(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

received something from my friend in kl.
not sure how true, but just in case...

"

TO ALL FREINDS

JUST A SMALL BUT MEANINGFUL INFO FM ME TO YOU AND YR FRIENDS...MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCE OF H1N1 SINCE IT PRACTICALLY HIT US LIKE A TIME BOMB.....

My staff was crying herself sick on Tuesday morning...was told that her son was confirmed of H1N1 in his Uni at Kangar, Perlis...worse was that when he was bedridden 2 days the warden didnt even bother to sent to hospital till his dad came fm KL and with his friends assistance brought him to GH Kangar....

No one bothered in the hospital and he was put in the normal ward for another 2 days!!! (imagine the amount of people he has infected!!) .....after 2 days and his eyes were turning yellow and saliva greenish...he was put in quarantined room...

His mom practically fainted just telling me the story.. cant do much cos she does not have enough money to go to the north with the father...

First thing we did was made her call the hospital and insist that they sent him to Sg.Buloh Hospital or any other hospital in KL since they seemed to be more alert and more equipt...they refused of course...so I sent her off to Kangar the same day to solve the problem.

Whilst this was happening, I had a call from one Ustaz who was in town to "help cure" another H1N1 child in Shah Alam....and was told this simple prescription by him.....

EAT MINIMUM 6 GREEN APPLES A DAY AND FRESH ORANGE JUICE
for those with sore throat please blend the apples and keep on taking till your fever disappear and yr symtoms are gone....I cannot explain it but the child in Shah Alam was ok too after taking this tip....

my staff's son was given the apple juice for the whole day on Monday/Tuesday and he was out of the fever yesterday Wednesday... .she called me and was crying on the phone to say that her son was out of ICU and was able to eat normally...all these happened within just 4 days today (thursday 6 august)...

This is just to share with my fellow sisters and brothers and hope this small info could assist others as well, No harm in trying and anything can happen!!!! "

Pax
havent, wait till i settle my mortgage loan and sold off my HDB.
ya cant wait to see leia and jo in the same class!
nite!

harlow mommies..

terrible headache today. we were at ikea w gf n her kids. quite warm. but when we walked into the restaurant, i almost instantly got a headache bcos the area was so much colder. can't take the too sudden change of temp. even though i work on site, can walk fr a/c ofc into the super hot burning weather w no problems, it seems that i can't take the change in temp w/in a/c area. super duper sian...

pink
i hv to warn u 1st. there is a girl in Jo's class who disturb everybody... Jo also complain she beat pple. the teachers watch over her like a hawk. we hv also talked to the teachers n agree to a certain extent that she has to be watched and at this age (3-4mths younger than our girls), it's not ez to discipline and expect her to turn round overnite. abt 3-4yo, then she will u/stand the consequences of her actions...

star
Jo's molar also coming out. she woke up crying last nite. gave her paracetamol, then she went back to sleep till morning. u may wan to consider.

Pax,
the gal sounds like a boy in RR's class. They'll come home and tell me every few days "marcus beat meimei, marcus bite gorgor or marcus push ... " I did talk to the teacher about this. They also commented that the boy's quite a handful and they promised to keep a tight watch over him.

AA: i vote for tutu dress for the gift... hehehe

SQ; i also dunno why her nose bleed. doc say could be the walls in her inner nostril is thinner.. so will be more prone to nose bleeding. but she has been dirnking this FM since she turned 1. nose bleeding only happened in the last 3 months.

QQ; thanks. do where did u all head off after florida?

Ash: so who else was with u at NSRCC today?

pax: thanks.. i am now thinking of buying teething gel for her.

star
beta not to try teething gel. kids can get addicted to teething gel. some teething gel, according to juni, hv alcohol in it.

star
IMO, teething gel is worse than paracetamol... i only give if she complains of pain at nite, so that she can sleep well, otherwise in the morning, she'll be super cranky due to lack of sleep. other times, i can distract her. they will complain quite a bit for the 1st 2 molars. once they r used to the pain, lesser complaints for the next 2. u know wat i mean?

pax: i tot her 1st 2 molars are already out. so dunno why this 2nd one also so painful. actually i also think she was crying cos the bleed from her nose flowed backward into her throat and she got scared.. so she kept telling me pain too.

star
oic. sometimes beta to give paracetamol than for them to suffer in pain lor.. vv poor thing, this Jo cry, aiyo, she seldom cry in pain...

