(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Astro!
I was just thinking about u when I posted the height of the sink cabinets etc.. haha.. cos that day when I was at your place, i can really feel that everything is elevated!

Irin,
huh? what did i post? abt my dishrack?

AStro
u r tall mah.. ID must design to cater to the user.. for condos, no choice. they mass market production, so all the same lor..

Pax: Then we're back to the door being either too high or too low for some. Very difficult to cater to all..

For asthetics, we have to sacrifice something lor..

AAA
the main user of the kitchen is me mah. so must cater more to me, than to mr pax... he dun complain lah...

RR
hmm..just realise the one at the new place, also quite high - the cabinet on the left...i have to toptoe a bit too...this is not my place...
3345159.jpg

Pax: Hope he doesn't use that as excuse not to do the washing up. :p Hubby is quite tall, so our island top is not the regular height. Our sitting area, tv console, toilet sinks and even the Masterbed toilet seat is adjusted higher.

I really find this Mar/Apr Mum super interesting and fun. Everything also can discuss. Good to know you all leh!

RR - finally...finally...my eyebrow color is starting to fade!

Ash - Did I miss your post. Sms me...easier.

Yvonne - My 2-cents'...simple and maintance-free...and of cos, fit budget!

AAA,
i find using dishwasher leceh. have used it few times when i went to stay with my sis. still prefer to do it the old fashion way :p

yvonne,
my kitchen is the same way like nick wants it. but then that design is already more than 10yrs! i also need to repaint my kitchen ceiling. it need a fresh coat liao aftr 6yrs!

Pink: u can eat cook lobster? Hehe

Mist: working how to bring her? I most days go work as early as 6am leh.. tt’s y depend on her.. only lazy period like dec.. not so early..

RR: my cabinet also like tt.. actuali not very gd hor.. cos i short.. u realise when u put wet plates.. all water run into ur armpit!

pax, aaa, autum, kaexin, pink,
wah! all of u have the same rack including nick parents house! tts wad i "seriously don like " lol... cos veri difficult to wash above my height! i think after seeing all ur photos... i will get autum's kind, which is also pink's photo... the whole thing tt can be bring down to wash in the sink..

aaa,
mine also use blum...
more lasting...? i don noe... lol.. nick will handle the machanism... lol... i just tell the id wad design i wan... kekeke...

Autum,

yah loh, that's what i told her loh. I will monitor her closely during this period. Cos still hv chance for me to replace her. That's y i purpose call JDM first mah, talk to the boss, Jessica. SHe's the fierce loh... even when i relate to her, she also sounded quite fierce. hahaha... Sigh! tiring matters!

Kelley,

then u hv no choice but to depend on your MIL liao loh... Me rush like mad woman, when i need to pick X fr CC. I know how crazy it is, and i lost 3 kg in 1 mth when i pick X fr CC..

Pink,

how does your MIL intend to let the 4 face buddha choose the location huh? Ask shifu is it?? hmmmm.... Your MIL tell u for what huh? shd tell Mr Tan mah... aiyo, kind of stress to stay w MIL hor..... at least i still hv breather for sat and sun.

sometimes i wonder if we will be so ma fun when we grow old... ;p

aaa, mummies...
yes yes! i really appreciate all of u can give so many different design and comments on different things...

one more thing... i wan to have ceiling fan... but hor... becos of the L BOX cornee and the lights we going to install... will look veri wierd.... if don put fan, we have to put standing fan... *I KNOW THIS IS DAMN SILLY QUESTION* but ah... veri mao dun lei... wan to have ceiling fan, cos it will be safer for the kids, but our house cannot place the lights in the correct position.. the light will be affected by the fan... (u all understand mi? lol)

Yvonne,
Mine also same as RR one. We got the cover to cover the washing rack. But last year hb took the cover glass out. Cos block the light above.
Hence mine became something like AAA's one.
I like this way, good for drying the plates n bowls.

mist
im not sure..
for some elderly, they have this pair of wooden 1/2 mango-shaped thing which they throw on the floor..if its 1 face up 1 face down, it means the god doesnt like it...if both face up means they are ok with it...something like that...whahahha

Yvonne
that means u have to either compromise the Lbox and lighting design or use a standing fan rite?

i will be in dilemma if im in your shoes!

AAA,

Now that u mention the contractual agreement hor. I realise my copy dun hv anything stated there on no HP leh... I think i better ask the agency if they have anything stated there in the copy. I wanna keep a copy.

I think hor, if this maid safely pass thr 2 yrs contract. I will think twice if i wanna to renew her contract. I was planning to hv maid for 4 yrs, until the 2 kids abit grown up. Now will review this liao....

hg,
ok. Alamak. Show nick, he said everyone do this kind, i wan to be special. :s grrrrr.

