(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Wha! Another thought-provoking topic today..

Giolyn: The teacher said that? Wha! Our kids are only 3 yrs old leh. Even at this age got to revise school work?? *sigh*

QQ: Given your 2 friends' case, I think family support is very impt.

AAA, yah lor the teacher said that. stress rite?Told me they will be covering fraction bfore the children go p1. When she mentioned Clyde 开窍了, means he knows his phnics and can start to learn words liao. Heng, he still like sch..

QQ
eh i quite pessimistic one le. not those can fang song n enjoy life type, certain things i can compromise la. hee. my younger sis got boy same age as chloe, only 7 mths younger. til now he cannot eat outside food, i always tease my sis, even my eld sis so strict also nag her.

ya think i m goin to be in this category le.. send kid to student care type.

mummies/ joelle
any mini chopper good n cheap can recommend?
i wanna use to make balachan chilli so dun wanna use my existing blender scully wash oredi still hot hot. found this quite cute, dunno can use to grind rempah etc type or not?

http://www.doublehappiness.com.sg/product.asp?proid=1822

Kaexin: Congrats to your brother..
K will have a meimei to play with now..

Kaexin: How abt the bumper mat and Haenim playyard? Wahahaha!!! But seriously, I think these 2 are the must-buys for any child..

I'm thinking if I shd get another set of haenim gates for meimei.. Prefer that she has a bigger space to move about protected from the 2 bigger As, and esp Ayden..

AAA
i think shannie is selling hers... not sure sold or not... it's the japanese version in beige.

blurbelle
the one u showed is an attachment for kenwood mixers woh..u have the mixer then can get. if it's just for chilli, u can try those bullet ones sold at departmental stores... abt $60+. but if u wanna grind diff things, i would suggest u get a glass wan..so can wash easily w no stains n odors..

Joelle: Yah! The mum selling hers is called shannie.. Is she the one? Wha!! So qiao3!

Shannie: Are you around? You looking to sell your play yard? Sell to me (at special price) lah..

AAA,
i didnt even get a HAemin playard :p bumper mat have 1 though

this morning K was playing with a toy which i consider gd for baby,but k said she still playing with it.

Joelle
Do u know whether I can buy those glass jars w lids in e blender pic tt belle showed

Belle
Thk can get v cheap blenders if u dun mind e Brand
Try Giant

Aaa
Ya e old folks r particular abt tt
But sometimes really Bo bian or hands too tired or put in carrier then will carry tt way

Giolyn,

Wah, pre-school already so stress ar??? Got exam is it? The results going to be benchmarked against other schools? School will get award for producing most number of students with distinctions? Siao.

CK,
RR's CCC does teach them to write. Letters, numbers and some one/two strokes Chinese words.

Re: Stress in pre-school
That day I overheard a teacher telling one parent that her son in N2 (4 yrs old) still cannot write his Chinese name, needs the parents to go back and practice with him. I was kind of shocked. They don't even know how to write 一,二,三 properly now, how to write Chinese name by next year?

QQ,

Studying is very stressful for me. Because my mom has high expectations. Even when she did not put it in so much words, I can sense and feel the expectations and therefore, towards schooling, I have high expectations of myself. Studying is more stressful for me than working. I can work like siao, doing 17 hours everyday for more than a week but while I can feel stressed out by work, I will never felt as stressed as when I study. I still remember last time in sec, my classmate ask around if we ever felt like killing ourselves, if we ever think about suicide. I've a primary school friend who jumped off a building when she is in secondary school. We are in different schools so lost contact with her.

However, I still love learning. It is crazy. Studying is very stressful for me yet, when I'm not studying, i.e., like now, I felt like I wanted to take a course or phD. I siao liao.

Pink sry that this took such a long time

To Account DBS Savings Plus
XXXXXXXXXX pinkpink
Amount S$54.38
Transaction Reference 2990315085

maybe we should put the CC next to our answer...then we know which cc is more academic.

I am asking this cos the china school said they dont encourage 3 years old kid to write, their bones still soft. Sgp school said they will start when in N2.

i think in CH CC, they expect the kids to know how to write their name in N2.

CO=NO (Shaws)
YT=NO
RR=YES
Tian=YES (should be bah, not v sure)

CK,

I thought CO is at schoolhouse by the park? By the way, in the vid you posted, Kai is also inside! Did you know they are in the same school?

