(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Star: eh.. yalor! hahahhaha.. IF she has chubby cheeks.. coz remember i said I see more of Desmond in Racia? :p.. Miser doesn't have chubby cheeks for sure!.. hahahah.. :p

there is a Slideshow there.. as well as some videos.. teng in those.. look like u.. than the teng in the current Sam's party photos...

Mist,
it's on. Did you give us your email add? We'll forward you the mails.

Astro, Star: I think so too! Teng does look like Star.

Star: Oh yah, coconut jelly only available in the day time. First time I went it was night and I was disappointed too. That stall you bought from is a stall I don't like, They don't add vege to their burgers.

Yvonne: You're lucky!

Bunny: Err... Why are you even talking abt taking her back?

Bunnie,

echinacea got side effects??? I also let X take gummy bear w vit C and echinacea leh..... also to build his immunity against cold leh...

AA: hey.. hahahah does that mean that either me or miser look alike to Star? ince teng is a 50-50 child (in term of looks)? wah.. gettingmore and more interesting :p alamak.. whahaha

browsing thru one of the magazine i bought..
they said.. it is more difficult to raise boys than girls..

girls have an isue with building of self esteem.. (and we know) girls are faster and 'easier' to reaise in their toddler years but become a bit problematic when they go into their teens.. boys on the other hand tend to 'settle down' a little in their teens..

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Boys starts schools less mature and developed than girls and their education shd be more focused on crafts and outdoor education.
Girls however have a harder time later on when spatial learning ideas, such as geometry, are introduced. <!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

interesting.. i am poor spatially but geometry is one of the few topics that i can do well and like in maths! ha.. i am so not girl-like :p

Astro: I din't read any parenting magazines. Hearing personal experience from older friends who have older kids, this is their take. Mind you, this is gathered from quite a few couples.. Same conclusion!!

Boys are rascals in the early years but they start to get better from 12 on.
Girls are little angels for a start but it gets downhill after 18!

AA: ha.. so the issue is.. which one would u prefer? first bitter than sweet.. or the reverse?.. heh. for u.. sorry. no choice, u get both! eh. heh..

astro, aa
wahahahha...as parents, i feel, bitter or sweet, u still have them as a life time commitment, which is both bitter and sweet... they do cute stunts = sweet, they notti = bitter... wahahaha!!!!

ladies, i am getting super amused by this magazine.. :p

The playground can be a battlefield but knowing your enemies is the first step to victory. Here are the usual suspects.

Queen Bee Mum
Look out fo rthe head of the clinque, usually clad with five other mothers following her every move. She uses the playground to , well, tell everyone about her new LV handbag, and what/how organic food is good for ur child.

Two-faced mum
Saccharine sweet and almost dripping with honey, this mother u will love instantly. She' nice, and probably way too nice. Ususally a groupie of the Queen Bee, she will attempt to get the good gossip and duly diseminate it without your knowledge.

Overprotective Mum
She comes to the playground armed with a First Aid Kit. And her eyes never leaves her kid playing on the wing. You can try to maek conversastion with her, but you will probably get one-word answer. Jut make sure your child does not get into any conflict with her on; hell break loose otherwise.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

whahahahhahahah!! so which one are u? how come i ound like the thrid one?! it's true.. when teng is playing at the playground.. i realie i cannot hold a proper converastion coz my eyes will be on him.. worrying he will fall off the swing!.. hahahahah.. amusing..

Astro: I also dunno.. Just hope for the better I guess.. Or pray that the bad is not that bad, and the good is really good. :p

CK: Hehhe..

Yvonne: Yah lor. Children are liabilities! But in a nice way.

Astro,

so we will hv bitter then sweet???
"Boys are rascals in the early years but they start to get better from 12 on"

hmmm, I'm just contented they are healthy and managing their lives well.

Yesterday at polliwogs, I noticed some progress.

Ayden was as usual wandering about without even the slightest concept of fear.. And he was so capitvated by the balls, he went "bar, bar, bar" all the way! This is his first english word besides papa, mama, ana, chae and den.

