(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

nana
sorry which area do u stay? u can do a search, and call up one by one and check...

QQ
ya my house much cleaner and neater now, rina is quite eng so she will search for things to do....i dun have to pay part time cleaner now, but has to top up more for aunt since rina is eating there, using their utilities as well.

im not sure whether leia is still teething, dun know how many teeth are out now...last nite she play until 12am then sleep leh. buai tahan. yes she turn and turn and sometimes ended up lying on my body. just continuous few nites wif me, she doesnt want rina to carry her when im around. always walk to me and tiptoe, signal me to carry. i tell myself to carry her more, if not soon she will grow up and dun want me to carry anymore

mummies wif maid
do you wash your clothes (washing machine) together with maid's?

Pink,
i was told that maid is supposed to handwash every clothes.. yes, even if u have washing machine.. the washing machine is supposed to be for washing bedsheets/blankets only. the other clothes, maid supposed to handwash.. i dunno who came out with this "rule" but it seems that maids are supposed to do that.. not sure how true this is.

I think the rationale is hand-wash clothes won't spoil so fast and if u have a maid, then can get her to handwash. but then it kind of makes no sense to me also.. anyway, mummies with maids can share more on this?

Viv: Yes, I got your transfer. You didn't short-change me. I will use the balance to offset the shipping.

Pink: Maid washes her clothes separately from us.

nana,
Keeping tab is wad i do will all my maid. I check at random on their work. Cleanliness, neatness, quality of food, condition of frozen food etc.

As for this maid. Tina. She did not pose much trouble to me when she worked for me. She learnt fast, was able to carrying out the simple household chores and cook simple meals.

BUT!! She is STREET SMART. Xiao Cong Ming. Which i found out fast and so i make it a point to watch her and tell her off whenever i catch things.
1. Like all employees, she snake. So unless its major snaking that causes impt chores undone (which she won't) i close 1 eye.
2. She actually tried to make IDD calls the 1st week she arrived. And when i found out (1 mth latr), she broke down and say she misses home and such. (But by then I already allowed her to make her 1st phonecall home at the 2nd week). I told her off, gave her a chance and it never happened again.
3. Little things like giving TV to the kids in the afternoon to keep them out of her way, 'putting' her hand in the cookie jar, etc... Which i always tell her off once i find out.

here again lunching on my work desk.
I'm looking for part-time home based job from June onwards, any recommendation?

nana
if you are planning for No.2, may as well get a maid. at least she will have 1 yr of training b4 your 2nd bb arrives.

linda
nite terror aka Ham Min rite? bb at this stage seems to get excited easily, somethings yell at the top at their voice dun know for wat rite?

yes i put butter, still finds it a bit hard.

nana,
I dun hv msn here. Got firewall. Wait i go meebo.

pink,
my maid is allowed to have her laundry (other den underwear and bra) mixed with the working adult laundry (mine and hb). But i seperate the laundry as such:
1. BB laundry
2. children laundry - homewear/bedsheets
3. children laundry - outside (streetwear)
4. adult laundry - homewear
5. adult laundry - work/street

However, my maid decided on her own to handwash her stuff every other morning since the adult laundry is not washed daily. She uses the rinse water from the bb/children laundry to do so.

QQ : ya lor.. but.. yes.. 1 step at a time.. the main thing now is .. this maid needs to get out of the house!!!

pink.. staying in pasir ris.. ya.. true hor.. can get training for 1 yr before NB comes hor..

autum, pink. i dun allow myu maid to use my washing machine to wash her clothes.. she needs to wash her clothes everyday during bathe time.. and baby clothes every morning.. hand wash.. she cannot mix.. me and hubby clothes 1 week 1 time use washing machine to wash..

pink
how come leia is still sleeping so late? then u also tired leh.
Jo woke up 2x last nite, crying. after i went in to sleep with her, she's ok liao.
my mom's maid washes her own clothes.

linda
Jo loves fish more than the other meats. she won't ask for chicken or pork one.. vege also.

star
ok, will tinker u when i reach..

linda
i haven't ordered one touch leh. i only have 1 set with me now, that's for bbmouse. when i get, i'll arrange the logisitics, k?

Linda,
when u say putting her hand in the cookie jar, u are talking about pinching food to eat, or u are talking about pinching money from wallets or taking stuff? if it's food, I won't care and won't mind... but if it's money or objects (jewellery, clothes, makeup etc) then it's definitely a NO NO.