I want to vomit blood. Wrote a whole paragraph to report YT's first LNT lesson and firefox crashed just as I'm about to post... ARGH

Anyway, here I go again (in a more organised manner):

Today is chinese lesson. I think I'm like one or two mins late and they have already started. Some activities as below

1. kids asked to hit the chinese word "ba yue"
2. Frog life cycle game - teacher show a tadpole with detachable tail and movable limbs hatching from a plastic cake box egg. Then the kids each get their own egg to hatch. YT super eager to do this.
3. Flashcards
4. memory games, one is where they are shown a picture of 4 frogs with different spectacles, the kids are then given the spectacles, picture of the frogs and asked to put the specs on. YT don't do very well in the memory games but got one memory game where the teacher hide cards in her pockets and asked them to match the cards in each of her pocket, YT got that one right. But the specs one I also cannot remember, haha... Good lar, this can train my memory too.
5. An activity where they are given materials and then hints to complete a "scene". E.g. they are given two cars and a bus. Then the teacher asked for cars and the colour green, then the kids are supposed to put the selected green car on the scene.
6. Writing activities. Today they learn to write the number 5 and some chinese character strokes. We din use any pen for the chinese character strokes but were given two worksheets for that. They wrote 5 with markers. YT still can't write 5 yet.
7. A blowing game where they are asked to blow a frog to move it
8. A number board game where they count the hits on a triangle and flip the correct number
9. A 9 piece jigsaw puzzle
10. 2 or 3 songs

Basically there are activities one after another within the one hour and no break! Not even for a minute. The one hour passes very fast... YT managed to sit there for the whole one hour although she did move her legs twice like wanting to get off the chair (once because the teacher passed us a bag of stuffs for the scene setting and YT saw it). All in all, I think it is quite fun for her!

Oh there's homework too but seriously, I dunno how to do the first homework... |||-_-

star
nosebleed v scary. YE had it in school before and immly the principal called me about it

star/QQ
next week hubby working, so i'll be taking GUG. hee, must try to coordinate abit now before star's term ends.

QQ
hubby told me that YE is super not interested in class nowadays, thinking of whether this would be our last term
but dunno whether to source for another class for her, and if so, also dunno what class. but hubby said tian v interested and responsive in class, and rae also very guai in class

mejo
we are online at the same time
and so qiao, i "complain" about how bored YE is with GUG while you report on LNT! sounds interesting, at least a fresh change from GUG

sq: i think ye picks things up fast and gets bored when repetition sets in. Think gug no longer challenging to her. Noticed half the time, she completes the tasks adequately then that's it liao. Think time for her to move on from gug liao. You might want to consider a different aspect, something which kinderland and kinderkindermusik dun offer.

Mejo: the activities sounds interesting.

Star: I watched Silent Hill too. Missed the early part. Started only from 10pm plus. Wow man.. It's so scary. This is my first horror movie since I dunno when. I hope I don't get too scared by it man.. Have been watching lots of murders/detectives/CSI/violent etc movies.. Are they bad for the bb? But these are the movies shown on tv leh. :p

By the way, when is the lunar 7th month har?

Mejo: The activities you described sound a lot like Shichida. Your memory will surely improve for these games. And you'll soon be able to get the sequence of the games. Trust me.

mejo: does the lnt offer trials and how much? I have plans to readjusts teng's classes again in the near future. Need gather information again. Heh

was at funan just now cause miser wants see /buy exp lens and accessories for his toy again. There's this small store on lvl 4 beside the food court, sells an assortment of gap, carter baby wear. Quite nice designs and affordable also. So my total damage =$78 :p bought for both boys. Shown miser but he didn't comment about price. Maybe coz he's appreciative of the time i gave him to be alone to check out his stuff. Ha!

A tiring weekend for me cos got painters to paint my whole house yesterday. Not bad, the kids like their room new colour although they are not ready to sleep alone there yet.

Yvonne,
Must have things to move in
Flooring, toliet, kitchen stove, kitchen cabinet, washing machine, aircon, wiring/electrical plugs and paintingo of wall.
Can sleep on the mattress on the floor, can eat on low table with the kids. Some dining tables and sofa are cheap too.
After have house then slowing build up your saving, you and Nick still very young.

SQ,
Maybe YE attending school during weekdays. Maybe the GUG lessons are pretty same. Maybe can stop GUG and source for other classes if you have time.

Astro
popping over fm apr 07 thread.. just to share:

the LNT's trial class cost $180 for 3 lessons for 3 weeks.. which must attend once every week
1st week is english then 2nd week is jap 3rd wk is mandarin.

i hv just completed the trial this wk and most likely will be signing my boy up for the next term in oct once he stops his GUG.

is totally diff fm GUG so a refreshing change for him.

SQ, if you still wanna continue with GUG , you can consider the next level which is the Kids class which is unaccompanied. some of my boy's classmate will be progressing to the next level.

astro
ya, she gets bored with repetition. with kindermusik, it's ok cos they sing different songs and do different things each week. ok, i'll see how she performs with me next week and really have to make a decision soon.

