(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Joelle, i am not obliged to keep mil, but jay does. so no choice la. jay already told me long time ago, i agreed and said ok. the other side say no, and no and no, but reflected bad on herself. eventually she still wins, and we actually tell bil that if she hopes her son do that to her in future? bil kept quiet la.
by the way, i am not so good naturd one, i think. i can burst one day and jay will kena. jay is scared and worried cause he said with his mum around, he might lose me in the long run. so he looked for his brother to chamsiong for weekends getaway for mil at bil's place.

huinge, yes. i think mil will cry again, to keep antoher dotter in our house. the more she cry the more that i think she is taking us for granted. i told jay ok to stay la. let them fight the toilet and space. as long as they dun conquer our room and also tian's room, that is my bottom line.

QQ
wow jay is in a very difficult position, cant help feeling sorry for him ..hiaz :p

$250 for a week of food! thats crazy lor. she must be thinking of 3dish+1soup for every meal rite? im very chin chai de. i told maid if not enough food in fridge, just fry 1 egg + 1 meat, im ok le.

blur, grocery bill?

so how much bill i need to set aside? weekly or monthly?
say for
lunch - 2 adults, 1 kid
dinner - 6 adults 1 kid?
i dun even know how to do the math. jialat
say $25 per day enough?
end up around $25 x 7 = 150 per wk. something like that. or too high?

i separate diapers/FM in another bill.

QQ: make sure they dun use your master toilet. let them fight it out and hopefully they will feel the inconveniences soon. wa, ur mil buy food so atas! soon the market sellers will know her by name liao

pink: i'm ok abt left over soup once in a while, but not everyday/alternate days. maybe max twice a wk?

oh yes. pink. when mil is around, 3 dish 1 soup is MINIMUM. when bil is coming over for food last time, we had 4-5 dish 1 soup.
pork ribs ah, must have prime ribs then nice. the soup is v thick and nice one.
i think i ask to dilute the soup a bit bah. whole pot all liao4.
so i think wiser to buy myself the food.

QQ,
That's why Jay need to sit down with his bro to spell out everything. Cannot be all your side absorb. Aiya, they will still use your toliet cos not enough to use mah. That's why your toliet very wet and Tian dun like to pee there.
Heehee, Dylan if toliet wet he will tip toe.

QQ, pinkpink,
Your mil think their son is printing notes. :p

QQ
hmm.. i should rephrase. i understand that jay is obliged to care for his mum la. but not to the extent of her becoming the owner of the house. i think it's gonna be a very imbalanced situation if the bil is gonna stand n do nothing lo.

and hee... u gotta let ur mil know that every cent she spent here is 2 times that of the ringgit lo. she buys like in kl money izit?! aiyo...

QQ
u dun intend to let maid cook when your maid is here? Then your maid will be very free leh. All along my maid cooks n looks after EV n do housework from EV 2 mths plus. Actually u can let your MIL cook but u tell her the dishes to cook?

QQ
i lump all in for jul incl detergent, toothpaste etc.. surely diff mth diff amt, i just want to see how much we spend. During my confinement i never monitor cos surely v high n not accurate, i wanna monitor w maid. My PUB oredi up ..betw $150-$190 now.. before maid $80-$120 highest. of cos we wash more n cook more lor.. haiz.
in the above bill, didnt incl adhoc 1-3 days of buying chicken rice for lunch or when i ask maid not to cook if i m out.

avg 3 wks - 4th wk , one pkt 5kg rice for my family, 2l oil.

initially i use BRANDED cooking oil - KNIFE
n BRANDED rice GOLDEN PHOENIX. now i change to duck brand n another brand of rice (cant rem name) which is abt $2 cheaper n taste not bad. so can safe i save la haha. i m quite fussy w rice, if nua nua type i will refuse to eat :p

oh soup is good, but i dun really cook alot of soup, ribs v ex cos heavy mah.. abit only $5.
QQ u drink more soup now esp during 1st few mths ba.. me notti, trying to drink water nia.

actually jay asked me.
"do u think if brother give us $$$ for month support fees for them, it is more acceptable?"
my answrr is: no! cause they need to open their house. can? $$ dun solve all problems la

joelle, yes.. it is inbalance, but how ah? when we start our war here then mil will know wheret o run la. see hw.
and she likes to doubleboils (6 hours) using doubleboiler almost everynight, to boil redates water for her kids and me. i told her before, here electric bill v high de, dun need doubleboil, use fire to boil one whole pot. she said doubleboil very sinnang, no need to see fire. so she din boil everyday since then.

