(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Irin
I also opt for Genting, cheaper hehehe..
Somemore got playgrounds.
But can I ask a kiasi question = Is the coach ride up safe?

edde.. u bad ler...i depends on timing first coz i scare got monie wanna go also cannot see... the cruise date dun suite me... ahahhaaahaha...

So i need to drop off from the cruise and join the genting coz the dates much suit me but now i worried about the travelling coz BIG TUMMY scare too many bumps...
Genting can pay a bit more to stay at the better hotels like hinglander, genting etc.. then the bus would drop all the way at the hotel no need to walk all the way up!!

wah went take nap come back so many more pricing..see til blur. tonite will ask hubby prefer genting or cruise!

anyone keen to do telemarketing tomorrow at suntec. hourly rate $8 per hour. must be eloquent.

sms me if u are keen.

a que.. do u all buy knives by the set ie) carving knife, medium knife, choppers etc etc or just buy 'ala carte'? if buy ala carte HOW/ where do u store your knife? Currently my dad's place got the whole set, but i dun think i will need so many le.. thinking just to get ala carte but no knife block how to keep it safely in drawers w/o any 'cover'??

blur
congrats!! u can buy knife blocks ala carte too. or u can get those fr ikea, just for keeping knives in the drawers. but need to child proof it. for knives, get wat u need lo. 1 paring knife(optional but useful for slicing fruit skin), 1 fruit/veg knife, 1 multi purpose knive(for normal use, fish or meat, recommend santoku!), 1 chopper(only if u need to chop whole chicken), 1 bread knife (if u bake ;p)... if really simple, just 1 multi purpose and 1 fruit knife can liao. =D

joelle
tk u
aiyo i blur le i read the whole paragraph tot pink replied me then i 'sudd' saw your name

do u mean ikea knife blocks? or 'something' just to keep knifes? ya i dunno how to chop whole chicken dun think will use it. for me multi purpose knife, maybe paring knife n a fruit/ veg knife ok liao.
santoku is a jap brand?? recently cold storage got a buy $30 offer, u can buy the german knife (forgot the brand) at a discount that one looks good too..

blur
santoku is the type of knife. it has little 'scales' along the blade to prevent 'sticking' of food when cutting. ikea wan is drawer tray. knife blocks easily available at departmental stores. u can oso consider those stainless steel ones attached to dish drainer type. i swear by 'kai' knife. if possible, dun go for cheap knives.... it makes a big difference. ;p

joelle
wah buy knife also got so many types, where can i get santoku knifes? how ex is ex? i also believe in quality la.. so lucky not buying alot so 1-2 is fine

mejo
tks i go see look n email u

blur
u can get santoku fr most 'branded' knife names. KAI is a good brand. otherwise zwillig has promotions rather often too. price range fr abt $100+ for good ones. Kai has different ranges too. with the higher end under kai shun. that wan 200+. :p

Joelle, Belle,
i like to use chopper.. I have a big chopper and a small chopper.. my small chopper is really small, but i like it. I think chopper is not just for chopping chicken. Even to cut cabbage, cut water-melon, i also use chopper le. then my small chopper, i find it useful if i want to cook pork-chop. I will use the back of the knife to tiok the meat to make it tender. Maybe I old-fashion..use chopper! kekekek..

blur i bought victoriax knives from mosque street (the shops that sells all the kitchen stuff) o never shjarpen my knife since i got them 4 years back :p but it's about time i do it :p

oh my god!!
so the IN thing is to go cruise or genting is it?
genting i am out la, cruise i cannot promise. this time i will give it a miss. i really think that i should not sign up anything within these two months. u all should know the reason.

knife talk! i like.
when i go joelle 's place, i wanna see her knife too. my knives all obiang one. i haven't got myself a good knife cause too many knifes at home. use also cannot spoilt one. sigh!

blur, i dun like knife block personally. i prefer the song-cho brand of stainless steel knife insert. i just slot my knifes in the rack.

