(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

re:tap shoes,
we should be getting our shoes next week, so exciting. will send out the shoes to us tomorrow. pink, no black shoes for u, so all apricot shoes.

pink, no need u to buy. u just need to giv eme their contact no then i can settle with them.

autum, oh. i dun buy yu lu. never... maybe that's y my cooking is tasteless, but healthy abit la. haha!

QQ,
i use yu-lu only occassionally. but we use a lot of oyster sauce though. haha.. not much better hor. then this Mr Wong, can only use a special sauce made in Ipoh! funny one.. he says he grew up eating that so must use that.

hmm, now u are making me feel that what I cook is very unhealthy!! :p

wah... bbt again... keep seeing this word and haven go down to buy... i just clear 2 bags of bb stuff for my sis... *sweats* so many and more to clear.. nick will be so happy to see mi bring out all those rubbish... wahahaha!

autum, ok la. dun feel bad. diff ppl diff pattern mah. my mum uses msg in cooking woh. also not as healthy but they are used to it liao. everyone has different style.
wah, the special ipoh sauce?wat is that?

pink, ok. no problem. my fren told me shop and save got.. i will remember to check.

QQ,
no lah, say sorry for what? Good that you let me know it's not good then I can stop adding that to see if it'll help in Reyes' case.

Nana,
my previous chevy was manual too and I could eat packed fried beehoon in the car while driving, haha!!!

Kaexin,
so nice to have Halloween party for K's school. I doubt they'll have that since they already had the fancy dress contest early this mth for Children's Day liao.

Ash, Yvonne,
you know those tasty fried kway teow outside? They add alot of yu lu to taste de. It gives the food more flavouring.

Yvonne, Ash,
yu2 lu4 to me is just fish-flavoured soy sauce. A big component of yu-lu is soy sauce actually. Just that they add some more ingredient bah. so it has a fishy smell. hahaha. it sounds weird, but it actually enhances the flavour of seafood. If say u fry shell-fish, u can put a dash of it.. just like how u add soy sauce. But if u add yu-lu, then dun add soy sauce anymore else very salty!

But other than seafood, some pple use it to cook other stuff like meat.. usually beef, pork, can take this flavour. Hmm, then those bakwa, like what QQ says, they use yu-lu to yan1 also. It's just like soy-sauce la.. so maybe that's why u all can't really taste the difference?

QQ,
the sauce is a type of light soy sauce. Got some chinese drawing of a woman/fairy on it one. haha.. very old-fashioned type. It's not as salty as the soy sauce in singapore.

rr,
wah! beehoon!!! i think it will drop all over as i eat... wahahaha... hmm, don noe wad is tt.. maybe later i go ntuc to see... it spell as yulu? no english name?

pink : the que quite long leh.. cos their hand and leg very slow.. they do delivery also u know..

Yu Lu : u know a lot of thai food uses it?

re : tiff's CCC HMFD..

mummies u think i should keep tiff away or just continue the activities over the weekend? sigh!

nanabear,
Normally as long as the kid got HMFD is not in the same class not so bad. Those in same class easier kena. You observe these few days and see how bah.

Nana,
erm, not that we don't want to reply u.. but hard to say mah. if Tiff has no symptoms, then why cannot continue activities le? Even if her class got, doesn't mean she will get mah. cos as long as didn't come into close contact, it's ok la.

Hehehe.. I'm now at Polliwogs!
2As are playing and I'm sipping my bbt and eating my bengawan solo kway..
I feel like such a glutton..

Autum, Star: Need to beat your backside.. Read this.. It's not illegal to eat and drive!
http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Motorworld/Others/Story/A1Story20080520-65950.html

This Autum huh.. Beat your backside again.. I thought Star was half-joking, until you affirmed it as if you know for sure liddat..
Unless the law has been updated since the report?

Bunny: Then you damn jialat liao.. I don't think any outside toilets other than the hotels' meet your requirement..

Pink: That stall next to mrt is no good leh.. Try the one I talked abt.. Dunno whether is it close to the exit or entrance to the carpark.. I think it's the exit leh.. Run by women in the day, and a small boy at night.

