(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

belle,
haha, sick of eating chicken.. but then, we always eat chicken mah. sometimes i feel so tired of dunno what to cook. week after week, we cook the same dishes. so boring.

irin,
maybe i should ask u.. u don't get tired of cooking? do u cook the same dishes every week? after a while, i feel that all the soups i know how to cook, taste the same.. or all cook in the same way. maybe i m just a lousy cook. not adventurous. haha.

QQ,
ok, no problem. I can make the reservations.

Let me know your attendance by Wed, k?

Belle,
ya lor, RR always enjoy themselves whenever we go to that swimming complex cos there are slides and they'll want to stay very long there but Mummy cannot take the coldness. :p

Autum,
no leh. I'll get bored of the few dishes that I cook often lah but will go look/try new recipes if I get sick of the few dishes. Then after get sick of the new dishes, I'll go back to the old dishes.

There are actually alot of soup recipes, depending on what you like. My family takes everything from fish to chicken, to pork and beef so can try alot new dishes.

Sometimes I'll take a break over the weekends too, hehe.

irin,
but most of the soup recipes, after a while, they all seem the same to me. unless it's cook the very complicated type (restaurant type), then I can't la.. but most of the soup are the same.

Autum,
no leh, you can add different things to the soups mah. Like sometimes I'll add barley & lian zi to lotus roots, corn to watercress or old cucumber and apple to carrots and potato soups & etc ...

You tried these before? Easy to cook also but slightly different from the normal ones lor.

- Pig's tail with peanuts
- Chicken soup with fish maw
- Dan Hua Bitter Gourd soup
- Apple Pork Ribs soup
- Pumpkin Carrot soup
- 3 types Lo Bo soup (carrot, white and green radish)

irin,
i tried pig's tail with peanuts.. but mostly use pork ribs cause pig's tail very oily.

fish maw i dunno how to cook le. how huh? we buy the dried types, then put inside to boil long long? or before eating then put inside?

your other soups, all the "same" le. I know add different stuff here and there, but end up also like the "same"..

soups i cook:
- ABC (pork ribs or chicken with carrot, onion, potato)
- pork ribs, bottle gourd, red dates
- pork ribs, winter melon, red dates
- Pork ribs, lotus root
- pork ribs, lotus root, black bean/peanut
- pork ribs/chicken, white radish, carrot, corn, peanut etc.
- pork ribs/chicken, green radish, carrot
- chicken herbal soup (pre-mixed herbs)

Did try adding apple before.. but taste also the same le. Most of the time, we just add the "same" stuff. peanut/blackbean/carrot/corn/scallop/red dates it's like mix and match.. but in the end, all about the same.

irin/ autum
i m not really a soup lover got soup no soup also ok. i sick of eating the same tasting dish like chicken with ginger n more chicken soup added with liquor with hei mu er n ginger.. then MIL says cannot eat oyster sauce , prawns etc. so my veg cant hv oyster sauce plain plain.

Pax
tks appreciate.. i m coping well i guess.

irin
i dun dare SEE pig tail in my bowl, my mum used to cook hee i will close my eyes while scooping to ask my sis if my soup spoon got tail or not .

i getting lazy but should learn soup from MIL..her soup she claims no salt n msg but its very sweet. i think i wanna consider goin back to work this thur (if my back not sng) but maybe work half day or wat.. i get bored at home le..

re: soups
my auntie ever made pumpkin soup, she boil with ruan gu & tomato le..not bad mummies here can try.

i used to like to make corn soup..buy whole corn n cut into chunks then boil with ruan gu or chicken.

my mil knows how to mix those chinese liao like lian zi, nan xin , bei xin etc she once made with shitake mushrooms, the soup very fragrant n she said NO SALT le..

Autum,
if add apple then quite different leh, the taste is a different type of sweetness. Maybe you didn't add enough?

Ya, dried fish maw, add in when the soup is almost done, don't add in to boil else will disappear. :p

Ingredients:
Chicken Drumsticks
Dried Shitake mushrooms
Garlic
Fish maw
Water

Seasoning: (opt)
1 tsp salt

Method:
1. Soak fish maw in hot water to remove excess oil. Wash and squeeze dry and cut into small pieces.

4. Bring water to a boil. Add in the chicken, mushrooms and garlic. Boil for 15 minutes, lower heat and simmer soup for 1 hour then add in fish maw. Add seasoning to taste.

Sometimes I'll add in some quail eggs for RR too, they like it.

My family also like , tom yam, bak ku teh and pork stomach soups but I'll cook some other soups for RR if I cook these cos too spicy for them.

short cut soups maybe not so bu..but can still drink?

a) fish ball soup, garnish with dang cai n coriander
b) beef ball tendon soup, garnish with coriander

above just boil n serve .. for lazy mummies hee

irin
i love tom yam soup, must be sour sour type.. with prawns, squid, tomato, straw mushrooms, add lemon n fish sauce...aroy kha!!!

belle,
my soup also no msg and very little salt (sometimes no salt) and soup is sweet. actually it's very easy to achieve that taste.. just add lots of ingredients!

