(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Starfruit,
Ya, I agree with Autum. Reyden is probably only 14.5kg. But cos Reyes' carseat was a pass-down and quite worn out liao. It doesn't make sense for me to get another same one so I got the Rodi for Reyden and switched Reyes to his old carseat.

AAA, tian's booster seat with backing is rodi XP. she likes it v much.
now we got to change to maxi cosi priori XP for ah will. this one is tian's old carseat. but i dunno if ah will using this too early or wat.

updates,
went surgeon today afternoon, will had a checked by him.
he said this hernia might be intermittent, and he couldnt' detect it today. it was just hydrocele based on his diagnosis by touching. there are a lot of fats there but maybe just fats, not intestines.
so to confirm if we need immediate surgery tomorrow is the key. if holes are small, can wait until 1-2 yo. if big then dun need to wait cause it is dangerous and just do op immediately to ensure no problem nxt time.once the intestines dropped into the hole permanently, op is a must liao.

and if we need to go for op, can be done anytime as long as got slot at OT. so it can be the next day or so. the speed is so fast and ... hm..
i like the idea that we can react immediately.
by the way, i went gleneagle today

QQ,
good to hear that.. at least u feel that u are doing something, so that gives u a peace of mind. So tomorrow what will happen? Do scan to check the holes?

autum, yes tomorrow go paragon and scan n confirm hole size. after half a day then surgeon will call us to inform us if surgery is needed or not. if dun need, then wait for it to go away until 1yo. if not, then need surgery then we action as soon as ah will recover. can be before this year ends or jan depending on will's condition.

we ask dr why go paragon, he said the dr there v experience in scanning this condition, so he recommends us there.
i feel relief at least hearing this from a surgeon and i dun need to wait till month end then do it at kkh, or 1.5 months later at kkh with subsidised rate.
so tomorrow jay will bring will there, and i will meet them there . will go from off. dr said v fast one.

mist, Ck. thanks
CK, actually it is too beauty for the pte service. i asked for appt, assist told me today ok? of course i said ok!
then today when we said we wanna go scan today but too late le, so tomrrow am can .
wah also good. and they booked appt for us and we just need to be there. everything is arranged like that.

the clinic assist also got some standard woh. she knows what i want and she straightaway told me that kkh needs to wait for v long cause i kept asking how soon can the op be arranged if needed, she just told me can b as soon as tomorrow?
unlike kkh, unsure and the person told me worst scenario (which is ok actually) but that was not that i wanted to hear.
and she added that many patients went to their clinic cause din want to wait for kkh.

QQ,
good that you have an answer immediately and on the "same day" too. can action once surgeon confirm whether necessary to do it now or later.

ash,
can give u suggestion on your trip, buy one when you are there, dont remove the tag, when u want to return, just bring back to return :p very bad hor my suggestion, just keep it clean and pristine condition. in canada, they are quite strict on this.
last time when my sis and her family came back, they brot their own booster seat as my nephew was already 8YO and he is small and short.

QQ: good that ah will's condition does nt seem to be so serious. Wait for scan tomorrow n see how. Btw who recommended u this surgeon to u?

I have frens who travel with their bb car seat cos on plane, already strap bb on the car seat.

Ash fyi if u bring car seat, the weight is not added to your basic weight limit. So dun worry abt exceeding weight limit.

Alamak i tink rae has an ear infection? How to relief it now? Can only bring her to see doc tomorrow? In the meantime can i clean her ears? The inside?
I think her mild fever the past few days was from the ear infection! Sigh!

star, bring rae to see doctor asap.
this surgeon was recommended by the pd. i called her today.
his condition is not that serious as i tot, cause our pd was unable to give detail diagnosis
and she said surgeon can comment better.

kaexin, how? i remember tian used it when she was 7th mth old. this time ah will is softer as in his development not as fast, now still like a baby, fat though.
yes, i find it so good to know so much today.

star,

Rae outgrew her car seat already? YT still sitting in her car seat. Car seat safer than a booster seat cuz 5 point harness and less likely to fly out should the car roll. I think YT's seat can take up to 18kg.

AAA,

We changing cars in April. HB sold the honda odysessy for a volkswagon touran but he did it too early so in the end, have to top up $5K when he could have earn from the deal had he inked the contract much later...

kaexin/star: i wldnt risk buying n stress over keeping it in pristine condition. unable to bring car seat fr spore as their stds are diff. lots of car seats here cannot be used there. anyway, we hv rented a car together w the car seat.