Nana: I'm not going this sat. But if it's me, I'll stay away for the concern of all the kids who'll be present there. How long is the incubation period for HDMF?

Nana, Ash
im back! drinking KOI...chose passionfruit flavour with 50% sugar, a bit sourish. err..tea taste ok leh...pearls are small and not soft. maybe i should try green tea flavour next time?

how come they dun have a website? maybe i shd call them up and do up for them :p

pink : yesterday i drink the pearls are soft leh..i thnk for koi hor.. relly 50% or 25 % is good enuff liao leh.. yesterday i drank hazelnut milk.. with 25% .. also still very nice.. got hazelnut smell and not very sweet.. kekeke

re Yu Lu
it is a condiment derived from fermented fish.. so i think for pple with excema. best to keep away..

RR: the list of 'forbidden' food..
-seafood (eg prawns, crabs, dried and fresh scallops (so gan bei inclusive). oyster etc)
-Peanuts
-Orange, kiwifruit, grapes, watermelon, mango, pineapple, big banana, durian, bird nest
-egg white

the above is a list for teng. i think apart from egg whites.. the rest. i can follow and give only when he is very much older...coz teng has recurrent nasal congestion.. so i asked for this list.. so u see.. even when he has enough sleep, he still has dark eye rings.. so there u go.. ezecema inclusive..

considered bathing with cetaphil.. then use aloe vera cream to moisturise?

use steriod sparingly lah.. preventation better than cure.. easier said than done. this i am fully aware. everytime i see teng's legs. or arms. i heartache lah.. hence he goes to sleep in long sleeves/pants leh. in this sweltering weather .. then sweat can irritate. but if i dun wear for him. he scratches.. dilemma...:S

koi's pearls better?.. i dun think so. no chew one :p.. but not bad lah.. i ordered the honey green tea with pearls. was told coz got honey. the tea has no sugar added. not bad lah. but steep..

nana: to be honest. i think the priority shd be letting tiff rest at home because HMFD has incubation period.. which we wun know.. and for urself.. pls wear a mask. coz HMFD is very dangerous once a preggy contacts it.. take care.. prevention is what i am saying.. fun and activities.. can be passed .. kids' health and ur health most impt.

star/qq: ya. was at tpy.. then realised got some yellow thickish discharge.. and some tightness.. but other than that. no further signals.. hmm think either by these 2 days.. or continue waiting.. wah liew..

QQ: yes. i remembered tian's picture of her body with hives.. i see liao. my first reaction = heartache..

astro, u still here ah?? haha!!
eh the forbidden food list, tian likes to eat grapes, all others she dun fancy at all. hm....
and u got discharge??? soon soon soon. is yu he very low now?

nana, u need to take care of yourself woh.
i dunno how to comment if tiff should go swim. but swimming we can go anytime one la.

RR,
i was telling ws last night, good that her costume can be used twice this month! coz he was saying i waste marnee buy for k

astro, once jay ordered a green tea with honey for me. we asked for 25% sweetness. then the person kept saying that it will be very bitter and no taste. but we dun want too sweet. so we insisted 25%. but the person insisted 75% or 50%??? then i dunno how liao. i just got the cup and go. i was unsure if it was 50 or 25 or 75.
acceptable taste.

Astro
did u do squatting exercise?

nana
i like the Koi pearl. taste wise i cant tell the strong tea taste leh..hmm..i shd have tried green tea maybe.

Astro/SQ,

Yah, i also know it's tough to "bar" maid from talking to their tong xiang..... sometimes i also in dilema, it's better that she just causal chat w her tong xiang and keep her sanity, rather than keep to herself. But at the same time, i also worry that it's bad influence... sigh!!!