QQ, are you reading this?

huingee
i've never thot kinderland and GUG are similar. now that you pointed out, maybe they are! i always thot kinderland a bit LC in their activities in terms of cognitive level, so din think of stopping GUG. but now that she's showing signs of being bored, i will stop. learning should be fun, not torturous.

min
the kids class, we have a classmate who went there, and then came back. the activities are pretty the same i heard? just that adults stay outside? i find that this is meant to promote independence? if so, i'm not concerned cos YE already goes to childcare, which caters to that aspect?

haha.. does that mean LNT is the next class for march babies?

astro
seldom hear you shop
the funan one must be a good place
hee hee... i'd better avoid that dangerous zone

QQ
YE woke up an hour ago. then we wanted to go swimming. but it's so windy, and my granny and mum keep nagging cannot bring her to swim in case she falls sick. actually on friday, ILs called hubby to say she's running a fever. we were so worried when we fetch her. lucky she was active, and her temp was ok till now. phew.... how many times have i said that i hate it when our kids fall sick...

sudd read about pax's teething comments
oh oh... i din noe their teeth may be sprouting again. in fact, i've never looked inside her mouth to see how many she has

Speaking of LNT, there's another advantage. At Toa Payoh, we can park at the multistorey carpark for free on Sundays! Keke. Then the center is just at the same building as the carpark.

Min: May I kbow what you meant by "1st week is english then 2nd week is jap 3rd wk is mandarin"? Do u mean the lesson is conducted solely in that language or?

SQ,
not neccessary it'll cause discomfort for teething. Like Reyes, by the time I realised it, she already had all her 20 teeth liao, I didn't even know when her molars came out. Now I'm hoping Reyden's will be as easy as well.

SQ, irin
yes, molar eruption affect some kids more than others.

ASTRO!
what time were u at Funan? we are there every Sunday till 1230! that shop is jus o/s the music school! prices quite reasonable. i hv to resist walking in. btw it's lvl 5. :p

SQ
oh i din know that the kids class activities are the same
.. will go and check with the parents or teachers at GUG next week.

A&A
the branch i go to is at TPY
yes.. soley that particular language
Jap is by Jap teacher talks in eng/jap. like explaining how to do the activities (listed by mejo) in english. all flash cards, tracing etc all in jap language.

and chinese is by cheena teacher.

its classroom environment (table and chair) so parents will sit on a chair behind them

LNT's pace is fast as they are many activities packed in an hour. so they are likely to sit still .

actually what i like about is teaching them how to do letter/number tracing and also memory game.
and they also teach how to count by listening e.g. how many beats of the drums or triangular (activity no.8 listed by mejo)
coz mostly children learnt counting through visual but not sounds (thats what the teacher told me)

Something cute ...

I brought Reyes to a wedding dinner last night. And the couple were asked to finish a cherry mouth-to-mouth. And this was what Reyes asked Reyden to do at dinner this evening. 2 little imps ... haha!!

2813716.gif

Mindy,

You also at TPY branch? You there on Sunday? Mine is Sun 1030 slot. There are two twin boys in my class. Think YT is the oldest there though. All the rest look so much younger. They clump the whole year 2007 kids together regardless of month.

Mejo,
they were at it for the whole dinner. They thought it was fun and with our laughters, they just kept doing it.

Autum,
we thought it was very funny too. hahaha!!

pax,
your wisdom tooth thing, all ok now? still pain? hey, today i went to IMM. the outdoor play area looks good. but we didn't bring extra clothes and towel, so EJ cannot play.. and he looked so disappointed.. he could only play the playground set.

irin
i was gg to type on FB.. bored, hot, humid!! it's the weather!

Autum
wisdom tooth ok, but whole of last wk, i had an ulcer right next to my extraction site. then on courses, damn jialat. had to take panadol to deal w the pain..
ya, the outdoor water play area is quite fun. but my kids seldom ask to play. dunno why.. :p only once nia. :p

M had swimming lesson at 4. Jo played by herself at the baby waddling pool. i was watching M, mr pax watching Jo. she slipped, lost her footing n fell into the water. i asked her if she still wan to learn swimming. she replied, "jus now bcos i fall into the water, i cry. this week dun wan.."

Pax,
Jo so cute!

Hey, I'm kind of surprised that they know how to use the word "bcos". I don't remember using it often with them and I had a pleasant surprise when I heard Reyes said it. I wonder where they hear it from ...

Pax, Irin,

Now they know how to reason already. Haha.

Irin,

Ohh, I'm sure you have used it on them. Like when explaining why they cannot do certain things? "You can't bite mei mei because it is painful!" Haha.

Mejo,
hmmm, seldom. Usually I'll just say, "you can't bite her. It's painful." I don't use long sentences with them cos I want to make simple for them to understand.

Irin,

Hmm, then someone else must have been doing it. Kent maybe? I have no choice but to speak in a complicated manner to YT sometimes because she ask me complicated questions. Ha... I also dunno how to simplify. Like she ask me why the sun goes down, why the lamp is reflected on the glass door (or something to that effect)...