(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

AAA
to simplify things, you either do the following can?

1. anna eats the same with the adults, if your sauces are too much, then you scoop hers out before you add sauces for adults. ayden eats his own. so oni two variation

2. when meimei can eat, ayden and anna would eat the same as the adults liao. meimei eats hers

3. ayden and anna and meimei eats the same. but meimei is after pureeing, before seasoning. adults eat one version

4. everybody eats the same, but meimei without the sauces and seasoning.

huingee
that's why esther is so sweet. cos whatever mummy cooks she eats!

SQ,
Haha, she is not picky eater. She only dun like porridge. She is happy when i cook, will want to help out and will finish all. Maybe cos i try to cook food that she likes bah.
That day my mum cooking and i going out. My mum ask me to bring esther along as she scare esther want to help her. Esther likes to help and likes to bring a stool to stand and see how to cook.

huingee,
its good that esther likes to learn how to cook. she reminds me of my elder sis. she can cook wonderfully from young. i still rembs when we were in school, if she is cooking, she cant remb how, she will call my ah ma and ask for instruction.

SQ: Thanks..
Yup, I'm following that, and it means, we'll have to have 2 separate menus until meimei can join in the gang.
I'm really thankful my new maid can cook! It's not easy to get a maid who comes being able to cook already these days..

HN: I see.. Ayden is still eating only home-cooked food. Anna's weekends are half-half.

huingee
esther is v good leh. she got the making of a good wife! haha... i hate the kitchen, and would refuse to step inside when my mum is cooking. that's why my kid and hb suffering now from my non-existent culinary skills

i was also thinking of disney on ice! but think hb sure not interested.

SQ,
Most impt is our kid interested or not. This is the lst time i bring them to see. Asked hb to choose row 7 ($211) or row 1 ($314). He choose row 1 as he scare dylan cannot see properly.
Think my credit bill will be very high this month as I made quite alot of purchase this 2 weeks.

AAA, SQ,
Esther this cooking is interesting bah. She will be sad if I don't let her beat the eggs. She also like baking cookies. Also her cc got cooking session, tell me she knows how to do this and that.
Good wife or not too early to said. But she can really tidy up the house sometimes.

SQ: Heheh.. I just passed the half-past 8 menu plan to the maid and I told her to fill-in the blanks. Hahaha.. I've been more than happy with her cooking for the past few days. Yesterday she asked if I like malay food - of course I do, but both myself and papa can't take too spicy I told her. And this morning, she asked me if I like sushi! I was like - you mean you can make sushi also??? Wah! I really thank God we got her man.. Hehehe...
And hor, anna really likes her. The first day she's here, they played hide and seek til anna vomitted.. :p Hahaha..

back from polyclinic. I don noe if i did the wrong thing. This morning i reach the carpark of polyclinic, sam sneeze and i see green mucus out of the nose. And she get her mmr jab today. Wont have complication? I really hate it man! Is not the first time! Last night i went to icu to see my relative, so dump the 2gals to mil. And the thing i missed out, sil is having flu! Damn it! Now sam gets her flu also.

hg,
wah! So ex! Nick sure kill mi if i go.

Aaa,
adult food? Sweet and sour pork, sambal fish, shrimp fried egg, scallop stirfry with chye xin. Eh, these are my fav food,fried rice, lor bak, curry chicken. cannot think of any others.

AAA
i refreshed the page and saw your comments too! it's hard to believe how we keep saying the same things sometimes

huingee
is it cos you are paying so he chose cat 1? good leh. i would love to sit there too. but hb already v heartache we spent a bomb for hi5. plus this time i dunno how to feed meimei if we dun bring her along. so haven't thot of buying tix yet.

wa AAA this maid sounds nice hor. i lost track that you changed maid again. this is to replace who?

Yvonne: Those adult food you told me you cook at home?
Did you tell the doc she's having flu before you take the jab?

SQ: Yah lor.. Hahah.. I've lost track how many maids I've changed too.. :p Just hope my bad spate with maids has come to an end.

SQ,
I only pay lst later get the $ from him.
We haven't bring the kids to see any show yet. This is the lst time we going. He is those kind pay more to get better seats. I'm the one trying to buy cheaper ticket.
Initially i only want to get cat 2 tickets, but my colig suggest me to go for cat 1 ticket. Hence i checked with hb he said ok.

AAA,
Good to get maid that can good. Your this maid also from indo?

huingee
then you are like my hb and i'm like yours
cos i thot if going, might as well get a good seat
my logic is to go for one good show, his is to max it out and go for two ok/poor ones. he said it's ok i said it's poor
no right or wrong lah
as long as the kids are happy

HN: This one is from Indo. My not-so-good-maids are from Philly. She also came by chance, cos the 2 Philly maids I interviewed over the phone and shortlisted disappeared when the agency called them up to go for medical check-up. I think they're scared to take up the appt cos I told them I have 3 very young kids and a big house. Then another agent happened to call up and told us there's a transfer maid, asked if we want to consider. Pressing for time, I interviewed her on the phone and her diction is even better than the philly maid of mine who's going home, so I got the agent to bring her over to for me to take a look, and for the maid to take a look at my place before she agrees to take up the job.

yvonne
i know what you mean
my life's lidat too. i can plan and plan and then YE falls sick and everything seems topsy turvy again.
that's the life of a mother?

