(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Joelle,
wah, you might have got it right leh. I don't give them raisin, no wonder I couldn't figure it out. :p

irin
heh... let's wait for autum to confirm. ;p but lately i've been teaching seth to say raisin n he has came up w funny '-sin' too.

wah.. Joelle got 100marks!

i really couldn't guess at first. i kept asking him what is yee-sin. then he kept saying "i want yee-sin".. "i want to eat yee-sin".. then in the end he brought me to the kitchen and point at the cupboard where i keep the raisins.. hahaha..

Jo will tell me pu tao gan. guess wat, i'm eating raisin now!

then the funny thing is.. after we gave him.. both me and hubby told him, it's raisin, not yee-sin.. guess what he said "I forgot raisin".. wah! so small can give excuse liao!

Autum
wahaha! today (or yday) Jo also told me "wo wang ji liao!" i can't rmbr for wat, but... aiyo, damn cute!

will u consider ur kid being dishonest if he/she doesnt admit what he/she did?

e.g. leia scribbled our carpet. when we ask her who did it, she wont admit its her. she will say Rina, Po Po, Mama!

pink
leia denies bcos she knows she'll be punished if she told the truth. i dun think she's being dishonest, she jus dun wan to be punished. but seriously, do u punish her if she scribble on wall or carpet?
only when they r older (say 4yo), they know wat is dishonesty. for now, our kids won't know

autum, u asking abt the blank flashcard? its 300gsm, 100pcs for $2+/3 i think.. cant remember.. not very thick, can pass thru printer.. why? u wana use for scrapbooking?? might be too thin for it.. if u want i still hv a few packs..

irin, yvonne, ash, i hv been adding zhen zhu mi with normal rice for anthea's porridge. must soak for 10 min before cooking so that it will soften faster. but the zhen zhu mi i buy is not pearl rice, its australian calrose rice from NTUC.

enne, anthea also still hasnt got any insurance coverage yet due to her kidneys..

QQ, all the best for tmr!

Pinkpink,
I seriously don't think they know what's dishonest now. Sometimes they won't tell the truth cos they think it's funny. Reyden will always tell me "meimei" whenever he spoils something. And Reyes will tell me "meimei" even when she's not the one. They'll laugh and giggle after that then I know it's not the truth liao.

Edde,
the zhen zhu mi you bought don't have the words "zhen zhu mi" (as in chinese wordings) on the packaging?

pink,
at their age, i won't consider it as dishonest. cos they probably still not 100% sure of what they are saying, and not 100% sure of what you are asking. it's hard to truly understand how they think and comprehend at this age. They might be scared, so they just say out all the people who are close to them (as in looking to these people for assurance).

or maybe she wants these people to draw together with her on the carpet. ie. not comprehending your question at all, but just knowing it's something related to carpet.

That's how i would feel and not continue to press for answer because i know the answer is 'wrong'.. i will just emphasize that it's wrong to draw on the carpet (which is the main issue). doesn't matter who draw.. be it Leia, Rina, Popo or Mama.. u know what i mean?

Pax,
for M's case, it's more clearcut cos it won't cause other complications. But for Little L and Anthea's conditions, other problems might arise from their conditions so usually won't cover. Even if cover will have high loading too.

pax, yes i think its per irin's explanation..

irin, i just checked the packaging, yes yes its written 澳洲珍珠米

autum, its A5

HJ,
you mean the mortgage loan insurance? For 700K, it's about $600+ per year but it varies for companies.

edde,
hmm.. i will KIV. not to use for SB la. siao.. i m trying to do something for EJ. but now i use cheapskate method. I got a vanguard sheet, and ask my maid to cut! haha.. cos she is quite eng at home in the day.. so I ask her to cut. One pc of vanguard is 30cts nia. Can cut to 32pc of cards. the size is smaller than A5.. more like the size of those debate-cards but longer.

Edde,
cos I only look out for the chinese wordings. I'll never be able to figure the different names they have for the rice. :p

irin,
ya the mortgage loan insurance, is it base on total load amount or the total property price?
the 600+ is for one person?

HJ,
it's based on the loan amount. Yup, for 1 person for about 25-30yrs. Oh ya, another thing that will cause the price to vary is the interest rate.

wah autum, u so on eh..

irin, mths ago i bought glutinous rice wrongly and cook porridge for anthea! now the packet of glutinous rice is still sitting in my cupboard..

