(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Rr
I rem when I was younger n poorer, I used to hv a few purses. Then depending on where I go, I wil bring e purse along. Then I know how much $ I hv spent n how much left

RR,
i know i will give up de, cause last time hb ask me to keep track of the prices from msia and sg, then i always tell him and report the wrong price. until now tian's off diapers liao i still dunno diaper price, i oni know if msia got sales, will be cheaper. if no sales, maybe yes or no. haha! jay gave up. so he keeps track of the Fm price now.

Autum, makes sense. i think the meat here in woodlands marketalso quite ex bah
so we shall all move to your area. no wonder my fren told me go boonlay market cheaper. maybe she surveyed le then always go there.

SQ, haha!! yes i remember your rubbish chute story.
i will be the one paying technically cause already agree with jay that when he is trying for his own business (now unstable stage) then i am the one footing all bills at home. next year when his business better then he takes over and i change job. so everyone should listen to me!
i buy fish then everyone eats fish. i buy vege then everyone eats vege. makes sense.

if i am happie and they make me happie then everyone got better food and better life.

AAA, as for cash from bil, i dun think it is that viable though stupid jay suggested that in case i feel inbalance. i oni feel that it is quite kuazhang and unbelievable if they really pay me that $$. i dun think it will happen, and we never push for it also la.

shall I buy many purses now?
i think i can start thinking. haha!
cause it makes sense too!
go wet market then 1 purse..
go ntuc i use cc.

AAA,
I don't know which Tiong Bahru market my aunt goes to. There are quite a few markets in TB area. Even red hill too. But generally my place here is cheaper.. but my place is anomaly I think, not the norm.

Irin,
Actually I don't actively track our purchases too. Just base on general lump sum estimates. We figured we spend about $600 a month including diaper and milk powder.. and that is a best estimate. Maybe we actually spend more?? hahahah..

QQ, dats wat i do.. i use CC in ntuc, use cash in mkt, then easier to keep track of my household spendings.. but of coz i dun purposely rem how much i spend in mkt. i just take note of the amt i bring, then see how much i hv left aft mkting..

and yes woodlands mkt is expensive according to my mum, dats why until now she still does her mkting at chong pang mkt. or maybe next time we can all ask autum to buy for us from her cheap mkt :p mkt BP? whahhahhhaha!

astro, did u rec my smses? yr stuff are at my parents' place woodlands liao.. thx so much for helping me clear my stuff

Autum,
so usually you all go together? For my case cos sometimes Kent or myself go on our own every few days. I'll probably spend $20-$30 each time but don't know how many times I go wor. Then Kent's side, he will pay for those "dua zhong" purchases which I think he also don't recall. Then sometimes my mum will see what we run out and buy for us even without us knowing. So basically we don't even know how much are the expenses each month.

RR
yes digital weighing scale.
will post pix to show u the steps. need to key in age and height, step on it to get your weight and the scale will be able to calculate your body fat % and water level %.

SQ
i dun have to eat good food, just normal will do.
the strange thing is she recycles our soup over 2-3nites, so im wondering how come bill still went up. tonight i had braised pork which was kept over 6 days. maid and mum asked me not to eat..hahaha.

aaa
bounced? thats y i said i had a bad experience with this person, waited for more than a mth when she said 2 weeks. luckily i had her contact no. somewhere and managed to get her, maybe u try other BP better?

QQ,
I think your budget of $25 per day is ok. Not too high or low. My estimate is about $20 per day (dinner only and lunch for maid) but I have only 4 adults and 2 kids. You have more adults, so ok bah. But next time when your ah-boy can eat le, then u have to add fish. My $20 excludes the cod fish we buy for the kids.

edde, so chongpang market cheaper? ROGER! thanks.

pink, 6 days liao, pls dun eat.... later need to spend more $$ for doctor.
i also want to buy neckfloat. i showed sil enya's photo, then she said she buy one for my ah will. then claim her.

Irin,
yes, every sunday me and JS go marketing together. that's why i told u, i leave my kids with maid at home alone mah. :p But of course, there are also times when I will go and buy on my own.. like after RP, I will go to the NTUC in woodgrove.. but that could be because that weekend, we only go to wet market and didn't go supermarket (cos got outing or busy or what). We actually go to wet market in the morning, the supermarket in the afternoon (on Sunday).

pinkpink,
Haha, your Rina quite good. Tell you which one is left over food and interested to see your PUB bills increase or not.

My parents will eat braised pork for a few days, they make sure they boil every day.

SQ, i feed oni tian, myself, and ah will...

next time mil, and the most sil nia.. (small portion la). jay supports himself la. got extra money then chia me for meals most of the time when we eat out.