Autumn,
Its food lar. If its $, she will be at the changi resort liaoz.

To me, stealing is no good be it food or any of value. One always start small. Having said that, for these foreign maids, i give chance abit since they come from poor under developed country and as such temptation are too much for them to resist the slice of cake, a pack of chips and such.

Initially, i will not provide any form of titbits, but after few months, i will allow her the chips, chocolate or wadever i have for the kids.

For all maids, i have a list of houserule that i go through with them on their 1st day. Its kinda like orientation for them. So that they know wad is NOT EXPECTED of them.

pink,
Yar, ham bin but its more serious. Lucius used to wake up on the dot 2-3 times nightly at the same timing. He will thrash abt and cry. When i asked, some ppl even suggest that i visit the temple and ask 'god'. But i din. Eventually, he outgrew it.

pax,
Lidat Jo is not a 100% rubbish bin. Lett eats anyting and everything. We feed her curry to scare her off and she will run for her water bottle and return with mouth open and waterbottle in her hand! LOL.

Nana,
Subsidy for infant is $400. Child is S$150.

Maid can
1. Do housework
2. Cook meals
3. Care for children

Infantcare/Childcare provide
1. Care for kids
2. Education! for children
3. Social life for kids
4. Teach independence

I choose a maid coz my LATE working hours do not allow me to reach the infant/child care centre on time. A maid also means i can get to rest after a long day of work (But at times aso can be lagi jia lat if she does things wrong).

Linda,
food ok la.. tell u something funny..last time my SIL (in KL).. she got this Indo maid from some really ulu kampong.. very scary.. after she comes, the sugar and rice depletes very fast.. rice she eats a lot at meal times.. which is understandable cos she is the type who is muscular and hardy... then sugar hor.. they found out that she has been eating spoons of sugar just like that!

Then she likes to squat in the dark in the kitchen to eat or do her chores.. then SIL and BIL realised that this maid is really kampung.. so over there no electricity, and can eat sugar is a huge luxury.. SIL had a hard time teaching her cos she can't even operate the simplest machinery.. anyway, in the end, this maid ran away... in Malaysia, very easy for maids to run away..

Linda
how your maid wash her clothes?
i was thinking if she handwash hers, may as well accumulate wif ours and wash together, save water and $ rite?

i found a new streetdirectory.
http://www.streetdb.com

Carol
Pls wait for me at 840am at your void deck. i will sms you. my part time cleaning auntie will reach my hse at 830am, her last time here to guide Rina. I will bring Marisa along.

Autumn,
LOL. I hv heard maids eating bb milk powder, condense milk... i tink they like sweet stuff. kekeke...
Mine always goes for RICE and MAGGI MEE. Not dat i mind as long as they work proper.

Talk abt maid running away in msia. One of my hb's uncle married a sg runaway indon maid in msia. Apparently, my 'shao shao' was abused as a maid in sg and when the family brought her for holiday at msia, she ran away. She approached one of my hb's uncle for SOS and he actually believed her and brought her back to their kampung in selangor! They operate a mini mart so she conviniently became their maid. After 2 yrs, she conviniently became the youngest uncle's wife! LOL

Linda
Lett is cute lah... ya, Jo really chooses wat she wan to eat.

i log in again bcos i kept forgetting to tell u gals... Go Go Bambini at Demsey Hill is opening a branch called Bambini Playclub at Kallang Leisure Park. i saw them installing the play equipment today. FUN! another place to go. after gg to GGB, hubby said the Gymboree membership is a waste of money compared to that.

okie.. loggin out.. come back later.

pink,
I tink along the same line, so i allow her to wash her laundry with ours.
But if urs is a Indo maid. Must EDUCATE her on personal hygiene. (MENSES!!!) I dunno why but my 2nd indo maid veri jia lat one. Always stain her bottoms. end up, i told her to handwash all her shorts and only her tops can join out laundry. *shake head*

linda, mickey,
thanks for offering. i still have 3 tubes of drapolene on hand. will finish them first before buying desitin.

jaxe
i would suggest u get a tube of Desitin to standby in case of more rashes at her neck. the order wil take 2-3wks to arrive. How's Jos' rashes on her neck?

