good news, pete wants to study.
Looking at the positive side, he wants to go study because he feels that it is important for his career. In singapore, certificates are really important. that's what I feel. He must have considered quite a while before telling you this, and hope can reach an agreement with u. I dont think he wants to abandon all of u and just go study, right? He is asking for an opportunity to discuss and chamsiong with u.
However, you are worried about the income, money.. etc etc. maybe there are many ways to solve the problem. See if Pete can solve for u then u will be happie, or at least feeling secured. Or both of you can try to solve the problem.
sit down together and check out the feasibility. if it is feasible, then just dong. 1 year is very fast de. if it is not feasible, shelf the studying plan until next time.
same as my hb. he mentioned that he wants to study. i told him that ok, no problem as long as you use your own money to study. and I am not going to feed your family, to be fair. i can support myself and tian, and #2. just need to do the sum carefully and should be ok.
plus i have my mum to support in case really run into crisis, and my brother, my sister (though i am not going to ask $$ from them la), but i got backup mentally.
he has no backups leh..... haha!!!! if his mum suddenly need to use money, he will go insane.
so he shelf his plan and see if he wants to study when he is 40. haha!!!
Jay is not having income at the moment too. He is ganchiong, but i am not the ganjiong one cause i feel that he needs time to adjust to his new career. but i will control how much we give to his mum, at least at the moment.
last time, when we plan about this, we had came out with ideas to bring income home, if really run into crisis, or negative...
1. rent out our rooms. kick sil out and my tenants. we can rent their rooms out for 500 a month. two rooms already 1K. good right? haha!!!
worse case all 3 of us squeeze in one room, then rent 3 rooms out... haha!!
the money is not big money, but still enough to support our expenses.
2. pick up freelance jobs like local courier service, etc etc...
3. cut down expenses... take more public transport.
4. change milk powder.
5. make bb diaperless
6. go PCF, dun go kinderland.
7. dun go back KL so often. we always dig big holes when we go back KL. tolls, petrols, give money to parents, etc etc... lots of $$$
8. dun eat in restaurants. eat at foodcourt instead.
so at the moment, those are just stupid ideas to make us laugh and knowing that we have many tricks to save $$ and make our lives go on. back up plan!!
if needed, will activate.
So, you need to support him. Tell him that if he really want to study, find out ways to settle the family. Reduce the burden on you and then chop chop 12 months fly liao then everyone is happie.
if he sees u so supportive and two of you have no idea how to deal with $$ problem, then he will not want to go study le cause he will not bear to make u work too hard for it.