(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

star
enjoy your trip okie. let us know when you are back!

SQ

I need to finish chores w/o any disturbance, cooking tonite, so i ask pete to help me lor.
phew i just finish cleaning the whole hse .. taking a break now.

Merry Christmas to all mummies, babies and todds!!

Love all the pics of the Christmas party!
So fun.

Pax No prob re collection. Have got your sprays with me.
Got the transfer for crayola, but can help me check if you've transferred for the trimmer? That's $34. Thanks.

Joelle: Thanks for the sprays.. My study desk is finally ants free for the moment.. I hope it stays this way.
Yeah!!!
By the way, do we have to wipe off after spraying? I sprayed on marble and parquet and there is white foam from the spray, which sizzled as it touched the surface area.

SQ: thanks... rae still sleeping and we are suppose to reach my gf place by 5pm. i need to go wake her up.
the thermal containr looks soo cute, dun buy lah, u have the thermos liao.

AAA: i also got my ant spray today, i can'[t wait to use it. the bootle looks quite good. i tot u need to wipe it off after spraying, ie. using like normal cleaning agent, spray and wipe off.

SQ
bobian ..no helper hv to clean myself. Stimes i get a kick out of doing chores.. ways i can vent :p

glut rice arrh? i use the agar agar method one le, let me find an email i sent my gf before then i post here. i put alot of liao cos my sis requested it, i ever tasted outside glut rice not much ingredients but still nice le. i wonder how they do it.

SQ
for you

Ingredients:
1) Glutinous Rice 2 Cups (Wash n soaked overnight preferably, min 6 hours)
2) Approx Half cup Dried Shrimps (diced) (Soaked n set aside to use, remember to save the water)
3) Approx Half cup Mushrooms (diced) (Soaked in hot water till soft, save the water)
4) Spring Onions & Fried shallots (garnishing)

Seasoning
1) Salt
2) Soy Sauce (Light)
3) Pepper
4) 5 spice powder (optional) i did not use
5) Hua Tiao Chinese Wine
6) Oil + Sesame Oil

Method:
1) Add oil & sesame oil (about 5 tbsp) to a wok
2) Fry shallots till golden brown (tip: add pinch of salt when frying makes shallots more crisp)
3) Set aside, leave the extra oil in the wok
4) Add mushroom & dried shrimps & stir fry about 8-10 mins or till 'soft'
5) Add light soy sauce, salt, wine, pepper to taste
6) Drain the rice & empty into wok, fry rice for about 5-8 mins whilst mixing all ingredients together
7) At this point, add in some seasoning again (to season the rice)
8) Once done, you are half way done :p
9) Put the mixed rice into a metal container, add in the mushroom & shrimp water (1 to 1.5 cups approx)
10) Steam min 30 - 40 mins
11) Once cooled, garnish with diced spring onions & fried shallots.
12) Enjoy!

i normally check abt 15 mins into steaming if the rice grains are still very hard, then u add in more water & stir abit to evenly distribute. What i think is too much water will make the glut rice quite mushy & not so chewy so i normally add in later if not enough.

Good luck!!

SQ
for glut rice i personally prefer lots of shallots & spring onions on top, then i like hei bee + mushrooms, dun hv peanut or lap cheong is finel. i ever made with lup cheong, lazy to cut :p

calories arrh.. fried chicken more or glut rice more? i duno le hee

QQ,
oh, the elephant mask is from you? I havn't open up for them to play yet but Kent likes it alot. He says very suitable for the 2 of them.
Tks for it.

Ya, Reyden seldom cry. Think he really felt uncomfortable yesterday. I also felt bad that I lost my temper at him. Partly cos I was busy and warm then he kept asking for silly stuffs. Luckily he had some fun with the animal game, ballooons and bubbles during later half.

blur, wah i am lazy to cook glut rice, but i also like it a lot. i tasted yours before, not bad.

wait for your boy to go full month then u can make again!

RR, yalor. i was telling hb that if any of the R will get the elephant mask, then will be good. then we saw reyden got it, hope they also like it.
i dunno if RR will love to play that. it looks interesting hor. i think it is v suitable for them. twins are so fun! anything also can be double fun.

