(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

pink, i wanna order JE. will email u shortly.

Btw, any ongoing ON spree??

HJ, hope cayden is just too heaty dats y hv those ulcers. Seen doc alrdy?? mayb find a time and go for a dinner wif hb then hv a gd tok outside? Sometimes, its better cos the atmosphere at home too stress for both of u to spell out the probs.

now counting down to the arrival of my 3rd nephew. heehee...exciting. But think MIL is immuned le cos all BOYS. wahahah!!

Last ngt, dunno y i suddenly bring up to hb that we shld hv a common pool of $$ wich is just meant for household purchases. Now we are using our own $$ to buy this and that...really hard to keeptrack. We do hv a joint acct but i dun wish to touch that as its meant for rainy days.

Mummies, rmbr we did discuss abt the monthly household purchases?? Do u gals think my suggestion is valid huh??

Ecmon, i bought liao!! EFFICIENT sia!
i bought at a stationery shop near the maid agency that i went the other day.

BB, if u dun have a common pool of money, it is fine too. but u can set your limit. once limit reach then it is his problem. if got problem then discuss again
hee
workable?

ecomom,
you need to have a good talk with your hb. You are the mdm, if you need maid comes get your hb to try not to do this and that.
Like let the maid know u are the mdm, everything must listen to you.

Huajing, let me give u some more assurance.

no one can guarantee u the new maid will be better or even gd.. but if u dun give her and yrself a chance, u will be trap in yr own cocoon forever.

my first maid is very gd in cooking, housework.. but she cldnt click with anthea.. everyone who saw her dislike her.. but we insisted in giving her a chance to try out.. until the day she betrayed my trust (left house without permission), we decided to let her go, coz we know we will nvr trust her again, let alone handling our kids.

when my 2nd maid came, i kept comparing her with my 1st maid, coz my 2nd maid appeared slowly in doing things.. and cooking also almost zero. but as days go by, she picked up things really fast, took great care of my kids and household.. i am so glad i found her and so grateful to her for doing so much for the family for the past 1+ yr.. now that she is leaving, i miss her so much and will tear at the tot of it :p *so emo*

sorry for my lor soh post, just wanna tell u, old one doesnt go, new (and maybe better!) one doesnt come.. give yrself another chance to find one which can really value-add to yr household and spare u from all the "torture"

ECmom : wah! i also wanna be kpo! hahaha! u should have change long ago.. maids this kind of thing.. cannot always give chance one.. we are not to be taken for a ride..

I lagi jialat right?? during tiffany's time.. i give no chance.. not at all! i changed 4 maids in 18 months.. this time round.. when i had this maid.. i was really really skeptical.. very very tired.. .. and thank god.. he is really good to be after all.. i have a good maid this time round.. and its my 1st indonesian maid..

den tat really change my opinion of phil maids.. not tat all are no good.. but indo maids can really be trained and they are obedient.. they can pick up english fast too.. and they dun demand..

bbmar : u both have own accounting to monitor how much u both spend on household? if so den can keep track..

Ecmom: First things first.. You got to let your hubby know that by not giving you respect at home (esp) in front of the maid, that he's really destroying all the efforts you've put in to have a good relationship with the maid.
And if he doesn't, tell him he shd stay at home to manage the maid himself, since he wants the maid to witness he is the one with the power.

As for asking you to do things instead of the maid, it depends on what are the things he asked you to do, may not mean he's not showing you respect. I've heard some men are liddat - I think they want the wife to pamper them to some extent. For eg.. they'll want to wife to fry the egg for them instead of the maid. :p

Ecmom: The logic your hubby applies to giving the maid one last chance and telling her if she still falls short that you'll send her off becos the replacement maid is here doesn't make sense. It may do more harm than good. Don't bother.

1) If you want to give the person one more chance, then shd do it with an open mind without prejudice. Can you?

2) On the receiving end, if the person accepts the last chance given and is sincere abt changing, then she shd do it willingly and not under any duress or threat. By warning her you'll let go if she still doesn't measure up and you've already got a replacement ready is a threat to her.
She may bear a grudge and do harm to your children on a worst-case scenario.

3) I don't think you can keep the new maid on hold for long. If you don't take her up, am sure the agency will find someone to take over her. Besides that, I believe she may already be under your name, since the agency will need to apply for her to come over to Sing using your name as the employer.
If you give her a chance now but she makes mistakes again, then you'll end up having to wait for another replacement maid to arrive before you can send her off again.