Edde,
haha, glutinous rice porridge ... How did it taste like? You can keep for "duan wu jie", anyway it's coming liao. :p

HJ,
ya, I left liao. Was with AIA. If you want check out AIA mortgage insurance plan, I can recommend you my boss.

edde, pax,
i was about to say the same thing about the glutinuous rice - make dumplings!

edde,
not that I very on la. actually it was Mr Wong's idea. He read a book somewhere that teaches how to make your own play-word-cards. The idea is to get the child to recognise the words. Cos now EJ can only recognise pictures.. like if he see a pic of bananas, he will immediately say "banana".. but if he see the word, he dunno. So hopefully can try this method. then i m thinking should do chinese words as well.. but we both can't write.. that's why for chinese words, i m thinking of printing (thus i thought of your blank-cards).. or buy pre-printed cards.

huajing, RR, pax, autum ya man the porridge turned out VERY sticky. dats when i realised i bought the wrong type! hahahaha! dumpling eh?? idea!

autum, oh.. this i think kaexin's in laws are expert! i remember kaexin said her FIL pasted names of items all over the house for K to learn

Autum,

talking about dumplings. This is for you. :D

Nyonya Dumplings
Ingredients A
Bamboo leaves : 250g (soaked overnight, washed)
Nylon strings : own judgement
Pandan leaves : 10 pieces (knotted)

Ingredients B
Glutinous rice : 2 kg

Ingredients C
Corn oil : 60g

Ingredients D (chopped)
Shallot : 10 cloves
Garlic : 5 cloves

Ingredients E
Salt : 3 tsp
Pepper : 1tsp

Method:
1) Wash and soak glutinous rice for 4 hours. Drain the rice.
2) Heat up 60g oil, sauté chopped shallot and garlic till fragrant,
off heat
3) Add glutinous rice, salt, pepper, mix well

…………………………………………………………………….

Filling
Ingredients A (chopped)
Shallot : 10 cloves
Garlic : 5 cloves

Ingredients B
Minced meat : 1 kg
Dried mushroom : 20 pieces (soaked, diced)
Candied melon : 250g (chopped)

Seasoning
Coriander powder : 60g
Pepper : 1tsp
Salt : 1tsp
Sugar : 1tbsp
Dark soya sauce : ½ tsp

Method:
1) Heat up 4 tbsp oil, sauté chopped shallot and garlic till fragrant,
2) Add chopped meat and stir-fry till well mixed
3) Add mushroom, candied melon and stir-fry till aromatic
4) Add seasoning, mix well and cook until thicken. Taste and dish up. Leave to cool
5) Fold 2 bamboo leaves into a cone
6) Fill with 2 tbsp glutinous rice, make a hole and fill in filling, top with another 2 tbsp of glutinous rice
7) Wrap well, secure with nylon string
8) Boil a large pot of water, add in pandan leaves
9) Add in dumplings, cover and cook with lower heat for 2 hours till cooked and soft. Remove

irin,
k will contact you once we confirm the property, want to check the misc cost we need to pay before we commit.
btw is it right time to buy the insurance now if TOP first quarter of 2011?

pax,
we shortlist one, but still hesitate, dun know is it right time to buy. but see the market all good and small one kana sold very fast. So scary.

HJ,
you should get it when the loan is approved and when you start to pay for it.

Pinkpink,
did you tell her sternly or smack her hands? Cos I think some kids "chi ying bu chi ruan". Like Reyden, we cannot use the soft tactic with him, he'll think we are joking. Must make my hb shouts/scolds him then he'll remember.

Pink,
kids need reinforcement many times over. u just have to keep telling her that it's wrong.. until someday it gets in her head. It's like that la.. i think it will be a miracle if we just tell our kids one time and they can remember! :p

talk abt flashcard, two weeks ago I brought out the ABC flashcard we bought long long time ago, I mix all the alpha, randomly pick and show Elisha, so surprise she can recognise and say out all alpha except P,N and T. I always thot my girl is very slow and she can’t talk/recognise.

Lesson learn: Dun under estimate your kid.

pink
if notti corner works, then u shld put her there if she draws on the carpet or wall. if it doesn't, u got to reinforce. if she draws at the wrong place, tell her "Leia, dun draw there, mommy give u some paper to draw. if not, i hv to take away ur crayons etc." this tactic also work for me.

HJ
i feel still not right time to buy yet, but all these frantic buying is causing "panic", so end up a lot of pple buying. i think many still hvn't feel the effects of recession

Autum,
whey!! You asked me to find leh and my mum says these are the ingredients my grandma puts in the nyonya dumplings. It looks simple enough bah? Maybe I'll try it myself, hope won't turn out a disaster.

You know what? I went to get sago, gula melaka, sea coconut and coconut milk on Sunday but those things still lying around. :p

edde,
did you try to print the flashcard by inkjet printer?
I tried, the ink will come off if you touch on it, especially the glossy side. you experience that?