Belle,
No need to add seasonings to soups. I don't add seasonings to my soups too, I don't like the salty taste.

Ya, I'll add those huai san strips, qian shi, lian zi, barley and some other stuffs to my soups too and it'll taste very sweet liao. But cannot add those things to every soups lah.

Vege can fry with rice wine and ginger (you should take rice wine now) also very nice.

blurbelle
the spotting u have now is not considered as mense. the next one that comes will b the first one.

bbmar
i bought the medium size. i cannot carry big bag, dun look nice on me.

QQ
u and mr lai look alike, i dun see that he looks younger tho he tries to look hippier..haha

my soup:
1. chicken mushroom soup
2. ABC soup
3. Pig Stomach Soup
4. Bak Kut Teh (from sachet, so not counted rite?)
5. Lotus Soup
6. Salted Veg Soup
7. Dumpling soup using ikan bilis for soup base

irin,
for pig stomach soup, u know how to wash the pig stomach? need a lot of skills le. or u buy the pre-cooked ones from ntuc?

belle,
if u are not a soup lover, then ok la.. can just cook simple soups.

Belle,
haha, you like Tom Yum soups very easy lah, just get the premix packs like bak ku teh also. But I don't cook those that often, partly cos not that nutritious and partly cos I'll need to cook separate soups for RR if I cook those, leycheh ...

Autum,
hehe, I buy the pre-cooked ones from NTUC. Those are quite well-washed and fresh too.

Oh, another thing to add to soups is chicken feet, nice too.

irin,
for pig stomach soup, if buy the pre-cooked ones.. then the cooking method is just like how u would cook the chicken/fish maw soup right? after boiling long time, then add in the pig stomach and fish maw?

another question: how to cook pumpkin soup huh? i thot of cooking, but i thinking, won't the pumpkin melt? then the soup will become cloudy-orangy?

Belle,
think it depends on individual taste too lah. Some people like their soups very strong-flavoured and saltish but my family and I don't like so we don't add salt or seasonings.

Then don't add the ginger for your vege lor, just add rice wine. You don't really like confinement food ah?
I didn't get tired of the ginger, sesame and rice wine food last time leh. In fact now whenever my friends are doing confinement, I'll pop over to eat the confinement food their CL cooks, haha!!

pink,
for salted veg soup, what is your base? pork-rib soup? or chicken soup? then add in the salted veg to boil together, or add in only after boiling the soup base? hope u understand my question.

Autum,
no leh, the pig stomach must put in early cos it needs long time to cook then will become soft else will be like rubber.

re: pumpkin soups
For pumpkin soups cannot boil and simmer for very long like those other soups, just boil and simmer for awhile till the pumpkin softens can liao.

irin,
oh, i always thot, since the pig maw is already cooked, then no need to boil long time! hahah.. but i haven't tried cooking as soup. i only bought once (the pre-cooked), i used it to cook in dark soy sauce.. then it tasted a little rubbery.. but still ok. can't remember how long i cooked it for. hmm.. i think one day i will try for soup.

recipe for pig stomach soup is chicken, shitake mushroom, garlic, pepper seeds (white?), pig stomach.. that's all?

autum
there're a few versions.
for me, i boiled the salted veg, and tomato to make the soup base. i add in lean meat or pork ribs later.

if its just salted veg Tofu soup, just add in tofu thats all.

Autum,
they only blanch the stomach, didn't really cook it de.

I'll put in pig’s stomach, chicken/pork ribs, gingko nuts, white pepercorns, garlic, ginger and water chestnuts (got this idea from the buffet I went the other time, sweeten the soup).

RR
your pig stomach soup comes with shitake mushroom?
mine very simple..just boil garlic, chicken bones, pepper for a while, then add in the blanched stomach and boil for an hour.

pink,
hmm, thanks for info, but highly unlikely that i will cook that. kekekek.. cos i worry about the salt content.

irin,
ya, i forgot about ginko, but must remove the 'heart' first right? water chestnut.. idea hor. but dun think i want a sweet taste. u can also add in dried scallop.

Pinkpink,
it's those dried shitake mushrooms, something like chinese xiang gu but not as strong flavoured.