AAA: hey if ur hb has pre-ex condition, can stll go with aviva, since he dun have any shield plans, the most is that it will be excluded, at least this plan will be with him on top of his company plan even after he leave the co. and since u have 3 kids, very worth cos they cover for free.

HN, HB asked my sis to buy it, so that he can use it as e-book. When i asked him before depart for sgp, whether to bring back, he said, if CO wants to play...just leave it for her. I just shaked my head.

Star: Hey, I found out.. The AVIVA coverage for the children is for govt hospitals only.. Not that this is no good, but if the child's life is in danger, I'm sure any parent will be hunting high and low for the best doctor/specialist - regardless of whether he works in the govt or pte hospital.. Hmm...

And when the free option ends when the child turns 18 or 19, if he wants to "upgrade" to a plan which covers pte hospitalisation, then he has to do a health declaration then ie pre-ex may be excluded.

QQ
wat spree are u organising? i need to order desitin cream.
wana ask u, if you accept the travelling part for your new post, do u know how long u will be travelling for each trip?

HJ
let your current maid go, no need to think, too many evidence.

AAA
watched aftershock. nice show. very sad.

wana ask u gals..just survey survey.

if your husband has found a new job (regional post), will u
a) disallow him to go
b) let him go alone
c) quit your job and go with him + bring the kids along
d) quit your job and go with him + let the kids stay in singapore with caretaker

im just curious. recently mr tan's fren has decided to work in shanghai, leaving his wife + 2 kids (4yrs and 1 yr) in spore. my SIL's hubby has finally found a job (in vietnam) which requires him to bring the whole family along but due to his elder daughter's heart condition (she falls sick easily and there's personal doc in spore), my SIL refuses to go with him but he has been jobless for few months.

Pink: Hubby and I had this talk.. At this point in our life, we'll all go with him.
Shiok shiok stay overseas for a few years then come back again..
Heheheh..

If I get a job overseas (prob is close to zero at this point), the same applies.. The whole family comes with me..

AAA: which i why i added the rider so it covers even if i go Pte hospital. all basic shield plan if i am not wrong is for govt hospital only (cos u pay for the shield plan using medisave), same for all insurer. IF u want pte hospital, need to top up on the hospitalisation part by cash payment.

Pink, my option (no need to think, i had answer already):
c) quit your job and go with him + bring the kids along
(provided kids is not at school going age). IF kids needs to start primary school, i may stay back with kids. But then if hb is going to china, i will def bring the kids to follow him.. hehe

So if hb is posted overseas again, i will just quit my job and join him with rae.

Star: Does the rider covers pte hospitals? Or does it cover the deductible and co-insurance? My agent said the free option is given for plan 2 ie only for govt hospitals (class A ward). If so, the rider is also for govt hospitals.
Maybe the plan has changed?

AAA: I don't think they fix it so i can only claim from govt hospital leh. i added a rider for rae .. hers very cheap, cash wise i pay $100 plus per year (increase with age lah), this should cover her if she goes pte hospital (Cos they look at the amt incurred, not hopistal that u r in) meaning if i choose pte hospital, i also can claim from the rider up to the max i am covered. so u r right, her basic shield is free cos of me and hb and i top up with cash to give her more hospitalisation coverage. if u think u will incure more cost, go for the higher rider option where u can claim more. hope i am not confusing u.

AAA: i thought about it, for u, u can choose to do it this way, cover the kids with the basic free shield under u and hb, buy an additional hospitalisation plan for the kids (either through rider or the AXA one)> this should cover your pte hospitalisation cost (if claim amt exceeds what shield plan can over).

Star: Yah, am quite confused now... Dunno why my agent highlights the diff between govt and pte hospitals leh.. And I did ask if we can top up with riders for more coverage, and she still highlights the coverage is for govt hospitals only... *strange*

hahaha mummies
we are so weida, willing to sacrifice our career to go over with hubby but then again, if the company is willing to pay for him and his family, its a chance to be tai tai too right?

Star: Is it cos the room rates for pte and govt hospitals are different, and so the coverage is not full?
Have asked the agent to show me the plan details.. I better read through myself..

AAA: find out from your agent and let me know, i am curious too.
i thought its usually the cap limit (regardless of pte or govt hospital. i dun think the shield plan draw the lines so clearly that u can't claim if u go to pte hospital.) i only know, if u not meet the deductible/co-insurance sum, u will not be able to claim from shield. shield are good to have cos its cheap and u can pay from your medisheild. if u need more, need to top with cash paying hospitalisation plans.