QQ,
If ur MIL is going for prime meat. $200++ for a week for the # of adult in your household is considering very good liao.

when my mum stay with me time, she also go for high end, now hb still same but I trying to cut. 1kg pork rib is abt $16+- which is enough to cook a soup only. She will go for kampong chixs which cost abt $10+ each. Every week we also spent at $200 for only 3adult and 1toddler. exclude fish.

make ur SIL top up on food? or ur BIL pay on ur MIL share?

QQ
It's not true must have prime ribs then nice for soup. We use tang1 gu3 not pai2 gu3. Tang gu also got meat de. My ribs for each soup cost $2.50 only. Then last time my PD suggested we add da4 gu3 as well. That is abt $1 per pc. The super big bone. My soup is very nice de. I add carrot onion potatoes or red dates wolf berry Yu zhu etc. I will only use expensive ribs if I want to cook Bak kut teh.

autum, yes i intend to let maid cook. but prior to cooking, i settle her with baby jobs and tian's routine first. then cooking is next.
by then i think mil alrready here. maid can help to wash dishes and clean kitchen, definitely. she has some housework to do too. but we dun expect her to do housework for everyone at home cause it is really too much. nexttime when she is more used to the environment, then slowly have new assignment.

blur, so with ribs ah, say if buy everyweek, then 1 dish already cost more than $10 le. then drink soup? another $8-10. like that how to keep to budget?

i will make soup de, my soups are much more economical. sometimes can indulge in better liao4, but not always.

QQ
your BIL come over to eat for free ah?
come on la, lunch time 2 meat + 1 veg is very good already!

yes my MIL also buys prime meat...many packs. maybe ask her to go wet market to buy, cheaper.

my maid keeps asking me how is my utility bill, she wants to know whether this month shoot up high, hahaa. she tells me nai nai uses a lot of oil, very fast finish.

autum, i also use soup bones, or big bones for soups.
oh my mil use those bones also, she makes pai2 gu3 as one of the dish then will be those prime ribs la. seldom for soups (oni sometimes).

ecmom, so your mum also like that? not all msian like that one hor,. cause my mum buy things v cheap and cincai de. mil is opposite.
$250 per week is really exp.

no intention to ask them to pay for food unless special ones that they wanna buy themselves. but they must pay mil for her own expenses. i dun give extra money for her to spend. oni lodging and meals. sil and bil will pay mil everymonth, they already doing it now. so no issue.

QQ
not all ribs are same price n not all markets are same price. Tang gu is usuall $10 per kg. Then some spare ribs can be $12.90 to $14 then prime ribs can be $16 to $20 per kg. Different countries pigs make a diff. Indo Australia brazil all can be priced differently. U buy from cold storage or ntuc or wet market also diff.

i bought many things back, brought back 2 big boxes excluding my luggage.
i brough this back, only 12pcs. its water painting for kids. very cute de. use different colours on specific zone.
4347328.jpg
4347329.jpg

4347330.jpg
4347331.jpg

pink, no la. bil dun come everyday, or not yet. we dunno. with their current relationship, wont come everyday de. in future dunno. but usually if they come, eat free lor. they din even ask who bought the vege and meat. jay said nomatter how i control, this things will still happen. say if i buy 5 days supply, mil can cook and finish within 2-3 days ma, so i wont be able to control at all.

i think dinner 1 meat 2 vege already v good too. so after my confinement, i am going to cook, simple and etc.. then try to gauge how much of my bill. see how.

huingee, ash. so i must keep my toilet closed hor. but last weekend they already invaded my toilet. but my sil asked for permission la. so i say ok. if they ask i wont b able to say no la. unless i really want to use it.

