(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Starfruit,
not deep fry. This one only panfry, don't add too much oil and make sure the fish steak is dry before putting into the pan, won't splatter.

RRL pan fry i also scared and esp now, i cannot tahan the smell of fish.. wha.. will stay away from fish for now.. hahah

hey mummies can i check, who has good/bad complexion when expecting a girl/boy? wanna see if this is correct lah, regarding the complexion prediction.

star, i look lousy when i have Clyde. Terrible water retention!! But i look good when i have Gwyen. So wat have u concluded for urselves?

Huingee
Tks For E Tips

Rr
Lucky u Rr likes food

Giolyn: thanks, i have heard 2 diff stories, some say preggy with boys, will have bad complexion, some say good.

actually when i was preggy with rae, my complexion was good, no issue at all.

how about the rest?

re: batang fish
a lot of those fish-porridge hawker stalls, they are using this batang fish. it's quite a common fish. you can buy from supermarkets or wet market. Just say batang and they will know.

Irin,
how to dry the fish? Use paper towel? sorry if it sounds like a stupid question. :p

SQ,
steam fish? u can try steam fish for YE. easy and not oily.

Autum
My parttime maid says so sayang to fry my fish cos it's fresh n Nt cheap
Usu ONI fry when it's Nt so fresh
Fresh Fish shd jus steam

Star
U r rite
Tks For e reminder
I shd cook simple stuff for YE

Star,
I look better with EJ. With EV, i got pimples. With EJ, i got glow!

SQ,
err, then just steam la. YE doesn't like?

QQ,
i use fish sauce for my steam fish. kwa kwa kwa.. :p

i have another way of cooking fish: using giam chye. Fried the giam chye without any oil, mainly to let the taste diffuse out. then pour in water and put in tomato and immense the fish inside till cook. simple dish with no seasoning required.

Autum,
Ya, use paper towel. Usually I won't cook immediately wash. Will "air-dry" 1st then if still very wet, will use paper towel to pat dry.

RR,
I seldom cook chili food cos hb dun like spicy stuff. He prefer healthy food hence we eat same food as the kids.

If cold, just heat it up loh. Easy to cook one time for dinner.

Huingee,
yalor, easier. If only the 4 of us eat, I'll cook together sometimes. But if my parents and sis coming to eat, very hard to cook dishes for all. Plus my sis comes back quite late and she's quite particular about heated up food. Some dishes when heated up will become overcooked. So I'll usually cook separately for the kids if they coming over to eat.

Wha rr, u r fantastic can cook so many times. U really take good care of your family. Can i be thick skin n ask for an invite to your place for a home cook meal by you. From wat i have read i think u r quite a good cook.

Today i got to observe a class with a boy who has Attention deficit hyper Disorder (ADHD). It was frustrating for him as much as it was for the class.. and of course for my colleague (who did incredously well to handle the boy and enable lessons to go on...)

The boy is brilliant.. but his condition makes it difficult for him to slow down and focus and explains to his slower peers.. he gets very frustrated when people cannot understand him fast enough.. in fact he gets himself fruastrated when he cannot articulate his own thoughts fast enough.. his mind is racing.. but his speech cannot catch up, making it very slurred.. but he speaks with a brillant accent.. this kid is not slow mentally but his condition makes it soo difficult for him.. haiz.. i am beginning to consider to make a career switch to the special needs.. i am beginning to feel more and mre for the children with special needs.. strange.. dunno why...

Starfruit,
huh? no lah. I'm not a very good cook but cos the family used to my cooking so they are ok. Just like our mums' cooking might not be the best but we are used to it and love it, right?
My sis will still complain about my cooking sometimes though.

I think Edde and Joelle are better cooks. Edde is always trying out chim chim and new recipes. I also hope she will invite me over to her place for dinner one day. hahaha!!

Ya, sometimes abit rushing in the evening but used to it liao. Usually I'll cook the soup in the thermal cooker before work. Plus a braised or stewed dish in the slow cooker. Then I come back just need to cook 1/2 dishes (steam/grill meat, fry egg/veg) for RR. After RR finish their dinner then will cook another 1/2 dishes (also steam or fry veg/meat) for the family. If my mum knocks off early, not tired, she will cook the 1/2 dishes and we all get to eat dinner earlier. hehe.

Astro,
it's a RP class that u observed?

SQ,
I think u have very little confidence in yourself leh. Can always trial and error when it comes to cooking. in fact, must trial and error, then can improve mah

SQ,
non-beef ah ... Can stew fish instead but then stewed fish will be cooked easily, no need to be in slow cooker wor.

My recipes all very "chinese" de which I think you won't like. Can braise chicken wings or pork belly. I'll add beancurd and eggs for the kids. You eat bittergourd? Can have chicken with bittergourd stew.

I'll cook herbal chicken or salted veg duck in the slow cooker too.

RR I always tell pple I only 说得一口好菜 kekekkekeke say very clever but still lack experience.. No matter how I cook I still can't get the same taste of my mum's.. I totally agree with u.. mum's cooking is the best!!!!

Edde,
ok, you accumulate your experience then you invite me over 20 yrs' later. You should reach your mum's standard by then. haha!!

I will only cook easy dishes. No fanciful ones unless weekends. You will cook laksa, prawn noodles, homemade burger & desserts at home wor. *lao nua ...* :p

Wahahahha 20 yrs later!!! On!!!! Sigh now without Charito a lot of dishes I dun get to cook/eat Liao
and even harder to cook fanciful dishes with a crying tod hugging to my thigh *faint* just now she chut the same pattern again.. luckily I faster cooked when the kids were napping and only left with washing up and dinner no need me to be physically in the kitchen all the time.. Can let her be koala bear..

i forgot about our chief chef.. she can make chim chim stuff leh. haha!!
lets welcome EDDE , for the 100 dish contribution. haha!!!