CO=NO (Shaws)
YT=NO (Zion bible)
RR=YES (Carpe Diem)
Tian=YES (should be bah, not v sure)(purple train)

AAA,

I used the baby bjorn for YT. Until last year when we are at Japan, we are stil lugging her around in that. I never bring the pram out if I go out with her on my own so she has been in the bjorn for long hours before. She doesn't walk funny as far as I can see.

CK
i asked chloe she said, teacher ask to 'draw' on the dotted line, 'draw' the alphabet C so i guess have ba.
CO=NO (Shaws)
YT=NO (Zion bible)
RR=YES (Carpe Diem)
Tian=YES (should be bah, not v sure)(purple train)
Chloe= YES (Happy Family)

HUH? so qiao i saw kai's performance vdo.. he is the boy in the front middle :p he can dance/ jump to the beat somemore hahah

Joelle
Wat do u mean by bullet? n where to find these bullet mills..when i go courts eg, so many types n some are gigantic, see liao yan hua liao luan. i dun mind the brand but i want 'small' machine haha.

SQ
u mean u wanna buy glass jars to eg store cookies type? or glass for drinking? can try ikea?

Mejo,
you got confused lah! The one who's in schoolhouse by the park is Magsmum's gal.

Oh ... CO is in the same school as Kai. So qiao.

Mejo: Thanks.. I'm buying it anyway.. My maid is using the little pods one even when she carries her at home. She's using it like it's a sarong. Wanted to buy another so she'sgo another one to use while one is being washed.

Not sure if anna's school teaches her to write. Chiam! Must know how to write her chinese name by next year? English name considered? Anna can spell her name, ayden's and ariel's..
And she writes her name..

SQ: Yah lor.. But dunno what logic..

Kaexin: Hehe.. But you can still considered buying for your niece mah..

AAA,

YT doesn't even know how to write her English name yet, much less Chinese. But she can type her English name cuz must login to pocoyo world, haha.

Mejo: Yah, Anna can type her name.. She likes to disturb me at the keyboard..
These days, she likes to pretend she has some letters. She folds up a piece of paper into a rectangle shape, writes her name on one side, and asks me to staple it together. :p
I think I only know how to write my chinese name in primary school leh.. And that may not even be in P1..

AAA,
English and Chinese are different leh. I think most of the kids should be able to write their English names by end of this year. It's the chinese names that's stressful.

RR,

That's why I believe shouldn't choose a chinese name that has too many strokes. YT's name, one word is very easy to write, the other one slightly harder.

AAA,

All kids like that somehow. We kept all the unwanted envelopes and letters/adverts etc. in a drawer to provide the kids with drawing materials and also pretend play materials.

Mejo,
haha!! But nowadays alot of the chinese names are from those shifus de and they are usually quite complicated. Poor kids ... :p

Mejo: At the point when the parents pick the child's chinese name, how many actually think the same way you do? I certainly didn't. Good thing their names are not that difficult to write, but still I don't see them being able to write it this early..
I give her all the unwanted papers hubby brings back frm office.. The ones that are already printed on one side.. Good thing she's not picky..

RR: I wanted to say english name is so much easier to learn, but didn't... Haha.. Then I read what you wrote.. As if you've seen my thoughts..

Mejo, AAA,
I don't know how fast our kids can learn but I seriously doubt they can write their full chinese names by next year.
The funny thing was the teacher actually told the parents ALL the others in the N2 class can write their names except for the son. Wow ...

Ok.. Maid story again..
My smart Indo maid has just asked to go out next Sat.. Said she wanted to buy some underwear.. :p Discussed with hubby, and we agree between us that we will give in to her request.. But I'm thinking of letting her out on a weekday instead of a weekend, as was originally requested by her.. This shd lower the chance she may mix with bad company (cos how many maids get to take leave on a weekday?) plus I can always say the malls are less crowded on weekdays, so easier for her.. Sounds ok??

AAA,RR,

Haha, easy to write is an important consideration for me when choosing chinese name. I'm actually inspired by a manga. The main character's name is written only in the japanese phonics (hiragana) and she has no chinese character (kanji). She said her parents didn't want to trouble her with the writing or something to that effect. The idea is to show how considerate and gentle the parents are. In the story, she lived all alone. So it seem to constrast that such considerate parents will let her, a secondary school student live alone. Then later we found out that actually her mom has passed away and she is a rich kid who often got kidnapped so she choose to live alone so that she doesn't hurt any more people by getting kidnapped.

Mejo: This story is so sad and totally tragic!
It's like someone choosing to leave the husband and children so that they won't feel sad if she were to die one day, and in so doing, everyone is not only deprived of the happiness that would have been, but also becomes sad NOW??
What a way of thinking?