Ash
oh I usually buy 250g x 2 pkt. Both will be $5 so $2.50 per pkt. Each pkt will have 6-8 pcs. Then sometimes I add da gu. Sometimes don't. Hmm tang gu is always that cheap le. My wet market here is that price and Sheng Siong sometimes at $10 sometimes at $11 per kg.

QQ
u are taking 4 mths confinement rite? so maybe can stay home and try to 'control' a bit. im always not home so cant do anything. its very tough to tell MIL what i want her to cook everyday, must plan, headache.

autum, u know ntuc selling how much per kg?

cannot believe that i am asking ppl such question. i feel like i need to know the market price.
no wonder jay said: wet market is not always cheaper hor. he finds that the meat at wetmarket can be more exp.

QQ,
Yes, she hear from the meat seller said the prime ribs is good for soup so she follow lor, she think is for us (me and Elisha) so no problem **faint**

AAA,

yr mei mei very good liao loh...my little X hv last milk feed at 1230midnight. i tried earlier time slot before,he wakes up at 3am... so 1230 feed is the best slot, n he sleep thr till 6.30am or 7am.

ecmom, same la. mil says eating home is definitely better than eating outside. somemore she likes to cook her children's favourite dish mah. so each one one dish, then already a few le.

pink, i am clearing 12 weeks first, then followed by my on annual leave, childcare leaves. another 4 weeks probably loose loose take(san2 san3 na2) next year.

QQ
har? u mean your per dish for how many pax is $10? hmm eg tofu hor cheap n nutricious le.. square tofu steam only 85c, stimes i steam with abit mince pork n spring onions nice n light. then egg tofu 3 for $2.50 stimes will add to sweet peas 85c, 3-4 prawns with one tofu = one dish liao. then i keep my other 2 pc of tofu for another day .. say cook with sauce 2 tofu, some carrot n mushrooms. hee sthing lidat la.

QQ,

sigh! shifting MIL ard also quite disruptive for her lah, but i understand all of us need peace too.

n yr bil's wife very smart, make things so difficult at the beginning so tt your mil won't think of her place. That's y i always say good pple always get victimised. Maybe good for you, got pple to help u, when the maid comes. Got pros n cons lah, u very qin chai... shd be can tahan your mil one.

blur.. haha!! for example, a dish, chestnut pai2 gu3. use prime ribs, already $10, for about 8-10 pieces? it is for 5-6 of us bah. then still haven't add the cost for chestnuts.

eggs: not ordinary egg dish. it is egg + pumpkins+ carrots + meat. it is v nice one. also another $6-8 for that dish bah. also for 5-6 of us.
then soup? also around $8.
vege leh? usually vege is simple one

if we have fish then also higher cost.
something like that then bill wil be at the higher side. once in a while ok la.

set, i go do up the survey and see how much cost that we need per week.

blur, your points for cheaper options also will b taken into considerations. hee.

i go orh orh liao

QQ
5-6 pax ok la.. me only counting 3 + 1 kid.
my egg dish not so GLAMOUR like yours hee.. mine is at most onion eggs (nice!) pickled eggs (cai po neng) or eggs with fish cake (nice also) as long as 3 dishes no soup ok liao hahah. i drink water lor. hardly cook soup de. i prefer to eat fruits le. then hor bfeed u will feel hungry faster de, so naturally eat more rice ?

this is the weighing scale i bought. I shared these 12pcs with my galfren, will be selling at $22.90. if response is good, will ship in next time but price will be much higher le. besides weight, it can also measure your fat and water level.
i have 3 of each..havent open up all the boxes to check. type 1 (pink one with the gal), type 2(blue with flowers), type 3 (red), type 4 (black base with pink word and flowers)

4347603.jpg
4347604.jpg

4347605.jpg
4347606.jpg

its 21 x 12.5cm, weighs about 700gram

Wha! I went shopping at my previous hang-out. Didn't dare buy too many, I still have 4kg to lose. Am so afraid I might not lose the 4kg in the end.

QQ: Hey, I ask you something very impt.. Be honest abt the answer. What's the chances of your BIL ever going to let your MIL stay with them? If the prob is below 40%, then tell Jay yes, they have to come up with cash. Then you calculate a sum that's comfy for you.

