(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

carol: just to add lah. cannot talk too much coz financial expert, bbmouse is here.. hahaha.. bonds normally considered 'safer' than shares coz less volatile. but also got exceptions like in junk bonds which are not worth taking

bbmouse: i seriously cannot figure out why i not in financial sector.. though having the commerce backgd with economics major.. haha. i know! i can just die in there! coz i seldom use my brains.. whahahha..

the bonds and interest rates relationship got a bit of economic theory and logic behind it apart from maths leh. no? oh! u mean my economics lecturers last time bluff me ah?! :p

Carol: A bond has a maturity date eg 28/2/2011. This is the day the company has to repay the bondholder the full principal amount. Usually they are longer term investments than FDs. There are bonds of various maturities in the market. A newly issued bond with 10 yrs maturity in 5 yrs time becomes a 5 yr bond. This is why there are different maturities available in the marketplace.

As a bondholder, you can choose to hold the bond to maturity, or sell it at the prevailing market price. Bond prices are subject to fluctuations in interest rates - for eg: if there is a cut in interest rates, bond prices will rise and vice versa.

These days, bonds come in low denominations of 1k. But not too long ago they are available in much higher denominations of 250k and above.

jyun! pasieh forgot to reply ur posts..

i am fine with taking the smaller cargo pants. thanks for arranging!

ehh. the BJG trial .. has two classes of 5 liao.. u want to iniatiate another one? own timing also can

ehh. JWT is at kallang.. they have many branches.. kallang is the newsest branch.. so this free trial is their promotion gimmick to draw attention to their new branch i think :p

Astro: I'm no expert. Just sharing. The logic of the inverse price-yield relationship is math lah.

QQ, Nana: Your hubbies very can dong3. Put me to shame lah. Company and boss good still want to quit.

carol.. bb mouse.. of cos bonds are more stable.. but of cos u dun earn as much profit in bonds as funds. but of cos in funds u may lose money too..

so for stablility .. bonds is safer..

bbmouse: iszit? like that all those economics lecturers of mine.. need to be shot leh.. ops :p. .they say it is more economics logic than maths.. coz the way bonds are 'designed' and 'manipulated' to make consumers feel that they are safer.. to buy and hence companies can get the capital investment they need..

Forgot to add: In financial theory, bonds are deemed safer than shares. Hence, the lower returns of bonds compared with shares. But junk bond prices can be as volatile as share prices.

Both bonds and shares are not principal guaranteed. For bonds, can lose the principal too if the issuing company goes bankrupt.

carol: well done..

* ok.. take this wat i promised u last night in return for this post in forum today.... *stuff $ in carol's pocket.. thanks huh.. thanks huh.. *

u make me fly to the ceiling liao.. *flying...*

Astro: What you said your lecturers said above has nothing to do with the inverse price/yield relationship leh...
Reads to me like a cynical way of explaining the definition and function of a bond.

carol: apart from getting advice from bbmouse.. u should also get advice from financial planners.. like irin *winks at irin.. me good hor? helps u intro biz) and pax's hb! :p

they will be able to evaulate ur investing profile. if u are risk taker or risk adverse.. then be able to draw up ur investment portfolio for u.. comprising the suitable funds, bonds, shares etc according to UR investing personailty

bbmouse: u not financial planner right? more on banking?

Joelle
Thks for filling in my data!

Pink
I think the 'hand' is yr hubby rite? Leia is sitting on his stomach :p

Re: Bday Bash
Actually I agree with Irin to have indoor gathering so that we can mingle better rather than a wide open space area...IMO lah...I vote for gogobambini!

bbbgal,
i also think bond is a great idea, prob is many parent here are not aware of them

sometimes u can see thisgovt in papers asking general public whether they want to sunscinbe rite ??

bbmouse: haha. i thought so too.. :p maybe they were kidding. and yet stupid me took notes on that? haha. could be.. heeheee.. i remembered i actually woke up .. was dozing off half the time.. when they said that. haha. funny. i think they said that to keep us awake.. :p

*carol, shares are in a more volatile market, unless you're looking at parking your money in companies which give good dividends (and pray that they do well that financial year). you can consider unit trusts, but it's good to get a financial advisor who can distribute the unit trusts in various different sectors across different georgraphical markets to spread the risk.

But BEFORE you invest, my fin advisor advised that we shld first ensure that 1. we have sufficient savings (liquidity) to last the household at least 6 mths in case of emergency (but we keep 1-year, kia su!), THEN 2. make sure you have adequate insurance coverage (esp. hospitalisation), ONLY AFTER MAKING SURE THAT THOSE 2 CRITICAL AREAS ARE COVERED shld you start considering Investments lor. That's my approach. And we invest for old-age... cannot rely on our kids when we grow old. If they are filial, it's a bonus.

sorry, Carol, i think mean FUNDS, not UNIT TRUSTS... then again, maybe i mean Trust Funds? haha. i'm not sure la. I leave it to my Fin Ad. and the hubby usually follows, not me. i only monitor the big pic! ... like how much we've earned so far. haha.

Carol: Portfolio investment theories suggest different approaches to allocate one's resources.

For eg: The theory is that the investment needs and objectives of a young couple who's just started out at work and planning to start a family will be very different from a retired couple who are grandparents.

At each stage of one's life, the risk appetite and liquidity needs are different. And asset allocation can be crafted to meet those needs and objectives.

Speak to a financial planner. But hor, some of them don't really know their stuff.