Autum,
I don't know how to take out the heart, either my mum will do it or I can those ready ones from NTUC.
Oh, the sweetness in spicy taste is rather unique and nice leh.
Oh ya, forgot about dried scallops. Sometimes I'll add dried oysters and dried cuttlefish to my soups as well, depends on what I can get.

irin,
when i was a kid, i helped my aunt to remove the heart of the gingko. but many years didn't do liao.. think i forgot how to do! i remember we used toothpick to push in the centre and the heart will be push out. hee..

pink,
the shitake is dried.. ri4 ben3 hua1 gu1 (a lot of nice floral pattern on the mushroom and the mushroom looks quite 'white')

Autum,
ya, I remember I helped my mum did it too but also long ago liao. Anyway now they have all the ready ones, don't bother lah. :p

RR
special. i try that next time.
i want to try the fish maw soup. wat kind of fish maw should i choose? never buy before.

need new ideas.

my MIL has 5-6 cans of abalone. we secretly cooked with chicken soup once. how i wish to have another round of it.

autum
u can blanch the salted veg first before adding into the boiling water. alternatively, add more water if you want to let the kids drink. thats what i do.

lotus soup..u gals add cuttlefish? it taste damn nice with it.

ok my med is making me drowsy, gotto sleep soon.
i skipped 2 rounds of med today and i have 4 small meals...getting hungry every 3 hrs.

Pinkpink,
normal dried fish maw will do.

Wah, abalone, I also like, hehe. I cook abalone porridge for RR before and they love it. :p

Wah ... so late liao, no wonder all went to zzz. I better go sleep also, got to think of things to entertain RR tomorrow, CC closed for spring cleaning.

Good night!

wah.. all sharing soup recipes.. let me share some of my fav.

HERBAL SOUP WITH MUSHROOM
my kids' fav. no herbal taste at all.

yuzhu
red dates
longan
baihe
gouqizhi
chicken or pork ribs or ruan gu
mushroom - any type u like. usually i add shitake (dried or fresh also can), enoki (golden) mushroom

1. wash the herbs. add to water and bring to boil
2. add meat (guo4 shui3 (blanched) 1st, vv impt). if not enuf water, add hot water enuf to cover all the ingredients. bring to boil, turn down heat, simmer for 1 hr.
3. before serving, allow soup to boil, add mushrooms, cover and boil for 5min and serve.

the soup is very sweet. no need to add anythg else.

CORN SOUP
buy whole corn with the leaves. jus remove the leaves and chop into small pieces. i cut crosswise and lengthwise.

corn
honey dates
chicken or pork ribs or ruan gu

1. wash corn and honey dates. add to water and bring to boil.
2. add meat (guo4 shui3 (blanched) 1st, vv impt). if not enuf water, add hot water enuf to cover all the ingredients. bring to boil, turn down heat, simmer for 1.5 hr.

APPLE CHICKEN SOUP (for 4 or more pple)

2 apples
4 chicken drumstick
red dates
gouqizhi

1. De-seed and cut apples into quarters.
2. Add red dates, gouqizhi and apples to water and bring to boil.
3. deskin chicken drumstick and guo4 shui3 (blanched). add to pot. if not enuf water, add hot water enuf to cover all the ingredients. bring to boil, turn down heat, simmer for 1 hr.

i use a pressure cooker. it cuts down the "cooking time" to 20min. save money and time. only thing has to wait for the cooker to de-pressurised. can also use thermal cooker.

blur, this is not menses, its like lochia. wait till your next menses is here then you will know.the staining now can drag for a few weeks. some ppl got it for 1-2 weeks then clear liao.
mr lai cooked for me for 2-3 weeks. then i slowly take outside food.
i love confinement food, so no complaints.

jo is so cute. wah.,.. time really flies.

jo is so cute.. hahah..

pax: i read about ur movie adveture.. i also wanna try with rae leh. wonder if she canc sit still

actually what is the ideal age to bring them to the movies?

QQ: i let rae nap in the car and we went to safra mt fabre for sswim yesterday afternoon. surprising the place was not crowded at all.. hey u should come with us.. we can bring u in as guest.

star, no la. i wanted to sleep myself.
hb supposed to join his fren for movie but he cancelled it. cause i wanted to sleep badly, then tian nap in car for 10 min, then woke up dun want to sleep le. she said she was tired, wanna sleep, but kept playing in room. i forced her to sleep, scolded her. papa saw liao heart pain then cancel his entertainment and makesure i dun abuse tian tian.
then all of us slept till 4.30pm.

any HFM case at GUG? tian started having some blister at her right feet. need to monitor a bit.

QQ: har? how come got blister? when did u notice the blister forming> a lot? or just one one feet? actually with HFM, u need fever first leh. she running a fever?

star, no fever. but yesterday she was grouchy a bit, then slight feverish. the heat came down after a bath. (not really a fever, just slight heaty, i tot it was the weather)

just now hb called and said she has 3 small blister under (at the bottom) the right feet.
i am not sure cause i haven't seen it. i came to work early.

QQ,
ask Jay to check for ulcers in the mouth or throat? See if she complains of any pain in the mouth when she eats.
Actually that time when Reyden had it, he didn't have fever so maybe depends on the strain.

Date: 19 June
Time: 6.30pm onwards

Start headcount
1. QQ (7pm) -ok
2. RR (6.30pm) -ok
3. Autum
4. Nana
5. huingee (6.30-7pm)- ok
6. starfruit -ok
7. blurbelle (decide on that day)
8. ash
9. garfield (7.30-8pm)