(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

autum, very interesting...

ok lets say, if EJ wants to have a sweet during meal, will you give? what happen if you don't give in? Do you negotiate with him?
Lets see if I am able to differentiate if he is notti or wat.
haha!

I believe there are many types of tantrums. Some are frustration tantrums. Some are manipulative. I am still learning how to tackle them.

qq,
cannot lei... haiz... they said if i appeal, will become special case... decision is up to the BOSS to approve.. and with our age, wah biang... who will believe we got cash to pay... haiz... but den self employed's salary is unlimited ma... they really stupid... too stupid to work... they onli think by looking at the cpf, mean the couple got money... cpf no money, couple no money, where got such thing!

qq,
given ej's scenerio, i will just tell bel, no means no.. no need to talk.. wahahaha... but she will cry and stop after awhile, finish her meal, i will give... like tt is wad?

QQ,
hmm.. maybe manipulative can also be looked at whether the kid is consistent with different people. ie. if the kid behaves one way with mama and another way with papa, or behaves differently with grandparents.. then maybe that can be considered as manipulative too.

QQ,
i won't give the sweet during the dinner. i may negotiate, that is, tell him he can have after dinner. if he refused to eat the dinner, then he will not have dinner and sweet either. And he can be like that.. he can choose not to eat.. cos he very stubborn. still we will try to cajole him to eat.. with other things, like put soup, add mushroom or whatever from dinner food.. but not the sweet/biscuit.

other times (not meal times), sometimes if he doesn't get what he wants, he will also jump and stamp his feet (the typical tantrum).. then we distract him with other things.. then blow over. one thing about EJ is, his tantrums don't last very long.. which is good for us.

Autum,
yes. if they behaves inconsistently, also can be a good clue.

no expert here le..

I think EJ's case is not naughty lar. he was a bit frustrated cause he might think that he couldn't communicate effectively then he stamps his feet like his fellow friends in cc? So not too bad leh. still negotiate and etc etc.
yvonne, you very harsh woh.
when they get older, we need to give them opportunity to xia4 tai2. to step down from their anger.

autum,
oh... chey... cos she will listen to everyone accpt mi if grandparents or nick is around... like tt don noe is wad... and she know i will scream at her if she don do it... she just wan to make mi lose face infront of my inlaws.
but sometime she will listen to mi and don wan to listen to themm.. ai ya.. don noe wad she doing... playful...

QQ, yvonne,
well, actually doesn't matter whether manipulative, or throw tantrum or being naughty.. all are actions we want to discourage. these labels are just labels.. doesn't matter what we call those actions/behaviours.. most impt is how we deal with them lor.

star
i dun even feel like eating ice-cream
din noe such a thing would ever happen to me

kaexin
which of the nurse was your gf's sil? kpo, let me see if i've seen her before

belle
my hubby always tell me that at least 20% of early pregs will not make it. it's nature's way of ensuring the fittest survive. it's our body's way of adapting. though i know saying all these won't help now. you got to take care of yourself ok. sayang you.

bbmar
i think so too. v tired
ah bian is such a good boy
you must teach me a trick or two how to avoid sibling rivalry okie?

i can't believe a bil like yours exist. next time he has son, i will ask YE to go chase after the son

autum
talk about imsaginative play, can you believe YE can "fight" and "quarrel" with herself in the car? i almost wanted to beat her then hubby said leave her alone

QQ,
u have a good point. i find that EJ is picking up "bad" behavior from his schoolmates! :pP like he will bian-zue and eh-eh-eh for little things.. but last time he doesn't do those things leh. kekeke.. then there was once I spoke to the teacher, she told me EJ is very good boy etc.. but sometimes he naughty is because he learnt from the other kids. kekekek..

autum
my definition of being manipulative = very persistent to get what they want + know who to turn to in order to get what he/she wants + seldom fail to get what he/she wants?

ok im a bit confused too.

QQ/autum
while YE has progressed alot since she started school, she has also picked up bad habits as well. wat to do? going to school is lidat de. very soon, we will have to teach them what is right and wrong as they make their decisions in life. hopefully when one day we are no longer around, they will be able to survive on their own.

*scary thought*

SQ,
whahahah.. YE so cute, can fight and quarrel with herself! she is one imaginative girl! Good le, why u want to beat her???

ya SQ
why u want to beat her? quite a cute scene.

speaking about ice cream, i ate a whole tub of Rum and Rasin icecream before i found out p-plate...

SQ,
for sibling rivalry, i think a lot is also luck. you can try to prepare YE by telling her to be a good jie-jie etc.. but even then, once baby comes, it's hard to know how she will react until it happens. just hope for the best!

now EJ always play with the sister.. and he always make her laugh. so I will always tell him to make mei-mei laugh. but there are also moments when he doesn't want to share toys with EV.. he will say "mei-mei can't play".. then we will tell him to share.. then after a few moments, he will pass the toys to mei-mei. Need to have constant reminders

pink/autum
cos she was sitting behind me in the car
then she kept kicking my seat and shout "I want to draw!" (kicked my seat)

then i reply "ok, pls draw"

then she said "NO! I WANT TO DRAW!"
(kicked my seat again!)

ME: Ok, then draw

YE: NO!! I WANT TO DRAW!"
(kick kick kick!)

ME: JUST SHUT UP AND DRAW!!!