Autum, ok.. $25 excludes fish bah. cause tian also eating fish. we seldom buy codfish, we buy ngorhee, angkorli, and baicang. mix mix.

Pink,
I also use "overnight" soup for EJ/EV. But like Joelle, we actually set aside de, and not left-over.. Some we will freeze (in small tuppers) and some we just keep in a pot. Then on the days i don't cook soup for dinner, hazel will take some of the frozen/fridge soup for the kids. Then to this, we will add new ingredients like fish, brocoli, mushroom etc.

tian also drinks overnight soup (one day max). we dun freeze it cause we know that we will use it for next day. so just boil and drinkthe nex day, usually oni for lunch cause dun want to keep too long.
if we cook new soup the nextday then, jay will drink up the old soup.

QQ/Pink,
actually I feel that for your scenarios, can just set a budget for your MILs. Like if you say $25 per day. Then $150 per week for 6 days, 1 day don't cook. Then just let them know, to buy within this budget of $150 per week?

edde,
my mil also goes wet mkting @ chong pang, she will go every sat morning. last time i very goot lat, i will go with her n help her carry. then when we got the car, i will drive her over n send her back. now, she goes on her own, FIL will go later and bring back togther.

i only keep track price of FM! wahahaha

using SQ's method, then i will have another purse at home.
haha! for them to buy things adhoc basis.

kaexin, ur mil also goot lat. i think that is the happy thing for them to go pasar walk walk and buy.

Autum, the budget per week thing will not work out well. it will exceed budget de, cause big ticket items they still wan us to buy eventually. let me try out then i will propose the most ideal MODEL for this kind of situation. haha!!

looks like i need to explore this chongpang market.

I dont do marketing...but i think my mum spends more than 200 a week.

same like kaexin, i only keep track of FM and my titbits.

Pink, i dont let cheyanne eat overnight stuff.

kaexin
of cos she remembers both of u! keira and her got along well :p

Autum
the soup is not set aside, maybe i can suggest.
dun know how to kai kou to tell her abt the budget.

QQ
i also think 1 nite soup is acceptable.

SQ,
u terrible girl! :p

QQ,
reading your post abt kaexin PIL want to go pasar walk walk and buy.. i suddenly feel that you are talking about me and JS.. we 2 so ah-pek and ah-mm liao! wahhahaah..

wah, must propose MODEL for this situation ah. sounds like must do empirical study and extrapolation?? :p

CK you are here!

Hey, since all here, can we confirm if we meeting next friday or thursday? I can't remember is it friday? 20th? or 18th?

SQ,
very long time no do liao, maybe started 9yrs ago and cont for 3-4 yrs bah. coz i go over on sat morning, ws still kooning, s i accompany MIL go marketing :p

Belle,
the pjs with edde liao, dont forget to pick up. will PM u tmr.

ask u..leia showed me pix of ship and she said 'Boat". how to explain the difference?

wana share something funny.
the nite b4 i left for hong kong, i beat her hands bcos she hit mei mei and rina. she cried badly and called for papa who's in msia, so i let her call him. after that she laid on the bed sobbing...till she was ok
she suddenly asked me.."mummy, why u let me sleep on the big bed, not on the small bed (her mattress)"
i answered:"bcos i want to sleep with u, bcos I love you."
she asked:" then y u beat me just now?"
i was dumbfounded.

Pink,
why dumbfounded? just answer her.. you beat her cause she did something wrong.. but you still love her. beat her doesn't mean don't love her.

pink,
they are at a stage, where they know how to differentiate things. more self awareness too. like she ask me where is K ? told her at her mama's house.
then i told K, Leia ask mummy, where is K ? she answers back, tell her at mama's house.
then i told her, ask your mommy to brg you out and play with K, she said ok

pink
heh... in my family, my mum would say, 打你因为爱你! then when i beat my little sis last time, she would cry but still say, "er jie beat me cos she loves me" :p

Irin, haha!

SQ, hahaha.. don't like that leh. I want to remain YOUNG! :p

ok, so meeting on 19th. I mix up. Can't remember is it Wed, thur or Fri. haha. So, 19th 10am at Coffee Bean at Wheelock right?

Autum: You're cute ler.. I was asking which is your market, not which TB market. The TB market is more ex, why would I want to know? Haha..

SQ: You're right. The stall owner knows my hubby and will set aside fish for us. A few times I volunteered to go do marketing instead, he told me the stall owner won't know me. :p Actually the fruit stall owner (at Pink's old place) knows us for the same reason too.

QQ: I think it's ok re the $$ leh. Does your BIL give your MIL allowance? If yes, then ok, no need since your MIL will have money, but if not, then should give.

Pink: Same answer as RR and Autum for both questions.

