(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

QQ,
At least your uncle dun suffer that much and just recently went to tour. Life if so fragile and unpreductable. Take care and dun think too much.

HJ: why dun u pump and freeze? u dun have to stop completely, just delay giving him BM only. or u can pump BM and give to number 1.

Enne: ya, we literally pour thru the name book, at least i did ... went thru so many times then dunno why also arrive at Ian ... ok lah ... no complains, but my gal may compare and complain that his name is shorter and chinese name easier to write!

yvonne: better u see the ribbons first ... i got 1/4 inch all the way to 1 1/2 inch ... some plain, some printed, etc .... and also all various lengths. u may not need everything also! if u really take everything u can make enuff clips for the entire march thread gals liao :p

QQ: take care.. life is fragile but still we move on..

HJ: cayden will be alright. think bunnie's suggestion on freezing is good.. partial bf and fm.. doesn't mean have to stop completely lah..

hmm.. i was sent home this morning.. coz one colleague down with h1n1.. and before she see the doctor (i think just today).. we were all in the common room.. but i am well and ok.. so gug mummies who seen me on sun, please don't worry. i think she got it during the weekend.. so mgt just pre-cautionary measure.. so my leave of absence. is only till thursday nia.. ha ..

but i am irritated with my mum.. she was trying to suppress a cough/running nose which was abut to form.. so i sent her home.. told my sis to go and bring her to see doct.. she keeps telling pple in clinic she is not sick and then my sister sot to bring her see doc! wah liew.. end up my sis irritated keep smsin.. haiz.. end up i also irritated liao.. how come pple just cannot understand? it is just pre-cautionary.. i am paying for ur doc fees. just go lah.. wah liew.. fed up..

then miser also never say much one.. stupid man. no sms nothing.. i got to sms him to show me some concern? wah liew.. what a joke. angry with him.. he says he knows i am ok? ya right. i am VERY ok..

joelle,
got drink to recommend to mums to be huh?? what is that? can share?

hahaha... everytime, sure see things to buy.. ;p

HJ,

I completely agree with this statement: "Breastfeeding should not be discontinued "in order to make a diagnosis" If baby is gaining weight well, doing well on all fronts, what is the problem? Wherein lies the problem except upside down logic?

Astro,
your mum scared tt clinic got H1N1 is it?? that's y dun wanna go.... some elderly are like that lah.... me try to see eye open w my mil sometimes, especially now, try not agitate myself else affect the mood of baby.... tiring

http://www.jfponline.com/Pages.asp?AID=5353

In fact, breastfeeding should not be discontinued for jaundice due to any cause, as demonstrated in the opening scenario, unless you believe a baby is at risk of requiring an exchange transfusion. The need for phototherapy alone is not a sufficient reason to discontinue breastfeeding.5

Breast-milk jaundice is a common problem facing parents and physicians, but it is not a disease and does not represent an abnormality in and of itself. Rather, this normal physiologic condition gains its importance only in that it must be distinguished from pathological causes of newborn jaundice.29 Breast-milk jaundice is believed to affect 1%21to 33%30 of breastfed infants.

mist: no.. she feels i am crazy to send her to the doc.. for me the logic is simple. to eliminate her being a probably h1n1 (from dunno where). and to make sure if i were to fall ill.. it is only from my workplace lah. as simple as that..she is not being cooperative.. later infect teng how? trying to minimise possible infection.. simple thing like that also cannot cooperate..fed up.. make my sis paiseh.. aiyoh.

huingee: all those students all quarantined.. at home.. so i am not that worried .. just when the year 1s coming back.. then mai fun again.. everyday all the time wear mask.. think eventually no more qurantine liao.. everyone will be treating it as common flu..

YY,

Cannot eliminate her from being H1N1 infected just from going to clinic only unless you make her do H1N1 test cuz only 1 in 5 H1N1 infection get recognised since the infection doesn't cause the same symptoms in everyone. Maybe you should have "marketed" the idea of visiting a clinic in another way. Think she is all the more resistant because of the idea of being suspected for H1N1...

Astro,
oh, your mum thinks tt you gan cheong spider huh.. sigh, sometimes very funny one, they dun see the implications of events one. Hmm, i can't really help much on this, hahaha... cos i'm struggling in such situation myself too!! ;p

re: employing maids
wanna ask mummies on your opinion. Me wanna employ maid since no.2 is coming, but my hubby very concern tt the maid will give us problem.. can mummies pls share your experience w your maids huh? does going to a "good" agency help to eliminate this problem?

mejo: i told her to take the h1n1.
i told her.. i am the potential h1n1 threat..who knows i am strong enough to tahan the virus.. but could have spread to her.. i am the threat.. not not her..that's why i am irritated..

mist: she is like a child lah. wondering who is th mum here!