QQ: if can keep will rear facing till body more firm is beta. i'm imagining front facing then sudden break, his head will then to move forward, quite dangerous. gd tt the surgeon hv gd advise n very confident
guess it's also 一分钱一分货

mejo: touran is the new model rite? we went to see but not very ideal. looks gd fr outside but we dun like some of the things inside. we wld prefer odysessy over it anytime

kaexin: do u know of any brands or anything tt is a gd buy in canada? my sil juz told me playtex is cheap. the btl tt can attached milk bag is gd for travelling. i will check it out n buy if really cheap.

QQ,
Great, today and confirm whether need to do op or not. That's good and fast.
Must make sure Ah Will head is firm before changing car seat.

star, Mejo,
Dylan also still using his maxi cosi priori.

huingee,
cham liao, i dun have rear facing carseat. so does it mean i have to hand carry till his head is firm.
probably need to carry for 3 months then.

Mejo, no, rae has not outgrew her car seat, I am just preparing for the new bb next yr. rae's current car seat can sit her up to 7 yrs old or 20/25kg. this car seat of mine, super long mileage!
next yr, planning to let new bb take rae's current car seat cos my current one, from infant can sit already just that i need to change to rear facing. So if bb takes this car seat, i willneed to transit Rae to a booster.
Now that QQ is loaning me the infant seat, rae can cont to sit in her car seat. cos i lazy to switch to rear facing. tot when bb grew bb, immediately can transit into the back facing position.

QQ: actually i think ah will cannot fit the infant car seat already. since he is of substantial weight, should be no issue to change him to a child/tod car seat. cos they also uses weight or age to guage. cos bb need to meet min weight required on the car seat, if not, too light, will fly out on impact. once ah will meets the min weight, its should be fine. he won;t fly out so easily. maybe u support with neck brace and paddded strap?

mejo: why u changing car, dun like the odysessy? the VW Touran is quite expensive too right?

Ash: playtex range is available in Singapore now, u can go metro/robinsons to chck it out. I bought a set as gift for a friend. Its quite a good deal when ts on 20%. maybe its cheaper when in canada cos playtex is US brand. Ya playtex has a milk bag for travelling, SQ and me used it last time. we buy from overseas when as it was not available locally then. Now easy to get. u may wanna compare proces in sg.

HB brought rae to see doc, update in next post.

rae has an infection in her left ear. Doc say this is not caused by water acculmulation from swimming or bathing but more by her lying down and drinking her milk and the liquid backflowed into the ear side. apparently, need to elavate her more so that she is not lying down when drinking. Doc ask me to let her drink sitting up.
no ear drop given, she is on antibiotics cos the area has swollen up and is very tender. And since its more than 3 days, advisable to start on antibiotics.
so confirmed that it was not her tooth that ache but the pain in her ear. *sigh* feel bad and guilty now cos we didn't detect it till after so many days(fever started since thurs night!).

QQ,
Like what star said, you try to let Ah Will try and see how.
Last time my infant car seat they can sit till about 10 mths. But i already gave the car seat to a fren liao.

star,
Dun be sad, this never happen to Rae before hence you didn't detect earlier. Maybe can take this time to stop her using milk bottle. Give her straw or cup to drink her milk.

Huignee, she is not drinking from a bottle but from a sprout cup, maybe cos she likes to lie down. I need make sure she dun lie so low next time. and yes this is the first time she had such an infection in the ear. thats why i feel a bit guilty.

Star,

Oh, I didn know tt drinking milk lying down can cause milk to bAckflow to ear. Hmmm.... Xavier also still drinkin milk fr bottle, Hv to think of ways to get him drink fr cup liao

star,
Then get her to sit down and drink or else her ear painful again. We always learn along the way. I will also don't suspect it's the ear pain rather than the teeth.

Re: playtex milkbag

Mummies who r or will be breast-feeding, wanna take over e milkbags? I open to use some bags Liao but dun think can finish using them cos planning to wean off by next mth Liao. Let me know hor.

Star, *sayang*
Sigh just packed the luggage for genting last nite. Din realise there is so so so much to pack for the kids. *Faint*

Mist, u can keep the milk bags, dun need to sell away. i use milk bags to store FM when i need to travel with rae. just scoop enuff for each feed in one bag, after that use and throw. very easy.