Hi mummies, since pink posted her question i lke to post mine for advice too?? Recently ashlyn reali don't 1 me i thnk after i scolded her quite badly for lying n pushing the blame to kaitlyn nw when she does smethng wrng she will jst say i m noti gal mummy don't lve me daddy live kaitlyn.. No matter hw i explain than she will say i mils bb nt mummy bb.. I feel si sad she so negative n y she turn out lke tt.. Cld she feel unfair the way we treat her n kait n mil givin in to everythng hence the change?? Sori for long post

Autum: Oh.. If it's a small market, then very strange the price is cheaper ler.. Cos one reason the bigger mkts are cheaper is becos of the volume. With bigger volumes, the stall owner has a bigger bargaining power at the wholesale level.

Kelly: Anna is also v negative with me. Prefers papa for everything. But when she sees me, she'll still come and hug me. Somehow, I feel she has more fun with papa than wiht me. And I'm def stricter with her.

Aaa: my daughter can ignore me nw w/o my mil coming to my plc she don't even want to walk over!!! I m so upset abt tis lke did i reali over scold her???

have a hard time catching up archives...

pink,
welcome back...
nowadays kids really so different... their qns always make us don noe wad to answer... got one time i ask bel to quickly walk... she reply and say she is walking already... lol! den i realise... i should say.. walk quickly... alamak... their brain is so clever... and now many things i don noe how to explain too...

qq, edde,
i also go chong pang market... i like... they are friendly... price wise... i think more or less the same... anyway market is always more ex compare to supermarket... cos they are fresh... u still can get frozen meat from market... they are cheaper den supermarket... i really hate supermarket fish and meat.... stink... but sometime last min run out of it... bo bian den buy... woodland market at marsling and vista point is not good... even my mil and granny feels tt way... chong pang one veri fresh... anyhow choose also wont get lousy fish or meat...

kelley,
sometime i can feel bel feel negleted... even teacher will come and feedback to mi wad happen to bel....she will suddenly sobbing in one corner... or burst out crying for nothing... i think spending sometime with ashlyn alone will help... don always scold her if she hurt or bully mei mei.... reason with her... or tell her to teach mei mei tt it is not a right way to to this to jie jie... now i find this veri helpful... cos sam like to bite and pinch bel... talk to ashlyn... nowadays children veri sensitive... not like us last time gong gong one... parent scold den scold lor... now days children veri different... be patient... remember last time before mei mei is born... she got u and daddy... now must share with mei mei... she will feel jealous...

kelley
i oso think u shd spend more 'alone' time w ashlyn..just 2 of u. show her how much u love her.

once again i m reminded of wat edde (i think) said. that we wanted a #2 to keep #1 company cos we love #1 so much. end up, we get frustrated with #1 for disturbing #2. in trying to protect the more fragile kid, we forgot the reason that we have #2 is to make #1 happy. =\

Joelle
true... Everything always becos think for elder one... Tts y till now i still veri angry... My parents love my sis more... But i noe my sis also love mi.

yvonne
no la... i believe our parents love us in different ways. sometimes its the small things that we neva notice that shows how our parents love us. last time i remember a fren always complain that her parents love her siblings...then cos she was a middle child, she says she is least loved. but i see her mum go market buy her fav food, even buy her expensive cleanser cos she has problem skin. i think that is greater love leh.

Ai yo. Something i wan to ask.. bfing still can take alcholic drink? i drank half cup of margarita... Guilty... Sam cant wake up this morning... Don noe is becos of the alcohol or she is too tired... The time i latch her was four hours later liao... Should have clear liao right? both of us slp so well yesterday.

Joelle
to us being a parent. We noe we love all our kids. Becos we noe each of them need wad they really need. But being a kid, we will be thinking or picking on our parents, y they always so take care of our sister/bro.. We just hope they must treat us better den our elder or younger one... Lol. Tts wad i think. So it is veri hard for mi to make it balance... Bel got sensitive skin, so i always buy ex shower gel and shampoo. Sam can use anything. Bel becos of her sensitive history, i m more strict on her diet, this makes ppl think i don treat her well. Sam don have any prob, so i allow sam to eat anything she wans or ppl offer. This makes ppl say i pian xin. *who will understand us? no one. End up we do all the hard work n they think we don love they equally.

Yvonne,

Hmm, better not drink because alcohol can get into BM. After 4 hours, alcohol should be metabolised from your body but this is the part that I feel is a bit iffy cuz your BM is continously produced and stored so in that case, the BM is already contaminated right? Cleared from your body doesn't mean cleared from your BM. Anyway, their body is supposed to be able to detoxify the alcohol but then, I think just don't expose them to it is better.