I think i will just casually tell her lah, tt she stays by my mil, in case mil needs help... hahaha a more diplomatic way of communicating? My MIL very funny one, she likes to complain and complain but she won't tell the person concern....

mist: my in laws complaining now tt my maid has lots of calls in the afternn
1st 2 yrs she dun hv hp. only started after re-new contract. so far i monitor when she;s w me. still ok la, dun really use her hp altho i can hear msg tone. if she not automatic, then i'll tell her lor

mist: my mother just came in and knocked on my door. claiming that ellie is angry and not feeding teng anymore coz he notti.. throwing his food around.. i went out.. saw indeed a mess. but no screaming or anything.. or any tension. ellie told me teng threw his rice at her face! notti teng.. so i took oer.. reasoned with teng.. then teng said he full liao..
why am i telling u this?
coz.. my mum is like ur mil.. my mother has been good liao recently.. but she herself also cannot stand the antics of teng. but she will expect ellie cannot shout at teng.. she herself smacked teng lightly when teng was hollering in the bath yesterday... this morning came and told me.. ellie said teng insisted ellie to carry her to and fro school.. i dunno whyshe is telling me all these.. i treat it as 'ok. thanks for telling me'.. i used to be irritated.. but also liek that one lah. i told her.. 'even urself cannot stand teng.. u cannot expect ellie, an outsider, to bear with teng.. right?'.. she just kept silent lah.. so there u go lah..

it is really difficult and it is actually not very fair to expect them to keep mum to themselves.. intitally i had the same concern. i talked to miser and titu.. miser said somehting ..'dear .. they are humans after all'.. so i got it liao

think of it this way. yes. they can influence one another.. because they do compare.. but if u have been truely good to them.. they will also known via this info exchanging.. there was once i had to counsel ellie.. coz of that stupid ikea moving in of bed incident.. i asked her 'when u talked to her frens.. what did they tell u? u have worked for others before me.. so u think i treat u like a maid?'.. ellie shook her head.. so there u go.. they also know one lah..

pink; i didn't

QQ: the green tea is not very sweet lah. okok. ut i was told no sugar added coz got honey liao..
yes yu he is already engaged..

nana: incubation period is the timeperiod when the virus is already in the body. meaning the person has the virus.. and is normally infectious liao.. but the person hasn't shown the signs of the disease yet.. ya. so tiff is still within the incubation period...

mist: for ur info.. my mother JUST came in. told me her 'concern'.. coz she said.. ellie always cleans the floor with this blue cloth after teng finished eating.. then she will grasp this cloth and go into her room.. dunno do what.. then she will go cook.. my mum said 'i tell u this. u dun be angry. u go and tell her off'.. then i asked her' what do u want me to ask her?'.. she said 'ask her what she is holding?.. if i asked.. she said i tell tales on her.. '. etc.. then i got to correct her 'mum, how am i going to question her. if she nver does that in front of me?'.. my mum said 'but she does it every day in front of me!'.. i said 'so u got to ask her mah!'. my mother paused.. i asked her.. 'what exactly is ur concern?'.. she said she's worried ellie will spike our food!.. ok.. granted fair enough.. i asked her.. 'u ok?'. she laughed and said. 'i am ok. but...'.. then i interrupted her.. 'am i ok? is miser ok? is ellie ok? we all eat the same food right? u eat first, she second, me and miser last..so we all ok???'.. so????
she just laughed lor.. haiz..

i got to remind her again . teng SO notti.. she herself cannot stand teng.. ellie dundare to do anything to teng liao.. she gena teng threw rice at.. leh. if it was me or my mother. i tihnk we flare liao.. then my mum said worried coz now teng sleeping with ellie. i told her.. if ellie is really that bad.. almost 2 years liao. i am sharp enough to realise.. teng will also show bruises.. etc.. so my pt.. all these will never end.. and i have kind of resigned to the fact that my mother will onli tell me ut never tell ellie one lah.. i told her.. ellie considered good liao. there are worse maids around.. she's considered very smart liao.. my mum just laughed laughed.. laughed.. then go out liao.. duh...

oh ya. another classic. my mum said. ellie always tell her she doesn't have money.. then my mum wonders how come she has money to go and buy old stuff at the cash convertor etc and then send back.. i asked my mum.. ' u gave her the money??' my mum immeidately exclaimed ' i where go tmoney???'.. i replied 'yalor.. gocery. i use NETs.. my cash. i keep properly.. there's no way she can pocket any cash from us.. so that's her money.. u dun have to be concerned about how come she has the money.. u concerned about how u gambling away my money with ur weekend majong sessions lah!! '.. my mother made a face and went out..