SQ,
Haha, i thot going for cat 2 I already very good leh. Who knows he prefer better ones.
Hence i always tell hb we difficult to save money cos we dun earn alot but we spend alot.

Yvonne,
Did you tell the nurse or dr Sam got flu? I not sure about the consequences.
Next time when you got your house will be better as can get mil to come your house to help you look after them.

Now my problem is how to late the kids accept that the 2 aunties are to be shared. Ayden is screaming his head off in his cot cos he doesn't want anna's auntie to carry him out of it. I simply close the door and let him CIO. :p Ayden bullies his own aunty.. :p

AAA,
My sis ex indo maid also very good. She's interested in cooking, very fast learn to cook. My sis also bought many cook books for her to learn. Also she likes kids, all the kids like her. But too bad she wants to go back.

AA: coz the first two days. yh was drowsy and can't suckle effectively. half the time he was asleep while latched or i cldn't get him to latch on at all!.. so day 3 comes.. colostrum already converted to transitional milk liao lor. haiz..

anyway.. the exchange of bottles is not for avent hor.. it is for medela.. 150ml.. no teats included..

Yvonne: alamak.. the pesky flu virus going round my house too.. till now i still having slight cough with phelgm.. and i just dun feel right..
haiz.. teng also blocked and runny nose. cough with phelgm again! time for him to say his usual hellos to dr ong :S

this teng.. at times he very sweet.. at times. he is soooo whiny and clings to me like crazy.. :S

yesterday at the little gym was like that.. a quarter of the one hour session was spent assuring him to stop SCREAMING.. utterly embrassing.. i was like 'hullo this is unaccompanied class.. i am with u in the room .. u still scream until like that??'.. other parents for new comers also inside. but noone screamed as badly as teng :S
but after 15 minutes he got better.. as he slowly warmed up.. and went thru the various obstacles courses.. coupled with imagery play facilitated by the instructors.. i must say this teng really observes and follow to a tee.. he was doing a bear walk.. on low rails.. fixed to the ground (both hands and legs on.. so they move forward.. on all fours.. like a bear).. then he stopped midway.. i thought he gonig to fall and chicken out again.. but he let go of one hand.. and promptly imitated the instructor who told them to 'fish' from the 'pool' some fishes! teng really into his imagery play.. i think a trial for kindermusik wld be good!

then on the way back. he took my hand. .looks at the ezecma.. and went ..
T: 'aiyoh.. mama, ur hand, painful???'
Me: yes.. painful
*silence*

T: mama, ur hand painful?
Me: yes (getting a bit annoyed)..
T: oh.. sayang sayang (sayanging my hand!).. later i apply calendula for u , ok?

wah. touched!

then this morning.. he reverted to his annoying self.. keep asking me to bring him to the mall.. and dun want to go school. i had to 'lie'.. and ask him to go and ask his teacher rinah if he cld go to the mall.. then he keeps saying.. 'later i go find teacher rinah, later i ask teacher rinah we go mall, ok?'..
wah. very naggy lei. if not he will be saying he wants to go to the zoo.. i been to the zoo for the last three sats!!! this sat.. going again?! :S

HN: For the longest time, my friend has been telling me Indo maids are more appreciative than philly ones.. I've had 3 indo maids (incl this one) since we got married, the first one has BO, so when anna came along, I had to ask her to leave, the second one is good, but she couldn't get along with the philly maid i had at the same time, so I had to let her go too.. So now with this one, I had my philly and her had a talk when the agent brought her over to my place, and then I asked my philly maid's feedback on her.. She's also oked the indo maid. So I hope things will be smooth-going from now..

Staying at home, the biggest stress for me is in managing the maids.. :p I'm more stressed managing them than when I'm working..

SQ: thank you wor :p want go zoo with me when u have delivered?! whahahahah..
teng always wants to feed the giraffe and elephants.. i am thinking of letting go ride ont he elephants.. ! u know with the giraffe.. he promptly took the carrots.. and walked so fast up to feed the giraffe who weas so close up and sticking his long tounge out! teng really showed no fear with animals.. i think if u ask him to stroke the crocodile or lion, he will! :S
good.. actually. i like. only with humans.. he not so comfy.. a bit like miser.. and me.. he seemed happier at the zoo than at all the enrichment classes.. small wonder when miser loves to bring him to the zoo as well.. he gets to take his photos. his son gets to see his elephants and giraffes.. but hor.. his wife and younger son.. real uncomfy.. dunno how to latch in the zoo.. (no nursing room wor).. and sweat big time.. i always worry yh will dehyrdrate!!!

hahahhahaha.. teng loves dogs and cats and wld go say his hellos to them! i got to warn him not to touch them lest they bite!

astro
actually yes! i've been trying to go to the zoo for the last few mths but never successful. either too hot or raining or YE sick or hb couldn't get the company pass.

hb and me already agreed to go as soon as meimei is old enuf not to dehydrate. hee...

