(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Edde: Then I get zero marks for this question.. So if I had known this, I wouldn't have attempted this question, will spend the time somewhere else..

Edde, Autum: Correct me if I'm wrong..
Modeling works because this question is in whole numbers and simple fractions. If it's in decimal points, then modeling doesn't work anymore right? Or does spatial training trains the child in decimal calculation too?

Astro, Star: Actually come to think of it, Teng and Rae do look a bit alike.
Can pass off as siblings or cousins..

AAA,
if you mean to say those decimals with infinite numbers.. like 8.37852934, then I don't think this modeling can do that. But the thing is, this modeling is not meant to do that in the first place. The way I look at this, is more like a form of lateral training of the brain. Being able to see groupings in a 'spatial' way to help to arrive at an answer quickly.. rather than having to rely on the "proper" calculation way (doing algebra).

Well, maybe I am wrong too. haha.. but I do think this is a good form of 'training'. Whatever it's meant for.

Autum: Actually I agree spatial thinking to learning math is good in the beginning. It's akin to quantity recognition the right brain wave is teaching to young babies.

Let's not even think so far as infinite decimals such as pi. Even simple ones such as 3.57, and 53.9. Even such will be difficult to model lah..

AA: i dun follow that.. i will bathe and i will wash my hair

Ash: still stuck at home. raining at woodlands.. i also hope someone will deliver the Koi to my doorstep now :S

AA: u same age as me right? i remembered we were taught this in primary school leh. i am very sure..

that is how i learn multipication.. i visualised the objects coming together in groups of X.. then i add the groupings.. to get the answers..my own method.. ha.

Astro: Good thing you don't follow it. And so good it's raining in Woodlands. I wish it's pouring here..

My pri school tutor is a tyrant. She made me memorise all the time tables. When I do math, I can't use the eraser nor cancel. The first try is my only try. :p

yo i am so busy today!!!

and yes!! our shoes will reach us either monday or tuesday!! yippe!! next weekend can dance with tap shoes liao.
haven't catch up with the posts....
go read now.

Astro: She's too much of a disciplinarian. Cannot amend means I don't have to bother to check my answers? Not good also mah.
But now I do feel I have "inherited" her disciplinarian mentality towards teaching anna. :p :p

edde, i am intersted in the p6 math.
eh u mean if they use algebra and get the answer, still get 0 marks?? huh? like that not very fair le.
they should be given some flexibility to use what they know right?
now u know, i am not a person with good spatial sense.

astro, KOI again?

QQ: i never manage to get koi.. raining now. mood foiled. to get koi.. wah it rhymes..! :S

apparently. a letter has been return to the forum on this before.. and the official reply is.. any method will do.. ubt many students have been marked wrong. if they use other methods instead of this model method..

AA: ha.. can be twisted that way too.. but i see it very negatively leh. i feel that it becomes a case of over-confidence (if u aced it the first time consistently).. and also shd u fail. it encourages u to give up. since u are not given a chance to make amends leh.. :S

qq,
yes, will get zero, i remember i don know how to do this, haven got my model ruler, so my dad was seeing my problem sum, he said so easy y need to do till so troublesome, den he work it out for mi using algebra formular, teacher immediately call my dad to come sch and got real scolding. Student onli can use formular tt is covered in the syllabus to solve prob. Things haven learn cannot use.

Astro: No lah.. You're assuming the student gets it right the first time round and all the time. She's actually training us to read the question carefully, think over how to solve it, then start writing down the steps. Also, over time it actually helps reduce careless mistakes, cos we're trained to be careful the first time round.

My wish is coming true! It looks like it's going to rain!!!

astro, hee.
if u haven't pop tomorrow, then we go have KOI bbt then. though i dun really fancy that.
i plan to cook for tian's lunch tomorrow. i wonder if i can do it. but i feel tat she had been eating outside for too many meals during weekends.

