(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

aaa,
ya. This one is small prob. Don wish to spend so much on it. This rack is over 400bucks. Jaw drop when i ask for the price. Mad one. Really nice and stylo la. But i think no need at this moment.

yvonne,
mine is your No.1 point because over my sink area, there is no wall cabinet. So I bot those drill and hang on wall, over the sink. Mine is the chicken-brand! haha.. can't remember the brand le.. Song-something. Stainless steel so won't rust.

If you have cabinet over the sink area, then you can consider your no. 2 option. that will make it neat. No. 3 option is only if your sink-counter area is big, where u have space to put the rack. Or else it will just clutter up your sink area.

aaa,
the build in rack in the wet kitchen hor. How u clean it? Cos it will have dirt after quite some time lei. I see the one in my house, wah, clean till veri messy. Water dripping all over the place.

yvonne,
i just saw your post.. yah, i think my rack is equivalent to your 400+. But when i got mine, it was 200+ to 300 i think. that was 5yrs ago.. steel price have gone up a lot since! :p

and i have no regrets.. because after 5yrs, my rack still look very good. it really won't rust and with regular cleaning, it's still shiny and nice!

Yvonne: You use it everyday, how to accumulate dust? I dunno how the maids clean it, prob using cloth and some liquid detergent? Same as how they clean the wall tiles and the kitchen cabinets?

yvonne
u've got to change your gate bcos of your neighbours' cats? so u are already intending to change anyway. its legal to let them roam around at the corridor? im just worried tat they may poo outside your house. in my mum's place, some stray cats came up to our floor and poo outside before but i heard shd buy 4D next day...high chance of striking..wahhaa

not very big? wow but i already feel so xinku walking....

Yvonne: What's the diff between 1 and 2? Even for 2, the rack is not covered up. The ID will design an area just to fit in this dishwasher rack. Actually mine has a piece of removable "plate" to collect water below it, altho it's palced above the sink.
This is such a small item to clean. Don't worry abt it. When you have your house, think abt cleaning the windows, the toilets, the floors etc etc..

kelley
enjoy? err...ok lah...im going kushin bo tonight cos he wants to eat the lobster and snowcrab...and i cant eat raw food

anyway i cant eat a lot...very hard to digest, stomach too tight cannot walk

wow i didnt know adrian is particular. mr tan leaves everything to me..

yvonne,
I google and found le. the brand i bot is Song-cho. Actually last time, i bot my dish rack and also some other bathroom racks (to put shampoo etc).. all in i spent over 1k, but that was 5yrs ago price. now maybe higher, i am not sure.

The bars quite easy to wipe. for dish rack, they give the steel trays below. that will collect water (from the dripping). so just clear these trays every day or every other day.. the bars, won't collect dust so fast de. as what AAA says, you use everyday, so it won't get dusty easily.

AAA,
for option 2, there are cases where by the ID will build a cabinet to completely hide the rack. It can be via a sliding door.. where u open upwards, then slide in above the rack. Or, i have also seen, they do two cabinet doors, just open outwards. So while you are doing the dishes, the 2 cabinets doors are on the left and right of your head.. then after u wash and hang to dry, u close the cabinet doors.

Autum: Haven't come across those and I don't understand the rationale of this at all. When the plates are wet, it's no good to close the cabinet doors right? And when they're dry, supposed to remove them from the rack and keep the plates with other plates in the cabinets right? *puzzled*

AAA,
even when the cabinet doors are closed, it's not fully 'closed' because the bottom part of the cabinet is opened. so only the frontal part is fully covered but bottom is opened, so still can air the dishes.

As for rationale, well, I guess some people just don't want any exposed parts at all bah. They want everything to be hidden out of sight, thus neat.. so even while drying, they want the dishes to be hidden! hahahah.. :p

Autum, then hor, the design also got problem. If the doors are non-sliding ones, then when the person is washing the dishes, the open panels may hit the person's head, cos the rack needs to be within the person's reach. If the doors are the sliding type, then you need to cater for extra space to "hide" the folds when opening.

Wahahahah!

Autum: mine is also the chicken brand i tink, the stainless steel one.. i forgot how much i paid liao.

yvonne: i pulled down all the wall tiles in my kitchen (cos very old) and no money to replace them cos tiles is expensive, so i opted for paint instead, only my cooking area is tiled partially on the wall.. hahaha.