HJ,
wad mejo said is true... infact, sam also quite yellow... and cl keep telling mi not to bring her to see dr, cos pd sure prick the little feet... and she comfirm with us tt sam is not drowsy, active... drinking as normal.. good sign... just tt the face, body and eyes are veri yellow.... from wad i understand.. she said jaundice will go the the peak and go away... i think if i m not wrong, her jaundice lasted for 2 weeks. continue feeding, stop ginger... i nv take ginger and dom... no bu too... just red date tea and lots of papaya fish and threadfin fish...

mist
it's a ginger juice i found in malaysia. will buy some back the next round i go.. it was good for heartburn and wind the last time i was preggy w seth. heh.

edde
jus remembered ur soak in salt water thing... can... oni if u r the shui2 zhong3 type.. :p cos it sucks out water..not fat la!!! if can work then i will be super slim liao. then i will have my own salt supplier liao. heh!

astro,
sometime i also worry, i may not get the virus, but i bring back or rather the family members bring back the virus, the both bel and sam are still young... scary hor...

HJ,

Yar, YT also jaundiced but PD heard she is breastfeeding, REASSURED us that it is NORMAL! Fire your PD.

YY,

Oh... that test $200 plus right?

yvonne: transmitting the virus is inevitable.. taking care of our health is the best thing we can do now. i am just irritated at how uncooperative my mum is!
she called.. and wanted to speak to teng. i told her teng is eating lah.. then i told her off for embarrassing my sism at the clinic.. my sis told her to stock up on some rice and instant noodles.. so that if she is hungry.. she can cook for herself.. she said she wun eat that one.. she can go down and buy food.. wahliew! how childish?! then buy food lor.. ya right.. then she will complain that her daughters wun buy food for her.. my sis asked her at 3pm plus.. what she wants? she snapped at my sis.. saying it is too early to eat?!
just making it very difficult for pple to show her concern. no wonder my sis is so fed up.. i told her to grow up and dun behave like a little child!

some where i read. h1n1 affects kids below 2.. other sources tell me affects kids below 7.. so much so that TTSH rejects kids under 7 to prevent infection. hmm .. also dunno which source is reliable.. so.. bottom line.. load the kids with vit c/gummies/delrosa/lacto GG and what ever!

YY,

Oh, cuz my friend told me last night about how her colleague came back with flu after going to an affected country but refused to get h1n1 tested cuz it is $200+ and company have refused to pay for the test. But they just make her go on LOA.

mist ah,
can u try to do a search on our past post. (i think just some days ago).. cos after your last post to ask for feedback on maids, myself and Germaine posted a lot of questions and things.. not sure if you have read that. I also wrote a lot about agency.

Wah faint all of sudden Cayden scream so loud for milk, went to latch him, only manage to calm and put him down.
Oh ya I forgot, PD also said Cayden got reflex too, due to over feeding. **faint** now have to give him colic drop and monitor.
Told mum just now should stop ginger, she agreed and said she will put pepper instead.

Pink / HG,
I ask PD he said no point to sun bath coz it BF jaundice.

Enne,
Your hb very sweet.
I ask hb if I can’t bu now, should we have #3 so I can bu. he keep quiet.

Yvonne,
lemon grass cook with food? I cant take the smell.

Bunnie / astro,
I do pump give to Elisha 1 or 2 feed a day and did freeze some.
I worried if I stop Cayden BM he will reject it after he recover from jaundice that make me hesitate to temp stop.

Mejo / yvonne,
My hb worried, Cayden jaundice seem like roller caster, going up and down, his face is very yellow, PD also not confirm is BF jaundice, he only say is HIGH chance. The only way to confirm is to stop bf for 3days and give FM to confirm.
We really worried coz if it not BF jaundice and it got serious it might cause brain damage. See his face to yellow feel heartpain.