autum, that is not too bad. my friend told me her indo maid urine on the floor coz she didn't know how to use the toilet bowl! i was shocked! haaa...so when my maid came, i asked her how was her toilet back home... :p

pink, i told her to accumulate her clothes for a week and use the machine to wash hers. i don't feel confortable to have hers mixed with ours leh.

autum, my ms is (i hope) getting better. at least one meal is retained. other than that, i still throw up but the good thing is i am feeling more energetic now. but i keep having stomachache. my gynae said it could be because my stomach is empty. i think i am about 12 weeks plus...

you must also take good care! it's really hard to be sick, preggy and looking after a toddler all at the same time!

i remembered jmon's last maid stole ashton's milk powder to eat right.. so funny. what is their fascination with sweet stuff?

Linda: u got extra desitin, can i check when i sthe expiring date? thinking of buying 1 to keep as spare.

Viv,
eee.. urine on the floor! Hey, good to hear that u are feeling better now. Guess after 1st trimester, it's better for u. You stay with your in-laws? So your maid, u have someone to look over her in the day right..

Linda,
one of my friend, his uncle, married the filipino maid in SG.. he said it was a little awkward at first.. cos everyone in the family knows she is the maid.. then now she is the aunt! kind of weird.

i remembered jmon's last maid stole ashton's milk powder to eat right.. so funny. what is their fascination with sweet stuff?

Linda: u got extra desitin, can i check when i sthe expiring date? thinking of buying 1 to keep as spare.

hee... actually in today's papers, the research shows that women who eat alot (cariety) of food r more likely to get boys. this research is done in US. i suppose it has to do with alkaline n acidity oso. and the research continues to say that preggy mums with boys r more likely to eat a wide variety of nutrition n such. this one i agree... i m not choosy over food. even when preggy. in fact, food that i dun used to like before preggy i took a liking when i had seth!

traz: congrats on ur girl!!!! so good! can shop for girly stuff liao! make sure to check out s@l's website for clips!!! and taggies!!!
http://mischaslilsecrets.blogspot.com/

re: Next Drugstore spree
If any mummy here organizing the next drugstore spree, I want to buy Desitin and First Teeth hor.. no hurry at all.. just thinking if got anyone wants to organize then I tumpang.. i still have enough supplies. Also thinking of getting the CB Bug cream.

autum, i really hope so. my mum takes care of ethan and the maid helps out. i don't feel good to leave ethan alone with the maid for too long. she is also afraid she can't cope. we don't stay with my in laws. (sorry but thank goodness...) :p

Hey Viv
i also thought about asking her to accumulate more clothes and wash on her own.

Linda
my maid quite hygienic, i suspect she baths more than 2 times, more than me! morning once, nite once, yest when i pick her up she changed clothes, i asked her if she baths in the afternoon, she said HALF BATH...????? and she brought a carefree lotion for women's hygiene.

pax
mhhmm..leia usually sleeps at 1030pm...last nite i wanted to continue my taiwanese show Er Zuo Ju Zi Wen (2) cos overdue, no chance to watch...so i let her mess up my room, dig out my cd & put all over places...she had her milk wo still active, so i waited until she sleepy, till i finish my show lo :p

hey QQ
there's a theory tat bb who sleeps more will be fatter...

Pink: My maid bathes at least 2 times a day. She actually uses a lot of water. For hubby and my clothes, I think she washes every other day! Baby's clothes every day. It's really weird.. I think with my next maid, I'm going to tell her she should accumulate and don't wash everyday.

pink: its gd if maid is hygienic & clean. we appreciate tt of my maid. she will wash her hand before carry baby.
she will handwash her own clothes & bb's clothes every morning. hb & mine is accumulated weekly then machine wash.

after she handwash, i ask her to keep aside water fr last rinse to wash toilet bowl or corridor. bcos its my way to save water, so i instil in her

bbmouse: my hb's car is his 2nd wife, so he tell maid no need to wash car.

yo.. me busy sia.
eh bbmouse, if i have maid, definitely want her to sponge my car or wipe my car a bit. i never wash my car, my hb went for washing once in a while. we very de dirty leh. i dun care. no eye see.

pink, no need to survey. that is a confirm answer. if I sleep a lot, i will also be very de fat bah. generally bb who sleeps a lot are fatter

I let my housemate,my sil use my washing machine, i dun see the reason why not washing maid's clothes with my machine too. must fully utilise the machine ma. why need her to hand wash? but delicate ones will ask her to handwash la. we can run a cycle of no clothes in washing machine one, can clean whatever inside de. why not ah? (but of course not mixed with ours lar)she can accumulate and wash.
i even can let my maid use my dryer, if i have one. cause i rather she spend more time to do other better things instead of doing too many things that can be dai4 lao2 by machines, etc. new technologi help us to reduce our workload(we more lazy now). better fully utilise.