AAA,
i think the open-up one is quite ok. some may not be sliding in. It just opens up and stays up, via a hinge. But the open door-panels one, that is a bit silly. haha.. think the open-up one is actually quite popular u know.. :p

no offense to any mummies who happen to have those open-door-panels dish cabinets hor! kekekeke..

yvonne
it's really up to u how u wan to do the dish rack. if u wan to get those top hang (ie. door open upwards n stays up), get them to install the door w pneumatic closer. the hinge type spoil easily, like mine. can drop down anytime. the song-cho brand which Autum mention is vv gd, lifetime warranty. if u dun wan a build-in one, jus get a "put in the sink" type, but get a good one, if nt u always need to change bcos it's always wet - rust easily. the song-cho brand one won't rust.

Pink,

yah, i had coconut drink liao... once only lah.. coconut jelly was becos i cook on sunday... hehehe...

Kelley,
hmmmm, if u need MIL to help then no choice bah, unless u are bring your gal to school everyday yourself. For the 1st 2 months, I bring my boy to and fro from CC myself. I dun want MIL to bring, cos i know she will say this and that. Or things like X cry and cry very chiam and will persuade us not to let X go CC... so I chose to suffer abit for 2 mths, until X is okay then let MIL fetch him.

Bunnie/AAA,

yah, i also think my maid very smart. Think she research alot leh. she can still show the Hello card is the cheapest rate to call philippines. Anyway, since she wanna call hm every weekend w her own $$$, i let her be. As long as not i pay lah.

But HP is no no for me lah, i put it very clearly to her. That is my condition for engaging her, if she feels unfair, she's free to go and i've already informed her agency. I state my stand clearly, purpose want her to know tt I dun mind her going even i'm due for delivery next mth.

I know my agency will scold her if they talk to her, then the situation will be very ugly. That's y i gave her the option to speak to me or the agent. She's smart, she dun want to speak to agent cos she will be scolded. Then i told her very strictly, she has to drop the idea of having hp. If she still hangs on to this idea, I will go to her agent.

Then my mil best, she still can tell me better dun scold maid or do anything cos they would do us harm. I told my mil, i am the employer. i hv my conditions stated clearly, if she's not happy, she can go, I won't let myself be threaten by such things one....

sometime i'm very irritated by my MIL, when i discussed things w my hubby hor, she suddenly add in her opinions one leh. wow, i super buay song loh. Jus like tt day, i was discussing whether to let X participate in some music class provided by his CC, my MIL suddenly chips in "dun need lah, X always sick what!" wow, i almost rolled my eyes.

Then got another time, we discussed abt pri sch, my MIL also suddenly chip in "go to the pri sch next to your blk lah, no need to take sch bus!"

aiyo, i tell u hor, i super buay tahan loh... argh!!! sorry huh, jus my grumble on the sideline... ;p

Autum: Oops.. Actually I find it's the ID's fault/inexperience for not pointing out such details to the customer. Of course if he/she has pointed out and the customer still wants to go for it, then it's a different story.

The open up one also poses a problem. For the open panel to not block the placing or removing of plates, it has to open quite wide and perhaps even all the way, but if it opens all the way, it'll be difficult to reach (due to height) when one wants to close it. Know what I mean?

It's another nice idea to have, but not all nice ideas are practical lah.. Just like having too many full-length glass windows.. :p

Autum,
to help them better visualise your explanation. haha!!

3344904.jpg
3344905.jpg

AAA,
the non-sliding door won't hit the head but the racks' height is a problem for me. I broke don't know how many plates when putting it up to dry.

Yvonne,
I think Autum is quite right about the space at the sink-counter area else you'll find the rack cho-deng after awhile. That was what happend at my previous place.

Actually all your 3 options doesnt work for me but we just choose the best one out of the 3 cos no space forr the other 2 options.

Yvonne,

Mine is the open up kind... last time, when my mil not at my place, i will wash, dry and keep everything in the drawer. I think they are okay, just tt kind of difficult to keep it clean also. unless u clean every week lah, cos dust also stays on the racks.

Now my mil ard, she will leave everything there to dry after wash. I seldom step into kitchen nowadays cos i dun wanna "chiong" w her... There's a saying "a kitchen can never accomodate 2 women!". So i better stay away, cos never see eye to eye on things.

oh.. my dish rack dun hang over the sink, bcos there's window at my sink area. so it's next to it.

yvonne
u look at RR's photo. the mechanism must be this type one, won't spoil that easily..

irin
how come so high? i told my ID, the rack cannot be high, else i cannot reach...

Pax,
cos there's no way to put it lower, will end up taking up the space below it then it defeats the purpose in doing the build-in one liao. I'll need to tiptoe for the higher rack so usually I don't put on the 2nd rack.