Astro: I think the milk comes only after the colostrum has been emptied.
It is not converted into milk per se.. No?

SQ: I think main reason is cos it is easier to replace staff at work than to replace GOOD maids. No kidding.

AAA
i also find the zoo v stinko. so we siam the stinko places. usu also go for a while oni cos everyone will be melting under the sun and cant wait to get back into the car! we're more the shopping centre kind than the nature reserves kind

sq, aaa, hg,
totally forgotten to tell her cos sam so cranky! she know she is having jab. this silly nurse say "injection" this word to her immediately i step into the room... stupid right?

i think i call dr ong later to check.

aaa,
ya... granny can cook... but don taste like wad i taste in restaurants la... lol! abit blend...and too oily! u can ask ur maid to cook.. sweet and sour pork is easy to cook... i like...

astro,
sianz! this is almost monthly maintainence for the medical fees man! where got ppl mthly one... :X

SQ:heh.. after ur meimei is old not to dehyrdate. we go together?!

AA: no wor.. the body will auto convert colostrum into milk..

as for the zoo. it is like that.. the animals are have a strong ordour to mark their territotires.. actualy even pet dogs and cats have a smell.. that is Nature lah, free from frills

yvonne: it is like that one.. kids mah.. actually i am surprised teng tahan till this lon to gena the virus.. most of us are recovering.. but not to the full form.. he seemed mild.. just keep rubbing his nose. and whiny.. :p he without sick also whiny and naggy. so no diff.. i just careul not to let it become sore throat and fever nia :S

ok. pumped.. going off..

yvonne
monthly? i feel that YE is bi-weekly! talk about sian. yday she started having phlegm again. aiyo...

astro
ya. i wonder that would be how many months old hor? at least 3 or 4 right? then i got to drown her with water and bring 2 fans for her to sit in her pram??

Astro: I didn't know of the auto conversion. Liddat the bb better be alert enough to take as much as possible.

Yah lor, the stench is for marking their territories. We're not much of the Nature's type I suppose..

Yvonne: Then you shd learn from her and cook these when you have your own kitchen.

AAA
how abt letting the maids n the kids play together in the room. then slowly build up rapport... then 1 maid leave... then 1 kid leave... something like dat? oso...u left out bak kut teh?! my fav!! u can buy the satchet fr ntuc. "SEAH" brand. no need to add seasonings...just bak kut n garlic. i love to add those white button mushrooms. very nice n simple. seth loves it too! n i find it not too giam...just right. another soup recipe i got fr the papers recently.

egg omelette soup
1. chop onions and dried shrimps(optional but nice if added)(i think can add ham if ur kids r allergic to shrimps). stir fry in a little oil till fragrant n crisp.
2. add into beaten eggs. fry the eggs in a little oil.
3. add fried eggs into chicken stock.
4. (my version) add chopped bak choy/cabbage for a meal.

quite nice leh i find. :p

joelle,
I also like the egg omelette soup my mum made. But i haven't try to cook for my kids. My mum's version is with dong fen.

hee joelle
thanks for sharing.. i just added to my recipe list
currently i'm crazy about ikan bilis stock. cos i can just store the ikan bilis in the fridge and cook stock when i'm sudd in the mood. unlike chix. buy liao must cook v soon. and oso the talk about hormones in the chix. not to mention they are wet and dirty. eee...

Joelle: I was abt to ask if I did the right thing by trying to tear ayden away from his fav aunty. He cried and cried and still din want her. :p Aiyooh.. The maids and kids do play together lah, just that the kids will stipulate who to bathe and feed them. I have no issues if there're only 2 kids. But with meimei coming along, I want to condition them to share lah. Else, they'll get jealous if their auntie carries meimei right? Or am I thinking too much??

Thanks for the bak ku teh and the egg omelette soup. Will go NTUC shopping this weekend..
Then I have 5 soups liao.. Enough..

oh ya huingee
now that you reminded me, my mum also adds dong fen. hee... looks like they are quite similar cos you also mentioned a few dishes before and my mum makes those too

SQ,
My mum is teochew, is your mum teochew?
I like teochew dishes, Esther also. She likes the teochew pink rice kueh. I guess it's because of pink bah.

huingee
my mum's hokkein. but dad teochew. and my mum can do a variety of these plus canto. she's a good cook. you would never be able to guess just by looking at my lousy skills.

AAA
i also dun let YE choose who to bathe her, although she will if she has the choice. i decide for her

yayah!! forgot! please add dong fen oso!! oh..so all ur mummies cook this? y my mummies neva?!! :p i so sua ku...oni learnt it in the papers just recently!!! =p