QQ
frankly do u know the meaning behind having glut rice for full mth? i duno le.. me by then will be dead tired, wont think of making glut rice :p
so far the glut rice i make is cos my eld sis tam jiak so i make for her to make her happy la hehe.

irin/ QQ
post pics of the mask le.. i m very curious how an elephant mask looks like.

blur,
of course i dunno about the meaning of the glut rice. i oni knew this when i had tian. my kampung dun have such custom woh. we have oni angku and red eggs.

tian kept asking us to bring her to another party today. she said go party, dun go home. sigh. hong sim.

RR can post pictures next time when they open up the toys. i din take any picture of the elephant mask cause bot liao immediately ask the person to wrap.

This is the revised recipe of the salad, i forgot to type in Mayo in earlier recipe..

re: macaroni salad

1 pkt of marcaroni
1 can of fruit cocktail
i can nestle cream
1 bottle of mayo
Pkt of rasins

Method
1. Boil and cook marcaroni
2. let the marcaroni cool down
3. mixed well nestle cream, mayo and fruit cocktail, + sytrup (depends on your taste for sweetness)
4. add the above mixture in the cooled marcaroni and mix well
5. Put in fridge to chill....
6. Serve w rasins.

Mist,
thanks for the recipe. Will try it one of these days, seems easy.

QQ,
I think they'll like too cos there are 2 masks, no need to fight. hehe.

Belle,
ok, I'll open for them to play tomorrow and take pixs to show you.

thanks to the organisers for the fun we had yesterday! and thank mist and friend for the venue... though it must be the warmest function room ever!! =p

QQ
aiyo..u caught me explaining abt the m&m man izit?! heh... hope tian likes the gift!

belle
aiyo chloe looks so 'hiao' on the phone!! so cute!! seth wanna go watch movie with her... dun go with rayner ok? wah..i feel like cookin glutinous rice tmr liao!

pink
we oso wan ur fried rice recipe leh!! nice nice! my hb loves the fried onions n ikan bilis too!! keep harping on it even when we got back!

aiyo... think my cupcakes too much ah? got half leftover too! luckily managed to psycho some mummies to bring home! alamak..i forgot to declare it is cream cheese frosting... not buttercream.... wun get jelat wan.... i see many adults scrape off ah... then the kids eat the icing n throw the cakes?! =S next time i serve icing in little cups...n cakes seperately. =p

AAA/star
the spray is water based one... n not supposed to stain. so i don't think need to clean off... leaving it on ants who step on it will die oso... supposed to last 24 hours.

Joelle,
I'm one of those who scraped off for Reyes cos she can't take cream or cheese. And ya, Reyden ate the icing and threw the cake ... into Kent's stomach. haha!!

I think hor next time for potluck, we must cut down on food quantity. All the food had so much leftover. I just ate the roast beef for dinner. :p

joelle
hee i tot the pic looks funny, macham chit chatting with bf like that + her pose aiyo.. my hiao po finally in zz land liao..maybe dreaming of movie with seth? lol

ya pink's rice is nice , i like it cos its still warm n yes the ikan bilis! this morn at seng shiong i tot of pink when i saw ikan bilis wahahah

irin
wah tks hee i m more curious wat kind of mask is that. this chloe oredi doin her puzzle few wks i didnt let her play puzzle, she abit forgotten how to play liao, kept asking her papa & me, is it? isit? before she puts the pcs together

irin
got alot of left overs meh? i didnt even know pete got take sphagetti home :p he even chided me for putting napkins to absorb the oil cos those he tabao back got TISSUE as the 'decor' hee
my meatballs also bo seng li lucky i didnt buy 2 pkts!

actually i like potluck so many kinds of food, better than hawker ones! i eat hawker food till i sian.

Belle,
ya, I like potluck too cos can try alot of the mummies' specialties.
But must halve the quantity next time. hehe.

SQ,

the marcaroni salad is meant to be cold dish... hehehe....