Even Anna jumped onto the swing and swing herself away.. When she fell off, she jumped back onto it again and swing!

Anna didn't want to leave and I told her she could spend the night there and I'll come pick her up the following morning.. :p

No pics cos I didn't bring along my camera! :p :p

Nana: Check with you. When is the halloween and swimming? Seem to remember Pink is going for the halloween and she's away this weekend so that can't be this weekend. And if it's next weekend, then that's more than the incubation period of 7 days. In this case, if Tiff is well and ok, I think it's alright.

Astro,

I dun even know when can i see the "sweetness"???? Boys develop later leh, maybe after 12 then can "taste" the sweetness.... or maybe never, cos the sweetness goes to their gf... ;p

Mist,
she is going. Didn't see the post about that leh. She still mentioned that she might get coconut jelly for us. That caught my attention, haha!!

mist: my bro says that it may make her produce more white blood cells? which is why echinacea is not recommended for pple with auto immune system. At first i tot was the part about liver toxicology which i read somewhere (why cannot take echinacea for more than 10 days at a go - need a break after 10 days).

he says at this age best is still Vit C ... so gotta reorder from Vitacost Vit C gummies liao ...

mist,
boys won't be sweet like girls cos they are not girls.. but boys will display their own 'sweetness'.. like the other day when i had an abrasion on my ankle. i told EJ i fell down. Then he asked me "you fell down? you cry? pain pain?".. very funny.. then he sayang my ankle.

So that is sweet to me

AAA: i not taking her back la ... she sms-ed me 2 days ago and I am suspecting she either wants to me to take her back or she wants to borrow $$. over my dead body i take back, i rather quit my job and look after the kids myself. will tell hubby to sell our place and squat in with his dad!

RR: u may want to check with your dietician first if she can take echinacea ... i was reading the labels off vitacost and I realised that 1 brand recommend 4 years onwards and another brand 2 years and 4 years different dosage ... I am not v sure (prob mejo can clarify) - i think he meant that if V is sick, her body is already producing more white blood cells. by taking echinacea it make trigger even more white blood cells. Also too much of echinacea (or prolonged period) can cause liver toxicology (but i dun rem what dosage). so 1) dun ever exceed the dosage recommended 2) take a break after taking it for 10 days.

Bunnie,
didn't state heros or rhinos leh. I hvn't start giving them yet. The bottle is still un-opened in the fridge. :p

Edde: I solved it on my own leh.. It's not chim. Need to form 2 equations with the raio..

But my nephew who's taking the PSLE didn't get the answer lah, and he was very disappointed..

I'm just wondering if the students are allowed to use algebra for this problem or not?

AAA, its not chim if using algebra.. but the P6 students are required to use the model method, cannot use algebra.. :p

Edde: I finally understood what the diagram is all about.. So chim! Algebra is easier lah.. Why teach something more complicated and therefore less practical???

Maybe they'll say algebra is more complicated.. :p

edde,
i also spent a bit of time to understand the diagram. hmm, this is interesting. did MOE explain any reason why they want to use this model-system?

AAA,
model-system is not impractical. it has it's uses. just that i can't recall off-hand what is the importance.. thus asking edde! hahaa.. but this is akin to how you can see things 'spatially'. and i read an article somewhere which says why chinese are better at maths because the chinese language itself.. helps to visualise the numbers. like twenty is not just a word in chinese. it's Er-Shi = 2 tens. So you can 'see' that it's 2 blocks of 10s. Something to that effect.

AA/Autum: more on this discussion on model system vs alegbra.. the following comment to a blog entry which i got the question from might interest the two of u..

At 11:17 PM, Lysithea said…

For a question like this, the best way to solve is to use algebra (and solving simultaneous equations), which I think even some of the secondary school students can't do them.

So the best thing is to teach your child algebra in P6, and all that crap about using pictures and guesswork and whatever they're supposed to use in p6 maths goes down the drain.