Pink,
either i do ceiling fan den the the light will look wierd, also worry the light will be affected. Or i don do ceiling fan and buy standing fan which will be dangerous to the children.

Star,
I am not at home now la. cannot take pic! haha. but i think our racks should look the same bah. cos all racks look similar anyway! hahaah..

yvonne,
actually u should go to IMM. go to those places where there are a lot of reno companies and song-cho is there too with showroom. then u go and imagine if u are using the kitchen sink, and how u want to put up your dishes etc.. cos a lot of the reno companies, they also have built-up demo kitchen etc.. so u can see if u like that.

Yvonne,

yah, i will stay firm for this issue.

regarding your fan, you mean your fan will block the lighting position huh??? hmmm, I personally dun like ceiling fan lah, cos as the fan spins, it "cuts' off the lights, abit distracting to me lah. I hv standing fans, I teach X to on and off the fans, so tt he dun hurt himself...

Pink,

That means your MIL going every corner to throw that 1/2 mango shape thingy?? ay, abit funny leh.. basically she is just saying tt she wants a custom made cabinet in her desired corner what... ;p

autum,
yes... i saw it in imm yesterday... tts y i like lor! lol...

mist,
yes... will cut the light.. tts y now thinking if we put more to the side, it will look super funny right? where for ppl put all the way to the side and somemore got down lights...

yvonne,

then tell nick, u r thinking of practical and ease of usage, not tt u want special. Just tell him lah, u r in charge of the kitchen, cos u do the cooking etc. hehehe

Yvonne,

hmmm, i see. actually i saw before in my fren's place hor, her ceiling fan doesn't cuts the light leh.... not sure how she does it though

I hv phobia for ceiling fans one, so i dare not install one...

Star, Yvonne,
haha.. i just went to the song-cho website and found this photo! this is how my rack looks like.. so i no need to go home and take photo le. Just imagine this thing is mounted on the wall, above my kitchen sink, can liao.

3345424.jpg

what i like about this is, it uses a ladder-system. So the 2 ladders on the left and rack, is what they mount on your wall. then the rack, is just hang on the 2 ladders. So if u are tall, u can hang the rack higher. If u are short, u can hang the rack lower a few rungs. Of course, subject to how-high you mount the ladders in the first place la. But at least there is some flexibility.

cos when my maid came, and my maid is short, i told her to hang the rack lower down the ladder, since she is the main person using now.

autum,
but i may use the bar method lei... *more ex also... ekekekeke ... tt one nicer... :p and this nick tell mi this is veri veri old style... arhh!!!!

*seriously till now i still cannot decide wad i wan... even if we nv reno, just buy instant stove, cook on concreat i also don mine..
i just noe my dream have come true... all other stuff is bonus! kekekekee the days are nearer! wahahahaha...

yvonne,
ok bar method looks more modern. this one looks more old-fashioned.. it's true la. cos this one been around for long time le. haha. aiya, you will have headache to decide on many things de. hahhahaha.. :p

autum,
really headache. Cos all look nice. Wahahahhaaha! When i go shop shop, my 'kou tou chan' is always: zhe ke mei, eh zhe ge ye hen mei. Zhe ge gen mei. Wahahahahahaha den nick always say: jia lat, taps and sink all will buy different pattern, cos all i like. Wahahahaha!

autum, my dish rack is the same as yours too.

yvonne, i also have l-box so i didn't install ceiling fan. i have one standing and one floor fan. have to teach them not to teach.

Yvonne: Yes, it's true. There must be a certain distance between the fan and the ligths. If too close, the fan will "cut off" the lights, and it'll look as if the lights are flickering. Not good for the eyes. So a lot depends on how big your area is. Normally, the fan is at the centre, with the lights to the sides. My house has a ceiling fan in every room except the kitchen, maid's room and the laundry room. Then we have down lights at the 4 corners plus the sides. I think down lights come in 3 sizes - if the room is big, then need to go for medium or the large size.
If not, then you can go for fans with attached lights to it. But KDK doesn't carry such designs.
Blum system shd be more lasting. It is also more ex than other Taiwanese brands.
For the dish rack, the price also depends on the length.
What is I-box? Is it the false ceiling?

kaexin: I've never operated on a dishwasher before. So dunno how leychey it is. But the plates all come out warm warm. Nice.

moogen,
ok. Still considering the rack. Wahahaha!

Moogen aaa,
now also must consider the light and fan.

*my god. The list is getting longer. Next is my blind or curtain. *i need to get away from here, if not u all get bored with my topic. Hehehe.

yvonne
when u buy the taps, check the connections below.. get those which u can use the standard flexible hose to connect. those non-standard, vv small piping ones, dun get, difficult to change if there's a leak... u tell nick, he may u/stand