RR,

yap, not difficult to make.. ;)

Joelle,

hahaha, yah loh, i told my fren... our rooms no aircon, the other rooms no lights. and they machiam having candle light bbq... hahaha

Belle,
no lah, the objective is to "hook" the rings with the elephant tusks. I think it's quite interesting too.

talk abt specialities hor.. any mummy here knows how to make coleslaw?

i want those kenny rogers type, abit sour.. i like le.. popeye one is nice but a tact too watery, colour also dun look nice. kfc one nice but sweet hee

oops i sound like a food critic :p

Belle,
I like to eat coleslaw too but don't know how to make nice one. :p You make me crave for salad now but can only munch on carrot sticks.

irin
why carrot sticks le? on diet?

tom i m goin to make carrot orange juice, yum yum.

me no guts to go experiment, scully waste the whole cabbage wahahah

irin
wah u crave till like that?

hubby just now asked me: u hungry? i said abit..but too bad downstairs dun hv things to much like chicken wings .. i then forced myself to drink my calcium..now full liao hee

joelle, u are right.
i was going to clear the cream on top of the cupcakes for tian, but she said cannot. ok lor, we let her lick and eat the cream. so not so sinful ah, ok la. haha! she likes creams.
hb said just let her be, and tian said it was her birthday woh. jialat.
she likes the m&m more.the gift she opened liao then told me play another day. then she ciao with the m&m to one corner. but i did not open for her yet. she just xin1 shang3 oni.

blur, i also like pot luck. the roasted chicken wings are not bad. better than the fried one.
i had friedrice as supper last night.
hb said, he was too full to eat the friedrice.

it is late. i go orh orh liao.

just finished one chapter of my notes... *yawn*

and tomorrow is going to be a lazy day for me, i hope. all of us will stay at home to rest, or the most go out for 1-2 hours then come back.

hb had a hard day today. he cooked dinner while tian refused to nap. i was zzzz away... haha!! when i woke up, tian was still awake,but almost fall down and zz type. hb really bochap her and let her play until she wanna zzzzz... he can be a house-husband neh, then kids can have no nap, just play play play, tv tv tv... men!!

QQ
yes i took one roasted wings..not bad, u studying?

irin
hee good! healthy alternative..till now hubby still searching for food to eat :p now he just took out the leftover meatballs hee

blur, partime la. butt itchy then go take up this cert in commercial, IP and contract law. completing in march 2010. i still have an assignment untouched woh. i hope i have the energy to do it next week.

RR, blur, suggest more food? then i go buy ingredient and make tomorrow.
we are running out of food idea at home, now surviving on biscuits, cakes and cereals (many types), + MILO.

QQ
u so hardworking.. very cheem le.. its contract law? IP? networking IT based?

dat bad? hmm cook sthing simple like kway teow soup with fish ball? got ikan bilis at home can make the stock liao.. my mum used to make this for us for lunch

QQ,
I've got this simple rosti recipe from Edde but I improvised abit. You only need potatoes, onions and eggs. Can get ham, bacon or sausages to eat with it as well. Nice!!

Belle,
my mum used to cook that too! And RR also like that now. Easy to cook for them but I use yellow noodles instead of kuay teow.

irin
its the simplest ingredients n the soup is so tasty hor.. yes when young i like to eat yellow noodles, so far chloe never really tried this cooked like that, she only had hokkien mee with yellow noodles.

my mum would even fry an egg n put into the mee for me

Belle,
Chloe likes kuay teow? Hmmm ... maybe I should go get some kuay teow & cook for them to try tomorrow.

irin
i think chloe slurps faster with kway teow & lao shu fen, she is very slow in eating rice & bee hoon cos she stimes will choke. i always reminds her to chew..but she tends to just swallow

AAA
paisey.. i tot i trf for the trimmer liao.. pls chk hor.

To Account POSB Savings
xxx-xxxx3-2 babygirl
Amount S$34.00
Transaction Reference 2621946279

Oh yar, we finally had to change our maid after her 4 mths with us. Think MIL reached the end of her tolerance when she began weeping during work and even started ignoring my MIL when she tried to talk to her. Haizzz. I also dunno whether to say the maid is stupid or too honest, go and tell my MIL that she's the slowest one during agency training. Everyone had to keep calling her to hurry up. Slowest in tasks and learning English. We hit the jackpot man. That day I experienced for myself how she took 2 hours plus to clean one toilet cuz I'm in the studyroom... let's hope that I get a better maid next round.