(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

bbmarch,
pink polo can get anywhere, see whetehr you want to get cheap or cost slightly more :p

AAA,
ya, referring to SPOT. she got more than 7 SPot books now.

3969917.jpg

mummies, anyone wan to take? if not i will give away in wts thread with my toys...

hg,
yes.. still got...

belle,
they used packed powder to make the mashed potato, but they don wash the tub la... and they used tap hot water to mix it... eeee...

yvonne
i'll just take 1 of them. u choose for me.

Mejo
where is komachi haircult?

blurbelle
he rushed off for his x-ray after a presentation, i was in it too, i know he was holding his breathe to complete the whole session! sigh.. like a kid like that, finally he's scared, i told him i dun want to end up like those Hong Kong Show, the papa cough until blood come out..i said im not cursing him, he's father of 2 leh, gotto think for us too. hiaz i dun want to nag too much cos he's already very stress.

autum
i bought him the DCC pills. he's taking GNC multi vits, said better dun mix. very worried la, hope the x-ray results is fine.

pink
when M was borned, mr pax had this terrible cough that refused to go away. after 4 mths, after telling him many many times, he finally went to see a respiratory specialist. blood test, test the phlegm, x-ray. put on antibiotics. in the end found that it was a bacterial infection in the blood liao.. these days, he scared liao. cough too badly, definitely see doc.

yvonne
men r like that.. they must be SCARED by tests and results, then they listen.. must learn to eat bland food... for gd of our health.

pax,

how i wish i can psycho X to eat bland food.. kind of difficult now after his taste buds prone to MIL's cooking... sigh!

Just this morning, X told my hubby, he wanna eat outside!

pax
oh..bacteria infection.
where did he see the respiratory specialist?
ok got his x-ray, bringing back to the doc to see how. if still not ok, I'll get the contact from you.

mist,
Last week i asked Esther what she wants for lunch, she said fish macroni. Hence I went to buy fish and cook. Both of them love it and keep saying yummy yummy.

pax
thanks so much!
he's back, given tubahaler this time..vapour puff i think, and he can talk now. x-ray cleared. doc said not as bad as what he thought, should recover within a week. If not, i will ask him to see the specialist u recommend.

Huignee
ya, no chicken or cold drinks for him.
im still asking him to see the chinese doc tonight.

this is how its like to be someone's wife and mum. constantly worried for them. sigh.

hows the situation in bangkok now? im thinking whether to call jetstar to change the destination.

AAA,

Erm, I finally got the time to read up on carbon dating again. I'll try my best to explain, but it is kinda tough (even for me) so yar.

Anyway, you know carbon can be found in all living organisms. It is like the element of life. There is this naturally occurring carbon radioisotope called C14. The rest I'm quoting from wiki:

"One of the most widely used and well-known absolute dating techniques is carbon-14 (or radiocarbon) dating, which is used to date organic remains. This is a radiometric technique since it is based on radioactive decay. Carbon-14 is an unstable isotope of normal carbon, carbon-12. Cosmic radiation entering the earth’s atmosphere produces carbon-14, and plants take in carbon-14 as they fix carbon dioxide. Carbon-14 moves up the food chain as animals eat plants and as predators eat other animals. With death, the uptake of carbon-14 stops. Then this unstable isotope starts to decay into nitrogen-14. It takes 5,730 years for half the carbon-14 to change to nitrogen; this is the half-life of carbon-14. After another 5,730 years only one-quarter of the original carbon-14 will remain. After yet another 5,730 years only one-eighth will be left. By measuring the proportion of carbon-14 in organic material, scientists can determine the date of death of the organic matter in an artifact or ecofact."

Now, only when you measure organic remains, than you can be certain of the time. If you want to date artifacts that do not have an organic origin, then carbon dating can only be used on any accompanying organic remains. Meaning, if for some odd reason pottery that are 300 years old get buried with plants that are 1000 years old, there might be a problem with the dating, of course, besides carbon dating, there are other forms of dating artifacts (like how deep they are buried) but I'm just saying as an example. As of 2007, the upper limit of carbon dating is 60,000 years. So anything beyond that, you can't rely on carbon dating anymore.

Carbon dating has been calibrated on artifacts of known age such as those recorded in ancient text etc. and also tree rings. You know, as a tree grows, each year, it will form a ring so counting the rings will show you the number of years the tree had been living. Some trees have been around for thousands of years. Also, things like atomic bomb tests etc. will change the levels of C14 so scientists need to calibrate before they can use C14 to make accurate measurements.

Personally, i think it is fairly accurate plus minus a few hundred years. So what's the controversy about carbon dating you are talking about?

AAA,

Oh... okay, I went on to read about the "controversy". Well, in Science, there is no doubt about the authencity of carbon dating. Dates get shifted around, yes, but only because the technology is getting more accurate, not less. All those concerns about shifting atmospheric C14 etc., scientists have thought about them and incorporate into the callibrations.

Mummies wanna share this dish that we cooked for the kids just now - steam tofu with fish paste & shimeji mushroom.

