logical he does that else v difficult to pinpt the allergen..

huingee/mist: well. yeap. the cup is half full coz bally doesnt have a sensitive nose!
mist: teng's quite chronic.. lucky both X not as bad as teng's..

moogen: teng's on constant delrosa.. and is also on nightly antihistamine.. and nasonex sometimes back.. but all not effective.. and i was so confused as to why all these don't make the condition undercontrol.. oh well. i am not a doc.. we see what the doc says.. as for vit c.. it is not of much use. it is more of reaction.. than a viral infection.. so vit c is less effective in that sense..

Pax: will go to one at Mt E.
itis very annoying.. and i feel umcofmy for teng.. when he keeps sniffling.. and these days he is digging his nose.. sometimes dig till got blood.. u can hear thick mucous sound when he speaks..

star, how is rae's fever now?

astro, is he still wearing holey singlets? This ah will, he sweats easily so we wear him sleeveles last time. now he is sick, we have decided to wear double layer for him, hot nevermind but not too cold. now i think helikes it hot and he hates fans and aircons.
whati want to say is, probably wear more and make him sweat? (detox?)
i dunno what i am talking, it is so late liao, i got to go zzzz..

oh forgot. jay says when we exercise, our body will get better.
perhaps can get teng to start his work out. walk more, play more etc. ask teng to go after yhe bah.

RR: u r right, rae likes to turn to her side particularly her left when she is drinking milk. She is elavated most of the time but when she turns, the left side (which is the site of her infection now) will drop down and this may cause the milk to backflow to this direction. I better correct her position. Anyway, MIL made her drink sitting up right now.

I am so tired. her fever went yo yo up and down yesterday, a few times hit 39 plus. so worried, dunno if i should send her to the hospital. Doc ask me to send up for a review if her condition persist by tomorrow. so far her fever shows no sign of dropping its always hovering around 38 degrees plus.
I resorted to using the suppository (from intense pressure from MIL), hate it so much and rae is so not cooperative so it makes the whole insertion process so traumatising. I told hb i dun want to use the supp on her anymore cos she and i really hate it. MIL say saying that supp will bring fever down faster which to me, it actually was no difference from the brufen/paracetomal that i have been feeding round the clock! think MIL quite stubborn also, she insist the supp works well on my nephew and kept asking me to use it. buey tahan from the nagging, so i just agreed.

Astro: what will they do if i send her to the hospital? pump her with medication ah?

moogen, where u bought from, what size u ordered? let me see if i can fit, dun mind taking over. is the material thick. I brought a pair previously from ON, i like it so much but have not dig it out, dunno
where isit.

kaexin, why did the TP ask u guys to switch to 2nd lane, u hogging the 1st lane ah?>?? heheh :p

QQ: i also agree with u. if its not hernia, then no need to rush into op.. cos may not be necessary lah.
i think we have info overload here.. we know so much so sometimes, will end up making our own diagnosis.. hehehe. wait for the surgeon to advise.
Rae's fever ah, updated above.

star: i think if remove tonsils, the only thing is more prone to getting throat infection cos tonsil act as a guard for throat...something along this line.

moogen: A was scared of the old lady(witch). jeans, depends on wat size u ordered ba.

Star
Did u try my pants fr QQ?
I bought fr that atas shop in Vivo city. V comfy n stretchy
Sure can fit
N I got some clothes fr maternity exchange also
Sure can fit de

QQ
U hv so many comments abt ah will I shall Nt comment anymore

Ash,
I was told by a friend that his PD recommended his son to remove the tonsils to reduce the frequency of throat infection. His son was having fevers caused by throat infection quite often thus the recommendation. Or I got what he said wrong?

Rr
My Hb also same case
Always hvg sore throat so thkg o whether to remove tonsils
But he has been thkg for e past 10 yrs we are married

Our 10 yr wedding anniversary over le the decision still hasn't been made

SQ: that pair of pants, i cannot fit lah, it looks so small. the only pair of pants in there right. i think my butt is too fat!!.
BTW, one of the may11 mummues Wayne's_mummy email u at your hotmail acct about your pump. go check. cos she say so far no response from u.

Re: removing of tonsils
Actually i feel that if not required, should not remove any parts of the body lah.

SQ,
can tahan for 10 yrs then it shouldn't be too bad, haha!! MY friend went to do it together with his 6YO son, so funny.

Ash,
so seems better to do without tonsils. But it should have some "use", right?

Starfruit,
ya, I would think it's there for some reason. But perhaps some people (mostly guys) more prone to tonsil/throat infection so recommended to remove. I wonder what's the "side-effects" of removing.

QQ: I see.. I wanna check.. Did Ah will's belly button pop out? I think this is a layman's sign of hernia. Ariel's was liddat when NB, PD did mention but said it'll go away. True enough, it's no longer popping.

RR, SQ, Ash: My hubby's the same case. More prone to throat infection cos of the huge tonsils which allow bacteria to "hide" there. We've been thinking of getting them removed and although I'm agreeable, at the back of my mind, I feel God won't put the tonsils there if it has no use right? Same with the appendix.

Astro: Ok. Different case. Everyday I wonder when ayden's bad sleep association will go away. :p In a way, my hubby encourages it! He will sayang him and even allow him to sleep on our bed! A few times I tried to put a stop to this and just let ayden cry. But hubby will somehow go back to this pattern again. Sighz! I shan't step in anymore. :p