ellie 31 years old liao leh!.. aiyoh. my mother. sometimes i dunno to laugh or to be angry with her!

mist,
i don't stop my maid from talking to others but i told her before, do NOT discuss about my family to other people. I told her very directly, I do not like it if she tells other people things about my family. not even what I work as, or what Sir work.. not to discuss what we eat for dinner or where we send our kids to school etc.. Actually this really kinds of limits what she can talk about with others! hahaa.

Of course having said that, I can't really control what she says la.. cos it's not like i go and monitor her or anything. But my mentality is, I have already told you, so don't let me find out if you do otherwise..

She can talk to others about her own family, or life story.. or why she come to SG to work etc.. just don't talk about my family can liao.

Ash,

sigh!!! maybe can tell her tt she can use hp only in the night, after she finish all her chores.

Astro,

wow, u hv many many classic story to share.... very good source for me, if u dun mind sharing w me... hehehe..

I think my MIL's complaint is tip of the iceberg... more to come. I know lah, cannot control somebody to the extent of not talking to her tong xiang... it's the same as controlling our children, not possible one.

I hv to somehow still verbalise my expectation lah, in case she strays......

Ash,

I told her before cannot share anything abt what happen in the house to pple... written in black and white for her. If i find out, she does that, i will bring that paper out and "refresh" her memory......

Today very pissed at work, somebody "yuan wang" me at work.... very angry!!!

and that person goes to my Director to complain... argh!!! mood very unbalance now...

mist,
i think your post is answering to me bah.. u very li4 hai4 leh.. can write down in black and white about not letting her tell others about your family! wahhahaha.. :p

Mist: ellie has once told me how a particular family treated this maid she was talking to.. my response is.. 'why are u telling me this? i am not interested to know..'.. then something like autum.. i told her.. 'dun go and probe into others' biz.. they tell u..u just listen.. pls dun go and add fire/oil to their woes.. if they dun tell u.. u dun have to ask also..'

i do admit sometimes i have concerns that she might be complaining abut how she perceive my mum mistrust her.. or i cold.. or dun show any emotions.. or share my life details ith other.. but can she do anything else about it? she can't right.. so there u go..and there's nothing abnormal or scandalous about my life that others cannot know lor.. hahahah..

my stories are not classic.. and neither do i think i have managed them well lah. just talking about it lor. since we on the topic..

be consistent.. that's all i can say.. miser more ultimate i feel.. he everything also can.. coz to him..he goes by the contract.. employee-employer relationship. no feelings or expectations beyond that sum of money paid to her.. if she steals/abuse teng.. or whateer.. off she goes.. no second chance given. dun need say so much.. else treat her like a human..he always remind me that...

ganbei = dried scallops. In some cheapo version, it is actually dried cuttlefish processed to look like scallops.

mist: you have to let your maid know that she can use her HP but not when she has things to do - like cooking, looking after your kids, etc. she can do it during her rest time or at night before bedtime. but hor, my maid that time upset break up with bf, so she sms till very late not enuff sleep so work affected. I noticed it so i gave her a hard time, picking on everything. then after that before i went to work, i told her, by the way, remember you said you know when you should use the HP so please use the HP only when you should, and left it at there. later then she come cry tell me sob story so just listen - she also needs a outlet to vent.

btw, my ex maid just SMS me last nite and say sorry and she missed V. wonder if she is trying to find a job back in singapore :p

ladies: i am more concerned abuot the colour of the discharge. it is thick and yellow.. hmmm.. indicative of a possible thrush or infection. more than possible sign of labour wor..

pink: do i? sorry.. just thought if anyone knows conclusively what the colour mean.. wld be good :p

some say yellow discharge is a prelude to the show
some say no..

nothing i can find on the net also. sian. maybe later call tmc labour ward. disturb and ask them a bit.. now i am feeling.. nothing :s