(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

kaexin: i also put a cup of water but i feel its not so effective leh. more effective us is to put a wet towel on the air vent area where the cold air is blowing out.

star
yeah..she stays at serangoon. she was a full time plmc staff b4 she became sahm. think her spot is more or less garanteed? ;) they r the church members. =)

star,
think we all using initials until luan

hi.. I'm not sure who shd I ask wor.. previously at KK back in January doc check my bb heart got murmur, thus send him for ultrascan, check his heart still got a small hole which not closed yet but doc say its normal coz some babies took longer time to close that hole, so followup again today..
today ultrascan the hole still there, so nid to monitor again.. one other thing doc say today realized my baby heart the 'vault' or 'valve' a bit stiff, which is not good but say as long as it doesn't worsen, its ok, so nid to followup again next time.

Anyone knows abt this who can enlighten me on this? thanks.

pax-little L. coz got once he high fever back then so do a lot of tests on him lo. u got any idea, is this any cause for concern?

Enne
as far as i know, hole in heart is vv common. the hole will close eventually in most causes, as the child grow older. if it doesn't, a surgery will be needed
The valves control the blood flow w/in btw the chambers of the heart. if the valve is not functioning well, it is a cause for concern. u would have to get the doctor to explain to u in more details.

pax-ohh.. oke.. thanks thanks.. coz today only the cardiologist help to scan, my bb doc not ard for me to ask in details, nid to wait till next week. thanks for the explanation, hopefully its nothing to worry about.

pax-ah.. oops..... really.. maybe he din wanna scare us.. coz when my HB ask in details.. what if it worsens.. he say followup again then tell us if that happens.. din give any definite details.. coz previously the first scan din show the valve stiff lo.. only the hole.

yvonne-orh.. kk. like that my heart put down half.. thanks.

pax-nope.. he didn't he just say..2 of the valves a bit stiff.. but he say as long as doesn't worsen its ok.. but if worsen need to see how.

valves is the one controlling the flow of the blood rite. if stiff meaning blood cannot flow properly izzit?

enne, normally dr always like that, haven have the result of the scanning. They don wan to say so much to scare u. Hmm, as for the hole, don worry your kid cant take exercise or anything. This friend of mine is a basketball player. Can jump can run very very fast. Always get gold in nafa test. Den for the valve, u have to wait till the heart specialist to explain more to u during the next visit.
hmm, how is the clothes? Too girly anot? Lol.

Enne
My elder bro & sis both have murmur; it's heritary I think.
Sis case is more serious but nothing to worry about.
Dr nvr say need any surgery until now & they are both fine.
However, they need to declare tis when they get any insurance policies.
For Lil L case, maybe Dr just need some monitoring.

Enne
2 valves form a set. we have 2 sets in our heart. he also didn't say which 2? when's the next followup?

Enne,
like what Pax mentioned, hole in heart is vv common in babies. I came across about 60% of the premmies with hole in heart condition but all closed up eventually while some took longer though. Don't worry too much, the doctor will probably be able to let you know more at the next appt.

Kai
u dun hv murmur? only ur bro n sis?

Enne
i returned my biology studies to my sec sch teacher liao...
the valves control the blood flow in the heart when the heart beats.

Kai,
heart murmurs and hole in hearts are different. I have heart murmur too but it was diagnosed as just normal extra heart sounds that are produced as a result of turbulent blood flow, not much problem.
I always had to go for ECG test if I want to get extra insurance though.

yvonne-haha ok ler.. some quite nice.. got colours, he looks more 'colourful' now. hehe. thanks

Kai-Talking abt insurance, I heard frm my uncle who's working in GEL, that little L might not even be able to buy insurance, coz now not stable yet, even if stable maybe company don't wanna insur also..

Irin-ok.. now I really fang xing abt the heart hole. but that means need to keep going for the scan every few mths??

pax-nope ler.. I saw the after-scan form but all the terms so 'medical' I also dun understand. next appt for this heart scan is 2 mths later.

Enne,
ya, your uncle is right, Little L won't be able to get any insurance even after his condition is stable ... but you can get those accident plans for him when he's older though. Those won't need medical underwriting.

Pax,
pearl rice is from Australia, not jap rice.

Enne,
yup, but he needs to go back KKH for reviews often too, right?

Enne
u know wat i'll do? google every damn medical term. :p
u can ask Irin abt insurance.. it was her rice bowl

pax, lol! I remember i draw the arrow of the blood flows in the diagram of a heart during my bio lesson. Always get wrong! So, i think i wrong again. Wahaha!

irin
is it? i'm confused now. i thot the rice fr Jap is also called zhen zhu mi? no?

Enne, irin
i think lil L would at least hv the basic shield plan right?

Yvonne, Pax,
haha, both of you got me confused on the heart valves too. I forgot all about my biology lessons liao.

Ok, I know. There are Jap pearl rice and Australia pearl rice. Jap pearl rice are those used for sushi and jap rice. I bought normal Australia pearl rice from Giant, small blue packaging, forgot the brand liao but it says "Australia Pearl Rice" on the packaging.

Pax,
they will automatically enrol him in the Medishield plan but it won't cover any pre-existing conditions.

RR-Yeah, almost every week lo, but the heart scan thing not the same day so its like very frequent visits.

Lucky the gastro doc is kind enuf knowing we need to lug the feeding machine down quite ma fan, so when we got checkup with surgeon, she ask us to call her down too, save us 1 trip but consultation fees still stands for 2 docs!!

And oh yeah.. the scan quite ex hor?? today just for that scan its more than $100 lo.

yvonne-u failed BIO izit?? hehehe.

pax-oh.. hehe google is my HB's best friend too.

Yvonne,
forgot the brand cos threw away the packaging liao. You go look for a small pack (think they don't come in big packs) with blue colour prints that says "Pearl Rice" at NTUC.

Enne,
hospitalisation sure won't go thru. For Life plans, you can try when he's older and condition is stable. However the loading might be quite alot and they'll exclude the pre-existing conditions.

They did the ECG scans for him, is it? I know that one costs alot.

irin, ok. Those 2.5kg size la? Hmm, and hor, if rice don 'fa' very well, means not good? Me and nick's family buy our own rice, mean the rice bel and sam eat, not theirs. Diff brands too. I realise their rice, i have to use alot alot den can cook enough for their serving. As, new moon brand, no need to use so much.

must boast a bit.. Jo's at my mom's place. jus now she told my mom to call me, but i was on the phone. when i called back, we had a conversation! amazing! i asked her if she has eaten, she said "hai2 mei2". asked her if she had her medicine, she replied "wo chi yao le". i asked if she was a good girl and listen to por por gong gong, she said "you". so cute!!! then she said she was going to "chong liang" and bye bye!

yvonne
wah! Chem 100marks!

Yvonne,
ya, this pearl rice also. You need to use the same amount as you cook for rice to cook for porridge.
You understand? Like for normal rice, we'll use 1 cup to cook rice for 2 person then half a cup for porridge. But with pearl rice, you'll need to use the same amount even if you cook porridge.