Pink, this is not weida, how i see is that we are the lucky ones.We woman has this luxury to quit our job anytime to join our hb and let hb support us, for hb, he dun have to option cos he needs to support the family.

AAA: i can;t remember what is the name of my plan, will go find out and let u know.

maybe RR can also share more on this coverage bits which we have been talking about.

Star: Will share with you when I find out frm her. This is how I understand too. Medishield's coverage is the most basic (class C govt wards). Pte shield plans cover pte hospitalisation and riders can cover deductibles and co-insurance..

What I still don't understand is the children's option that's given under the Aviva plan..

Pink: I think the difficulty is if the husband's company does not provide for the family to go over.. ie no housing allowance etc..

If there is, it's quite clear-cut lah..

star
hahhaaa. then how about my SIL's case. due to some reason, u are unable to bring rae over (let say to china) and this is the golden opportunity for your hubby. wat will u do?

i know a case where the wife is sent overseas and there is spouse allowance. so the hb went w her and didn't have to work!!! they had a baby there n the hb became a SAHD!!

Pink: if really golden opportunity, i will let hb go and fly and visit as often as i can lor. i mean if hb really wants to take up this opp, i will try and be supportive.

joelle,
ws always told me, he wants to do that if i get a job in the US. :p
but then he also told me, he want to quit his jon and become a SAHD, while i cont working!

Star: I found out ler.. Let me send the plan details to you..
Basically, under the free coverage, the children are covered fully under govt/restructured hospitals, and 65% of pte hospital/medical institutions and hospitals outside S'pore.

star,
yest i CBP to data plan, then the CS ask me you want to get a iphone 4 at same time ?? ended i din get, now ws told me this morning, to go n get.
@^@%^##^ making me Q another time! argh.....

kaexin
i think ws makes a good sahd leh! but poor kiera will have to stay home w him and follow by his many strict rules!! :S

huajing
sometimes i feel like whacking ur hb (i hope he doesn't read this and come arrest me! :eek: ) on the one hand he seems to love u n ur kids alot and want to provide for u. on the other hand, he likes to put u down and make u out to be incapable. i see it fr the way he dun give u face even in front of ur friends and ur maids. i think u ought to change the situation around. show him u r no weakling. i'm sure u r not a weak woman and he didn't marry u for ur weakness. show him u can be the female boss and the head of the household! don't let him boss u around and don't let him make urself feel useless and helpless. if u cannot change him, then the only way to go is to change urself! be strong and be firm with him. sooner or later he shd learn to know that u mean business and he shd learn to respect you!

kaexin: what is CBP? all your accronym is confusing me. yours is under M1 or starhub?

BTW: anyone knows how long it takes for my sim to be activated on my iphone? once activated, my reg sim will not work anymore?

Huajing: i agree with all the comments tha mummy shared here, as u need to face the maid the longest, u should be the one in control, not hb lah.

AAA: thanks. actually if anything happen to kid, first thing i do is end to KKH A&E, after that i will assess if i need to send to other hospital. so maybe for me, it will work well.

pink, i will choose (c) too but the concerns will be no family support overseas.. i sense this strongly esp when my parents are on call whenever i need them. and also, i hope the grandparents can see my kids grow up.. so its always a dilemma.

kaexin, dave wanna be SAHD too! if WS and dave become SAHD, they will be the ones arranging for lunches and mj sessions! wahhahahha! maybe kent wanna join them too, then complain and gossip abt us.. whahahahh! wat a funny sight!

HJ
is it bcos your hubby bu4 fang4 xin1 to let u take charge bcos u are indecisive? btw are u a librian like me? ahhahaa cos we are the indecisive bunch. its ok, for the next maid, u can start afresh and let her know that YOU are the boss and that she should report to you all the time. for little things, just make the decisions yourself.

Star
ok i elaborate a bit more. the company requires your hubby to bring the family along and for some reasons you cant bring rae along. will u ask him to give up his job opportunity or go with him & leave Rae behind with your MIL?

Pink: i will not leave rae behind and go with hb. for my i will choose to stay behind with rae. i can;t bear to leave my kids behind leh. i am very sticky to rae lah.

actually if spouse and kids dun follow, the husband may not be able to the spouse allowance.