Kai,
it's quite safe cos it's those big luxury coaches and we won't be taking all the way up. Will alight at cable car station and take cable cars, faster and better for those with motion sickness (eg. myself. :p)

Kiddo,
Higland hotel can only be booked with some membership. I've stayed in Genting, 1st World and Resort Hotels before. Actually almost the same with the main difference being the bathrooms lah, hehe. I'll prefer 1st World cos it's very very near to the Theme Park and 1st World Plaza, don't have to walk too far. If not Resort Hotel is good enough too.

autum, now i wanna go your place and see your mini chopper. cannot imagine how it looks like le.
but i use my big chopper to tok tok tok my meat like you. haha!
i cut every vege also use my chopper. i am not used to use small knives.

QQ,
err, the small chopper looks just like the big chopper, but smaller size lor. haha.. i happen to see, then i buy.

edde
I'll opt out from cruise too, Kent prefers Genting. He got a mindset that cruise is boring, don't know how to convince him.

http://www.cruises.com.sg/Star_Cruises/SuperStar_Virgo/promotions/ssv_2n_special_promotion.htm

2N Malacca / Kuala Lumpur
Wednesday Cruise onbaord Star Virgo,
based on off peak (july/aug),
DD cabin (cheapest).
Public listed price (not BP yet)

Prices includes tax:
2-to-go = ($279+$64) X 2 = $686 ($343/pax)
3-to-go = ($239+$64) X 3 = $909 ($303/pax)
4-to-go = ($209+$64) X 4 = $1092 ($273/pax)

Pls indicate date preferred (July 01, 15, 29 Aug 12, 26)if confirm going!

1.Autum
2.Kai
3.SQ
4.QQ
5.edde (anydate)
6.kiddo (depends on timing)
7.mejo (depends on price and timing)
8.huajing (depends on price and timing)
9.Ash
10.Mist (depend on timing)
11.blurbelle (see $$$ how much)

Pinkpink, Edde,
actually if you calculate, Genting might not be much cheaper afterall cos you need to spend on food and Theme Park rides. The amount of $ you paid for cruise includes everything like food and entertainment so not likely to spend at all on cruise mah.

autum, i try to imagine la.
so its either shorter chopper or thinner chopper. haha! interesting. i dun like my knife here.

wah it is so late. i am sleepy. actually, autum. i think of what u have told me. i think i better dun slim down la. just eat eat eat, then after i get another bb then try to slim down a bit. but i would like to return to my sports activity next month.
i had a meeting with my company ED today. he said I look pale. i told him that he can be a doctor already. see face then can tell. haha!

edde, the cruise package looks good hor??
heart itchy la.. but... when will i know when i can go gai gai?? these few days fil's condition is slightly worse again.
i feel a bit bad cause i am not contributing much $$, and hb now having zero income for at least these few months. fil is now eating those expensive things (bu3, for miracles to happen type) cause he has confidence in them. and mil also wants to build up his immune system. my sil is bringing almost all her pay back home every month now. sigh!
cause mil told her that not much $$ left already. sigh!
i am acting blur, but i know it is not right to do so. sigh!

alamak, i also opt out cruise liao.. coz i made a big mistake on the pricing for my family.. i calculated 4 pax instead of 5.. i forgot i gotta pay for the 1 pax whom i park with another family!!! so if i bring all my barangs i gotta pay 1.3+k!!!!! cannot lah, my heart very painful..

autum, haha!
if it is not too troublesome. if too troublesome then dun bother la. i just imagine can liao.
everyone might be thinking i am so wu liao, go see other ppl's choppers. haha!

maybe u should do a SB for it. cause u use it to tok tok tok your meat for years.

irin, tats wat dave said too.. but cant lah.. i giam gana now.. 1.3k is too much to spend..