I agree with bbmouse.. some of them dont really know their stuffs.. and they think that when their clients invest.. they keep monitoring the market.. if everyone can do market timing.. i tell u .. all can sit at home and earn money liaoz..

of cos buy low sell high is common sense.. ... nvm.. i dun wan to say liaoz.. wait got war.. hahaha

yea bbmouse.. its really a FACT on how u believe the market goes.. even a professional or the funds manager give u a different idea.. u will stil have something to argue on one..

Ok.. take it easy..

anyway.. bbmouse.. u really smart to ask ur hubby to do that!!! hehee *green eyes*

hahahhahaa
i want to laugh when i read about the mysterious hand - yeh lah, leia sitting on daddy's tummy...he's wearing black shirt, on black sofa...i must tell him this.

Nana
not offended lah, must explain so that u know the problems of fast moving threads.

ok ok...i call gogobambini

Astro...Autum..Edde...dun go this week lah...we go during the bash...

i sent liao.. i sent liao. the JWT's particpants list.. they better come back to me fast.. else my head in on the chopping board..! *gulps.. stare at forum now.. so many pairs of 'eyes'..scared* :p

ya QQ
why is your hubby still working there? he loves the job?

Nana
7 annual leaves? so little? wats the min. annual leave stated by MOM?

Pink: I see. So she's sitting on daddy's tummy. I thot she's sitting on the sofa lah. Cannot figure where the hand comes from. It's such an odd angle.

pink: morning.. ok.. tenwhat i do for this sat huh? :p. haha. ok. keep us informed.

veryberry: u monitor huh.. i bochap all these.

nana: wah biang, laywers' sec, property agent, financial planner.. wat else? :p

enne: do u ever get angry with legolas? he is so simley all th etime! teng hor.. can stare at me when he is angry.. and i stare at him back! hahaha..

nana: as i mentioned.. dun worry.. march thread is INFAMOUS for verbal sparring! haha.. as long as there is no intention to hurt.. all are welcome.. so just say ur piece!

ok.. alamak. economics slant now.. irnonically going for a lunch time tlak abt someting on CPF.. see. i dun even know what i registered myeslf for.. jsut go along with colleague.. coz they say got free lunch. haha. ok. i go chop seats liao.. these are the things that Astro is REALLY good at :p

bbmouse: stylo and messy hair.. anna! :p they look so cute when just wake up.. teng also will smile. and his hair very messy one! hahaha.. then he will look at u with his puppy eyes, suck his thumb and smile.. wah.. cute.. then after that he becomes naughty again.. duh

astro.. hehe.. no choice.. need to earn for a living.. high committments.. so got to slog lor.. hahaha..

erm.. stil got.. when we get our own flat.. den i will find somemore.. hehe.. that's all for now..

I use to do car pool and pet taxi service.. but now hor.. Aiyo.. petrol so expensive.. charge also cannot cover.. so I dun do liaoz..

------------------

On a side note.. dunno why my MIL or rather old ppl like to buy those satin (dunno is it called satin) clothes for babies and kids.. dun they know that its very pricky and no air ventilatation?? I think i can open a stall and sell the clothes liaoz.. I only let Tiff wear 1-2 on wedding dinner occations nia.. and that's like 1 or 2 times only..

I just dun understand..

Den the best part is.. MY MIL.. raelly embarrassed us on tiff's birthday leh!!!!

My close friend come and tell me.. "aiyo.. ur MIL ar.. eat and eat the satay.. cooked already take cooked alraedy take.. " I so pai seh leh!!! she never think for my guests!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

astro.. CL lady.. bbq food supply .. red rice wine.. all i got lobang.. hahaha

Wat else.. u ask i may have it.. movers also got lobang..

pink: sometimes they dun pick calls one leh these kind of children orientated establishments .. many a times.. i call vivo gymboree till i fed up! .. only PP's one always pick up phone.. that's why u see i alwasy go there..

pink, finally the mystery of 'the hand' is out.....heheee....

qq, nana, aiyoohh, both yr hb really 'married' to the company lahh, personally, i think is not worth the effort, as in the company doesn't show appreciation in terms of rewarding the stuff, it should be a win-win situation/give & take, but seems like the company only taking advantage of the staff -so UNFAIR!
can i ask is it's local company? i believe this is not a practice of a MNC, rite?
& the same questions tat everyone is asking --> why are they still stay on? do they have palns to switch job?

astro.. If have i will share the lobang with u.. den i also no need to work or do anything liaoz.. hahahaa..

Ya lor cutie.. den he everyday come home already 10+ 11.. take dinner.. zzzz less den 6 hours.. den got to go to work liaoz..

Ya very unfair.. keep asking him to change job liaoz.. but he also no time to go interview for other jobs.. Sigh.. u all got job lobang.. pls intro leh.. he is in logistics line..

yea.. its a local company..

cutie: miser's also.. married to the company.. said last night here.. i think he basically finding an excuse to flirt with the machines leh!

bbmouse, which 5 flavours from PG cake did u try?I dun remember seeing so many flavours, anyway, i have been there once only though me stay AMK for 5 yrs oredi....heheee.....
i only tried BF, LYM and soft chocolate (think is call this). Which is the best?

nana: on hah..?shhh.. dun say so loud.. wait other mummies also want a share of this lobang! ha! shhhh...

and the funny things is. the men.. all do it 'willingly'??.. i know miser does.. he LOVES what he is doing.. duh.. machines so fun to flirt with meh? jialat.. i can't even be compared to a machine.. haiz.. so pitiful.. *sob, wipe tears off with hanky*

cutie: did u manage to read archives yeserday? :p i bought close to 7 flavours! hahaha.. :p ya. soft chocolate. ellie had that for breakfast today. should ask her how it taste..