(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

SQ, no costume also can join one la. i am not v into costumes also de.

huingee. another challenging thing to do, plan menu. plan what to cook ah.. so that we know what to buy. otherwise v difficult cause sometimes not all maids can b like us nayhow play magic with the existing ingredients de.
my maid got headaches doing that and now she prefers me to plan the menu, while she can do a little bit of magic sometimes.
overall big ingredients i have to buy and get ready, otehrwise unable to cook.

star, u sick?
inhaler? chim le.. u take good care ya. just sleep and rest more. about those bb suddenly stop heartbeat or wat, just dun think too much cause probably the fetus not healthy according to gynaes.
SLEEP MORE.. my advice .. always.

starfruit,

hang on. 1st trimester, usually dun feel very good. plus u sick, sure feel moody.... rest more, and go sleep sleep. will feel better

SQ
I bought those Halloween theme headbands from Daiso. Also 2 bags. They got quite a few Halloween stuff. I don't really want to buy costumes.

Mejo
Erm the whole of next week I won't be in RP. U got one pc of ON with me. Can wait till week after next?

Star
No problem. U can come anytime or pass thru QQ.

Pink

Autum,

No problem. I don't mind waiting or if you happen to meet QQ or star before that, can also pass it to them because I meet them every sunday.

QQ, Huingee
We cook the same things every week. Not 100% same but more or less same. Like ABC soup for example, every week sure cook. So my house will defintely have carrots, potatoes, onions, corn. Then we eat mushroom almost everyday. So every week when I do marketing, these are the "standard" things that I buy.

I write recipe or make my maid write the recipe ( as I explain how to cook) in a notebook. This book is for reference. So each time can refer. And don't give the book to your maid to bring home. Can keep for next maid to use.

Autum: thnks will try n swing by sms u to arrange

Mejo: thnks for being my new bus route. Our dance class term ending soon r u continuing?

Qq: like wat autum say u do up a list my fren usse to draw up a lit of 100dishes n they go thru the list n start over onnce they come to the end. I think soup can be your staple get the ingredient everyday another staple is eggs lah can have 1 to 2 egg dishes. Egg with onions or tomatoes or cai por or leek etc or even steam eggs. Anyway its good to come hm to homecook meals everyday.

Pinkpink,
It's confirmed but you got to check with QQ. Think she was saying she might bring fried rice too.

Wa star
I need e list o 1000 dishes too!

Pls pass me a Copy
Arigato

U feeling btw tdy?

pink,
i bringing fried rice. already bought ingredient liao.
arigato!

u wanna bring grilled chicken? buy those ready one and grill also can.
or nuggets.

CK, she changed her mind again today. ??????

Star, oh the 100 dish ah? actually i also tot of that. i listed down some le, but then i feel that it is not ok to rotate woh. it is hard to buy the ingredients also.
anyway the egg dish, we dun eat everyday. we try to cut down egg consumption to reduce jay's cholestrol level. haha! anyway cause our dish is v simple de then no time to have fancy eggs.

SQ, u wan the list? actually i oni write names, not recipe le. we change here and there de.

Autum, we are almost like yours. ABC soup.
but hor, we have more variety i guess.
soups:
melon soup,
chinese yam (shan1 yao4)
lotus roots
ABC
mixed vege soup
corn soup
papaya chicken soup
black bean soup
chinese herb soup (many types)

QQ
Yes I want e list
Cos I m e maid!
Got to cook my own soup
Haha

I hv Nvr cooked e shan1 yao4 soup wor
Mayb mummy cook for me n onus open my mouth to drink bah
But Nvr cook it myself

QQ, SQ,
san yao (chinese yam) is huai san. Sometimes you will see them put as "fresh huai san" in supermarkets. You can try arrowroot (fen3 ge2) soup too, very sweet. My family like the 3 carrots (green, radish and red carrots in 1) soup too.

SQ, shall I paste the list here?
got 20 soups. enough liao..
there are other soups that i dun fancy
peanut etc etc

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Main ingredients</TD><TD>Optional ingredients </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Black Bean (Pork/chk)</TD><TD>Black beans (stir-fried or soaked)</TD><TD>Black dates, red dates, chinese dates </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Lotus Root (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Lotus roots</TD><TD>Carrots, Red dates, chinese dates, peanuts (soaked) </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Arrow Root (Pork)</TD><TD>Arrow roots</TD><TD>Carrots, Red dates, chinese dates, corns, wolfberries </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Winter Melon (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Winter melons</TD><TD>Carrots, Red dates, chinese dates, corns </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Beet Root (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Beet roots</TD><TD>Carrots, Red dates, chinese dates, corns </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>ABC (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Carrots, yellow onions, potatoes, tomatoes, corns</TD><TD>Chinese dates </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Chinese Yam (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Chinese yam, wolfberries</TD><TD>Carrots, Red dates, chinese dates, corns </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Sweet Corn (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Sweet corns, egg (add before served)</TD><TD>Mushrooms, Potatoes, carrots, onions (little) </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Papaya (Pork/Chk/Fish)</TD><TD>Papaya</TD><TD>Red dates, wolfberries </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Apple (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Red apples OR Green apples</TD><TD>Red dates, wolfberries </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Pumpkin (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Pumpkins</TD><TD>Red dates, wolfberries </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Old Cucumber (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Old cucumbers</TD><TD>Red dates, chinese dates </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Water cress (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Water cress</TD><TD>Red dates, chinese dates </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Green Marrow (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Green marrow, egg</TD><TD>Corns, carrots </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Tofu mushrooms (Fish/Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Tofu, tomatoes, mushrooms</TD><TD>Corns </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Lemon grass (Chk)</TD><TD>Lemon grass</TD><TD>Chinese dates, carrots, mushrooms, tomatoes </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>3 Carrots (Pork/Chk)</TD><TD>Green carrots, carrots, radish</TD><TD>mushrooms, corns </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>4 Treasures (Pork/chk)</TD><TD>Mushrooms, black fungus, tofu, carrots, corns</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Mixed Vege</TD><TD>Celery, carrots, potatoes, mushrooms, tomatoes, corns, baby corns, yellow onions</TD><TD>Chinese dates, tofu, </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Salted vege tofu (Fish/pork/chk)</TD><TD>Salted vege (giam cai), tofu</TD><TD>Tomatoes </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