Marketing bill:
I'm very 惭愧, how come you all know the bill so well? Hubby and I don't really take note le. Even for diapers and even after 3 kids, I'm still not very sure. :p

Pink/QQ
2b fair to ur mil's (s much s I dun like pink's), do u gd quality food w tt amt o grocery bill?
Cos my mum easily spends more too but we get v gd food

Aaa
Post ur loot

AAA, to be frank, the chance is less than 10%, or close to impossible. so jay's thinking is reasonable? i tot it is quite absurd and once $$ is paid, then there is no runaway for us liao. (but really no runaway la)

SQ, u are right. mil cooks good food for us, so i plan to balance a bit. bridge in between the v good standard food & plain meals. but when there are more ppl eating, and less ppl pay for them, then i am being more careful. so i guess i buy the basic, fancy stuff that mil wanna cook for everyone, she will buy cause she has $$ from her kids too.

Pinkpink,
it's digital scale? If yes then I want one.

AAA,
I also don't know how much my monthly expenses ( groceries, meals & etc ...) is. My house's "siao" very luan cos sometimes we cook for 5 adults + 2 kids, sometimes 2+2. Then sometimes Kent pays, sometimes I pay, sometimes my mum pays, sometimes use card, sometimes use cash. Aiyoh, super messy, want to control also don't know how to start.

RR
i make it a point i do the updating, cos ask the man to do it, sure luan qi ba zao.. use cash or ccard, buy at SS/ NTUC/ Giant, i make sure i keep receipt, key in then throw :p last thing i want is pc to crash la.. then i wont hv my data liao hehe.

QQ: If that's the case, better ask for cash ler. Otherwise you end up "losing" on both counts.

RR: For us, we have 4 adults (2 of us + 2 maids) + 2 kids + 1 baby. Hubby pays for everything. We buy most stuff at NTUC, + fish + meat at Tiong Bahru wet market, still we don't really keep track le. If we want to add in meals, then lagi confusing.. Most weekends, we tabao for the maids, so they don't have to cook. Plus, we eat out quite a bit. Anyway, I agree with Belle. Unless I'm the one paying, then higher chance we'll know the expenses, otherwise, forget it ler..

RR, at themoment, or all along we all also messy and never keep a record one. cincai buy, atconvenience sia

now tryng to be pro a bit and able to estimate how much expenses. at least can know my limit.

QQ
I don't really buy from ntuc so I don't know how much the meat. But my estimation should be some where there. $10-11 for soup bone. Other ribs depends on cut and from where.

Ash
I use to think wet market is more exp but my market here is exceptional. It is cheaper than supermarket. Ever since I realised that, I always buy meat from my wet market here. For some reason I dunno why my wet market here is really a lot cheaper. Not just meat, even veg. My aunt, who cooked for my first confinement, told me the prices cheaper here than where she usually buys in Tiong bahru area. I know the wet market in punggol is very expensive! The difference can be a lot. Not just few cents but few dollars per kg!

Pink: Forgot to ask you. The neck float email you gave me is incorrect. The emails I sent bounced back at me.
Do they sell just the neck floats sans the pool?

Autum: Which market is that? We thot Tiong Bahru market is cheap le.. At least for the fish..

Belle,
hard to keep track cos Kent or me will suka suka go Ntuc walk walk and buy things then most of the times don't keep receipt too. I think for my case, Kent will do a better in keeping track. I'm hopeless with all these. Haha!

QQ,
oh, you don't keep track all along? Then I think you will only be doing that for awhile before you give up le especially since you got so many people in the house.

AAA,
we don't even buy FM or diapers. Just groceries and ingredients for meals (all from NTUC) also don't know how to keep track liao.

Aaa
E tiong bah fishmonger shd know ur hb le
Always go ter n I presume always buy so much

QQ
If ur mil makes noise, tel jay to tel her tt ur stand is whoever
Pays wil decide. If she 1 2 spend her own $ she can buy wat she likes, else she has to listen to u n jay

My ILs also wil treat my hse like their own
Tt's y when we first got married, tey wil come ovr n watch tv n even paint my rubbish chute