QQ, think u also no mood to go now lah.. mr lai will bu fang xin his father.. well, not that u and mr lai dun wanna help mah.. just call home to tok to fil more often bah.. sometimes old pple need encouragement from their love ones

edde, we are helping. but not giving them all our money only. we give slowly lor. not like wah, one big lumpsum then another big lumpsum after 203 weeks.
sil diff, she just gives what she has since she has no commitment now.
i let my Jay settle his family problem with his own ways. i just stay aside.

edde, 1.3K for 5 of u ok woh.
genting ... hm when u go maybe cannot find good food to eat le.

QQ
it can't be helped. not that u dun wan to contribute, but u really can't do much.

mr pax n i went to a funeral wake of my grandaunt. we were chit-chatting w a doctor cousin, not married. was telling him that it's time to change our mentality. for our generation, it's already difficult to raise our children, moneywise, providing them w at least a local uni education. it would be even more difficult for our children to raise their kids in future. we cannot depend on our children to maintain us after retirement, so must start building up our retirement nest now n be financially independent.

he's a doctor at St Andrew's mission hospital. he sees a lot of eldery who depend a lot on their children financially n the children find it too difficult to cope n fall behind on payment. for our parents / grandparents' generations, the children are the security net.

lucky for me n mr pax, our parents r financially independent.

oh. autum. thanks so much ..
i know liao.
i initially tot very mini le.. like very cute type. cause i also want to buy one cute knife. haha! crazy.

i dun have the small chopper like yours.

QQ,
after i take the photo then i realise my small chopper is not that small after all! hahaha.. but it feels very small, cos the feel and handling is different from the big chopper..

those small small chopper, actually i see before also.. but no use leh, i think too small.

pax, ya lor. its quite true that many youngster are quite cham now if they need to support the elders.

i am also worried i might not be financially independent next time. haha! who knows?
anyway, i am lucky that my parents are ok. but il side, they really hard earned and saved to make their children go U etc etc. not easy. so its natural to think that their children are responsible for it.
its true la, children should be responsible for it. still traditional type of thinking.

pax.. haha!
Jay, Jayron.. haha! he said one. now quite confirm liao le. nice or not? he asked me, but i dunno le. i just said, anything la. ok la

oops. its time to go bed..
talk again tomorrow! nite!

autum, i know. initially i tot u use those mini mini chopper to tok your meat. interesting.. like play masak masak.

nite!!!

QQ
for me n mr pax, our mentality is to provide a basic education for our kids, so that they can provide a good life for themselves n their families subsequently. we r not gg to expect them to maintain us. for our generation, it's already difficult. can't imagine 20-30yrs down the road...

last post..
pax, yes it is very very very very difficult..
we also discussed this before, but hb still insist that he hope he can take care of his parents after all. i think it is ok la, they have 4 siblings to share... not too bad la.
bobian!
but i dun hope that i need my kids to support me next time. hee

QQ
at least there r 4 siblings to share the load. for our generation, families getting smaller, only 1-2 kids. if we r gg to put all our eggs into their baskets, then sure die lah. that's partly why i wan 3 kids, but nvr mind. we r def stopping at 2.

pax,
different la.. cannot compare solely like that. times are different. our generation people, we know how to buy insurance etc.. we are more money-wise about investments and finances.. so in that sense, we are more prepared... every generation will have it's own problems.. we also cannot think too far.

Pax,
that's also part of the reason why I want to have more kids. Hope that they'll have more of them to share any burden in future.

Edde,
ask Dave go Genting leh.

QQ,
quite alot of things to eat at Genting lah except no pork. :p

Irin,
i msn my hubby.. he worried EJ cannot take long bus ride.. then I told him, will be all the March kids.. then he said, worse, if all the kids start crying, then the parents all very stress on the bus!

Autum
true, but older generations do think this way. maybe not last, but 2 generations before us. yes, cannot think too far, but mr pax n i feel that we shld not depend too much on our children.

irin
ya lor. whether it's financial or emotional, it's good to have support. 2 is not enuf, i feel