Repeat and repeat. then my hubby told me she's talking to herself

true enuf, i ignored her, this carried on for another few times, then she stopped and moved on to something else

think i'm the silly one

autum
EJ sounds like a good gor gor
ok, you all teach me more
this YE v generous with other kids, always say wants to go find didi/meimei and ask me to bao bao them and bring her home. but i'm prepared for a different scene altogether when she really has one.

pink
eat ice-cream is ok what

SQ
i think so too :p kekkee
i dun mind leia talking to herself as long as she doesnt disturb me when im driving...

rum and raisin has alcohol in it.

oh autum
1 more example.
once we get into the car, leia started to manipulate me by asking me to ON her music. After I ON her music, she tells me Mai, she wants the next song, so this goes on till she gets to hear the song she wants.
so is this manipulative or notti?

pink
i assume the rum is negligible bah
anyway it's ok de
alot of pple actually drink hard liquor without realising they are P
as long as you stop now

YE will also choose her songs, but oni when daddy is around. when i'm driving, i will just tell her plainly i dunno what track the song is at (she will specifically sing the song for me then tell me to look). then she either shut up and listen, or we off the radio. she's ok

but when daddy's around, he will fiddle with the track. which i dun like cos it's distracting, and i hate pple to channel surf. gives me the headache

Belle,
Take care, *hug*
Don't think too much.

bbmar,
Very soon Darius can play with Fabain. Then Ah bian will not be lonely. Not need to worry too much, try to involve with him more. But boys are more independent.
Your bil so nice, you see how to adjust bah. Will be sad but you can only sell off after 5 years. That area can fetch a good price.

RR,
Confirm, Dylan is 88cm tall.

SQ,
I worry if he start sch he will fall sick often.

belle
sorry to hear. *hug hug* u take care of urself ah. maybe try talking to the baby now.. see if there can be miracles till friday?

pink
i know of a fast way to cook jap soup. boil kelp in water. add soy sauce and mirin. mirin gives it the sweet taste. if u can get those dried kelp (preserved) kind meant for kelp tea, it can be like instant soup. the last time astro got some fr japan...very nice!! i suspect can get fr those japanese stores or supermarts locally.

pink,
i think not that my threshold is high.. cos EJ never requested for songs to be played le. cos we never put CD for him, as in, we never specifically buy children CD to play in the car. only time we did that was when we drove to Ipoh.. long drive. but even then, he wasn't very interested in the nursery songs. most of the time, we just listen to whatever is on radio.

huingee
haiz. there's oni so much we can do

oh joelle just reminded me i still have those kelp in my fridge. better cook soon for YE. i dun dare to drink it myself. this YE almost vegetarian on sats when i cook. cos i can't stand meat smell

autum
when YE gets into the car, she will request for two things immly: music and "see high" (meaning open the sun roof for her. regardless of how hot the weather is!)

sq, u made me burst out laughing! Lol! She really talking to herself. Haha. Remind me when bel talking to sam and i am the one replying. After that she also keep saying no nono, den i turn and ask wad no? Den i see sam doing the wrong thing which bel ask her to. Funny hor! I also think myself so silly.

QQ
Yr theory is so interesting.
I want to share sth about The Law of Attraction..
Example: If you kept saying your child is noti, ultimately he/she will kept repeating the noti behaviours.
Watever he/she does, parents kept saying noti noti..nevertheless negative thoughts are input into them. So their output actions will also be negative.

Another example:
Attract positive thinking.
Greet yr child: Good mrng, handsome boy.
With such positive thoughts, he will be attracted to happy emotions.
In the long run, he will be a cheerful & beautiful person.

Wat do you think?

kai : u are right... my auntie is a professor in psychology in the US.. and when she comes back.. she keep telling me to say nice things.. cannot scold the baby notti.. must always say she is such a sweet and good girl.. she did not tell me the reason why.. but i guess as much :p

sq,
whahaha... she cried when press the liquid in... whaahaha.. poke nv cry... bel also nv cry this time round.. wahahaha i really wan to praise dr ong... she is a good pd... she distract bel and said there is a dirt at her butt... den she jab and finish! bel nv cry... usually bel cry when the nurse or dr press the liquid..

Nana
Precisely.
Dont u think our environment is v. negative?
1) We study to solve mathematical problems (negative)
2) Our company employ us to solve problems (negative)
3) Everywhere u see 'fines' - No smoking, no speeding (negative)
4) We often say No this No that to our child (negative) hahahah..
5) Terrible two cause our child to say No to us (negative too)...

We need to reduce all these negative ions.
Try to praise them more; dont add negative comments to them.
Give them a happy growing environment, they will become a happier & nicer person.

Avoid saying: Dont scream pls!
Try saying: Speak softly, dear.

Kai,
ay, then what to say when they are notti??? eg. if they throw the toys? shd we say "pls put down the toys gently?"

with my MIL around hor, very difficult one... she always scold my boy notti, very notti...

Pink,
I must miss many many post... didn realise tt u also P plate liao... Take care and rest well.... so kai's recommendation for slimming hv to put one side liao loh....

Kai,
thank you dear.... whaahahahah.. but yes, i fully agree with you. that's why i seldom scold EJ, but nowadays he getting naughty haha.. so i still have to be the bad guy. :p

mist,
actually i always tell that to EJ u know. if he throw his toys, i will say.. "hey, mama told u to be gentle right.. mama don't like violent boys.. u must be gentle.. remember that".. I always tell him to be gentle. cham, next time my boy become sissy?? :pP

kai,
i am deft guilty of -ve ness. i know its wrong, but i kept doing it

like when i am working 4days week, on my off days i will bring K out. i will ask her, you like going gai2 with mummy ?? she will nod her head.
somehow it makes me happy, that we enjoyed ourselves thru out.

last nite, we left her in yishun, she happily will place her pillows, cushion, nappies in the correct position before she lies down. she will make the muak sound when i tell her bye.
she din even bother that i am leaving w/o her

autum,
wahahahaha.. sissy ???

okie, i will tell K, to put down her things gently, she has the habits of throwing things when she is not happy