Mist/Huignee, doc say can drink from bottle but just need to elavate the body so its not lying flat. with the body tilted upwards, less chance for fluid to backflow.

Huignee, ya lor we learn along the way. maybe i should console myself that at least we managed to find out finally the reason for her persistant fever.

star: we really learn something new today. didnt know lying too low to drink milk will cause backflow. A still drink fr btl but i always make sure he has a pillow n not too flat.

mist: u can use the milk bags to store fm for travelling. v conv! i'm not using for this trip cos too many days. will juz bring whole tin along

QQ: gd.. i like decisive service.. i super buay tahan pple tellingme to wait it over.. i mean.. that's me.. and i like how relieved u sound now

28 dec my turn.. brining teng to a senior ENT to see if anything can be done to his sensitive nose.. i very depressed to hear him speak with a 'slur'...
the Dr also recommended by Dr Ong...

Star: u are very fast liao.. that time teng had ear infection. it was v bad.. hospitalised.. and the poor boy was screaming coz of the pain.. worse than hmfd.. Rae's case is relatively mild.. dun blame urself..
is she on amoxicilin? (forgot how how to spell).. i can't remember but i was arguing with the PDs at KKH that i dun feel their antibiotics is effective.. or i feel.. it is too strong but fever never come down!.. and teng had profuse loose stools.. :S
the ear drum might pop.. if the tension there is too high.. might have some blood.. and good to follow up with a hearing test.. teng had all these at KKH...

I'm now in the cinema with the kids watching Rapunzel. Think I'm really not a movie person, getting restless while the kids enjoying their show and popcorn. And Mich is still not here yet for 10.20am show!

ash: ya she also ahs a pillow underneath her head, i suspect afew times, she move around and slip down, thats when the milk backflowed. nowi have to monitor her when she drinks her milk.

QQ: You sound more relieved. Good lah.

RR: Enjoy the show. Stop checking your mails.

Mejo: How old is your old car? How come you changed and only had to pay $5k? And if you had waited, you would have earned fromt he deal? Is it cos of the rising COE?

Star: Why not let her drink from a cup? Use this opportunity to wean her off the milk bottles. This is also easier and less confusing for you when the new bb arrives - only 1 set of milk bottles.

AAA: she does drink from a cup. for fresh milk, juices and all but FM, she still likes her sprout cup lah. maybe i dun get her to lie down so much.

Astro: what caused teng's ear infection the last time. I dunno what was the antibiotics given, i will go back and check tonight i dun think its amoxycilin leh. maybe another one. the ear popping sounds scary and got blood somemore!!

RR: aiyo, dun check your phone already.. later the other ppl scold u leh.. hahah. Mich mus have overslept. which cinema are u all at now?

Star: Yah, get her to stand when drinking since she's already using the cup. Anna drinks from a normal cup, even for the milk just before her bedtime. I want to convinve Ayden to do the same too.. About time he stops drinking from the bottle for this last feed..

AAA; i only realised that it possibly could be an ear infection yesterday.

She was running a high fever when i got home last night. The highest since last thursday cos fever peaked at 38.5. Initially i suspect its throat infection, i asked her if throat is painful, she say now. then i ask her where else is pain, she pointed to the region below her ears. That was when i suspected. There was no fluid or bad smell so we didn;t suspect ear in the first place.

Last week, during her low grade fever, she kept telling me its pain near the tooth area, and we all thought it was her molar/tooth. Apparently, the pain is very near the back of her mouth, just below the ear, so we could not detect immediately. after the dental visit, i was also puzzled how come she say her tooth not painful anymore..but it turned out it was painful when she opened her jaw, so she also dun really know how to tell me and we all assume its at the back molar area.

AAA: jie jie can influence Ayden. my gf tells me that when her #2 and #3 sees jie jie drinking from a cup, they all want the cup too. so sometimes, for ease of convenience, she let all 3 drink from bottle. I keep telling her its no good as the big one is already 7 yrs old!

giolyn, i could not detect cos the pain was not exactly at the ear area and she could still lie down and never complain of pain. and she never really pointed to her ears when i asked her where is painful.

star: no leh.. ayden didn't scream to drink from a cup for his milk. everything else he's been using a normal cup. i think maybe the morning feed is also from the cup.. not sure, got to check my maid.. anyway, i will sak them to put into the cup for his morning feed first..