AAA, wah... ayden looks so serious in reading. anna is carrying two bolsters.. so shiok hor? i feel like sleeping too.

autum, u win liao. like that also can?? astro, please put this poem in your blog, as memory.
otherwise next time cannot trace liao.

yvonne, serious ah??
get 0 marks? like that not very good.
last time when i was in pri school, anything, any method also can give marks de. as long as the answer is correct, or half of the answer is correct. something like that.

astro so do they give those students a chance then? if they happen to get their answers right??
they cannot force ppl to use oni one method to come out with the asnwer right?
say if i dun use exactly the same modeling method, but i still manage to get the answer by drawing thousand of boxes, triangles, etc etc?? can still pass?

my mum is angry with teng now. coz teng 'dun want' her.. aiyoh. give up. haiz..
at the rate teng is going now ah. he is going to earn himself some cane marks.. not from me.. but MAYBE my mum and certainly miser..

QQ: onz.. i must give myself a treat man. for conquering and bearing with all these nonsense today at home!
but dun get too disappointed if tian wants outsdie food wor

hahhaa. autum is good with that poem!

QQ; as per replied by the moe letter.. yes.. can pass.. but in school. might be more wrong. if the teachers follow strictly to the marking scheme.. hence this is one opp.. teacher-parent conflict lor :p

astro and AA: no not the same ... cuz u need to draw either 4 group of 2 applies or 2 groups of 4 apples ... need to circle the appropriate number ma!!~!! i no 2 X 4 = 8 lah !!!

astro, no la. if she wants outside food. i am ok de. i will let teng finish hers. i bet that he likes my cooking. haha!!
by the way, reminded me that Rae said my porridge is NOT NICE, without giving me a chance leh. she did not even taste the porridge. haha!!

eh so MOE is still quite ok la. at least not so heartless. but schools? they should teach teachers a bit. like maybe not full marks is given, but at least some thinking marks lor. and it is not wrong to use a differnt method to come out with the same answer mah.

QQ: ha. u can try.. teng these days is a tyrannic terror.
hahahaha. Rae is very frank one.. :p

ya. got thinking marks.. but wun get the full marks.. which i feel. is not fair.. if my answer is correct/logical.. how come becoz of a different apporach . dun give me a full mark? aiyoh.. all these discuss till cow comes home .. also nvr end..

i needed a breather.. seems like the rain is stopping.. shd i, shd i not?

astro, i mean if marks are given, then if the students show the thinking process and full mark should be given with the thinking process + correct answer.
its the student's responsibility to show the thinking process that lead to the answer.
i am very wu liao.. talkign about nonsense, but i think i must know this otherwise how am I going to teach tian?? (think too far)

rae terrible la, too frank liao. she said, NOT NICE. then she pointed to Aston's soup, said NICE!!
refused to give me a chance. haha!

bunnie / ask,
this ON really mad, disocunt one follow by another.

I go and try out my luck with dresses for Elisha and pant for Cayden.

i am feeling more and more liek this..
i tink teng really have a strong streak of gemini in him leh.. he has a gemini moon. and gemini is the chamealon of the Zodiac.. he can for one period.. character is A.. then for another period, chacter totally change to B.. now change to C!.. gosh.. become totally different pple kind leh.. aiyoh.. :S

QQ: ya. that's what i meant lor..
for a while. i read Aston's as astro's! and i wondering to myself. since when i cooked soup to bring outside!!? hahahaha..

this is really annoying. Am having mild cramps which amount to nothing. Can's possibly admit myself with such low intensity cramps. Then inner thighs and plevis so sng that dun think i can walk properly. Much less go out. I was thinking no koi, i'm equally happy with sweet talk. Now not even sweet talk. Haiz

astro: sounds like soon for u. gd luck in advance n smooth delivery. going back liao n going to try my luck for coconut jelly!

astro,
i think is time liao! :p

qq,
lol, like tt also can? Don worry ON wont have discount la, they sure always have offer, cos coming to yr end le.
unless things keep going oos den need to worry. :p

yvonne: u everyday tell me it is time.. :p .. must still wait lor.. till the cows come home before contractions are strong enough for me to have a reason to admit.. but the prob is.. the cows haven't even left their sheds to go out.. how to come home?! :p

Ash: ha.. good luck for the search of the coconut jelly!