Linda, food ok la. i also let maid eat whatever she wants.. (of course cannot be rochelle, etc etc.. got a limit for types/grades of food to eat.). cannot let her go hungry, cause i also want a fat fat (bai bai pang pang) maid.

my intention is to get her happie, and so that my kids will be happie too.. everything must be reasonable, cannot cross beyond certain set boundary though.

I have no maid, i just imagine oni. imagine!
see, my housemate, my bil, sil, frens all using my washing machine, eating my stuff, staying in my housee/rooms. how much can they use or eat? $50? 100? 200? 300? 400? it cannot go beyong few thousands bah, including water bill, food..
this money still ok bah, in order to maintain a harmony at home. everyone happie then i happie.

I'm always the one kenna sacrificed. hor?

but hor, i will be particular if maid is no hygienic about her menses leh. must tell her to use pads properly. the most is to give her maternity pads if she really have heavy flow.. very cham de, heavy flow still need to work so hard.
haha!! bbmouse i not yet buy maternity pads..

mickey, carol
the way i see her handwash leia's clothes and the amount of water used, kekkeke...

hubby decided not to ask maid to wash car, in case she gets to know pple in the carpark! u never know :p well if we are around, maybe she can help out..anyway say say only, my hubby super lazy type..

and ya, rina said my hubby handsome! i faintz. then my hubby asked me whether im scared anot, i said no.

as for food, we bought her lots of bread, biscuits, milos..she said too much, she's well fed at granny's place, im sure she will put on weight very soon

mickey
just curious, ur maid sleeps in aircon room?

I think YT really want to train to be shen xian liao. Cuz she decided to skip breakfast cereals in favour of sleep, already no breakfast liao - eat only a few spoonfuls nia. Then lunch, thought she will be hungry and can chop chop finish. She eat two thirds and start giving me patterns. I gave up feeding her. So lunch also only eat slightly more than half the usual amount only. She still got energy to go around messing up my room.

oh oh!!!! pink.
haha Rina very daring leh, bio your hb?
alamak.
mejo, sometimes they are really shen xian. haha!

Nana, Pink: We don't need her to clean the exterior of the car, just the interior. Cos exterior my hubby also go to carwash. But even for interior, she only cleans it like 3 times over the 14mths she's with us.

Pink: No, she doesn't sleep in air-con room. We provide her an electric fan to use. My maid tells me sir is a very good man. And I replied, of course he is. Why would I want to marry him if he's not?!?

pink: i always tell her not to use too much detergent too. cos always alot of foam & rinse many times. my mil also comment this

Star,
I tink its 2009. I go check and sms u tonite.
I tink some of these poor gals came from reallie poor places and cant even afford sweets, which explains their fetish with sweet stuff. My maids claimed they get to eat chicken only once a yr so when they are with me, they clean up the chicken. All the heads, necks and stuff that we throw, they keep, boil and eat it plain!

Autumn,
I can understand coz it the same for me. But good thing is i only see her once a yr. kekeke..

pink,
Good to know ur maid is hygienic. I set a schedule for my maid and she bathes 4 times a day. Morning, afternoon, after cooking dinner and before Zzz... :p
Must jagar the water consumption of the maid lei! Otherwise, they anyhow use water one coz water is cheap in their country! Use neccessarily!

QQ,
Dun need to worry abt maid putting on weight. My 1st maid gained over 10kg, my 2nd 8kg, now the 3rd hv gained 8kg and she is with me for only 10 months! LOL.
Yar, I agree. What goes around, comes around. I treat the maid like my child and they know it veri well. Dats why my #1 maid called me to see if i wanna employ her back. Too bad i cant afford 2 maid. :p
U preg liaoz?? Why need maternity pad???

bbmouse,
Oooooooo... becareful of ur maid lest she 'seduces' the Sir... (Jokin ah~~)