for other chinese herbs soups, there are many types...

some of them seems similar, i just group them differntly la. cause the MAIN dish is differnt.
haha!!!

SQ, enjoy! actually it is just mix and match nia.
and i have added the 3 carrots idea from RR>

other soups like tanghoon etc i din put cause i seldom eat tanghoon la

Hi Mummies, why so many types of soup? I made pumpkin soup yesterday.

1kg pumpkin,
2 chicken stock cubes (organic or no msg)
pinch of pepper
half a tub of philadelphia cream cheese.

puree soup when it's done to make it smoother!

RR, nice photos, simple and cute costumes too. Kira had her performance today as well. I was so proud of her:)

Giolyn, SATAY on!!!!
actually how many ppl we have ah? i wanna estimate how much fried rice to prepare. 15 adults?

Juni, wah your creamy soup sounds nice! and really creamy le. when stop bf then i make and try. cause got creamcheese, scare ah will vomit later.
and yours are ANG MOH soup. mine all cina soup. haha!!

QQ, I make chinese herbal soup too but just get those ready mix ones. 2 days ago my hb went to the medicine hall and ask for soup mix for general health. I think the ah peh stone for a while b4 mixing tons of items for him and we had a great herbal pork soup in the evening. My hb was really proud of himself:) hahaha!

Juni. haha!!!
very on le your hb.

oh yes, on and off pls share some of your recipes, to inspire me in developingnew dish for my family

SQ,
My mum taught me all those too. She will get the different different new type of ingredients and leave in my fridge for me to cook at times.

Qq: one more soup for your list, yong tau fu soup buy ready yong tau fu add soy bean to cook the soup or chix bones also can then u have a main dish cum soup liao.

Rr
Thk god for mothers!
I Nvr appreciate mine when she did that for me last time
Nw I know btr!

Star
How much soy bean to put?
N this is e 10,000th times I ask tis stupid qn: how come soy beans cook le won't become soya bean milk?

SQ, soy bean need to soak a bit first before cooking too.just agak agak can liao.
a palmful for a pot of soup (~ 1.5L?)?

if u wan to make soya bean milk, different la. need to cook plus blend the bean and squeeze out the juice.

star, yes we buy ytf too but never make into soup. haha!!!

pink, roger! ok.

so
QQ: fried rice
Pink: dessert
Bunnie: drinks
Giolyn: Satay
Autum:
Kaexin:
kelley: KIV

I go orh orh liao. tired.
i come in tomorrow and seehow many ppl's fried rice to prepare ok?
15? 20?

eeehh... wat is the address huh? I rem i went before. Bunnie's place rite. But where huh? Paisay.. who will be there to swim huh?

giolyn,
timing is 5pm. i am not going to swim cause we all just recovered from sickness.

add: hillington green

ash, alamak. i dunno what it is called in chinese leh.

Ash
Pork rib is Nt so bad if u drink imply
But I tend to put in fridge/freeze n can faint when I c e layer o oil
But then Mayb gd for e kids cos they need e fats?
A/w I m lazy
I find muscle cleaner n less messy
Plus we dun eat e meat so it's fine

If I rem correctly, Joelle recommend 5 flower meat for eating
Buri hv Nvr seen tis in ntuc

SQ,
Wu hua rou is "shoulder butt" in supermarkets. I use that for pork chops and char siew for the kids, more fatty parts, not so dry.

QQ,
Thanks for the soup list.

Juni,
My colig also teach me cook pumpkin soup this way. But i lazy, only cut pumpkin put in water boil. Then use hand-held blender to blend. I dun have milk at home, other wise can add milk. Very nice, i only added abit of salt.

QQ, mummies for the party,
Not sure if you all will see this. Fried rice for about 20 pax. Same thing for the rest of the food.

huingee, good to hear that.
next time i expand my vege list then pass u one copy.. now still not in place. i have been busy and sleeping oni. ah will not sleep through yet. i busy in the midnight la. pump and latch and feed sometimes.

RR, roger. thanks!!

Autum, so it is called mao2 gua1!!! i see.. haha!! arigato.

SQ, this RR steady, shoulder butt also know.
i tot wu hua rou4 is pork FILLET woh. i dunno why it is called wu hua?
i want everyone to eat the liao4 from soup de. so i dun buy pork muscle woh. is it leaner? i never try. maybe i try one day. we use soup bones (or big bones). soup bones from pasar can eat de . got meat. but i cannot find such bones from ntuc.