Mist: I still suggest to let the agent speak to her. Why not let the maid be reminded of her contractual agreements with you?
And I believe the agent is not out to make matters ugly between you and the maid. They're like a broker, will have to handle "delicate situations" between both parties.

RR: Yah lor.. I pointed out the height as a problem for this design..

AAA,
ya, but that's the next best idea if the sink counter area's not big enough for a drying rack. So chiam ...

AAA,
hmmm ... yes, the door is redundant but sometimes when there are people coming over, can just close it to cover up the mess. :p

wahahahhaah.. Irin to the rescue (with pictures!).

irin, u short la! *siam*... :p

AAA,
kekeke, Irin's picture says it all!

Autum,
I know lah!! So I learnt that if you are short, get a bigger kitchen so that everything can be at "reachable" height. If you are tall then it's fine? hahaha!!!

RR
mine is ok leh, lower, abt 2" higher than the kitchen towel holder. i dun put much below the rack. jus my chopping board n knives...

3345047.jpg

mist,
hmm, if u think after talking to your maid a few times, and she still want to request, then u should let the agent talk to her. Actually for this agency, i know they do try to 'brainwash' the maids when they are here for the training. ie. they tell them things like, objective here is to make money so that they have better lives at home etc. objective is to work hard and be rewarded etc. all those values.. so if agent talks to her, they will remind the maid all these things again i think.

wahahahah.. now pax posts pic! next person to post will be AAA.. if i am at home now, i will take a pic of my song-cho rack!!

wahhahaha.. sometimes i find we march mummies are really a fun bunch.. anything also can discuss de! kekekekek.. makes our life more interesting hor!

Pax,
oh, our kitchen layouts look similar! hehe. Aiyah, now I get you liao. I should have done mine lower too hor? Haiz ... but I didn't think about it that time, just thought same height as the cabinets then I can put things below it too. Anyway ...

Yvonne,
take note ... but you shouldn't have any problem since you are tall.

RR
my current house's dish rack is exactly the same as yours! i find it a bit high for me!
the new house's dish rack is similar but open from the side.

hiaz..very sad..i measured my kitchen, not enough space to place 2 washing machines, so i drop the idea, bought a washer cum dryer instead..

Mist
if im not wrong, theres this card by Philippine Pinoy which cheaper.

when my mil add those side lines, i siam and walk away...cannot be bothered to listen.

last nite she came to my room, told me she has to bring her 4 face buddha to the new house first, let the god choose the position he wants, which means we have to compromise our design? she's hinting that she wants to custom make a cabinet for it...?
i cannot be bothered - i told her see what mr tan says, hes more particular abt the house design and arrangement.

so funny!

AAA,
hmm so now u know, actually the rack with a cover is really quite popular.. so many mummies here have that! (even Pink just said so).

Yvonne,
see, now u have many ideas liao. must take note of all the details hor. the height etc.. also the height of the kitchen sink and cooker hob.. cannot be too high or low also... else hand/shoulder ache or back ache! kekekeke..

AAA,
yes, I've seen something like yours at my friend's place. I think the door is for me to hide the mess behind cos sometimes I don't keep the plates after drying, hahaha!!

Autum,
easier to explain with pixs lah else will explain till very luan. :p
I've got the song-cho brand racks for my condiments drawer too. It's abit pricey but better. I used those normal ones at my old place, got rusty easily.

AAA,
my sink is like Pax's, beside the rack.

Pinkpink,
so your new house's dish rack is lower?

I'm interested to know how does her 4-faced buddha chooses its spot? :p

Autum: Yah boy.. Maybe I didn't think to hide it cos we have a wet and dry kitchen..
What's your design? With or without door?

Actually what abt a dishwasher? Our tenants all request for one. And it's not cheap. $800 plus!

AAA
wheres the door of your rack?

Pax
your rack's height just nice. maybe some ID place it higher so that we can make full use of the space below, can put taller stuff?

AAA,
mine doesn't have cabinets at all. Mine is just wall-space above the sink. then i drill and mount my dish-rack onto the wall. so it's totally open! wahhahaha.. and I think Star's would be same as mine, cos she also got no cabinet above her sink.

AAA,
your tenant is ang-moh is it? only ang-moh use dishwasher i think. not sure about it cos I never use before.

pink
all the new condo kitchen design CRAZY! the dish rack all quite high de. my gf's place at centris, aiyo.. i c liao, i shake my head.. as if everybody is born tall.. if they design it a little lower, tall pple also can put. if too high, short pple sure cannot reach...

Pink: Mine has no door. Just like that.

Autum: Yah, all ang mohs.. I also haven't used a dishwasher before.

Pax: Your door opens upwards? If too low, won't it hit you when you're doing the washing?