Simply put a layer of fish paste (from mkt) on tofu (for steaming). On the fish paste, put some shimeji mushroom (small jap mushroom from ntuc). No need to put any sauce or salt. Steam for 10min and dats it! Nutritious, cheap and easy!

pink
good that mr tan's results are clear.. ya pete also like that till i told him off that he is not single , that he has a family to take care of etc.. after nagging him like his MOTHER he finally guai guai take his epilepsy pills diligently.. even follow ups etc he dun tell me one, i hv to ask him to check how is his condition etc

finally left ofc early tdy. sigh. too much work.

pink
gd to know his lungs r clear.

huingee
i also ask my kids what they wan me to cook, then i buy ingredients fr mkt.

mist
maybe u can try asking X wat he want to eat, then cook for him. add a little more seasoning if really needed.

AAA,

Half life is a probabilistic measurement. It predicts the time by which half the population of radioactive isotopes have decayed regardless of whether the population is big or small. I think you can understand the term half life better here: http://www.colorado.edu/physics/2000/isotopes/radioactive_decay3.html

Now obviously nobody is going to sit around to count the number of carbon that has decayed to nitrogen after 5000 years so the half life is calculated based on certain models and observations. That's is venturing into the grounds of quantum mechanics and well, I can't go there cuz I'm not versed in physics. But know that 5000 years is not even the longest half-life you can find, there's those that have billion of years. Equally, many radioisotopes have very short half lives of seconds, minutes or hours so those are observable.

I know there are people who argued against quantum mechanics, even the scientists who came up with it hated it cuz it is so counter-intuitive. But evidence abound, predictions came true and things that we are using now are based on quantum mechanics. I remember last time I read somewhere, someone challenged the scientists and asked them to show an electron on a plate. Well, I don't think they can do that yet, but 1990, IBM wrote their brand with atoms.

http://www-03.ibm.com/ibm/history/exhibits/vintage/vintage_4506VV1003.html

AAA,

And carbon 14 is only one of many methods of dating. It is not the only yardstick. There are many methods of dating although I think usually, people will only say carbon dating because that is the one laymen are most familiar with.

"The methods that can be used for the direct dating of human remains comprise of radiocarbon, U-series, electron spin resonance (ESR), and amino acid racemization (AAR). This review gives an introduction to these methods in the context of dating human bones and teeth. Recent advances in ultrafiltration techniques have expanded the dating range of radiocarbon. It now seems feasible to reliably date bones up to 55,000 years. New developments in laser ablation mass spectrometry permit the in situ analysis of U-series isotopes, thus providing a rapid and virtually non-destructive dating method back to about 300,000 years. This is of particular importance when used in conjunction with non-destructive ESR analysis. New approaches in AAR analysis may lead to a renaissance of this method. The potential and present limitations of these direct dating techniques are discussed for sites relevant to the reconstruction of modern human evolution, including Florisbad, Border Cave, Tabun, Skhul, Qafzeh, Vindija, Banyoles, and Lake Mungo."

pax, blurbelle
thanks. i still bu fan xin bcos he didnt do any blood test.

okie going home now...had a hectic day...go back home to see my little enya, hope she's still not asleep yet. sob sob.

Pinkpink,

Ask Mr Tan to go for a more thorough body check if you are still worried. It is good to go for yearly health checks. (Having said that, I'm horrible at health checks. Never got health checked since 3 years ago. :X)

By the way, my hair is cut by Takao Haorii. The more famous and popular stylist at Komachi Hair Cult is Yoshiko Tsuji though.

Oh yar, and don't waste money buying collagen to eat. They do nothing for your skin unless you are having some major amino acids deficiencies which is quite unlikely and even so, why spend so much on collagen when you can get those same amino acids from Jelly? (gelatine is derived from collagen) So jelly is not vegetarian! (that's something new I've learnt) Collagen cannot be absorbed through the skin. So yar, collagen creams doesn't work. Or at least, they are not working by giving you collagen. :X

I want to ask, do you all brush the teeth for the little tods or they brush themselves? YT has been brushing her own teeth with the angel toothbrush but I'm thinking of changing it to the 'normal' toothbrush so I'm wondering should I brush for her?

mejo,
I prefer you with long hair. you look very sweet and demure with long hair that is permed (wavy). With short hair, it's a lot more spunky. Also nice la, but long hair looks good on you.

astro, so it is not easy to travel so much also hor. then when he comes back still need to go get letter of certification. haha!!
good that teng has recovered and bally is ok also.
so u ask your mum to buy 7 colour flowers ok? if not i help u buy if i see . just let me know.

pink, it will b good to ask mr tan to have a check up(screening) every 1-2 years, to keep track of his health condition. he needs to use his mouth to talk to maintain the business right? so he cannot lose his voice woh. must make him guai guai eat medicine and take care of himself.

SQ, i cannot wear that watch yet cause need to alter the straps. then hor i think i better wait till i deliver liao then try wearing. otherwise now the size is also not so accurate right?
recently i see flying hairs (eyesight) again, this problem was gone after i do my lasik and remove the scar in my cornea. now weird la. probably my hormones? my eyesight seems deteriorating (a bit like what i had after i miscarriage last time). scary.
but i know it should come back, prob my red blood count is low again.

hb came out with name for ah boy le but we are thinking of th dialect name. hopefully can be similar to tian's so that we dun need to have the angmo name in future.
lai4 wei1 lin2 (赖威霖)
so pink, everyone.. it is time to make our brain working now.
haha!!

lai wayne lin? (weird or not? the W-n and L sound dun really click)
lai warren (JUST A JOKE to us, cause it is so funny). haha!
Lai Wei lin (common name sia)

QQ: i think wayne can liao right, its an english name on its on? wayne lai? or must be 3 word?? How about Lai Way lin? too girly, then can call him way? heheh