Mejo,
Ops, actually PD din ask me to stop, he just suggest if we really worried. infect he ask me dun stop BF, BM is good for bb.

hg: partial feeding. bm and fm.. wun reject.. that ws the case with teng.. for at least 3 mths.. he didn't reject bm.. just my sickening confinement lady who nags non-stop

hj,
Oh, your pd ask you to temp stop giving bm to Cayden so as to see which it's bf jaundice or not. It's only temp stop and see how.

teng also screamed and was very bloated. coz me overfeeding him with fm.. for u. u could have a fast latch down. hence making cayden uncomfortable.. the foremilk can cause a bit of bloatedness. so primp ur breasts before u feed cayden. yvonne posted a site which i found the other time.. on breast feeding. that is usefull..

joelle,
oh, got such juice huh? i didn know leh..

Astro,
actually, sometimes my hubby say when one become elderly hor, suddenly they behave like a kid, IQ & EQ everything suddenly decline.. hahaha... well, he always uses this to console me and tell me, relax.. old folks are big kids sometimes!!! hope we dun become big kids ourselves too next time

Autumn,
thanks for the note, me go search... me didn come in forum these few days... busy and really tired!!

mist,
just want to say, if u have decided to hire maid, then u must be prepared to face the problems. there will definitely be problems one la. it's just how big or small, how serious or light the problems. a lot also depends on your personal views and likes and dislikes lor.

just to give you one example. i let my maid sleep every afternoon.. when my baby sleeps. until today, i know my mom not very happy about that.. and she also said my brother not agreeable to that (she told my brother).. but I am really ok with it. So at the end, it's what you like/agree to. Also, beware that a lot of "problems" can come from other family members' comments lor. Especially MILs and Mothers.. think they like to comment about maid, this and that.. so again, just be prepared to face such issues.

astro : kkh takes kids with suspected H1N1 and of cos with confirm cases too.. i was scared when i heard there is a suspected case there..

all the airconditioned wards are "reserved" for the H1N1 be it suspected or confirm cases..

nana: yeh.. kkh can't be rejecting the kids..

mist: yep.. i better dun behave like one.. and give teng headaches.. or maybe i should.? he is pestering me to kick the ball together!

Mist
will your MIL be around after u get your maid? im afraid she will be one nagging at my maid.

my maid also dun like my MIL, everyday tell her shouldnt do this shouldnt do that, for me i close 1 eye as long as she is genuine to my kid.

Astro
2 days of quarantine after a trip, is it enough to prove the person is not affected?
im really fed up with mr tan. he's very stubborn. he said even if he dun go this time, he still has to go within the next 4 mths to return prayer & he dun think the virus will be gone then. I told him 4 face Buddha will understand!
i know he just want to get his stuff, im super pissed off, dun care liao. now i know what is most important to him.

pink: i am not sure .. but instinctively.. it is difficult to asceratin with a mere 2 days of quarantine.. but the country is moving on to the migitiation phrase instead.. so.. eventually even u are sick.. u wun need to be imposed quaratined.. but rest at home till well.. so u see.. really life must go on.. but i can sure understand the frustrations.. it is not about the virus actually. it is not being concerned abuot his preggie wife.. right?

teng is a crouch potato leh. he sits there.. glued to the tv. he knows now on channel 8.. got the hong hai er.. then requested me to switch on tv.. then he sits there and stare at the screen.. wah liew.. this ishow he leads his life.. haiz..

Astro,
hahaha... ay, not sure if u will be the one to give problem to teng next time, maybe u will since teng also give u tough time at times.. hahaha ;p

autum,
yeah, i know what u mean... they will complain to your siblings hor? i also dun like that, i guess i need to learn to filter all such comments, else i will get crazy...

Pink,
unfortunately, yes, my mil will be around loh... very stress!!!

pink: the h1n1 is like the common flu. actually it is a lot milder..most pple get it without being seriusly ill.. remember that time i had a prolonged cough during my first tri..? it is something like that.. preggie lowers our immunity system.. and hence we take a lower time to recover.. and might develop complications if not manage well.. given preggy is already a higher risk condition even when there's nothing.. and that Tami flu (that medicine against h1n1) is a Cat C medicine which is yet tested on preggie women and effects on bbs is not known.. so the risk is in the uncertainity. more than the severity of the virus.. provided the virus dun mutate lah..

wed i am going to ask my gynae.. if she is concerned.. then i will speak to my director.. and work out something.. till i deliver and on maternity leave.. it is almost end of the semester anyway for my workplace..think 2 more months..

actulaly i do think.. they qre quite silly.. to make me take so many classes.. and invite this kind of 'complications' on themselves.. they are quite lucky.. that i am still staying strong.. ok. this is a personal rant lor..