Trust me, my father taught me algebra in P6 to tackle such problems for my PSLE.

JPB: if the kids are supposed to use mental sums to do those questions, then no working need to be shown ya? So why are they marking down the kids if their working don't show what they want?

And i know it's not illogical because such questions are actually a precursor to learning algebra in sec 1, but if the question is badly phrased and the kids didn't know that they are supposed to break the numbers down like that, then it's the questions' fault right?

and trust me, there are a lot of 'badly phrased' questions in primary school maths. (compared with cambridge 'o' level standards)

At 7:11 AM, justpassingby said…

Lysithea - the question in question (heh) is taken from a point in the text where they are still teaching the children the steps towards doing it all mentally. If I'm not wrong, it's actually found nearer the beginning of the P1 syllabus, where they are still teaching number bonding. So in order to teach it, they have to set the questions that way lor. Later on, during the end of the year exams, and even in P2, there will be mental sums where they are not required to show working.

Ah yes, badly phrased questions. It's scary that just about anyone with a basic degree can write an assessment book these days you know? Complete with bad english and really, stuff that doesn't make sense. Just the other day, I was moaning and groaning over this in my son P3 book. Sigh.

I don't know the original presentation of the question ondine is citing, but from what I've seen in my children's books, it's obvious when a question is a number bonding one... so if your child (and you) have been keeping up with what is going on in the textbooks, you ought to be able to spot a number bonding question a mile away, because they always require you to split the numbers up. It's only when someone who doesn't have a kid who has gone through that looks at it, that the question looks ridiculous. When I first saw that kind of question before my eldest started P sch, I reacted the same way. After seeing number bonding in the context of the whole syllabus, it actually makes sense... because it is truly laborious to watch children try to add with fingers and toes when they could use something as simple as regrouping the numbers.

At 11:47 PM, Lysithea said…

jpb: if it's faster to count using fingers and/or toes than to use number bonding, then what is wrong with counting with fingers and toes? Just teach them to count faster! And what if some kids say 6+8=14! I memorize it! How?

Anyway, they're going to be using calculators very soon. I think the problem is the inflexibility of how things can be done, although the education system is supposed to be moving away from that, ya?

At 11:02 PM, justpassingby said…

hurhurhur, Lysithea, it's obvious we are from two very different camps lah... so let's just agree to disagree!
Peace....
<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

i just settled a major world war again.. so the calm for many days was for this 'storm'. ok. i conquered it once more.. but i am really drained.. now can i have some time to myself. to reorganise.. have my lunch.. teng went BERSERK.. totally berserk.. and is now finally asleep, very exhausted in my room. i put him to bed..
-----------------------
both my mum and ellie lost patience with one another.. Ellie lost patience wth teng's fussing.. my mum lost patience with ellie cos ellie lost patience.. my mum is more or less settled.. because no matter how i settle.. she will recurr.. so that's it for now.

Ellie -- need to talk to her tonight. she lost her patience with teng today. and with my mum. while i can understand why. but i dun think she shd behave like this.. need to talk to her tonight. when i have the strength..

and miser? .. no news from him despite having sms-ed him.. it is tiring to keep doing all this.

Autum:
that wun do lah. we know the main issue can never be solved. as long as teng continues to go berserk. they need to understand where one another is coming from. and with me giving a black face.. it doesn't help lah.. i'm o tired. i think i am going out.. just to take a breather again.. TPY, Koi?
sorry. but i need to sigh.. else all pent up at the chest...*SIGH*

AAA, autum, i also dunno why they die die must use model method.. maybe to train their logic? dunno.. if i am not wrong, they cannot use any other method to present their answers other than this model method.

star and astro: NO not becuz teng is chubby!!!

if u look at teng, his head is slightly slanted downwards, with his eyes looking upwards - this is WHAT looks like star ...

bunnie: i get what u mean now..

i have been having some problems with this 's' key on thi laptop.. very retarded.. i plucked the key out by force.. cleaned the inside.. now it is back again.. does it mean.. certain things must be solved by force?