My contribution.
1. steam taopok with mince meat+vege+wasterchestnut
2. steam chicken with herbs(red dates. wolfberries, DANGGUI)
3. Ginger, spring onion fish slices (jiang1 cong1 yu2 pian4
4. soy sauce chicken with mushrooms/vege

QQ I see all yr dishes I so ashamed.. No wonder u slim down so fast while mine is here to stay.. U guys eat so healthy food!!! All steam de!!!! But yr 100 dishes are mainly for kids rite... My "kids food" very boring de.. Every wk same wahahahhaaa

We shld share what we cook everyday so that we can hu Xiang can kao!!!!

My contribution which I cook for the kids tonite and is one of Andreas fav - stir fry cabbage with shredded carrots prawns and shredded omelete. Buy Cameron highland cabbage for sweeter taste

你们今天煮了什么呢?

edde,
yes! I miss that burger.
once a while eat unhealthy ok bah.

hmm, my kids eat same food as adults wor. are we eating too bland or are the kids eating too unhealthy-salty-tasty stuff? cham!

My dinner food tonite - kids and adults
1. ABC soup
2. Celery fry with prawns
3. Fried xiao bai cai
4. Fried black pomfret - sauce over: diced cucumber stir fry with tomato ketchup and pour over

Edde,
Good idea hor. We will just share our daily dishes then can easily have 100 dishes (for adults or kids) liao! :D

RR had stirfry minced beef with chopped onions and tomatoes, stirfry chye sim and ABC soup for tonight's dinner.

My dish today.
SO MANY.. cause yesterday not enough.

1. steam chicken with herbs
2. stir fry bean sprouts with tao gua
3. vege soup (celery, carrots, etc)
4. baked beans with egg(most unhealthy today)
5. stir fry snow peas with pork strips

edde, tian eats the same food as us. she dun take bean sprouts though.

QQ,
Wah, I love all your dishes tonight leh. Herbal chicken, beansprouts and snow peas all my favorites. :p

so, our 100 dish starts now.
how to compile this, EFFIciently?
nowadays what era liao.
must b efficient!!!!!
hm...

RR ,edde,
any 主意?

QQ,
I can only cook and eat. Don't ask me about compilation/administrative stuffs. Hahaha!!

All the food talk makes me hungry liao.

RR,
the reason why we find it difficult to compile is because ....
some dish cannot be together de.
so..

i think we can have these categories. with our power, we should be able to make 100 dish within 1 week. haha!!

1. ALL IN ONE - e.g. fried rice, pumpkin rice, pasta, beehoon etc (1 dish enough liao)
2. Soup
3. Meat based (can be fish, chk, pork, beef)
4. Vege based

chim chim....
haha!!!!
i think i compile ba...
After i compile the basic list, then we will attach recipes for those chim chim dish.

I am hungry too!

QQ: add in goggle group. To add
1. Bake chicken wings
2. Bake oven salmon
4. Oven grill bacon wrap with asparagus
5. Steam three eggs
6. Stir fry potato and luncheon meat
7. Bake beans with hot dog
8. Fry egg with tomato
9. Fry egg with bittergourd
10. Stir fry chicken breast with cashew nuts n mushroom.

Hello everyone i tot we have a food ban after 10pm.

I have one more " one dish" to contribute, cheese rice ,
Mix carrot pumpkin mushroom in uncook rice in rice cooker after cooked place mozerella cheese(slices) on top n the steam will melt the cheese. Its delicious.

QQ, i think dave can only go yr house eat.. if go autum's house, rr's house i think he got nothing to eat liao wahhahaa this is how picky he is and how difficult it is for me to cook for him!

andrea loves bean sprouts!!!! i eat wat my kids eat too except for some soup and porridge, else usually wat i cook for them will also be part of my dinner...

tell u all a joke. i suck at gauging qty. so today i cooked 1 whole small cabbage, ended up 1 small pot qty!!!! the kids and i ate liao still got one big dish left for my lunch tmr!!! i told my mum and she luffed at me, she said half is more than enuf :p

then i just called my mum to ask her abt my "lor" for the chi you ji.. she said cannot keep for long.. and the worse thing is usually we dun cook on wkends, so now i am left with 1 big pot of lor dunno wat to do with it. my dad told me to lelong downstairs >.<'''

YY,

Please give us a staff talk on how to handle ADHD and other special needs students when you learn how to deal with them.

QQ, i think easiest is to use excel spreadsheet bah.. then categorise under those big headings like u mentioned.. then whenever wanna cook, just mix and match.. else ask yr maid to throw darts also can :p

the categories:
1. One-dish meal
2. Chicken
3. Pork
4. Beef/Lamb
5. Fish
6. Seafood (besides fish)
7. Vegetable
8. Soups
9. Egg
10. Side dishes/Miscellaneous (besides egg)
11. Desserts
12. Drinks (for eg chrysanthemum drink etc)
13. Just For Kids

something like this? anything to add?

then actually we can do our own list, based on own families' preference and yin shi xi guan. so everyday we share what we cook, and at the same time we cut and paste those that we find suitable for our own families.. i am sure very fast we can hit 100 or more dishes liao! yippee!!! ^^

Edde: teach u next time u look at the portion tat u think its enuff n then half it. U should then end up with tbe correct qty. Ur lor can cook noodles tomorrow right?

Edde, the spreadsheets already started liao.
included dessert list too.

wow.. amazing list.
i group fry eggs with XXX as ONE dish.
so techincally we have more than100 dish. ok!

those similar one i group together.